Centennial, CO 
David Lorenz Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #13 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 smooth open course

5+    7/28/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I dont know why ppl rate this course so low beyond the possibility that if you dont keep an eye on your disc it can be lost in the brush. This is a GREAT open course. No water hazards here, but dont let that fool you, the brush will swallow your disc in a heartbeat. There are at least two great holes here that you will want to emty your back at. One as you wrap the back nine will scream "EMPTY YOUR BAG!!" and another on the back nine headed toward the main road that lets your disc glide forever. If your down for a smooth, somewhat quick round, this place with leave you satisfied.
Cons: Of all the times I've played here, ive always wanted them to concrete the boxes, and set up maps with the signs, but honestly the course isnt that hard to follow. WATCH FOR SNAKES, there are the occassional few.
Other Thoughts: If your out in the summer heat on this one, bring plenty of sunscreen. There is absolutely no shade on this course until you get back along the huge tree line that borders the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Desert Scrub Feel W/Bushes!

1    7/17/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: David Lorenz Park sits on this arid desert like piece of land with few trees and plenty of bushes to hide your discs. The course has freeways on two sides so you're constantly bombarded with traffic noise. There are green carpet pieces for teepads and these excellent little signs that are basically vandal proof. The on-line map I had printed out wasn't entirely accurate so I spent a fair amount of time wandering around trying to navigate the course. There was a small amount of elevation and I did see a great many rabbits scurrying about in the bushes.
I liked # 16 a lot. It's 365' and your drive has to carry over some heavy scrub to a basket somewhat tucked away and hidden.
Cons: Most of the holes were open and similiar and became monotonous. Course is hot, arid, and dusty. There is no shade. Playing in the same bushes quickly becomes tiring. All in all, it's just not a very stimulating enviroment in which to play disc golf.
Other Thoughts: The desgners have done a fairly commenable job building and designing a course on this, a not so pleasent piece of ground. You gotta applaud their efforts. There are beautiful places in the world on which to build courses and there are those places not quite so lucky. This just isn't one of the more beautiful pieces of terrain around.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 BORING

1    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 20 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All the baskets where there and it has some trash cans on some tees.
Cons: This course has no obstacles. It's 18 holes of the same shot.
Other Thoughts: If you passing through the area don't play this course. It's a waste of your time.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lighthouse

5+    6/24/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Moss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Can work on wind game since it's often windy here - not much in the way of natural windbreaks. Long holes. Convenient for DTCers. Nice turf tees.
Cons: Keep your eyes on your disc as elevation changes mixed with foliage can make discs harder to find than you might think. Tee markers don't provide distances for all pin placements.
Other Thoughts: Closest course to me. Played it many dozens of times. Once you figure out the wind and get used to how to keep track of discs in this type of terrain (haven't lost a disc here in years), the course grows on you. Lots of critters around (lizards, snakes, rabbits) if that interests you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quick South Denver course

1    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: vagabond
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open for the most part. (can be a pro or a con). Easy to find, easy to access, plenty of parking. Disk golf only, so no other users. Decent baskets.
Cons: Not well maintained. No shade. Paths crossing everywhere, so be aware of traffic from other holes.
Other Thoughts: Easy quick place to play. Was pretty busy on a Tuesday afternoon..

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I like Hyzers

5+    8/13/2011   4/30/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 109  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to find, marked tee area with good footage, easy enough flow, right next to a giant liquor store,
Cons: Not many obstacles, 6 trees on course, you are easily allowed to throw a hyzer on every hole, be careful of brush and shrubbery stiff and can cut, i have never seen one here but i imagine this would be a good home for a rattlesnake
Other Thoughts: I love this course because it is a mile away from my wifes parents house, so when i visit the in-laws i know a course is near by

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Are you kidding me..

1    3/13/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: Ariannelittle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: LOTS and LOTS of long range shots. Spread out.
Cons: Way too many shrubs, Extremely easy to lose disc, By freeway near foothills so extremely windy, Poison Ivy, Very poorly constructed (easily crosses paths of other holes), VERY difficult to navigate, awful parking
Other Thoughts: If you do decide to go to this course (which I would advise against) wear hiking boots or tennis shoes. There are holes that you literally have to climb down to. Also ring a towel as it is very easy for your disc to go into the creek.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 TeeBird Friendly

5+    10/19/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: cridenou
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No other traffic but disc golf. Good baskets. Right next to a big liquor store. Dog friendly. Really good tag players play here on Wednesdays from MHDGC. Lots of level change.
Cons: No foliage but the shrubs. That was a lie, there is one tree on 18. Too many of the shots are just wide open. I don't think i use anything but a Teebird or a Mid-range for all the holes except 8 and 11.
Other Thoughts: Great place to work on your windy day game. It is the only real course on the south side of Denver. All the rest are shorty 9 holers.

The course designers did the best with what they had so you cant blame them. It is just an open windy field with too many disc eating bushes to be a great course.

If you didn't get any birdies on this course you can always drop a deuce in the porta-potty.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of land!

2-4    8/5/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: puttputt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great for the Denver Metro area. I grew up 2 miles from the course and worked across the street as a kid (Big Bills). The land was always vacant and unused. I come back to visit after ten years and there is a great course in the city! The course is pretty open, but the baskets are placed in creek ditches and around hills. There are few holes that require too much "english," but you are able to open up on a few holes. I always take into account the use of land in my reviews ,and I was very excited to see that Centennial utilized the land for a great 18 hole course that is very dog friendly. I had a lot of fun playing this course, and the rougher terrain allows the park to be relatively golf only!
Cons: It was not there when I lived two miles away as a kid! The course does not offer too many obstacles or mandos, and there are a few blind shots into pretty heavily brushed/poison ivy creek bed.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great fit for the area, and offers a quick round for a lunch break!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in the Denver Metro Area

5+    7/9/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Most holes have elevation changes, the view of the mountains is spectacular! Several holes that offer ace run potential. Dog friendly course with a creek for them to play and drink out of.
Cons: The recent overhaul has shortened many of the holes to where most of us with big arms only need to pull out a driver on 3 or 4 of the 18 holes.
This course needs to do a better job of providing "LEVEL" tee pads, several of them are somewhat slanted making your tee shots rather awkward. The signage on this course is virtually non-existent.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in the Denver metro that I have played which isn't saying much because Denver doesn't have that many nice courses for a city of this size which is truly disappointing. I hope to change that.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.