Centennial, CO 
David Lorenz Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Above Averge DenverCourse

5+    5/21/2016   6/8/2016
Review By: SteLaG
Played: 75  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like to think of this one as the rougher, longer, steeper, and more challenging big brother course to nearby Village Greens. The course utilizes elevation changes and unique landscape to keep things interesting. One of the few long(ish) courses in town that consistently forces you to use your long driver. Even with minimal signage course is fairly straightforward and easy to navigate. Conveniently located right off the freeway and complete with a dirt parking lot, picnic tables, and a course map kiosk.
Cons: Like many have mentioned vegetation can be somewhat rough depending on the season and time of year. Early on in the season it really wasn't bad at all, but after a rainy spring I can already see it becoming a jungle. Most of the really bad vegetation can be avoided with well placed shots, but this is easier said than done. Wind is almost a constant factor with the open nature of the course. It's pretty much inevitable that you will end up buried in something and have to spend some time searching.

Definitely not a course for beginners. I could see this being a very frustrating place to learn how to play because of distance and terrain alone. Would recommend mastering some of the other courses around town before you try to tackle this one.

Tee pads are really narrow on certain holes and are generally inconsistent in size. Also, the pads are made out of an Astro turf material which is better than nothing, but not exactly an ideal surface.

In general the course is somewhat of an unattractive place to be. This is just kind of the nature of the course due to the constantly rough terrain, rough vegetation, proximity to drainage ditches, and trash scattered about. I realize this is most likely the reason the course exists in the first place, but there's no reason it has to look so dumpy in areas, especially considering its part of a regional park system. You would think they would try to take a little more pride in the place.
Other Thoughts: This course seems to be the outcome of a park system having a chunk of land that could literally serve no other purpose and there's really nothing wrong with that. There is a lot of room for improvement, but I'm really happy the course exists at all. It seems like there are many other similar locations around town that could be utilized for disc golf just like this!

Be sure to where some sturdy shoes, and bring plenty of water and sunscreen during the day. The course may be a bit of a nightmare in certain aspects, but that is what gives it unique character. If your up for th challenge and/or something different you should have fun here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent course but a lot of brush!

5+    3/19/2016   4/4/2016
Review By: UHATEIT
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course for the first couple of holes as they are wide open and easy to see where the discs are. Mixture of some short and long holes to give you variety. They do change the arrangement of the baskets which also allows for some variety as well. Parking lot area is nice and central. There is also an RC Hobby shop right next to the parking lot that also sells discs inside incase you lose one and are in need of a replacement, while the selection ins't that great tho.
Cons: There is a lot of brush and bushes with tall weeds/grass on this course, making it very easy to lose a disc or two in a single round. Make sure you watch where you throw your discs or where they land as it can get lost in the brush and I have spent more time that I could possibly desire scouring for my discs when I lose site of it. Also on the left side of Hole 4/5/6/7 there is a river that rounds out the left side of the course with a somewhat steep hill with brush and trees leading down to it. If you throw your disc and it cuts left at the end (as basically every disc thrown RHBH does) you better watch where it lands as it can get thrown down the slope and into the water or lost in the brush. I spent well over an hour looking for a disc after not having watched where it landed. Basically on this section I recommend throwing further right so that when it cuts back it lands somewhere in the fairway area.
Other Thoughts: Nice course with some variety when the baskets are moved around, just too much brush at times and can be extremely muddy when it snows or rains as the shade from the grass/brush doesn't allot it to melt too fast.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bring a Search Party

5+    5/29/2015   5/31/2015
Review By: Bwatkins
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long range holes
Great distance driving practice
Good use of natural land
Lots of risk / reward with the river and thick weeds
Benches & trash cans scattered throughout the course
Cons: Weeds on weeds on weeds on weeds
Not much shade after the first 5 or so holes
Other Thoughts: It's a good course. I've lost a disc here and found many more.

You have to keep your eye on EVERY shot. There are bushes and weeds everywhere. The course gets mowed occasionally however when it's not freshly cut the natural grass & sage brush just devour discs.

This is not a beginner course, it will just frustrate you if you don't land directly on the fairway. After a rain fall a big hyzer shot on 4,5,6 puts you in a river with no hope of getting it back.

The baskets move locations occasionally & the variety is nice. Distance means nothing over accuracy here if you want to leave with the same number of discs you teed off with. The tricky part is that all the shots are open and LONG. So you need to throw long for par but accurate for your wallet.

Once you've got control of your drivers this is a pretty fun long range course. If you have an arrant shot, be prepared to wander though the sage.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Troll's Review

1    10/10/2012   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 28.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 Baskets
plenty of benches
dog friendly
decent tees and signs
it does play to the landscape, with some disc fearing spots
Tag league
Cons: The rough is ruff, cactus, scary bushes, rattle snakes. cliffs...
I'm from Ohio, so I love trees in my way
Other Thoughts: When I played this course, I had issues because I did not have light weight plastic
So everything in my bag sank like a stone.. I recommend nothing more than 160g. discs

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A desert in Colorado?

1    9/23/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 121  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 15.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought this was an interesting course. It was the first one I played in CO, so it was not what I was expecting. It seemed more like a course you'd find in Arizona or New Mexico. That said, I've never played a course with this type of terrain/plant life, so it was a nice change of pace. The holes are deceiving because its hard to tell exactly how far away the pin is because the whole course looks exactly the same. Keep an eye on that shot though, because it is harder to find than you expect when you get up there.
Cons: Most of the holes looked pretty much the same. The challenge wasn't so much is the shot or disc selection, but rather finding your disc in the knee high foliage. It wasn't that thick, but it did seem to swallow discs pretty easily and you didn't want to get stuck by the plants when reaching down to grab your disc
Other Thoughts: It is very dry, so bring water. Also the plant life is short but prickley, so wear a good pair of pants and shoes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and interesting course

5+    6/22/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: gibster
Played: 57  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 24.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes
Good hole distances
Popular, but not to the point of waiting on other groups or getting too much in each others' way
Good layout
Good use of available land
Cons: Bumpy/uneven tees
Disc eating brush
Thorny nasty underbrush by the creek
Very few trees on course
Extremely easy to lose disc
Other Thoughts: This is my "home" course, so naturally I play it quite a bit, and have developed a good feel for it. While having to spend several minutes looking for discs in the brush, seems at least 2 or more times per round is annoying, once you get past that, it's quite a cool course. The variety is very good, there are some uphill holes, some downhill holes, about 4 "blind" holes (4-7), some possible tree obstacles (on 2-7 and 18).
The wind can play a major role here, but you can mostly avoid it if you come in the mornings.
Since I started playing here, the hole 2 tee has been moved back, making it a much more challenging hole. The course map is not really up to date, might as well suffer playing the first time to find the holes, after a few rounds you will know exactly where the holes are.
The tees are a bit uneven and bumpy, even though most are covered by something like shaggy astroturf. On many holes I seem to stumble on the tee. The tee orientation is a bit misleading on some holes, I often throw at an angle from where the tee is pointing to.
I would love to see the original holes 2&3 make a comeback, as there is certainly room for them - I'm sure there must have been a reason why they were removed, but adding them back in would be cool.

I wish something could be done with the brush - unfortunately this stuff seeds itself like crazy, and cleanup costs and effort may be prohibitive. Due to the issues with the foliage, this course plays best in the winter, or early spring.

Overall, I do enjoy playing this course, and keep coming back time and again.

Update 5/13/14: The course has become really popular lately, any time the weather is nice, and on the weekends. There are some alternatives in the area - give the HS/MS courses that are just a few miles away a shot (Mountain View HS, Thunder Ridge HS, Cresthill MS).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lighthouse

5+    6/24/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Moss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Can work on wind game since it's often windy here - not much in the way of natural windbreaks. Long holes. Convenient for DTCers. Nice turf tees.
Cons: Keep your eyes on your disc as elevation changes mixed with foliage can make discs harder to find than you might think. Tee markers don't provide distances for all pin placements.
Other Thoughts: Closest course to me. Played it many dozens of times. Once you figure out the wind and get used to how to keep track of discs in this type of terrain (haven't lost a disc here in years), the course grows on you. Lots of critters around (lizards, snakes, rabbits) if that interests you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Open course, Hot and Windy

5+    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: StoneWallKid
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is nice cause its dedicated to disc golfers. Its wide open, which is great for practicing long shots..
Cons: Tons of brush that stands 1-6ft high everywhere! Its usually very windy, and very hot! There's not a lot of variety. Its pretty much just wide open with a bunch of plants to lose your disc under/get hurt by.
Other Thoughts: Even though its wide open, there are still some pretty cool shots.. The use of hills and a side creek/gorge make for some interesting and somewhat challenging shots.. Its usually pretty crowded, but most of the layout keeps you from playing back into another group. Since it was close to my house I've probably played David Lorenz more than any other park. I went all the time in the morning 7-9am and there was only ever 1-2 people out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beware for Newer & or White Disc Players

1    3/4/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Beef Chief
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great for distance practice for the novice and semi-novice, as well as approach practice. Great show-off for the advanced. Most holes are long enough to give you a good mid-range/putt challenge if your drive isn't far. Nice Scenery.
Cons: I played 54 holes here in one day with a buddy, and had a blast. I mainly used a white Valkyrie, he a neon red Buzzz or ~red driver. I tell you, my disc never landed in a hard-to-find spot, but it took forever to locate that white plastic WAY to many times on this bush-infested course. His disks were easy to find embedded in bushes.
Other Thoughts: Don't use a white disc unless you're prepared for lots of looking!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lighthouse

5+    10/4/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Bmfindley
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Typically not overly populated
-Tee boxes are turf and in very good shape
-Baskets in good condition
-Not a ton of obstacles, so this is mosty a grip it ad rip it course, with the exception of hole #3
-I prefer the front 9 to the back so usually just get a quick session it on the front and bounce
-Pretty wide open course with a lot of space to work with
-The desert landscape is a nice change of pace when you are in the mood for it
-Good location, I usually play here when waiting to pick up a family member from nearby Sky Ridge hospital.
Cons: -Windy
-Zero shade after hole 5, which can be a beating
-No benches after hole #1
-Lot's of brush. I've never lost a disc here as I always try to keep a good eye to see which bush my disc lands near, but I could see how you could if you weren't completely lucid or weren't paying attention. My biggest problem with the brush is walking through it to get to my disc, I prefer shorts but long pants would not be a bad idea...
-Back nine begins to feel a little monotonus
-FYI there is a sign on #5 (near the pin_ that says "poison ivy," but there isn't any in there, trust me
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course, but wouldn't want to play it every day, or even every week.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.