Pine, CO 
Phantom Falls Share
Uploaded By: SeanMeacham Hole #8
3 / 162ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 144
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
 so chill

1    4/24/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: pitcherofnectar
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Paulie is the man. After a tour of his great collection of discs and gear for sale he walked us through this challenging, techincal and beautiful course on the mountains off 285. As a group of 3 we couldnt have felt more welcome. The weather was perfect, beers were cold and everyone on site was really into hitting chain. Holes are very clever and entertaining, and most have a safe route and a suicide shot for those of you with "balls." Threading a disc through these trees without contact is such a rush! Dogs are welcome, groups have the course to themselves, and lunch is even available at the turn. If you live within 300 miles, you have to come play this course.
Cons: tee boxes are very well built dirt in wood frames but i would love it if they were cement. other than that this course is fantastic in every way

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  First time and hooked!

1    7/22/2008   3/14/2010
Review By: wizzakern1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful and challenging course. I played the course as a "beginner" DG player but found that with the management's (Paulie, that is) encouragement and guidance I felt right at home. After each hole, I couldn't wait to see what was next. You might even have to think a bit on this course, but don't worry not too much! Thanks for an awesome experience and keep on designing!
Cons: Good luck finding any
Other Thoughts: Check out the pro-shop, and let everybody know about this GEM!!!

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play

5+    3/12/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: HappyGilmore
Played: 111  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.2 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is awesome. I have played many times over the years and Paulie always manages to make it better each time. It is challenging, beautiful and fun. It is a must play if you live in the area or if you are a visiting. Everything else has already been said in the other reviews. A must play!
Cons: Probably not for beginners or people that don't like awesomeness.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/24/2010   2/4/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Last stop on my 4 day Denver tour; and I have to say I saved the best for last. This course is more techincal than Beaver Ranch, with lots of elevation changes, tight tree shots and one extra tight double mando :) Nice tee boxes with signage in progress. The amount of enjoyment i got from playing this beautiful course with Paulie and a small group of friends & locals, will be hard to beat, especially living down here on the coast in Texas. Loved the aspen, wind-chime and hanging basket holes; one-of-kind course, a must play....
Cons: I wasn't able to play it twice..
Other Thoughts: Paulie's got it going on at Phantom Falls; well worth the $10 donation, I felt right at home, Thanks Paulie, I be seeing you first on my next Denver tour.

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Phantom Falls

1    1/25/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: Pete Kenny
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 36.4 Years
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Outstanding private course. Pauly is a gracious host. 30 holes, very hilly. Very well manicured for a wooded mountain course. Great variety and creative holes. Tees in great shape. Very well marked. Tests your whole game. A true 5!
Cons: The only con is the course is an hour from my house in Boulder. 30 holes plays in about 4 hours.
Other Thoughts: Outstanding course, lovingly maintained. Owner has put in much sweat to make a beautiful course. Don't miss this one. Super nice locals.

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Unreal

5+    8/6/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: jghinelli
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: The skill required to play this course is not for the average weekend warrior. The course forces the player to use creative shots as well as accurate shots. The views set this course apart from all others. The maintenance of course is above all others.
Other Thoughts: A must play!

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Labor of Love

2-4    1/10/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: squilly
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Fantastic course...Paul has clearly spent hundreds of hours putting this masterpiece together...he must have a very understanding wife!! Love the ski benches, aspen and wind chime holes. Ravines galore make some holes very challenging. If you're lucky Paul will show you his man cave.
Cons: A bit out of the way but worth the effort.
Other Thoughts: Go to Zoka's or the Bucksnort for drinks or a meal afterward. Both are within 5-10 minutes of Paul's course and are both worth the trip (Zoka's is great food/ambience yet not too pricey; Bucksnort is a backwoods burger dive saloon).

5 of 17 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

1    1/1/2010   1/1/2010
Review By: sbateman30
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Wow. What a beautiful course. It has some amazing scenery. A good work out also. A good combination of aceable and disheartening holes. A lot of fun overall.
Cons: Nothing really bad to say. Great course.
Other Thoughts: There is some treacherous errain so bring appropriate shoes.

3 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course

1    12/30/2009   12/30/2009
Review By: tmigchel
Played: 105  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2012
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow is pretty much how to describe this course. Great variety of holes with many different lines to take. I liked the rolling hills and valleys that came into play often. The elevation changes were challenging. The different types of baskets were awesome (there was a hanging basket, hanging chimes, and an incredible wooden basket just to name a few). It was nice how the course winded back to the house a few times during the round. Because of the great terrain, there is not a need for too many OBs or mandos, but the one double mando was pretty sweet (even though I missed it).
Cons: That I don't live closer. Some baskets are used multiple times, but you hardly notice if you have played it or not.
Other Thoughts: Paul is great guy that just loves disc. He seemed very happy to have us out there enjoying his course. He followed us around for a few holes to make sure his course record was safe, and it was. Unique disc golf experience, I cannot wait until I get to come back.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Oh what a day!!!!!

1    12/12/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: diskdunn1
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow, well where do I start. First of all Paulie is a great guy ( with quite a sidearm throw). what an amazing course. If I had this in my backyard, I would go broke and loose my job. This course gives you a taste of everything. Short and technical shots, long and crazy shots, dog legs, uphills, down hills, everything you could ask for. I couldn't pick a favorite hole as each one has its own unique characteristics. With mature tree's, amazing wooden baskets, 30 holes to play, and a breathtaking location all make this course one of the best in the west. If you are coming to CO to play, do not pass up the opportunity to play one of Colorado's premiere courses!!!!! Bring your burgers and steaks because Paulie lets you use the Disc Golfers grill 1/2 way through the course. Thanks Paulie for such a great day!!!!!!
Cons: There was no water holes for me to make a disc donation to the Disc water gods!!!!!. Make sure to give yourself 4 + hours to play. Not a con if you have the time.
Other Thoughts: Paulie said he will be opening a pro shop in 2010. Maybe a Phantom Falls Exclusive Disc would be great for the incredible memories!!!!!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.