Centennial, CO 
David Lorenz Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #17 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A desert in Colorado?

1    9/23/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 120  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought this was an interesting course. It was the first one I played in CO, so it was not what I was expecting. It seemed more like a course you'd find in Arizona or New Mexico. That said, I've never played a course with this type of terrain/plant life, so it was a nice change of pace. The holes are deceiving because its hard to tell exactly how far away the pin is because the whole course looks exactly the same. Keep an eye on that shot though, because it is harder to find than you expect when you get up there.
Cons: Most of the holes looked pretty much the same. The challenge wasn't so much is the shot or disc selection, but rather finding your disc in the knee high foliage. It wasn't that thick, but it did seem to swallow discs pretty easily and you didn't want to get stuck by the plants when reaching down to grab your disc
Other Thoughts: It is very dry, so bring water. Also the plant life is short but prickley, so wear a good pair of pants and shoes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/3/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: Humdinger101
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great for people who can bomb the disc, got to put your back in it. Leave you g-string at home. Most tee pads are actually turf now. 3,8,11 and 15 have benches, plenty of trash cans to help keep it clean. A few chill spots, naamean.
Cons: People let their dogs run without leashes. Summer time it is always toasty and not much shade.
Other Thoughts: Wed. nights they have tag night, play for tags.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good for practicing with elevation, not much else

1    7/26/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: Jroc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation to deal with...severe and gradual changes, both up and down.
Cons: Completly open. Not marked terribly well. Several poor tee boxes. WAY too much brush...you're looking for your disc after every shot. Distances are all over the place...not designed with any particular skill level in mind. Did I mention there's disc eating brush everywhere?
Other Thoughts: If the "fairways" were kept brush-free (or trimmed), this course would be improved greatly. I think a redesign with 2 flat tee pads (with each set being accuratly designed for a specific skill level) would also greatly improve this course. If you want to spend 30-45 minutes total looking for discs (even though you "know" where it went) and want to practice all kinds of elevation shots, this is the place for you.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and interesting course

5+    6/22/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: gibster
Played: 54  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 23.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes
Good hole distances
Popular, but not to the point of waiting on other groups or getting too much in each others' way
Good layout
Good use of available land
Cons: Bumpy/uneven tees
Disc eating brush
Thorny nasty underbrush by the creek
Very few trees on course
Extremely easy to lose disc
Other Thoughts: This is my "home" course, so naturally I play it quite a bit, and have developed a good feel for it. While having to spend several minutes looking for discs in the brush, seems at least 2 or more times per round is annoying, once you get past that, it's quite a cool course. The variety is very good, there are some uphill holes, some downhill holes, about 4 "blind" holes (4-7), some possible tree obstacles (on 2-7 and 18).
The wind can play a major role here, but you can mostly avoid it if you come in the mornings.
Since I started playing here, the hole 2 tee has been moved back, making it a much more challenging hole. The course map is not really up to date, might as well suffer playing the first time to find the holes, after a few rounds you will know exactly where the holes are.
The tees are a bit uneven and bumpy, even though most are covered by something like shaggy astroturf. On many holes I seem to stumble on the tee. The tee orientation is a bit misleading on some holes, I often throw at an angle from where the tee is pointing to.
I would love to see the original holes 2&3 make a comeback, as there is certainly room for them - I'm sure there must have been a reason why they were removed, but adding them back in would be cool.

I wish something could be done with the brush - unfortunately this stuff seeds itself like crazy, and cleanup costs and effort may be prohibitive. Due to the issues with the foliage, this course plays best in the winter, or early spring.

Overall, I do enjoy playing this course, and keep coming back time and again.

Update 5/13/14: The course has become really popular lately, any time the weather is nice, and on the weekends. There are some alternatives in the area - give the HS/MS courses that are just a few miles away a shot (Mountain View HS, Thunder Ridge HS, Cresthill MS).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 smooth open course

5+    7/28/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I dont know why ppl rate this course so low beyond the possibility that if you dont keep an eye on your disc it can be lost in the brush. This is a GREAT open course. No water hazards here, but dont let that fool you, the brush will swallow your disc in a heartbeat. There are at least two great holes here that you will want to emty your back at. One as you wrap the back nine will scream "EMPTY YOUR BAG!!" and another on the back nine headed toward the main road that lets your disc glide forever. If your down for a smooth, somewhat quick round, this place with leave you satisfied.
Cons: Of all the times I've played here, ive always wanted them to concrete the boxes, and set up maps with the signs, but honestly the course isnt that hard to follow. WATCH FOR SNAKES, there are the occassional few.
Other Thoughts: If your out in the summer heat on this one, bring plenty of sunscreen. There is absolutely no shade on this course until you get back along the huge tree line that borders the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Desert Scrub Feel W/Bushes!

1    7/17/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 767  Reviewed: 718  Exp: 37.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: David Lorenz Park sits on this arid desert like piece of land with few trees and plenty of bushes to hide your discs. The course has freeways on two sides so you're constantly bombarded with traffic noise. There are green carpet pieces for teepads and these excellent little signs that are basically vandal proof. The on-line map I had printed out wasn't entirely accurate so I spent a fair amount of time wandering around trying to navigate the course. There was a small amount of elevation and I did see a great many rabbits scurrying about in the bushes.
I liked # 16 a lot. It's 365' and your drive has to carry over some heavy scrub to a basket somewhat tucked away and hidden.
Cons: Most of the holes were open and similiar and became monotonous. Course is hot, arid, and dusty. There is no shade. Playing in the same bushes quickly becomes tiring. All in all, it's just not a very stimulating enviroment in which to play disc golf.
Other Thoughts: The desgners have done a fairly commenable job building and designing a course on this, a not so pleasent piece of ground. You gotta applaud their efforts. There are beautiful places in the world on which to build courses and there are those places not quite so lucky. This just isn't one of the more beautiful pieces of terrain around.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 166  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 21.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All the baskets where there and it has some trash cans on some tees.
Cons: This course has no obstacles. It's 18 holes of the same shot.
Other Thoughts: If you passing through the area don't play this course. It's a waste of your time.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/24/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Moss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Can work on wind game since it's often windy here - not much in the way of natural windbreaks. Long holes. Convenient for DTCers. Nice turf tees.
Cons: Keep your eyes on your disc as elevation changes mixed with foliage can make discs harder to find than you might think. Tee markers don't provide distances for all pin placements.
Other Thoughts: Closest course to me. Played it many dozens of times. Once you figure out the wind and get used to how to keep track of discs in this type of terrain (haven't lost a disc here in years), the course grows on you. Lots of critters around (lizards, snakes, rabbits) if that interests you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quick South Denver course

1    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: vagabond
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open for the most part. (can be a pro or a con). Easy to find, easy to access, plenty of parking. Disk golf only, so no other users. Decent baskets.
Cons: Not well maintained. No shade. Paths crossing everywhere, so be aware of traffic from other holes.
Other Thoughts: Easy quick place to play. Was pretty busy on a Tuesday afternoon..

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I like Hyzers

5+    8/13/2011   4/30/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 118  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to find, marked tee area with good footage, easy enough flow, right next to a giant liquor store,
Cons: Not many obstacles, 6 trees on course, you are easily allowed to throw a hyzer on every hole, be careful of brush and shrubbery stiff and can cut, i have never seen one here but i imagine this would be a good home for a rattlesnake
Other Thoughts: I love this course because it is a mile away from my wifes parents house, so when i visit the in-laws i know a course is near by

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.