Centennial, CO 
David Lorenz Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #8 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 408ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
conviently located adequate course

2-4    8/16/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: jlangr
Played: 30  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 31.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - easy to get to from I-25
- decent astroturf pads
- trash cans on a number of holes, with new bags (suggesting they're regularly emptied)
- good hole markers
- good use of elevation, with shots going both up and down hills.
- a few interesting holes, including one (#7) with a blind tee
- some longer throws
Cons: - this course can feel a bit oppressive when it gets hot. It's half-ringed by trees (on the south and west sides) but gets virtually no shade. The insects can put up a good, loud, constant buzzing noise.
- a couple hole markers missing
- Lack of any vertical obstructions makes the course a little less interesting
- The low and pervasive brush can make it difficult to find discs. I'm figuring it's pretty hard to lose a disc permanently, but I imagine a spotter would be worthwhile on many holes.
Other Thoughts: - Most of the time it's pretty obvious where the next tee is, although there were a couple holes where it is not clear.
- The current course has the pin positions for #15 and #18 swapped, making it almost impossible to find the right basket if you're not already aware.
- Only a couple other groups were playing the couple times I went out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

So so place to play

2-4    8/13/2014   9/11/2014
Review By: tommyboy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Near my house
Cons: - Long grass
- Rough terrain if you don't wear the right footwear
- Not for family
-
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a few times and I must say I liked the old layout versus the new layout I feel like some of the holes are right on top of each other and it was not that way before the redesign
I would recommend Jellystone over this course any day even thought you have to pay $5 to play jellystone but it is worth every penny

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good for more experienced players

5+    7/15/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good elevation change for a city course. Location is convenient and perfect for getting dropped off, while the wife goes to Park Meadows! Nice cages and friendly players.
Cons: Not many short, ace shot holes. Grasses/weeds/shrubs can be IMPOSSIBLE! Use spotters if you can or make sure to pay attention to landmarks near landings. Prepare yourself to lose a disc or two. Novice players slow down the pace of play and people need to get better about picking up after their dogs.
Other Thoughts: Do yourself a favor... If you can't control your discs, skip this course! There are infinite ways to lose your disc and spend all your time searching. Also, with the compact layout, its easy to fly a disc and hit other players. Families are a no-no. But, otherwise, its a fun play. If you're from the north part of town, invest the time to travel down to Jellystone, instead of this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Watch out

2-4    7/27/2014   7/27/2014
Review By: westonian18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging layout
Concrete Tees
Not overwhelmingly busy for location (on weekdays)
Cons: Highway/Roads on both sides with loud traffic
Terrible bushes/terrain to loose a disc.

WATCH OUT on every throw, even the shortest of throws can be lost in a flash. Also dont let your Frisbee go left when you are shooting near the river you probably wont find it.
Other Thoughts: Decent course, really wouldn't be too bad if they mowed/maintained the brush. Besides the high probability of losing your Frisbee, fairly challenging course worth playing every once and a while

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

2-4    4/8/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: terrain is nice, easy play and fun hole layouts. just enough elevation changes
Cons: overall course design is poor, you are often in the way of other people shooting- overlapping holes
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play if your in the area- nothing to drive to though

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

400+ Foot Hyzer Course

1    4/10/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Nice baskets
+Not a lot of things to get in the way of your long hyzers. This part of the park is fairly dedicated to disc golf.
+Probably isn't too crowded
+Minor elevation changes make it slightly more interesting
+It was pretty easy to navigate around this course. It is open and flows logically so it was usually easy to find the next tee and easy to see the next basket most of the time.
+Some trash cans. Not much trash on the course.
Cons: -Very open, doesn't force any lines. It is just long shot after long shot. One of the more repetitive course that I have ever played. If I play a repetitive course, I at least want the repetition of a somewhat fun shot.
-Not much variation in distance. Most of the holes are longish but not too long.
-Disc eating brush and bushes
-Prairie dog holes that can injure you
-Poor rutted natural tees
-Desert like. Barren, windy, dusty, dry. Not really a pleasant place to hang out.
Other Thoughts: -This park wasn't good for anything else so they threw a course on it. It wasn't good for disc golf either.
-I really wouldn't come here unless you are a course bagger or wanted to practice your long, open drives.
-Keep your eye on your discs. They can easily get lost in the brush.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice layout, but nastly plant life

2-4    7/3/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 29  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of distance and hole design. Plenty of short and long holes to offer some challenge as well as some scoreable holes. Nice use of elevation with a couple fun downhill holes as well as a couple challenging uphill holes. The holes around the perimeter of the course tend to be the better holes, as they have the most interesting hole design with more obstacles to force a certain shot shape.
Cons: The plant life here is unpleasant for player and disc. Discs are often difficult to find in the prairie scrub that dominates this course. The same plants also leave bits behind in your shoes and socks. Each time I've played here, I've spent the next couple days with pieces of the course irritating my feet. This course is mostly open, with trees coming into play on just a handful of holes, mostly on the perimeter of the park. A couple of tees are placed at the base of steep 15 foot hills that level off at the top, resulting in an effectively blind teeshot. It can be difficult finding your disc even when you know the approximate landing spot, but when the last half of the flight path is out of view, it is even more difficult.
Other Thoughts: I haven't lost a disc here, but there is plenty of opportunity. There is something about the prairie scrub here that makes discs hard to find. Discs like to stay vertical in the bushes, so you need to watch your disc carefully so that you can spot the bush it goes into so that you can find your disc more easily. Navigation here can be a little tricky the first time around. The course layout here is fun, but the brush takes away from the enjoyment factor. If there were better defined fairways where you could safely land and find your disc, this course would get a higher rating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Troll's Review

1    10/10/2012   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 Baskets
plenty of benches
dog friendly
decent tees and signs
it does play to the landscape, with some disc fearing spots
Tag league
Cons: The rough is ruff, cactus, scary bushes, rattle snakes. cliffs...
I'm from Ohio, so I love trees in my way
Other Thoughts: When I played this course, I had issues because I did not have light weight plastic
So everything in my bag sank like a stone.. I recommend nothing more than 160g. discs

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A desert in Colorado?

1    9/23/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought this was an interesting course. It was the first one I played in CO, so it was not what I was expecting. It seemed more like a course you'd find in Arizona or New Mexico. That said, I've never played a course with this type of terrain/plant life, so it was a nice change of pace. The holes are deceiving because its hard to tell exactly how far away the pin is because the whole course looks exactly the same. Keep an eye on that shot though, because it is harder to find than you expect when you get up there.
Cons: Most of the holes looked pretty much the same. The challenge wasn't so much is the shot or disc selection, but rather finding your disc in the knee high foliage. It wasn't that thick, but it did seem to swallow discs pretty easily and you didn't want to get stuck by the plants when reaching down to grab your disc
Other Thoughts: It is very dry, so bring water. Also the plant life is short but prickley, so wear a good pair of pants and shoes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Naaameean...

5+    11/3/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: Humdinger101
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great for people who can bomb the disc, got to put your back in it. Leave you g-string at home. Most tee pads are actually turf now. 3,8,11 and 15 have benches, plenty of trash cans to help keep it clean. A few chill spots, naamean.
Cons: People let their dogs run without leashes. Summer time it is always toasty and not much shade.
Other Thoughts: Wed. nights they have tag night, play for tags.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.