Pine, CO 
Phantom Falls Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #6 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket: The small statue of The Thinker marks the current closest throw to the pin. Paulie uses different markers for each hole.



Reviews: 147
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 15
Disc Golf Nirvana

1    4/26/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: Scottty
Played: 56  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/19/2013
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This place is a testament to why I love disc golf. A super fun and demanding course brought to us by a fellow disc golfer who's excited to share his vision and hospitality with fellow disc golfers. As for the course, it brilliantly utilizes trees, elevation changes, and limited land. Though there are plenty of trees, there are still more than enough windows to get creative when choosing a line. The course is technical and sometimes very tempting (the ace runs often end up rolling or skipping waaayyy down the hills). You're going to need every shot you have to shoot low here. It is a challenge, both mentally in balancing the risk/reward of your shot selection, and physically due to being high up in the Rockies with plenty of trekking up and downhill. This course is also one of a kind, literally. There are spectacular views and three holes that you play towards a beautiful handcrafted wooden basket. In addition to the setting, there are unique CTP markers on every hole that allow you to benchmark your shots against all previous players of the course. Overall, it's just a great layout throughout. From Hole #1 to Hole #35 this course has it all. Also, if you are worried about the hiking there are some sweet benches on every hole to re-coop and the course loops back around to the parking area a few times so you can refill your water at your car or grab a cold drink from the pro shop.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  My Phantom experience.

1    5/30/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: Joyfulina
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is one beautiful course! After playing it I felt like a true disc golfer. It was challenging and so much fun! Its a wonderful outdoors experience and every basket is breath taking.

The stories behind every basket and how they are all sponsored was very interesting to me. This course really make you feel at home. You build a relationship with it as you play, go through the hard time and the amazing time as you play and watch your discs fly through what I like to think of as a disc golf wonderland.
Cons: The only toilet was a port-a-potty, which being a woman is never to much fun. haha
Other Thoughts: Paulie is one of the coolest, most inviting people I have ever met and very very much enjoyed his hospitality. I loved that he had cold drinks out that you could enjoy with just a donation. He's little disc golf shop there was also great!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/6/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: yeshuaalltheway
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: very unique coarse
challenging in terms of consistent accuracy
great location/great views
terrific in terms of exercise as well as hole diversity
2 blind shots= a nice challenge
you dont need a great arm to play it
anyone can have fun on it
very reasonable well put together shop along with top of the line merchandise
Paul's a great dude with evident passion towards the game
Other Thoughts: it can be bright which is typical in the area , so i recomend bringin a nice pair of sun glasses you can play in. other than that its a super fun coarse and i highly recomend giving it a try

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Absolutely Phantomtastic

2-4    6/3/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: Fattystacks
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The surroundings are awesome. Where else could you go and play disc golf in the hillside of a mountain. Service is great. Paul has done a great job in keeping this place in great shape. The wind chimes are a great touch and it is a reachable hole to ace as well.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I've only been playing disc golf for 3 months and this place is why i will never stop playing. it was very demanding. but well worth it. Paul makes it worth your wild and it also has a pro shop with alot of discs to purchase. even ones with his logo on it. So you can take something with you to remember by. My last thing is that I shot plus 6 not bad for a new player.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely Amazing!

1    5/7/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: Kuiky
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It's really hard to add any more to the other reviews! All I can say is this is my favorite course out of all the courses I've played. I've played 4 other mountain courses and this is the only one I've rated 5! It's challenging but, you don't have to be a pro! The hospitality is phenomenal! The views are beautiful and if you need a break you can sit and chill because you don't have people rushing you through the course! Great layout!
Cons: Sorry don't have any...
Other Thoughts: Definatley worth paying the $!! You can play up to 34 holes if you wish or you can quit when you're tired! Best course I've played so far!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Blown away.

1    6/2/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful course on private property in the mountains that plays through trees, over ravines, up hills, down hills and anything else you can come up with. This course has it all.
- Tee boxes are marked with large flagstone pieces, and next tees are also marked with rocks that have arrows pointed on them.
- Clean and well-kept course.
- You will need all of your throws on this course. Hyzers, Anhyzers, Thumbers, Forehands, and backhands.
- Decent proshop on location, with discs and anything else you'd need. It also has some great moisture-wicking shirts for warm and cold weather that are very reasonably priced.
- The owner Paulie is one of the nicest and accomodating guys you'll ever meet and you can really see the love he put into making this course.
- Thanks to the reserved tee times, you and your group will have the course entirely to yourselves, so you can throw as much as you want.
- Fairways are quite clear, so you'll have very little chance to lose discs.
- The Aspen Basket!
- Before you play, Paulie gives you a "cheat sheet" that describes all of the holes and how to go about playing each of them. LISTEN TO IT, it really helps.
- The mando between two trees on Hole 5 is a nice challenge.
Cons: There are very few things that i can think of. The only thing that i can think of is more of a warning, and that is to be sure to wear sturdy shoes. While walking up and down the hills on the course, the ground can be a bit loose in places, so be sure to watch your step.
The last five holes on the course are rather new, so the fairways and tee boxes are quite rough but still fun.
Other Thoughts: So far, this is the absolute best course i have ever played. My group and I had an amazing time that we will remember for the rest of our lives. Paulie was more than accomodating to us and fun to talk to. He gives you just about a full run-down on the course before you play, showing you the blind holes and talking about the course in general. The course itself is quite easy to follow and Paulie did a very good job at designing the holes. The length of the holes isn't overly long, and you won't need your drivers too much, aside from some uphill drives and the long alternate holes. The last five holes have recently been installed and are quite good. They're a bit on the rough side at the moment but Paulie is working on them and will be great when finished. All in all, Phantom Falls is a must-play for anyone who loves disc golf. If you are anywhere in Colorado east of the rockies, definitely make it a point to play here.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Great experience, every time.

2-4    5/30/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: NakedJacobo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging holes.
Great atmosphere.
Beautiful views.
Interesting design.
Awesome pro shop.
A relaxed, play at your own pace philosophy which makes for an enhanced disc golf experience.
Cons: Lots of hills, so if you're not into getting some exercise in this might not be for you.
Other Thoughts: This is a disc golf experience that anyone who loves the sport should get out and be a part of. It makes for a full day of entertainment at a fair price and is well worth planning in advance for. I have played the course twice now and plan to play every time that I visit CO. This is a gem tucked into the CO landscape and is a must play! Highly recommended!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Couldn't Have Said It Better

2-4    5/23/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: Bartley201
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Last Review, (See Previous) was pretty much spot on.

A couple of things I'd like to add:

-Beginners need not be afraid! As long as you are prepared to do a solid hike along with your day of disc, you will definitely have a great time!

-Seasoned Players, it is true that every hole can be aced, and many of these baskets have yet to be aced! It really adds a unique excitement level that can't be matched by other courses.
Cons: I haven't had the energy or the time to play the course twice, (So many baskets to get redemption on).
Other Thoughts: This course is in constant improvement. Just when you think this course cant get any better, Paulie does something like installing new comfy outdoor furniture on his patio to relax the legs in between holes. It's like a freakin' disc golf country club!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of Colorado's Best & Most Unique

2-4    5/21/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses Colorado has to offer. 38 very technical holes at 8000 ft. elevation in the Colorado Rockies. Not too far from the city, and not too far from the backcountry. Up to five hours of play, with a quality work out at the same time. The first time I played here I played two rounds in a bit over five hours with one friend. The second time I played one round in five hours with four friends. A typical round is expected to take five hours and is a voluntary donation of $10.00. Each donation is clearly put back into improving the course. Current renovations include new tee boxes on the last 6 holes, the addition of a mini-disc course, closest to pin signs, and 3-D maps of every hole at the tee box. Once the course has the additions, I will rate it a 5.

The vibe here is awesome, and you can tell the courses owner as well as all who play there truly love disc golf. The rules here are to relax, have fun, and respect the land. The course starts out with a personalized greeting from the owner, Paulie. He will give you a tour of the course, bring you into the pro shop to check out discs and do some paperwork, and escort you to hole one. Hole 1 is a one-of-a-kind basket made out of aspen wood and real chains. While it may not be PDGA legal, it is one of the coolest things you will ever see on a disc golf course, and it feels like an honor to be playing it. When you finish hole 1, Paulie offers to take a picture of your group with the basket. Hole 4 is also a cool and unique wind-chime basket that makes an awesome sound when you nail it.

From here on out the course dips and dives up, down, and around the steep property. The course is extremely technical and is a true risk and reward style course. While only 5 or so holes range over 300 feet, the technical aspects of the course will have you on your toes. Phantom falls requires every kind of shot you have in your bag (and if you're missing any kind of throw, it requires that too). You will throw long straight shots over valleys, short and long hyzers and anhyzers, tomahawks, scoobys, and thumbers (I cant throw the last two, but Paulie advises them). With 38 holes, there is little to leave out. There are a million tight gaps to hit, and even more trees blocking the way. There are extremely short shots with large drop-offs. There are extreme uphills and extreme downhills. There is an EXTREME chance of rolling, so controlling the disc's landing is key here. It is easy for a birdie to become a bogey (or double bogey) from a 250 ft. downhill roll. Risk & Reward. Don't forget to use the "cheat sheet" Paulie gives you!

With 38 holes, some of which play back to the same basket, you may think this place might get confusing. Paulie claims he has "idiot-proofed" this place, and he is correct. There are arrows and hole numbers telling you precisely where to go at the end of every basket. The fact that a few baskets are used multiple times is almost unnoticeable in the fact that each shot is extremely different.

Paulie offers you:
- "Make yourself feel at home" vibe
- Personalized tour of the course
- Quality, plentiful, and inexpensive lunch between holes 13 & 14
- Fully stocked cooler with water, and chips (all for a very reasonable donation)
- One of a kind pro shop with many one of a kind discs. There are rare discs from rare companies, discs with extensive and expensive dye work, custom Phantom Falls DGC discs, average discs, and a huge variety of used discs
- Paulie's got the know-how on every disc in his shop and how it will fit into your style of throwing. Don't be afraid to ask questions… because he will have the answers, and the proper disc.
- The course to yourself… three tee times a day ensures you get to go at your pace, no matter what that may be.
Cons: Some people say a few tee boxes are too small and made of uneven dirt. Paulie has a rake at every hole to make the tee boxes to your individual liking. It's also not a true mountain course without a few small tee pads!
Other Thoughts: Phantom Falls is not for the casual discer. When you come here you should be prepared for around 5 hours of hiking, throwing, and a few bad rolls. It is a voluntary donation of $10 and is about an hour drive from the city, leaving the course for more serious players. The pro shop is a must see, and the course is a must play if you're into mountain courses and hiking. The vibe and course are truly one of a kind. I will be back here again and again… and again.

Phantom Falls is a disc golf "ivory tower"... respect it and keep it that way.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Disc Golf Paradise

1    5/20/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: ZWood15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Phantom Falls is an amazing disc golf course! As soon as you drive up, it is clear that Paulie has put his heart and soul into the course. The course zig says across a private piece of land in the mountains and will test every throw you have as well as your physical fitness. There are some signature holes such as the handmade aspen basket on 1 and a chime basket that is down a ravine and hanging from a tree. The reserved tee time is nice since you feel like the course is yours. The course is very challenging and will cause some frustration to even the best players, but is incredibly fun to play. The $10 donation is worth every penny and I know that it will be used to make improvements. When we played, all holes arrest completed, with the back few having temp tee pads.
Cons: None! I just wish it was closer...
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to come play the course again!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.