Pine, CO 
Phantom Falls Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #7 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 146
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next >
  Escape the Flats of the Cement Jungle

2-4    3/14/2009   3/14/2009
Review By: btingles
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What a great day, escaping the hoards of people and lack of interesting terrain in and around Denver to this mountain retreat. Large pine trees provide shade and the property has all kinds of diversity - from elevated tee boxes to gulches. A variety of hole design tests all your skills, and keeps all 33 holes fun and unique!

Also, the course seems to be continually improved. It's fun to go back to check in on the latest updates!
Cons: Bring some extra discs; there are lots of huge pine trees and you might find one too tough to retrieve.
Other Thoughts: After playing, drive further south along Pine Valley Rd for a scenic river view and if you're from Denver head home on the back roads (SW Platte River Road).

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Iceaxe, Carabiners, Rope

1    3/2/2009   3/6/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.4 Years
23 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many holes, 28 is the official count and I'm sure that by the time the creation is over there will be more. Number one is the $ hole, and silly me, I forgot to ask why. The $ hole is sure to become famous because it is handcrafted out of wood and provides ample opportunity for acing because it is one of the shorter and more open holes on the course. I bet that it will be the most photographed feature on the course. Most of the baskets are brand new Lightning DB-5's but there is an honest smattering of unique homemade baskets beyond the famous $ hole basket. One, like hanging chimes from a bowing tree at the bottom of a short ravine with a forty foot drop from the tee that begs you to empty your bag at it. The placement of the DB-5's are extremely unique, proving much risk reward, some at a cliff's edge others protected by rocks in the middle of a convergence of two hillsides.

Phantom falls is like the stock market, its up and down and then up and down again. I was beat after playing this course because I was simply not used to it. Go into a round at Phantom expecting to become a mountaineer. Admittedly there are more dramatic climbs at other Colorado disc golf courses, but you never get much of a break from the inclines here. I was sore after playing here, I earned it. The course is tight and challenging if you have a technical game in your bag you will greatly enjoy this course. The course is a disc golfers private fun-land, as such, is has a very high fun factor. There is a wide variety of looks and shots available during a round here.

For not being cement, the tee boxes are good quality. It is obvious that much labor has gone into the construction of the boxes, its one of the standout characteristics of Phantom. It is also well signed and marked usually just a simple rock with numbers and arrows on them but effective. As a work in process, I'm sure that all of these little things will become even better by the time you get around to playing it. The course is private, which as a "pro" gives is a total community feel with loads of comradery. I would recommend this course for anyone that's down to experience something different, beginners and pros alike who can respect a cool dude's private property.
Cons: The fact that its private and you have to call Paulie (who is a cool dude by the way) to get a tee time. It feels like its favors the right hand side-armer over other types of throwers. Its missing a long bomber shot. Instead of touring the land you comb it throughly backwards and forwards usually sharing a basket later on getting different looks at it. This is a home course, the course you would build if you had the land to, as such it will never be the big tournament ready park or public course.
Other Thoughts: When I think about the foothills of the Rockies this is the type of steep angled mountainside with tall skinny pines that comes to mind. Man, the list of great Colorado mountain courses just continues to climb, I realize that each person will have their own rankings and favorites but Phantom Falls holds it own with the best of them. It deserves a place in the conversation of "best Colorado courses." The fun factor is so high that I could see driving past Beaver Ranch to play this again. Next time I go, I'm eating at Zoka's Restaurant and Bar (which is only a mile and a half away) before or after the round because I was paired up with the owner and the guy knows his disc golf.
I could have rated this course a 4.0, this is one of those times I wish I could give out a 4.25 but high quality boxes and having a ton of holes ultimately bumped it up in my mind.

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Gem in the hills

2-4    5/16/2010   2/27/2009
Review By: Big Weekend
Played: 110  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quiet peaceful surroundings in the mtns. outside of Denver. So nice to play disc without cars and tons of pedestrians around. Accuracy and approach game is a key ingredient to scoring well. Many holes have overhand lines that are your best and safest option but with wind being a factor the only time I've played so far, those lines become unplayable and too dangerous. Excellent use of basket placement near terrain undulations that create smart putting and sometimes a little luck to not get a roll on a miss. Loved the CTP gnomes etc. and the aspen basket and chime hole. Overall tight demanding course that requires direct lines and accuracy.
Paulie has updated the course dramatically since I was last up and it looks amazing! So much easier to navigate and he has even gotten the ok for some new holes that play on fresh land. These new holes are sweet and while just in their infancy when we played them they are awesome.
Cons: Sometimes get a deja vu' feeling being in the pine trees the whole time.
Other Thoughts: Please don't litter anything on Paulie's land...Be respectful, and be thankful that this course is around.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Shot Lovers Dream

5+    2/1/2013   2/17/2009
Review By: paulrothley@msn.com
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2013
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is for those who like to make accurate shots, Those who enjoy chucking your biggest driver 500' in an open field, don't bother. This course has excellent Mtn. views of the snow capped peaks in the pike national forest. The course is set at 8000' and uses the elevation and terrain to provide an excellent variety of shots including uphill, downhill, left, and right dog legs. This course provides a great chance to practice new throwing techniques, thumbers, side arms, hammers, etc.
This course will test your course management skills, and will be enjoyable for anyone who has an accurate throw, or for those who wish to improve their accuracy. There is uber risk/reward at almost every pin placement and tight fairways, allong W/ the relentless trees make each shot challenging even for the best players. I find there to be no boring holes due to excellent course design, outstanding basket placement, and imaginative use of elevation & terrain. All but 3 of the 38 holes have benches and trash cans. What a Mountain jewel, what a treat.
Cons: This course does not lend itself to large tournaments (over 16pp) due to the fact that it "folds" back on itself on occasion, and some of the baskets are used for more than one "T" shot. With an average hole length @ 252 most would consider this course rather short, but I can assure you, it sure does't "play" that way. At every hole you could get a 2 or just as easely a 5.
Other Thoughts: Another interesting feature of Phantom Falls are the "CTP" markers, on every hole there are red and blue markers that indicate the best shot that has ever been played on that particular hole for the current year, and one to indicate the best drive ever. With a little luck, and one great shot, you too could "move a marker". All the signage on the course are flagstone rocks "T" box #'s on them, directional rocks W/ arrows to the next hole on them. Check out the "work of art" aspen basket on hole #1 (WOW). This is a private course, @ a private residence, so it's important to call ahead for directions, and a "T" time. Make sure to ask about the rules, be polite, and leave a generous donation. 100% of all donations go directly back into the course as it is being worked on continously. For transparency, I am the owner, and designer of this course. Please call Paulie @ 303-816-4622 for a tee time or for more information, and come and visit us sometime. Go to http://PFDGC.com [/link] for more info and directions. Thanks - Paulie

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 2nd favorite CO mountain course

5+    2/10/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: ponto11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Next to Beaver Ranch/Conifer Community Park, this is my favorite mountain course along the 285 mountain corridor. The first hole has a chained basket made of wood which is an absolute thing of beauty!! One of the best things about this course is because of it's southern exposure, it can be played year round. Stink Finger Gulch creates several outstanding, testing holes. As already noted, bring your A-game for accuracy; otherwise, it'll be a long day and an over par round. 11-29-2009: all kinds of updates including several new benches, improved tee boxes, and better signage.
Cons: Tee boxes are natural. Shared baskets on many holes. One hole has chimes (but I love the chimes!!). Won't need too many drivers in the bag.
Other Thoughts: Undulating. Up and down all day long. One of the real nice perks is the course comes back to the house on a couple of occasions, which means you can refuel with drinks, etc. Almost every hole can produce a 2 or a 5. There are a few opportunities for sweet sky hyzers but mostly you'll be throwing rocs or buzz's or the like.

I've thrown a -9 and a +6 within 2 weeks time. When it's windy it's a real challenge as accuracy is a must.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Phantom Fun

5+    3/24/2010   2/14/2009
Review By: DUrich
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Technical, Technical, Technical! This course is
one of the best in the area. If you want a real challenge, this course meets the Mt. mantra for cool. The owner recently upgraded to the Lightning Baskets, many of which he's added extra chain - they catch better than many public courses. You've got to be able to navigate many drop offs and elevation changes. Under par is a great score....I don't think there is a single hole where you don't have to navigate the trees. This course is really playable year round....since it has major southern exposure. A lot of thought went into the layout, better bring your A Mt./technical game.
Cons: Its not near any major urban center, but that might be considered a positive by some. There are now a couple of long holes plus technical, but you better be able to make it through from the tee or trouble may abound. Be careful retrieving a disc that goes OB on or past the highway....the traffic has some blind curves in the area.
Other Thoughts: This course is pure technical fun. I love the undulations with all of the drop offs. Please give back to the owner for his commitment to our sport. He now offers great deals on discs, beverages and attire. The pro shop along with the course upgrades make it a 5.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.