Pine, CO 
Phantom Falls Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #2 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 149
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 15
 A True Legacy

1    5/25/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: jonhat42
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The entire experience of this course from beginning to end was phenominal. The course is one of the most fun technically challenging courses my wife and I have ever played, It is designed to maxamize every inch of terrain on this private swath of land. The effort put into design, maintenance, signage, and "fun" are really second to no course I have ever played. Paulie has poured his heart and soul into every aspect of this course and it is truly his gift to the disc golf community. The moment you pull into the driveway and are greeted by the course owner you realize you are in for a special day. Paulie makes certain to give you a detailed rundown of the course prior to teeing off. Making the anticipation build with every hole description and shot recommendation. The first tee pad begins on his beautiful back patio and looks at one of the coolest baskets I have ever thrown to made of native CO wood. From here on the couse winds up and down the holeountainous terrain. The holes are tight and technical and the elevation changes provide you with a serious workout. The true fun factor however is that a number of the holes are aceable but with a high risk vs. reward. We decided to take Paulie up on the lunch option he offers midway through the course and I am glad we did because I definately needed the fule to finish this monster. The pasta was wonderful and the meat sauce was hearty and flavorful. The remainder of the course was even more physically demanding and I am glad we were warned ahead of time because we both made sure to hydrate hydrate hydrate! The guidebook we were given that provides tips on each hole acted as a caddy and saved both of us extra walks due to its recomendations. Hole after hole there was always a "wow" factor when standing on each teepad. When playing a course as long and physically demanding as this one you truly appreciate the unselfish nature of the 3 tee time limit. There is no distractions, and thus no reason not to relax and enjoy your day and play your best game. The icing on the cake was toward the very end of a long fun day, Paulie infrmed us when we bagan that the last 5 holes had just been opened to the public a few weeks ago. We were really beat by the time we got to the last 5 but the opportunity to be one of the first few to play these new holes on such an epic course was too much to pass up. Paulie joined us for the last 5 and went over the finishing touches he has in store for these holes. What a wonderful day of DG in one of the most beautiful states in the union.
Cons: The only con would be the 2 holes that play from 1 teepad to a long and short pin, if you didnt travel with enough plastic this could be frustrating. paulie makes sure to point this out prior to teeing off though. Also; some of the teepads are small, but this is a mountain course and as such often times this cannot be avoided. But speaking with the owner I know that in time these issues will be adressed
Other Thoughts: If i had the money (i dont) I would hire Paulie to help design my own course. The playability of his course is what keeps it fun throughout. You often have times where you throw a disc and feel that "almost" feeling which makes you want to play the hole over and over. This course is a true testiment to its designers love for the sport and all the aspects that make it something us disc golfers love to to; play. I will play this couse whenever I am back in CO and i would recomend it to everyone.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 DG at its finest

1    6/19/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Private course that only has 3 tee times daily ensures that no one is rushing you or interrupting your play. The scenery is beautiful! Very technical course that will give you a work out on your game and your body. Paul is the coolest person I have met who is in the DG community putting a vast amount of his own money and time into something that we all can enjoy. The hospitality is second to none! He offers an extensive introduction to the course and its blind shots as well as advice on how to play almost every hole. The cheat sheet given to you on the score card is very helpful during your play. Paul caters to everyone no matter what the size of your group is or what level of play you are at. He will break out the grill and do burgers and dogs if you have a special event in mind or offer a bag lunch @ hole 13 if you are just wanting to play a round, for a modest price. New hole 23 tee box off of a 14x6 foot deck is an awesome place to take a break and sit down and enjoy the view! This is a must play for any disc golfer!!! Great hike and awesome one of a kind experience a half hour from denver. Do not miss out on the chance to enjoy the Phantom.
Cons: None whatsoever unless you consider being sore the next day after playing this monster.
Other Thoughts: The generosity of others contributing to this Colorado gem has improved the course and enriched the idealism of the DG community. Donated and recycled snowboards and skis provide benches and bag hooks, labors of love given to the course help to make the course better and monetary gifts, which the course runs on, ensures that all of us have a great place to enjoy a good day out. This is a course on private land that relies on your generosity. So when you get there and you have had the time of your life, don't forget to give back so that we can make this an even better experience for everyone. In addition to the course, Paul also has a pro shop with great gear and Phantom Falls "wear". This course is addictive and I enjoy it even more every time I play it!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Nirvana

1    4/26/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: Scottty
Played: 56  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/19/2013
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This place is a testament to why I love disc golf. A super fun and demanding course brought to us by a fellow disc golfer who's excited to share his vision and hospitality with fellow disc golfers. As for the course, it brilliantly utilizes trees, elevation changes, and limited land. Though there are plenty of trees, there are still more than enough windows to get creative when choosing a line. The course is technical and sometimes very tempting (the ace runs often end up rolling or skipping waaayyy down the hills). You're going to need every shot you have to shoot low here. It is a challenge, both mentally in balancing the risk/reward of your shot selection, and physically due to being high up in the Rockies with plenty of trekking up and downhill. This course is also one of a kind, literally. There are spectacular views and three holes that you play towards a beautiful handcrafted wooden basket. In addition to the setting, there are unique CTP markers on every hole that allow you to benchmark your shots against all previous players of the course. Overall, it's just a great layout throughout. From Hole #1 to Hole #35 this course has it all. Also, if you are worried about the hiking there are some sweet benches on every hole to re-coop and the course loops back around to the parking area a few times so you can refill your water at your car or grab a cold drink from the pro shop.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  My Phantom experience.

1    5/30/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: Joyfulina
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is one beautiful course! After playing it I felt like a true disc golfer. It was challenging and so much fun! Its a wonderful outdoors experience and every basket is breath taking.

The stories behind every basket and how they are all sponsored was very interesting to me. This course really make you feel at home. You build a relationship with it as you play, go through the hard time and the amazing time as you play and watch your discs fly through what I like to think of as a disc golf wonderland.
Cons: The only toilet was a port-a-potty, which being a woman is never to much fun. haha
Other Thoughts: Paulie is one of the coolest, most inviting people I have ever met and very very much enjoyed his hospitality. I loved that he had cold drinks out that you could enjoy with just a donation. He's little disc golf shop there was also great!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/6/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: yeshuaalltheway
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: very unique coarse
challenging in terms of consistent accuracy
great location/great views
terrific in terms of exercise as well as hole diversity
2 blind shots= a nice challenge
you dont need a great arm to play it
anyone can have fun on it
very reasonable well put together shop along with top of the line merchandise
Paul's a great dude with evident passion towards the game
Other Thoughts: it can be bright which is typical in the area , so i recomend bringin a nice pair of sun glasses you can play in. other than that its a super fun coarse and i highly recomend giving it a try

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Absolutely Phantomtastic

2-4    6/3/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: Fattystacks
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The surroundings are awesome. Where else could you go and play disc golf in the hillside of a mountain. Service is great. Paul has done a great job in keeping this place in great shape. The wind chimes are a great touch and it is a reachable hole to ace as well.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I've only been playing disc golf for 3 months and this place is why i will never stop playing. it was very demanding. but well worth it. Paul makes it worth your wild and it also has a pro shop with alot of discs to purchase. even ones with his logo on it. So you can take something with you to remember by. My last thing is that I shot plus 6 not bad for a new player.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely Amazing!

1    5/7/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: Kuiky
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It's really hard to add any more to the other reviews! All I can say is this is my favorite course out of all the courses I've played. I've played 4 other mountain courses and this is the only one I've rated 5! It's challenging but, you don't have to be a pro! The hospitality is phenomenal! The views are beautiful and if you need a break you can sit and chill because you don't have people rushing you through the course! Great layout!
Cons: Sorry don't have any...
Other Thoughts: Definatley worth paying the $!! You can play up to 34 holes if you wish or you can quit when you're tired! Best course I've played so far!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Blown away.

1    6/2/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.4 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful course on private property in the mountains that plays through trees, over ravines, up hills, down hills and anything else you can come up with. This course has it all.
- Tee boxes are marked with large flagstone pieces, and next tees are also marked with rocks that have arrows pointed on them.
- Clean and well-kept course.
- You will need all of your throws on this course. Hyzers, Anhyzers, Thumbers, Forehands, and backhands.
- Decent proshop on location, with discs and anything else you'd need. It also has some great moisture-wicking shirts for warm and cold weather that are very reasonably priced.
- The owner Paulie is one of the nicest and accomodating guys you'll ever meet and you can really see the love he put into making this course.
- Thanks to the reserved tee times, you and your group will have the course entirely to yourselves, so you can throw as much as you want.
- Fairways are quite clear, so you'll have very little chance to lose discs.
- The Aspen Basket!
- Before you play, Paulie gives you a "cheat sheet" that describes all of the holes and how to go about playing each of them. LISTEN TO IT, it really helps.
- The mando between two trees on Hole 5 is a nice challenge.
Cons: There are very few things that i can think of. The only thing that i can think of is more of a warning, and that is to be sure to wear sturdy shoes. While walking up and down the hills on the course, the ground can be a bit loose in places, so be sure to watch your step.
The last five holes on the course are rather new, so the fairways and tee boxes are quite rough but still fun.
Other Thoughts: So far, this is the absolute best course i have ever played. My group and I had an amazing time that we will remember for the rest of our lives. Paulie was more than accomodating to us and fun to talk to. He gives you just about a full run-down on the course before you play, showing you the blind holes and talking about the course in general. The course itself is quite easy to follow and Paulie did a very good job at designing the holes. The length of the holes isn't overly long, and you won't need your drivers too much, aside from some uphill drives and the long alternate holes. The last five holes have recently been installed and are quite good. They're a bit on the rough side at the moment but Paulie is working on them and will be great when finished. All in all, Phantom Falls is a must-play for anyone who loves disc golf. If you are anywhere in Colorado east of the rockies, definitely make it a point to play here.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Great experience, every time.

2-4    5/30/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: NakedJacobo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging holes.
Great atmosphere.
Beautiful views.
Interesting design.
Awesome pro shop.
A relaxed, play at your own pace philosophy which makes for an enhanced disc golf experience.
Cons: Lots of hills, so if you're not into getting some exercise in this might not be for you.
Other Thoughts: This is a disc golf experience that anyone who loves the sport should get out and be a part of. It makes for a full day of entertainment at a fair price and is well worth planning in advance for. I have played the course twice now and plan to play every time that I visit CO. This is a gem tucked into the CO landscape and is a must play! Highly recommended!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Couldn't Have Said It Better

2-4    5/23/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: Bartley201
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Last Review, (See Previous) was pretty much spot on.

A couple of things I'd like to add:

-Beginners need not be afraid! As long as you are prepared to do a solid hike along with your day of disc, you will definitely have a great time!

-Seasoned Players, it is true that every hole can be aced, and many of these baskets have yet to be aced! It really adds a unique excitement level that can't be matched by other courses.
Cons: I haven't had the energy or the time to play the course twice, (So many baskets to get redemption on).
Other Thoughts: This course is in constant improvement. Just when you think this course cant get any better, Paulie does something like installing new comfy outdoor furniture on his patio to relax the legs in between holes. It's like a freakin' disc golf country club!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.