Pine, CO 
Phantom Falls Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #13 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach



Reviews: 144
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... 14 15
  My favorite

1    9/30/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: Cadams
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Unparalleled service with a very personal feel, Phantom Falls was an absolute pleasure. Drastic elevation changes create a challenge rarely seen in disc golf--a missed putt can easily roll 100+ yards from the basket. Paul, the owner, did an unbelievable job in designing 30 holes across 10 acres and provides customers with excellent clarification on the specifics of the course. Never have I had such a good time throwing disc; this is due in large part to the challenging terrain and wonderful service. Many of the holes bring golfers back to the clubhouse making it convenient for breaks, lunch, etc. There is no pressure to hurry as only two tee times are available for booking each day. I will return for another round just as quickly as possible.
Cons: No complaints.
Other Thoughts: Definitely check this one out.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great Time In Pine, CO

1    10/2/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: Team Stevenson
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Callanging course that makes you throw low, high, and accurate. Hospitality second to none. The entire course to yourself! Great disk shop and advice from Paul! Lunch on the deck at 14 was perfect!! Colorado disk golf doesnt get much better than this!! This course is not to be missed!!
Cons: Sore legs and arm well worth it!!!
Other Thoughts: I used a the tried and true Buzzz for most of my shots, a forward hand shots and good tomahawk throws are essential. Boots or good shoes are a must!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Big Fun

1    9/15/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: Mr. C
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You'll have the place to yourself! Lots of birdie and ace opps. Huge risk reward on putts. Lots of obstacles and score variability. Great club house. (Check it out!) Honor system for beverages and snacks. Owner, Paul Rothley, keeps course gorgeous and fresh with a hanging basket hole, a chime hole, gnomes everywhere and surprises (it has the craziest short downhill hole I've ever played.) Flat out Fun!
Cons: Not a spec PDGA course: there are shared baskets, cross-overs, and a few hand made baskets. Didn't bother me, (who cares about crossovers when you're the only group on the course?) however, it might bother some.
Other Thoughts: I'd give it a 5, if it wasn't for PDGA spec issues, see above.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  The perfect spot!

2-4    6/9/2007   9/20/2010
Review By: mcastaldi
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Incredible views! This course is designed to be the perfect day of play. It's challenging and fun! Paul was great, gives detailed explanation of the course and was there for any questions we had.

Great for groups coming in from out of town to get a taste of the CO mountains.

We played in a small tournament with men and women - and everyone was able to keep up and have a blast.

I've heard it's also great in the winter....even with snow on the ground. It's on the best side of the mountain to allow for longer seasons of play.

Definitely a one-of-a-kind.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Make This Course an All Day Event

1    8/11/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: SpacemanSpiff
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Amazing course. Designed by Paulie in the acres that are his mountainous backyard. The course is really fun to play, requiring short, technical shots. Another great thing about this course is that your group is the only one there! Meaning you can relax, eat lunch, throw as many discs as you want, and not worry about spending time finding lost ones (although its not easy to lose them here). And let's not forget about Paulie, who is an amazing host. He walked us through the course before we started, giving us tips and letting us know how the course is laid out. He also made us lunch, played a few holes with us, and talked with us for almost an hour after we finished up. If you're planning on playing this course, think of it more of an all day event rather than a quick round.
Cons: It's 965 miles from my house. I don't get to play it often.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, this course is a must play. Even though Paulie asks for a $10 donation to help build the course, its well worth the money. The course is beautiful, wildly fun to play, and I couldn't think of a better way to spend a day.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Phantom Falls Fantasy

1    8/26/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: kendalbuc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Scenery is EPIC! Hospitality is 2nd to none! Unlike anything i've played before and so incredibly worth the trip. The shots through the forest and around rocks and revenes is an incredible touch of "perfection"! Thanks to Paulie for offering our group the special gift of a guided round. Can't think of a better way to spend the afternoon. NOW - the course is hilly, technical and sneaky - but I would not like it any other way. Perfection in Pine, Colorado. YOU NEED TO PLAY THIS COURSE!
Cons: The only con is that I had to travel from South Carolina to play this gem. Even so - it was so very worth the effort!
Other Thoughts: I commend Paulie on the Pro Shop and the hospitality. You will walk away "winded" but so thankful you took the time. Play On! Play Hard! Enjoy God's Creation!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Special

1    8/7/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Dalisllama
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Unique and Special. A must PLAY. Great Host. Nice Pro Shop. Be prepared to hike and have FUN. Flicks, backhands, hammers, thumbers, sliders, call it what you want, you had better bring your variety pack of throws. DISC GOLF extravaganza! 30 holes! No rush b/c it's just your group on the course. Service.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It is set up for variety and skill. If you are looking for a quick, flat, open, long-throwing, course, GO somewhere else. The PLAY is fluid. Some holes are used more than once but keeps the course flowing smoothly. Thanks-a-ton Paulie!
GO PLAY DISC GOLF at Phantom Falls it's FUN!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Phantom Falls!!

2-4    8/1/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: derekholscher
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Absolutely love this course! I usually go up with 3 other friends and we always have a good time! The owner, Paulie, is a great guy and always fun to see. He has played a little bit with us on occasion and has shown us some neat lines/ways to play the course. I love the layout of the course and the addition of the pro shop. Everytime I come back, Paulie has done something new and exciting with the course. Thanks Paulie...can't wait to come back!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Play It!

2-4    7/7/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Uncle Ben
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This awesome mountain course will require you to bring every disc in your bag.

I played this course a few years ago and was back for more. Paulie is the owner and host. He gives everyone his pro pointers and an overview of the course before the first tee. The elevation changes and tight surroundings require you to get after challenging uphill shots and finesse downhill shots all within a few holes. There are about 4-5 relatively flat holes mixed in along the way.

CTP markers on each hole area unique. Tee boxes with markers and arrows (and several benches - thank God) make it easy to figure out the next hole location.

The pro shop is a nice addition. A new seating and grill/firepit area are in progress and look like they will be finished soon.

Paulie only schedules two tee times a day, so you can play the course at your pace with a few buddies and won't have anyone riding you. It's definitely worth a few buck to play 30 holes in this setting.
Cons: The only thing you can't do here is chuck a 600' drive. No chance and no need.
Other Thoughts: Paul's done a nice job of continuing to improve the course. Several holes featured new tee boxes and benches since my last visit. Steps are cut into the mountain in a couple different areas and are welcome breaks, 'cause the terrain will kick you hard.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of a Kind DG Fun

1    5/29/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: ChainMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let's see, beautiful mountain environment, technically fun challenge, great host and unique. No matter how you throw you'll need every shot in your arsenal except for the long bomb. There are uphill shots with options for straight through narrow gaps in the trees or longer anny or hyzer routes. ...same for downhill. The opp for placing the a rock or gnome for CTP is really unique. Serious golfers will appreciate the "no pressure" atmosphere of having the course to yourself other than the other members of your group. No need to feel guilty if you want to take that additional drive try by a different route because nobody will be waiting on you to clear the hole. There are plenty of opportunities to grab a beverage or change gear as you loop back to the house.
Cons: Ummm, it's not in my back yard?
Other Thoughts: Paulie is a gracious host and he will warn you about putting flat. I earned the nickname 'Captain Rollaway' at this course for good reason. If you play this course and Beaver Ranch back to back you'll have played too amazing, challenging and unique courses and have stories to tell for years! Just go play it!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.