Pine, CO 
Phantom Falls Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #18 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 146
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
  beautiful scenery

5+    6/24/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: wigwam
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: excellent hole layout, nice variety, excellent scenery, facility in top condition. I have played multiple times and it is always a treat.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: this is a must play....I have played all over the state of colorado and this is my favorite....

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Epic Day

1    8/17/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Orderofone
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Paul is the man. The course is difficult but not frustrating. Paul played a round with us and gave us pro-tips from the designer. You really can't beat the experience out here all by yourself with an experienced caddy.
Cons: The tee pads need to be leveled out some but as Paul said that will be happening very shortly.
Other Thoughts: Bring a cooler the course is designed to bring you past the house at several intervals to restock your bags with beer or water or whatever you might need!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  mountain disc golf

1    8/14/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: turbosnail
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Best course I've played so far. Great lay out. Can't tell that your shooting for a pin you already played. Going up and down the hill all day is a great work out.
Cons: Not many. New course players need a guide to get around but after that easy to fallow.
Other Thoughts: Played the course in the morning paulie let us bbq next to his place. Then played the course again. Talk about a exhausting day. But well worth it. Highly recomend playing this course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 First for a Flat-lander

1    7/1/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 31.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Unique and novel targets and baskets (Love the Chimes!!!!)
-Challenging and creative Mountain Course.
-Great use of terrain
-Course well maintained. Great up keep! Thanks, Paul!!!! Great Job!!!
-Zoka's Restaurant & Bar is only a mile away in Pine Grove. (Hang a left and ask for Blackie)
Cons: -Good luck finding any. I couldn't, was having too much fun.
-Private Course - Tough to figure out the lay out & flow. Better be playing with someone who knows the course. Glad I was.
Other Thoughts: Phantom Falls was the first round of golf I ever played in the great state of Colorado. I was going to visit my friends in Pine and play massive amounts of golf of course. On the flight to Denver, I was reading an article in my Disc Golfer about these hand carved baskets at this course in Pine. I said, "Hey, I'm going to Pine." A few hours later I showed the article to my friend and he said, "Let's Go!" Boy, did Kurt & Paul show this Flat-lander a great mountain course. What a great time!! Like Grandma says, "If you don't have a good time, it's your own fault." A must play course if you are in the area. After 30 holes of mountain golf, a Zoka's Burger & an IPA are a must.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Not Just another day

1    6/25/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: diablo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You won't find a course like this anywhere! Sure, you can find courses that work you; you could find a course that tries to be different... but Paul has set the bar. Just to see the unique targets he has is worth the drive and the cash. Wind Chimes- enough said! The up and down, the gulch, the placements- this is no 'walk in the park- kill an hour' course- This Is Moutain Golf! Plus- to 'move a rock' is very cool- not that I did.
Cons: I'm sure after a few visits one would get the lay of the course- but there's no way you would know where you're going without Paul to help you out- which is fine- he wasn't obstrusive- just helpful.
Other Thoughts: My buddies and I have given Phantom Falls the honor of being "Course One" for our annual Trophy Weekend event this August! Thanks Paul!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  discaliscios

1    8/1/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: hickskd@msn.com
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: excellent layout through trees and up and down gulleys. Extremely peaceful to play and not see other people.
Cons: New players will need a guide to follow all the 30 holes. The exercise is awsome up and down.
Other Thoughts: Extremely friendly environment.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Dial it in baby

1    7/29/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: Grahamw21
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a fantastically challenging course. Designed and built beautifully with absolutely no luxury overlooked this course will kick your a** all day long. Paul is an extremely gracious host and was kind enough to guide us through the course all day long. As long as you call first, he will do the same for you, and trust me, with the way this course is put together you are going to need his wisdom and tips. It's more than your average 18 hole-r. Be prepared to experience some more strenuous terrain then you are used to and also an abundance of trees and slopes that can be very unforgiving. Talk to my man Paul before you head up there and be respectful of the property. This course was not easy to put together, yet you can enjoy all it has to offer if you execute it the right way. The course is beautiful and without a doubt worth serious national recognition.
Cons: Expect to invest at least an entire day of discing at this course. It is tiring (even though I was happy to have the exercise), and a pretty far drive for anyone who doesn't live in the mountains.
Other Thoughts: Paul is a good good man. Treat his property with respect and he will show you the same.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 What a beauty!

1    7/18/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: SeanMeacham
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Paul has done a spectacular job with this course. Set in the mountains of Conifer, this course will challenge you all day long. Paul reserves the course for you for the full day (as long as you have at least a group of four). This allows you to fully absorb the beauty of this course without any distractions. Phantom Falls, is Paul's course designed in his backyard. This 30 hole monster will have you absolutely beaten up by the end of the day. It has a great mix of short and long holes, all very technical ready to punish any mistake. Hole #1 starts out at the front of the house, shooting to a one of a kind hand crafted aspen basket. Paul will guide you around the course showing you the best route, as well as how to get to the next hole (much needed if you have never played before). The course is designed in a way tha it comes back up to the house about four different times (great for refilling the bag with adult beverages!). I can't tell you how much fun this course is, and all the variety you get from it. You have two amazing aspen baskets, a basket made from chimes that you may be lucky enough to hear ring out, a hanging basket from a tree. Listen to Paulie....throw it straight and land it flat, otherwise you will find yourself rolling and making at least a bogie. This course instantly became one of my favorites, and will test the best players.
Cons: This course isn't closer to where I live. Driving from Colorado Springs, it is definitely a day trip. If you have a weekend to spare...play Phantom Falls and Beaver Ranch and you will have the most challenging/breathtaking weekend of disc golf ever!
Other Thoughts: Make sure you call Paul ahead of time....don't just show up. Paul is a real laid back guy and an amazing guide, so tip him well. He has put 5k of his own hard earned money into this course so give back for the experience you will have! Be respectful!! Don't swear (he has two beautiful baby girls), pick up your trash, be nice....I want to be able to come back. Also, if you want to play tunes thats cool, Paul just doesn't want to hear rap (i luckily played classic rock all day). Paul, amazing course and thank you for sharing it! (ps. pictures are coming!!)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Phantom falls rocks

2-4    7/4/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: nudy1970
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: My friends and I found this coarse to be well thought out and extremely challenging. In fact we loved it so much we gave it its own nickname "Stink finger gulch". Its awesome and I cant wait to get back up there to play. Thanks Paul you were a great host!!!!
Cons: The only con is that you may need a shower after play....
Other Thoughts: This was by far one of the funnest coarses I have played. The mountain setting is perfect, the solitude is perfect, and the coarse is perfect. I recommend it !!!!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

1    7/18/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: Nick C
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely amazing course design. You drive up to the course and realize that this is literally in the back yard of the course designer, Paul. There is a practice tee to get warmed up on and then Paul will take you over to the first tee and give you some history of the course. He is going to have to guide you through this course as many holes you are shooting at the same basket but from a completely different starting spot (much different that simply having alternate tees). Paul is a really chill guy who loves his course and it shows with some of the fun things he's done with it. You'll also need his tips on where not to throw as well as what routes have worked for people in the past. The first tee you step on you look out onto a semi-open fairway and you see a hand crafted aspen wood basket. One of his friends has custom made 2 baskets our of aspen wood and it looks amazing and is really fun to shoot at. Among other fun things are a hanging basket to shoot at, 2 holes where you have to hit hanging chimes instead of a basket, and some madatory windows to shoot through. There are plenty of benches and chairs and other places to take a rest, which is extremely important as this course is a serious workout. It would take me way too long to describe all the holes but each one has a new challenge to it. You are shooting in very tight woods to be sure to bring your more controllable discs. Also there are countless upshots so bring your best disc for that. Since there isn't really any bushes or shrubs, it is almost impossible to completely lose your discs, and should you somehow manage to do that Paul keeps a lost and found pile so call him after a week and it will be found. If you want to tune up your accuracy and control shots, this is an absolute must play. Each hole is fitted with a painted GTP rock which marks what the best throw to date on the hole is at. Aces are marked with a small rock in the basket. It's a blast trying to beat the previous record. I loved playing this course and will definitely be coming back.
Cons: Not much in the way of cons on this course. It's definitely a workout. You will be doing a lot of up and down walking and it definitely will wear you out by the time you finish the 30 hole course. The designer throws RHFH and his course design shows it, however there are still plenty of holes for RHBH as well. There isn't a wide open hole to unleash a drive on but you will defintely have some uphill shots where you need to hurl you best driver to get anywhere near a birdie opportunity.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend calling up Paul for a reservation. (keep in mind you need a group of 4 and he only allows 1 group a day to play to call plenty ahead of time) Bringing shoes that can handle some serious hiking and a waterbottle are both necessities. This is an amazing experience and an absolute must play for any disc golfer. We took 2 friends who play but aren't really avid disc golfers and they had an absolute blast. We came off the 30th hole and Paul had 4 cold beers waiting for us. He directed us to an absolutely amazing restaurant called Zoka's which is only 1 mile away and a perfect place to re-fuel after walking this course. The course is located in a fantastic outdoor recreation area so if you are into outdoor sports there is no reason not to make this part of a 2 day camping, discing, mountain biking, etc excursion. Definitely give this course a try (we will be posting some photos soon)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.