Pine, CO 
Phantom Falls Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #26 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #27 Tee: Long steep downhill and then back up beyond rock marker.



Reviews: 149
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 15
  Perfection!

1    4/14/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: mdok
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signage.
Cleanliness.
Paulie R. and his orientation.
Only 30 minutes from my apartment.
Honor system fridge full of drinks and snacks.
Extensive pro-shop with tons of discs, and other disc golf gear.
Huge patio to enjoy your lunch.
Takes 6 hours to complete which I personally think is awesome.. I'd like to play it twice in one day.
Saturday & Sunday is a four person minimum and Paulie only does one tee time at 9:00am, meaning you and your three friends get the whole course to yourself that day... Genius.
Built-in Mini-DG course.
Most of the baskets are your standard DG basket and they are in perfect shape. He has a few custom baskets which are awesome.
Cons: Zero.
Other Thoughts: Paul Rothley the designer and owner of the course did a superb job of helping us out as this was our first time playing the course. He gave us a laminated "caddy" that guides you through all 38 holes. The signage is right on. We didn't have any problems knowing what basket to throw at. The course was designed to end up at his house every 7-8 holes which is pretty sick because that's where your truck is parked and where your cooler full of cool ones has been waiting for you. Wear some perfect fitting hiking shoes and be prepared to walk up steep hills most of the day. This course will kick your ass if you're out of shape, but it's worth it. There is a Subway in Conifer you can stop by on your way up to grab a few foot longs.. One for breakfast and one for lunch. Paul also offers an optional lunch if you come unprepared. Don't come unprepared. You need plenty of beer, fat, and protein. I haven't had the chance to play very many courses yet but I'm guessing this is one of the best courses in the nation if not the world. Do whatever it takes to get to Colorado and give this course a try. Paulie also said his new "Mountain Meadows Disc Golf Park" should be open sometime in 2012. After playing PF I have a feeling this new Park is going to be epic. The card he gave us states it will be P2P, Snack Bar, Lunch Menu, Driving Range, and a Pro Shop. Look it up on Facebook. It's also not far from PF so you might have to make a whole weekend of it at some point.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

1    10/10/2011   2/27/2012
Review By: lkacenja
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Extremely well kept course with very nice owner. Due to it's private ownership and staggered tee times you often have the course to yourself. It's really an ideal mountain disc golf retreat. Also, a great course for beginners and pros alike. Most holes are short and technical giving first timers a fare chance of performing as well as the pros.
Cons: none that I can think of

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Paulie

2-4    12/10/2011   2/23/2012
Review By: morry
Played: 37  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Paulie does the one thing a great course needs- he makes it feel like an event every single time you go there
Cons: too far from my house
Other Thoughts: Love the pro store, love CTP's it makes it feel like you are playing against history everytime you tee off

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Wonderland

1    1/27/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: rbnorris32
Played: 103  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was amazing. Paulie really out-did himself on this one. Every hole temped me to "go for it." I like the feeling when standing on the tee that I could possibly birdie or ace this hole. However, this was not the case. The trees, topography, and elevation made this course very challenging. The signage, CTP gnomes, and caddy sheet added the icing on the cake. I would highly recommend playing this course.
Cons: It is hard to say anything negative about this this course. I would say that with 38 holes, some of them seemed to blend together. That said, it is nearly impossible to have 38 completely distinct holes. Additionally, I wish there were a couple more +300 ft holes.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely one of my favorite courses. It is not the most challenging when looking at the holes individually, however this course will test your stamina. Be in shape and acclimated to the elevation. Wear good shoes and be sure footed. Some of the holes require you to hike through some steepish decomposed granite. This course has a lot of risk/reward. If you play conservatively it is easy to par. I would highly recommend playing this course in conjunction with Beaver Ranch (think its called the dirty 59). After playing them both, I would give the edge to Beaver Ranch because of the views. Also, the condition of PF on 1/27/12 was great while there was some snow at BR. Well worth the drive!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Worth the drive!

1    1/15/2012   1/28/2012
Review By: Daren
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This sweet little monster is tucked down into a pocket so don't let the weather scare you off. I left Denver on a cold windy morning and the weather at PF was perfect.

This course will require every shot in your bag, so bring em all. Well laid out with a high level of difficulty. Uphill, downhill, it has it all!

Being from Nebraska, I love the mountain courses, and Phantom Falls is among the best. I just can't get used to the views.

Last but not least is Paulie! You will be well taken car of, and you will feel as though you are playing in your own back yard! Don't be afraid to bring some cash, the discs are priced to sell and so is the apparel.

Make no mistake, Phantom Falls is worth the drive!

Daren
Cons: None! Not if you love disc golf.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/7/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: gund
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: So much fun to play. Challenging, fun, beautiful. Did I mention fun? Be ready to be tired.
Cons: having to schedule tee times...though this is also a benefit due to the course layout/design-it was created as a private back yard course and never meant to have large numbers of folks chucking discs.
Other Thoughts: go play this course and check out the discs for sale-lots of good stuff

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Phenomenal Phantom

1    10/16/2011   11/7/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 73  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Phantom Falls is rated one of the best disc golf courses in the country. Currently ranked 8th overall, just one spot above its neighbor Beaver Ranch/Conifer, the Phantom consistently satisfies the whims and wishes of its disc golf visitors. As owner, course designer and sole employee Paul (Paulie) Rothley says, "Phantom Falls truly has a little bit of everything, except fun factor, that we have in abundance."

And it's true. Phantom Falls is a 36-hole Colorado mountain course with a pro shop selling all sorts of custom and brand name disc golf accessories, a huge selection of new and used discs, bags, food, you name it. The prices are reasonable and there are some cool, unique items. Thoughtful amenities like bag hooks at every tee made from repurposed materials (ski bindings, old metal), snowboard benches, painted rock slab signage and funny little objects that mark CTP for each hole all add up to a fun-filled atmosphere. The course includes a bunch of unique baskets, such as: the famous aspen basket made entirely of wood (except the chains), the dangling chime target, a "standard" hanging basket, and a one-of-a-kind wooden cask barrel with a wagon wheel and protruding stick arms that is truly as much a beautiful sculpture as it is a disc golf target. So much creativity, time and care has gone into this course that you can't help but appreciate it.

It is a fairly short course in terms of the total combined length of its holes, but you'll have plenty of time to wear out your throwing arm by the end of the 36th hole. Although it is in the heart of an evergreen forest, the trees are neatly pruned to provide ideal corridors, clearings and overhangs. The natural-surface tee pads are built up with landscape timbers to make them level and are maintained incredibly well. You'll probably even see fresh rake marks in the dirt left by the groundskeeper (Paulie of course) doing his standard maintenance on the tees before your round. With the combination of the hole descriptions on the laminated scorecard and the abundant signage throughout, you'll scarcely find yourself lost or turned around. In terms of difficulty, the Phantom is about an 8 out of 10. It will challenge intermediates and pros to a highly competitive level, and for beginners it will either set the bar high for future improvement or scare their socks off! That said, it depends on whether tight, short throws or long bombs are your strong suit. If you're a big-armed bomber, Phantom will make you think about working on your technical mid-range and putting. Whichever way you look at it, you're bound to have a blast playing a casual or competitive round in these wooded hills.
Cons: We threw at the wrong basket from tee #20 and ended up near tee #22 scratching our heads. The directions on the scorecard and rock signs were not as clear for hole #20 as they were for the others. However, I have faith that Paulie probably would have cleared this up for us if he had been there that day to give us his intro speech upon our arrival. At least once during your round, you'll probably be kicking the dirt when your disc turns on edge and decides to take a nice long stroll down a 30 foot hill. (This isn't necessarily a "con", but it can be frustrating to the player, depending on how you look at it; it's more of a note about how the course plays than a criticism.) A handful of baskets are reused on different holes, although each tee is entirely separate from the others. This is mostly OK, but after the third time you come to the end of a hole at a basket you've seen before it does get a bit repetitive. Aside from a couple directional mix-ups and repetitive basket usage, there really isn't much to improve upon. There's food and discs for sale on site for Pete's sake - you can't complain with that!
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately when I visited, Paulie and his wife were on vacation, so I can't personally speak to the hospitality or character of the owner, which is usually part of any private disc golf course review. However, Paulie's father-in-law greeted us and was a fine substitute host.

In the end, it comes down to this fact alone: Until proven otherwise, Phantom Falls is the reigning king of mountain disc golf courses!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 WOW

2-4    10/3/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: tbrown
Played: 63  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: One of a kind.
Unique baskets
Great hospitality
Excellent display of mountain disc golf
Great usage of 14 acres to develop a 38 hole course
Great food
Amazing everything..
Cons: no cons
Other Thoughts: Paul is a great person, he has something special going on and you have got to take part in it. Make a special trip, go out of your way, make this a course you must play. You will be happy you did!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Phantom Falls 10/7/11

1    10/7/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: byark
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Picturesque course on private property that is immaculate.
Well laid out and challenging, moderate level of trees, thoughtful instructions that explain the course perfectly (laminated on provided clip board).
Excellent host (Paul) who offers a variety of services, including a high end disc shop and good conversation.
The course is a workout, which I see as a positive. However, if you are not in shape, it will not be as fun.
Also, beautiful signs and decorations all throughout course. Never lost (or even confused) once.
Cons: Too much fun, makes other courses seem boring.
Makes me want to go back to Iowa to play more wooded courses.
Is about an hour away from my house in Denver. (pro?)
Only one group at a time, which is only a problem if it isn't you.
Other Thoughts: Bring cash to donate if you want to play the course (respect) and be ready for the most impressive course in Colorado.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/30/2011   9/30/2011
Review By: jimmie51
Played: 49  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The scenery for one. Being from Michigan this course is nothing short of perfection in nature. Paulie is super cool and helpful. Before you get started paulie will give you a run down of the course and what to expect. he is pumped up and energetic about his course. Do not tune it out, EVERYTHING he said came in to play for us during our time on the course. It is a lot of information and you will get a cheat sheet with your score card that covers the stuff he talked about at the beginning. USE THE CARD! I was par on the first side of the card and most of that was due to using teh card and listening when to lay up and when to go for it. With out that card you could easily add 10 strokes per side. Every hole has a line to it. Some are easy to see and some you have to get creative. There is a shot no matter how you throw on just about every hole. I could sit here and keep talking about all the positives but I would have writers cramp by the time I finished. Here it is plain and simple. Play this course. Find a way to it if you have to take a bus, horse, ride your bike what ever it takes... this place is a disc golfers dream. Just remember this is what disc golfing is about. No matter how you finish you will leave Phantom with a feeling of accomplishment and WOW factor.
Cons: It's 18 hours from my house. I will be back next year and this will be a course I try to play every year as long as I can still climb those hills
Other Thoughts: This course is not a course you go play and expect to kill it. You go for the experience of playing it and the feeling of accomplishment when your done. Paulie is a great guy the course is rediculously fun in every way. Even your bad shots are fun.MUST PLAY COURSE!

GO FSU BULLDOGS!

That wont make sense to most of you but Paulie get's it

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.