Centennial, CO 
David Lorenz Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ  
Mountain view



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice layout, but nastly plant life

2-4    7/3/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 29  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of distance and hole design. Plenty of short and long holes to offer some challenge as well as some scoreable holes. Nice use of elevation with a couple fun downhill holes as well as a couple challenging uphill holes. The holes around the perimeter of the course tend to be the better holes, as they have the most interesting hole design with more obstacles to force a certain shot shape.
Cons: The plant life here is unpleasant for player and disc. Discs are often difficult to find in the prairie scrub that dominates this course. The same plants also leave bits behind in your shoes and socks. Each time I've played here, I've spent the next couple days with pieces of the course irritating my feet. This course is mostly open, with trees coming into play on just a handful of holes, mostly on the perimeter of the park. A couple of tees are placed at the base of steep 15 foot hills that level off at the top, resulting in an effectively blind teeshot. It can be difficult finding your disc even when you know the approximate landing spot, but when the last half of the flight path is out of view, it is even more difficult.
Other Thoughts: I haven't lost a disc here, but there is plenty of opportunity. There is something about the prairie scrub here that makes discs hard to find. Discs like to stay vertical in the bushes, so you need to watch your disc carefully so that you can spot the bush it goes into so that you can find your disc more easily. Navigation here can be a little tricky the first time around. The course layout here is fun, but the brush takes away from the enjoyment factor. If there were better defined fairways where you could safely land and find your disc, this course would get a higher rating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Desert Scrub Feel W/Bushes!

1    7/17/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 674  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: David Lorenz Park sits on this arid desert like piece of land with few trees and plenty of bushes to hide your discs. The course has freeways on two sides so you're constantly bombarded with traffic noise. There are green carpet pieces for teepads and these excellent little signs that are basically vandal proof. The on-line map I had printed out wasn't entirely accurate so I spent a fair amount of time wandering around trying to navigate the course. There was a small amount of elevation and I did see a great many rabbits scurrying about in the bushes.
I liked # 16 a lot. It's 365' and your drive has to carry over some heavy scrub to a basket somewhat tucked away and hidden.
Cons: Most of the holes were open and similiar and became monotonous. Course is hot, arid, and dusty. There is no shade. Playing in the same bushes quickly becomes tiring. All in all, it's just not a very stimulating enviroment in which to play disc golf.
Other Thoughts: The desgners have done a fairly commenable job building and designing a course on this, a not so pleasent piece of ground. You gotta applaud their efforts. There are beautiful places in the world on which to build courses and there are those places not quite so lucky. This just isn't one of the more beautiful pieces of terrain around.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 TeeBird Friendly

5+    10/19/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: cridenou
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No other traffic but disc golf. Good baskets. Right next to a big liquor store. Dog friendly. Really good tag players play here on Wednesdays from MHDGC. Lots of level change.
Cons: No foliage but the shrubs. That was a lie, there is one tree on 18. Too many of the shots are just wide open. I don't think i use anything but a Teebird or a Mid-range for all the holes except 8 and 11.
Other Thoughts: Great place to work on your windy day game. It is the only real course on the south side of Denver. All the rest are shorty 9 holers.

The course designers did the best with what they had so you cant blame them. It is just an open windy field with too many disc eating bushes to be a great course.

If you didn't get any birdies on this course you can always drop a deuce in the porta-potty.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fair enough

1    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A disc golf course located in a field with some moderate hills. Parking is easy by the first tee. Teepads are either dirt or grass turf which work well. The baskets are in decent shape. Though the tesigns are just 4x4, they at least provide a distance. Navigation is pretty striaghtforward here. I especially like hole #3, you tee off into a "bowl" where the basket is hidden from the tee. No other park users at this course.
Cons: Nothing too exciting here. Basically the holes are straight and long. No trees to get in the way. The dirt teepads are getting worn and thus most holes you throw from next to the original teepad. A noticable amount of trash throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty easy course and I felt it wasn't too much of a challenge. Throw a good drive and a birdie is reasonable on many of the holes. The hills do add some challenge, but not enough. A good course to work on your drives and perhaps bring a beginner to.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Simply Okay

5+    8/21/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is as average as it gets. It has some good distance holes and a few shorter holes. The layout is very easy to follow. The course is never crowded. The first 3 tee boxes have awesome turf. Fabulous views of the mountains. Several holes to bomb. Good use of the small hills. The brush is easier to navigate in the winter.
Cons: There are no trees. The ground is very uneven. Unless you throw your disc straight as an arrow, you will be wading through thick brush. The pictures and map are dated on this website(you don't need a map here). Don't throw an understable disc on #1.

CAUTION: You will lose your disc or spend hours looking for your disc if you don't pay attention to where your disc lands. The entire course is filled with shrubs and thorny plants. You will cut your hand at some point reaching for your disc. Spotters are highly recommended. If you can't or don't use a spotter then YOU must watch where it lands and go right to that spot. Even when I track my disc perfectly, there are still times where I spend a few minutes looking. This is a course where I pass more groups in the fairway than on the tee pads. Don't throw your disc out of view, especially on #1, #4, and #15. #7 is the toughest to track, it is a 300+ft throw over the tall brush. Follow this advice and your round will go much faster. Bring bright colored discs for when you throw it into a shrub. Blue, red, orange, etc.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the southern part of Denver this course is your only 18 hole option. Most of the pins are straight forward so you can really work on drives of all distances without having to worry about hitting any trees. I like the course, but if you've never played it before now you know what to expect.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/16/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 69  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall this course has a lot to offer. It is a Disc Golf only park so there is not any other traffic out in the park other than disc golf players. The baskets are in good condition and the course uses a variety of shoots. Start and Stop at parking lot and easy to navigate.
Cons: Some of the baskets seemed really high off the ground making up hill shots that much harder. You really need to watch your disc because it can be lost very easily. The tee pads could use some work, its okay to keep them dirt just spruce them up every so often.
Other Thoughts: Its a pretty decent course to play in the area. Remember to wear shoes and pants when playing because there are lots of plants, including poison ivy, to attack you out there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One and done

1    9/13/2007   3/3/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I enjoyed playing on a disc golf only course. The baskets were nice, but the pads could use some upgrading. They are dirt and many are only a widening of the trail you are walking on. I enjoyed the view of the mountains and the course is easy to find off C-470 and I-25. A business using the same parking lot had a vending machine at the time and I needed it after playing this very exposed course.
Cons: I played this course in mid-September, so the brush was tall, dry and thorny. Almost every hole was the same. Long drives and long putts. The layout is pretty basic as well, with seemingly every hole going back and forth. (Check out map) On quite a few holes, any drive less that 300ft would land in the brush. The only other option was to hit the narrow walking path between the brush. Accuracy is important, but getting the disc to stop on a walking path between 3-4 ft tall brush from 300ft out is difficult for anyone. My buddy and I spent at least a third of our round looking in the brush for our fairly accurately thrown discs. The cars on the highway to the south and on County Line Road to the north gave the course a very tense feel compared to most other courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: Wear pants and long sleeves. I would only consider playing this course again during a different season. Maybe late winter or early spring when the brush is dead and blown away and before the new growth. I could see how this could be a fun course. However, if you play disc golf to relax and recharge in nature, this is not the course for you, at least not in mid-September.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.