Pine, CO
Phantom Falls Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #29 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 162ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #30 Basket



Reviews: 142
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 15
 Blown away.

1    6/2/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.9 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful course on private property in the mountains that plays through trees, over ravines, up hills, down hills and anything else you can come up with. This course has it all.
- Tee boxes are marked with large flagstone pieces, and next tees are also marked with rocks that have arrows pointed on them.
- Clean and well-kept course.
- You will need all of your throws on this course. Hyzers, Anhyzers, Thumbers, Forehands, and backhands.
- Decent proshop on location, with discs and anything else you'd need. It also has some great moisture-wicking shirts for warm and cold weather that are very reasonably priced.
- The owner Paulie is one of the nicest and accomodating guys you'll ever meet and you can really see the love he put into making this course.
- Thanks to the reserved tee times, you and your group will have the course entirely to yourselves, so you can throw as much as you want.
- Fairways are quite clear, so you'll have very little chance to lose discs.
- The Aspen Basket!
- Before you play, Paulie gives you a "cheat sheet" that describes all of the holes and how to go about playing each of them. LISTEN TO IT, it really helps.
- The mando between two trees on Hole 5 is a nice challenge.
Cons: There are very few things that i can think of. The only thing that i can think of is more of a warning, and that is to be sure to wear sturdy shoes. While walking up and down the hills on the course, the ground can be a bit loose in places, so be sure to watch your step.
The last five holes on the course are rather new, so the fairways and tee boxes are quite rough but still fun.
Other Thoughts: So far, this is the absolute best course i have ever played. My group and I had an amazing time that we will remember for the rest of our lives. Paulie was more than accomodating to us and fun to talk to. He gives you just about a full run-down on the course before you play, showing you the blind holes and talking about the course in general. The course itself is quite easy to follow and Paulie did a very good job at designing the holes. The length of the holes isn't overly long, and you won't need your drivers too much, aside from some uphill drives and the long alternate holes. The last five holes have recently been installed and are quite good. They're a bit on the rough side at the moment but Paulie is working on them and will be great when finished. All in all, Phantom Falls is a must-play for anyone who loves disc golf. If you are anywhere in Colorado east of the rockies, definitely make it a point to play here.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Great experience, every time.

2-4    5/30/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: NakedJacobo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging holes.
Great atmosphere.
Beautiful views.
Interesting design.
Awesome pro shop.
A relaxed, play at your own pace philosophy which makes for an enhanced disc golf experience.
Cons: Lots of hills, so if you're not into getting some exercise in this might not be for you.
Other Thoughts: This is a disc golf experience that anyone who loves the sport should get out and be a part of. It makes for a full day of entertainment at a fair price and is well worth planning in advance for. I have played the course twice now and plan to play every time that I visit CO. This is a gem tucked into the CO landscape and is a must play! Highly recommended!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Couldn't Have Said It Better

2-4    5/23/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: Bartley201
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Last Review, (See Previous) was pretty much spot on.

A couple of things I'd like to add:

-Beginners need not be afraid! As long as you are prepared to do a solid hike along with your day of disc, you will definitely have a great time!

-Seasoned Players, it is true that every hole can be aced, and many of these baskets have yet to be aced! It really adds a unique excitement level that can't be matched by other courses.
Cons: I haven't had the energy or the time to play the course twice, (So many baskets to get redemption on).
Other Thoughts: This course is in constant improvement. Just when you think this course cant get any better, Paulie does something like installing new comfy outdoor furniture on his patio to relax the legs in between holes. It's like a freakin' disc golf country club!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of Colorado's Best & Most Unique

2-4    5/21/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses Colorado has to offer. 38 very technical holes at 8000 ft. elevation in the Colorado Rockies. Not too far from the city, and not too far from the backcountry. Up to five hours of play, with a quality work out at the same time. The first time I played here I played two rounds in a bit over five hours with one friend. The second time I played one round in five hours with four friends. A typical round is expected to take five hours and is a voluntary donation of $10.00. Each donation is clearly put back into improving the course. Current renovations include new tee boxes on the last 6 holes, the addition of a mini-disc course, closest to pin signs, and 3-D maps of every hole at the tee box. Once the course has the additions, I will rate it a 5.

The vibe here is awesome, and you can tell the courses owner as well as all who play there truly love disc golf. The rules here are to relax, have fun, and respect the land. The course starts out with a personalized greeting from the owner, Paulie. He will give you a tour of the course, bring you into the pro shop to check out discs and do some paperwork, and escort you to hole one. Hole 1 is a one-of-a-kind basket made out of aspen wood and real chains. While it may not be PDGA legal, it is one of the coolest things you will ever see on a disc golf course, and it feels like an honor to be playing it. When you finish hole 1, Paulie offers to take a picture of your group with the basket. Hole 4 is also a cool and unique wind-chime basket that makes an awesome sound when you nail it.

From here on out the course dips and dives up, down, and around the steep property. The course is extremely technical and is a true risk and reward style course. While only 5 or so holes range over 300 feet, the technical aspects of the course will have you on your toes. Phantom falls requires every kind of shot you have in your bag (and if you're missing any kind of throw, it requires that too). You will throw long straight shots over valleys, short and long hyzers and anhyzers, tomahawks, scoobys, and thumbers (I cant throw the last two, but Paulie advises them). With 38 holes, there is little to leave out. There are a million tight gaps to hit, and even more trees blocking the way. There are extremely short shots with large drop-offs. There are extreme uphills and extreme downhills. There is an EXTREME chance of rolling, so controlling the disc's landing is key here. It is easy for a birdie to become a bogey (or double bogey) from a 250 ft. downhill roll. Risk & Reward. Don't forget to use the "cheat sheet" Paulie gives you!

With 38 holes, some of which play back to the same basket, you may think this place might get confusing. Paulie claims he has "idiot-proofed" this place, and he is correct. There are arrows and hole numbers telling you precisely where to go at the end of every basket. The fact that a few baskets are used multiple times is almost unnoticeable in the fact that each shot is extremely different.

Paulie offers you:
- "Make yourself feel at home" vibe
- Personalized tour of the course
- Quality, plentiful, and inexpensive lunch between holes 13 & 14
- Fully stocked cooler with water, and chips (all for a very reasonable donation)
- One of a kind pro shop with many one of a kind discs. There are rare discs from rare companies, discs with extensive and expensive dye work, custom Phantom Falls DGC discs, average discs, and a huge variety of used discs
- Paulie's got the know-how on every disc in his shop and how it will fit into your style of throwing. Don't be afraid to ask questions… because he will have the answers, and the proper disc.
- The course to yourself… three tee times a day ensures you get to go at your pace, no matter what that may be.
Cons: Some people say a few tee boxes are too small and made of uneven dirt. Paulie has a rake at every hole to make the tee boxes to your individual liking. It's also not a true mountain course without a few small tee pads!
Other Thoughts: Phantom Falls is not for the casual discer. When you come here you should be prepared for around 5 hours of hiking, throwing, and a few bad rolls. It is a voluntary donation of $10 and is about an hour drive from the city, leaving the course for more serious players. The pro shop is a must see, and the course is a must play if you're into mountain courses and hiking. The vibe and course are truly one of a kind. I will be back here again and again… and again.

Phantom Falls is a disc golf "ivory tower"... respect it and keep it that way.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Disc Golf Paradise

1    5/20/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: ZWood15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Phantom Falls is an amazing disc golf course! As soon as you drive up, it is clear that Paulie has put his heart and soul into the course. The course zig says across a private piece of land in the mountains and will test every throw you have as well as your physical fitness. There are some signature holes such as the handmade aspen basket on 1 and a chime basket that is down a ravine and hanging from a tree. The reserved tee time is nice since you feel like the course is yours. The course is very challenging and will cause some frustration to even the best players, but is incredibly fun to play. The $10 donation is worth every penny and I know that it will be used to make improvements. When we played, all holes arrest completed, with the back few having temp tee pads.
Cons: None! I just wish it was closer...
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to come play the course again!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Legendary Colorado Course

2-4    5/21/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: discmoe.
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Course Design - Although Phantom Falls isn't on a huge chunk of land, it's clear a lot of time and effort were put into making the course work so well on the land allotted. You'll play to the same baskets a few times, but it's hardly noticeable until you're right up at the basket making a putt. No two holes are the same and there are ALL kinds of shots: uphill, downhill, hyzer, anhyzer and blind shots. He says the course is "idiot proof" which is true; the course is very well marked and making your way around is an ease. You go back to your car/his house multiple times, so there's no reason to overstock on beer or supplies. Being a shorter course, this is ideal for girls who simply can't keep up on the long-drive courses. While he advertises baskets 30 to 35 as being underdeveloped, they are totally playable.

Challenge - This is a huge risk/reward course. Since the terrain is so hilly and steep, you can go from a birdie opportunity to a double bogey in no time with an ill-fated roll. Overshooting baskets can be big trouble in many cases. In my opinion, some of the toughest holes were the shortest (>150 ft) because overshooting it will lead to disaster.

Limited Tee Times - PFDGC only offers 3 tee times a day which must be reserved in advanced. This means it's likely you and your party won't see anyone the entire time you're there and if you do it's not a big deal. The first time I went my friend and I had the course to ourselves for two rounds and the next time our group of 5 had limited run ins with the other group, which weren't problematic in the slightest. Unlike some other courses where you may feel rushed because of other people, you're encouraged to take your time and enjoy this course.

Pay to Play - the $10 customary donation is well worth it. The $10 goes to the upkeep of course and future improvements Paulie's got planned. Also, this keeps people who aren't quite as serious about disc away.

Pro Shop- What other disc golf courses have their own pro shop? Definitely bring some cash because Paulie's got a fully stocked pro shop with a wide range of new and used discs. He's got a ton of specialty dyes, custom discs and some discs you can't find anywhere else in the US (for real!). He's incredibly knowledgeable on all the discs and will be happy to give you a recommendation. He suggested the Flick and the Stalker to me, which have since becomes favorites of mine.

Hospitality - Paulie's really on to something here. From the minute you arrive until you leave, Paul is an incredibly gracious host. He'll give you a brief run down/tour of the course and give you valuable tips for some of the more challenging holes. He'll even make you a hot meal that you can enjoy on his beautiful deck between 13 and 14.. Last time I got the Italian Sausage, or something of the sort, which was well worth it..
Cons: I'm hard pressed to think of any beside it being over an hour from my house...but it's WELL worth the drive.
Other Thoughts: Phantom Falls is easily a 4.5 and will be a 5.0 in a few years after some small improvements are made. My favorite course in Colorado and I'll make it here as much as I can.

If you're planning on going to Phantom Falls, plan on making a day out of it. Both times I went I left thoroughly satisfied yet exhausted from all the hiking and throwing.

PFDGC is truly a disc golf sanctuary...lets keep it that way. Respect the course and it's rules and this is sure to develop into one of the premier courses in the country.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Unreal

1    5/7/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: Sidearm Slinger
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First of all, Paul is awesome. His hospitality is second to none. The course is extremely technical with elevation changes EVERYWHERE, tight gaps, blind shots, uphill shots, downhill shots, it has everything. No big arm shots needed here, you'll probably end up in one of the unforgiving trees if you try.
Three tee times a day means you pretty much have the course to yourself, which is awesome! No pressure, no rush. Take your time and enjoy yourself.
Beautiful scenery all around you. There is a busy road on one side but you don't even notice.
This course really is one of the best and Paul just makes it that much better. Get your tee time and go play this BA course!!!!!
Cons: um...
Other Thoughts: Be respectful. This course surrounds Paul's house and he has kids. Pack in what you pack out. Paul also has a small pro shop, pick up your Phantom Falls shirt or one of the many kick-ass custom dyed discs. If your in CO, do whatever you can to play here, you won't regret it!!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    5/7/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: Dwalt
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The best course I have played in CO. Being female, the shorter holes are awesome!! But they are very technical. I like fact that only one group at a time plays so that you can take your time and not worry about running to a bunch of other groups. The scenery is beautiful and the hospitality is top notch.
Cons: On some of the inclines its hard to get good footing/balance for your throw.
Other Thoughts: Overall awesome course and great hospitality and I will be going back as much as I can!!

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  I love this place!!!!

2-4    4/21/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: Kevmasta
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: If you like to have fun playing with your disc golf buddies or want to improve your mountain game this is the place for you.
Cons: No cons unless you are in a hurry. Make sure you have ample time to play all of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I will be back often and want to crack that record!!!

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Not Your Typical Course

2-4    4/29/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 102  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 5.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Have you ever wondered what it would be like to own a mountain house and build a course in your backyard? Me neither, but here's your chance to find out! Paul built this course with the same people who built the nearby Conifer, and you can feel some similarities.

It is now 36 holes, although the tee pads on the last few holes are not completed. The holes crisscross the property, up and down steep, gravelly hills. You often play to the same basket twice, but you don't even realize it until you're putting and thinking, "Wait, haven't I been here before?" But due to the big elevation changes, you get very different looks.

The holes are generally not long, mostly in the 200-300 foot range, although the uphill holes play long. You'll need your drivers for the uphill shots and can safely stick to your putter and midranges for the others. Accuracy is rewarded. There are a lot of birdie opportunities…but a lot of double bogey opportunities. If you clang a putt or overthrow a drive, you could have a very long comeback shot.

There are some really unique holes here. One basket sits in a dry creek bed and you play at it from above and below on separate holes. You could skip it in from either direction from the banks, and it's possible to roll or slide your "putt" in from above. Holes 10a and 10b (he had to name them that way to avoid renumbering all the subsequent holes and move the tombstone-like tee markers) play to a the top of a big mound with steep sides. If you got for the ace, you won't have a birdie shot. But it's so tempting…

And hole 20 is the toughest 132-foot par-3 you'll ever throw. It's almost straight downhill with the basket on the incline. A careful approach shot can make use of the small shrubs and trees to catch your disk, but it's tough.

Like Conifer, this course makes for great scoring spreads. I was in the lead after 18 holes in one of our rounds…and ended up 4th out of 5 people. This course forces you to play smarter than you're probably used to.
Cons: I would never expect rubber tee pads (or concrete, obviously) at a course like this, but natural tee pads can get uneven, and some of them here are very short.

Some of the holes, especially late in the round, start to feel repetitive (throw through the trees and hope), although it's not like there are a ton of options on terrain like this. However, some of the fairways could be trimmed up a little. There are a number of holes that take skill to get the disc halfway to the hole, but after that there's some luck involved. There's not always a clear window. But again, this is maybe 5-6 of the holes out of 36.

The final couple holes are still works in process, but they are more than playable now.
Other Thoughts: Paul is a nice guy (he seemed a little intense over email with his long list of rules and suggestions, but he's really not), and he may play with you.

There is almost no grass or undergrowth here, so you'll never have to search for your disc. But it also makes things tough on the knees as you slide around on the gravel and dirt.

You have to pay $10 for your first round and $5 for each round after, and you need to set up a tee time (this is what allows you to safely throw at the same basket twice, since no one else will be on the course). This is not a con. The course is on private land, and Paul puts the money back into the course. You can see where it goes. The signage fits the character of the place and makes the navigation surprisingly easy. It took us a little under three hours to play a round, but Paul commented we play faster than most people. He has snacks and drinks available for a donation and will cook you lunch if you want.

It's difficult to describe how cool this place is. The layout, the tough holes, the homemade basket, and the risk/reward on every hole. Conifer is a better course (has more room to work with for multiple positions, etc.), but this place has an atmosphere that you won't see many other places in the disc golf world, and for that I think it deserves 4.5 out of 5. If you make it to the Denver area, plan ahead and play here.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.