Disc Golf Store
Pine, CO
Phantom Falls Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #13 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee: Steep uphill towards the shed.



Reviews: 142
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
  Phantastic Phantom Falls

2-4    5/24/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: fuman22
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This really is a good puzzle of a course if you like the challenge of consistently throwing through tight trees for moderate distances with elevation changes. Its one of the few tight courses in the Front Range. The tightness makes each hole seem much longer, but I found myself grabbing for anything between my putter and Eagle for 95% of the shots. I'm predominately a right BH, but found myself throwing FH on a third of the holes. Strong FH will love this course.
Course layout is sufficient for returns to the parking lot for refreshment replenishment. All tee pads and holes are well marked and with some looking around and attention to your orientation, the course is easily navigated.
A couple chime and aspen baskets make for a different, but fun feel. Perched baskets with big penalties into steep gullies make things interesting.
The owner Paulie is truly a gracious host and is thrilled to have courteous and enthused players tromping across his land.
Cons: There is very little that is bad or mediocre about this course, but I couldn't give it a higher score as it doesn't have and couldn't possibly have all the required elements to be rated much higher.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Throwing at the Falls

2-4    5/24/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great mountain course with a nice lay-out of 30 holes that will challenge every shot you have. We had a foursome of all levels of player and we ended up staying to play a total of 69 holes. The $10 fee is nothing when you see the work being put into the course. If you throw disc in Colorado get out to Phantom Falls.
Cons: The course is in great shape, but I think it would be nice to see some path markers to keep people from tracking all over the course in places. I think those would keep future erosion issues down along with helping keep people from trampling native flora.
Other Thoughts: A classic Colorado mountain course and I am looking forward to playing it many times in the future.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  great times

2-4    4/23/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: broxey
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing scenery. Very technical, Long shots through tight gaps. Ace runs/short shots. One of the coolest looking baskets by far you'll ever play on with the "money hole". Chime baskets for Ace possibilities.
Cons: Geez what a workout? Do some stretches cause your legs will burn after this monster... Other con: Not getting to play it again....
Other Thoughts: You can tell this is Paulie's baby. A lot of time, love and sweat has gone into this course making is truley special and a must play even if your 16 hours away :). Id love to have the chance to play this wonderful course again and maybe beat that first round score, and most importantly get on the "wall"...

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great course

1    5/14/2009   5/16/2009
Review By: shmizzak
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not alot i can say that has'nt been said about this course.. its simply great. good variety of awsome shots. you know how some holes just make ya want to throw again and again to empty your bag, most of the holes here are like that. lots of aceable runs
easy to navigate course with the pointing stones. looks like there are going to be some real nice signage when he gets finished


Cons: a workout for sure take plenty of water and snacks. a little higher than others with a 10$ pay to play but still worth it for a long trip such as ours. {fromKC} might be pricy for locals to play regularly though.
Other Thoughts: deffinately coming back

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    3/8/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: PineBasketBuilder
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you want a laid back pristine walk in the woods while throwing a challenging course, this is it. Great course without any dead fall, underbrush or piles of branches to navigate through (which is hard to find in the mountains) good clean course. Log/Railroad tie tee boxes provide great footing for shots which need to be perfect on this tight course with many narrow lanes. Relatively short course with only a few 300+ holes but very cool pin placements on hillsides, hilltops, ledges and openings make precise shots critical. Short holes provide many ACE possibilities. Some good variety in baskets DB-5, Discatcher and Aspen log baskets that add great character to the course and blend in to the mountain surroundings.
Cons: No water on the course creek, pond , lake or other spot to drown a disc, not necessarily a bad thing. Some of the final holes have definate double bogey possibilities, long, tight downhill, but played a few times and you'll learn to make safe shot instead of going for pin which could be disasterous. Private course, so call before throwing.
Other Thoughts: Tough course to shoot par on. Better make your birdies early and when you have a chance because last holes are a challenge to shoot par on. Only a few bogey free rounds ever on this course. Call to play and chances are you'll have the place to yourself, remember - Respect the People. Lots of great improvements constantly happening at PF, making this a great place to spend a day.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Phantom Falls Kicked my butt

1    3/7/2009   3/14/2009
Review By: HRPufinstuf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2011
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Eat your Wheaties! After playing this course I felt like I had been on the set of Roller Ball. I was beat - and I loved it. Very different experience from Beaver Ranch - still a mountain course and lots of trees but more technical, tight and unforgiving layouts. Although you double back on several holes - playing the same basket from different Tee's - each hole "feels" very different - it truly is 28 different holes. Most holes offer you a few options for attack - choose well. Its important to know your strengths and limitations as your margin for error is slight here.

The directional rocks on the ground help alot - so its relatively easy to follow. You can tell a lot of love of the game went into this course. The owner Paulie loves the game, is rightfully proud of this course and it all shows. A lot of work has gone into this place recently. If you play any course along 285 this has to be one of them.
Cons: Every hole is technical making it as exhausting mentally as it is physically. But they are holes you want to take on - again and again.
Other Thoughts: A lot of work and love has gone into this course recently and you can tell. The improvements on this course are never-ending. Since I last played, there are 10 new benches, 4 new holes, 4 new hole designs, 6 "new" tee boxes, trash-cans at every hole. If I wait another few months there will be even more to report.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Escape the Flats of the Cement Jungle

2-4    3/14/2009   3/14/2009
Review By: btingles
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a great day, escaping the hoards of people and lack of interesting terrain in and around Denver to this mountain retreat. Large pine trees provide shade and the property has all kinds of diversity - from elevated tee boxes to gulches. A variety of hole design tests all your skills, and keeps all 33 holes fun and unique!

Also, the course seems to be continually improved. It's fun to go back to check in on the latest updates!
Cons: Bring some extra discs; there are lots of huge pine trees and you might find one too tough to retrieve.
Other Thoughts: After playing, drive further south along Pine Valley Rd for a scenic river view and if you're from Denver head home on the back roads (SW Platte River Road).

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Iceaxe, Carabiners, Rope

1    3/2/2009   3/6/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 186  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11 Years
23 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many holes, 28 is the official count and I'm sure that by the time the creation is over there will be more. Number one is the $ hole, and silly me, I forgot to ask why. The $ hole is sure to become famous because it is handcrafted out of wood and provides ample opportunity for acing because it is one of the shorter and more open holes on the course. I bet that it will be the most photographed feature on the course. Most of the baskets are brand new Lightning DB-5's but there is an honest smattering of unique homemade baskets beyond the famous $ hole basket. One, like hanging chimes from a bowing tree at the bottom of a short ravine with a forty foot drop from the tee that begs you to empty your bag at it. The placement of the DB-5's are extremely unique, proving much risk reward, some at a cliff's edge others protected by rocks in the middle of a convergence of two hillsides.

Phantom falls is like the stock market, its up and down and then up and down again. I was beat after playing this course because I was simply not used to it. Go into a round at Phantom expecting to become a mountaineer. Admittedly there are more dramatic climbs at other Colorado disc golf courses, but you never get much of a break from the inclines here. I was sore after playing here, I earned it. The course is tight and challenging if you have a technical game in your bag you will greatly enjoy this course. The course is a disc golfers private fun-land, as such, is has a very high fun factor. There is a wide variety of looks and shots available during a round here.

For not being cement, the tee boxes are good quality. It is obvious that much labor has gone into the construction of the boxes, its one of the standout characteristics of Phantom. It is also well signed and marked usually just a simple rock with numbers and arrows on them but effective. As a work in process, I'm sure that all of these little things will become even better by the time you get around to playing it. The course is private, which as a "pro" gives is a total community feel with loads of comradery. I would recommend this course for anyone that's down to experience something different, beginners and pros alike who can respect a cool dude's private property.
Cons: The fact that its private and you have to call Paulie (who is a cool dude by the way) to get a tee time. It feels like its favors the right hand side-armer over other types of throwers. Its missing a long bomber shot. Instead of touring the land you comb it throughly backwards and forwards usually sharing a basket later on getting different looks at it. This is a home course, the course you would build if you had the land to, as such it will never be the big tournament ready park or public course.
Other Thoughts: When I think about the foothills of the Rockies this is the type of steep angled mountainside with tall skinny pines that comes to mind. Man, the list of great Colorado mountain courses just continues to climb, I realize that each person will have their own rankings and favorites but Phantom Falls holds it own with the best of them. It deserves a place in the conversation of "best Colorado courses." The fun factor is so high that I could see driving past Beaver Ranch to play this again. Next time I go, I'm eating at Zoka's Restaurant and Bar (which is only a mile and a half away) before or after the round because I was paired up with the owner and the guy knows his disc golf.
I could have rated this course a 4.0, this is one of those times I wish I could give out a 4.25 but high quality boxes and having a ton of holes ultimately bumped it up in my mind.

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Gem in the hills

2-4    5/16/2010   2/27/2009
Review By: Big Weekend
Played: 104  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quiet peaceful surroundings in the mtns. outside of Denver. So nice to play disc without cars and tons of pedestrians around. Accuracy and approach game is a key ingredient to scoring well. Many holes have overhand lines that are your best and safest option but with wind being a factor the only time I've played so far, those lines become unplayable and too dangerous. Excellent use of basket placement near terrain undulations that create smart putting and sometimes a little luck to not get a roll on a miss. Loved the CTP gnomes etc. and the aspen basket and chime hole. Overall tight demanding course that requires direct lines and accuracy.
Paulie has updated the course dramatically since I was last up and it looks amazing! So much easier to navigate and he has even gotten the ok for some new holes that play on fresh land. These new holes are sweet and while just in their infancy when we played them they are awesome.
Cons: Sometimes get a deja vu' feeling being in the pine trees the whole time.
Other Thoughts: Please don't litter anything on Paulie's land...Be respectful, and be thankful that this course is around.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Shot Lovers Dream

5+    2/1/2013   2/17/2009
Review By: paulrothley@msn.com
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2013
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is for those who like to make accurate shots, Those who enjoy chucking your biggest driver 500' in an open field, don't bother. This course has excellent Mtn. views of the snow capped peaks in the pike national forest. The course is set at 8000' and uses the elevation and terrain to provide an excellent variety of shots including uphill, downhill, left, and right dog legs. This course provides a great chance to practice new throwing techniques, thumbers, side arms, hammers, etc.
This course will test your course management skills, and will be enjoyable for anyone who has an accurate throw, or for those who wish to improve their accuracy. There is uber risk/reward at almost every pin placement and tight fairways, allong W/ the relentless trees make each shot challenging even for the best players. I find there to be no boring holes due to excellent course design, outstanding basket placement, and imaginative use of elevation & terrain. All but 3 of the 38 holes have benches and trash cans. What a Mountain jewel, what a treat.
Cons: This course does not lend itself to large tournaments (over 16pp) due to the fact that it "folds" back on itself on occasion, and some of the baskets are used for more than one "T" shot. With an average hole length @ 252 most would consider this course rather short, but I can assure you, it sure does't "play" that way. At every hole you could get a 2 or just as easely a 5.
Other Thoughts: Another interesting feature of Phantom Falls are the "CTP" markers, on every hole there are red and blue markers that indicate the best shot that has ever been played on that particular hole for the current year, and one to indicate the best drive ever. With a little luck, and one great shot, you too could "move a marker". All the signage on the course are flagstone rocks "T" box #'s on them, directional rocks W/ arrows to the next hole on them. Check out the "work of art" aspen basket on hole #1 (WOW). This is a private course, @ a private residence, so it's important to call ahead for directions, and a "T" time. Make sure to ask about the rules, be polite, and leave a generous donation. 100% of all donations go directly back into the course as it is being worked on continously. For transparency, I am the owner, and designer of this course. Please call Paulie @ 303-816-4622 for a tee time or for more information, and come and visit us sometime. Go to http://PFDGC.com [/link] for more info and directions. Thanks - Paulie

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.