Centennial, CO
David Lorenz Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #15 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lighthouse

5+    6/24/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Moss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Can work on wind game since it's often windy here - not much in the way of natural windbreaks. Long holes. Convenient for DTCers. Nice turf tees.
Cons: Keep your eyes on your disc as elevation changes mixed with foliage can make discs harder to find than you might think. Tee markers don't provide distances for all pin placements.
Other Thoughts: Closest course to me. Played it many dozens of times. Once you figure out the wind and get used to how to keep track of discs in this type of terrain (haven't lost a disc here in years), the course grows on you. Lots of critters around (lizards, snakes, rabbits) if that interests you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quick South Denver course

1    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: vagabond
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open for the most part. (can be a pro or a con). Easy to find, easy to access, plenty of parking. Disk golf only, so no other users. Decent baskets.
Cons: Not well maintained. No shade. Paths crossing everywhere, so be aware of traffic from other holes.
Other Thoughts: Easy quick place to play. Was pretty busy on a Tuesday afternoon..

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I like Hyzers

5+    8/13/2011   4/30/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 105  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to find, marked tee area with good footage, easy enough flow, right next to a giant liquor store,
Cons: Not many obstacles, 6 trees on course, you are easily allowed to throw a hyzer on every hole, be careful of brush and shrubbery stiff and can cut, i have never seen one here but i imagine this would be a good home for a rattlesnake
Other Thoughts: I love this course because it is a mile away from my wifes parents house, so when i visit the in-laws i know a course is near by

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Are you kidding me..

1    3/13/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: Ariannelittle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: LOTS and LOTS of long range shots. Spread out.
Cons: Way too many shrubs, Extremely easy to lose disc, By freeway near foothills so extremely windy, Poison Ivy, Very poorly constructed (easily crosses paths of other holes), VERY difficult to navigate, awful parking
Other Thoughts: If you do decide to go to this course (which I would advise against) wear hiking boots or tennis shoes. There are holes that you literally have to climb down to. Also ring a towel as it is very easy for your disc to go into the creek.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 TeeBird Friendly

5+    10/19/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: cridenou
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No other traffic but disc golf. Good baskets. Right next to a big liquor store. Dog friendly. Really good tag players play here on Wednesdays from MHDGC. Lots of level change.
Cons: No foliage but the shrubs. That was a lie, there is one tree on 18. Too many of the shots are just wide open. I don't think i use anything but a Teebird or a Mid-range for all the holes except 8 and 11.
Other Thoughts: Great place to work on your windy day game. It is the only real course on the south side of Denver. All the rest are shorty 9 holers.

The course designers did the best with what they had so you cant blame them. It is just an open windy field with too many disc eating bushes to be a great course.

If you didn't get any birdies on this course you can always drop a deuce in the porta-potty.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of land!

2-4    8/5/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: puttputt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great for the Denver Metro area. I grew up 2 miles from the course and worked across the street as a kid (Big Bills). The land was always vacant and unused. I come back to visit after ten years and there is a great course in the city! The course is pretty open, but the baskets are placed in creek ditches and around hills. There are few holes that require too much "english," but you are able to open up on a few holes. I always take into account the use of land in my reviews ,and I was very excited to see that Centennial utilized the land for a great 18 hole course that is very dog friendly. I had a lot of fun playing this course, and the rougher terrain allows the park to be relatively golf only!
Cons: It was not there when I lived two miles away as a kid! The course does not offer too many obstacles or mandos, and there are a few blind shots into pretty heavily brushed/poison ivy creek bed.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great fit for the area, and offers a quick round for a lunch break!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in the Denver Metro Area

5+    7/9/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Most holes have elevation changes, the view of the mountains is spectacular! Several holes that offer ace run potential. Dog friendly course with a creek for them to play and drink out of.
Cons: The recent overhaul has shortened many of the holes to where most of us with big arms only need to pull out a driver on 3 or 4 of the 18 holes.
This course needs to do a better job of providing "LEVEL" tee pads, several of them are somewhat slanted making your tee shots rather awkward. The signage on this course is virtually non-existent.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in the Denver metro that I have played which isn't saying much because Denver doesn't have that many nice courses for a city of this size which is truly disappointing. I hope to change that.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Open course, Hot and Windy

5+    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: StoneWallKid
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is nice cause its dedicated to disc golfers. Its wide open, which is great for practicing long shots..
Cons: Tons of brush that stands 1-6ft high everywhere! Its usually very windy, and very hot! There's not a lot of variety. Its pretty much just wide open with a bunch of plants to lose your disc under/get hurt by.
Other Thoughts: Even though its wide open, there are still some pretty cool shots.. The use of hills and a side creek/gorge make for some interesting and somewhat challenging shots.. Its usually pretty crowded, but most of the layout keeps you from playing back into another group. Since it was close to my house I've probably played David Lorenz more than any other park. I went all the time in the morning 7-9am and there was only ever 1-2 people out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/2/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: J-Hits303
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open are with very limited trees to avoid (as long as you stay on the course). Enjoyed the ups and downs of this course with its short and long holes. #13 is fun shot down a steep hill.
Cons: Lighter color discs are hard to find in the rough terrain. Basket on #5 is slanted on the hill side.If you have a wild throw on some holes you can easily loose a disc, or spend time looking for it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beware for Newer & or White Disc Players

1    3/4/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Beef Chief
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great for distance practice for the novice and semi-novice, as well as approach practice. Great show-off for the advanced. Most holes are long enough to give you a good mid-range/putt challenge if your drive isn't far. Nice Scenery.
Cons: I played 54 holes here in one day with a buddy, and had a blast. I mainly used a white Valkyrie, he a neon red Buzzz or ~red driver. I tell you, my disc never landed in a hard-to-find spot, but it took forever to locate that white plastic WAY to many times on this bush-infested course. His disks were easy to find embedded in bushes.
Other Thoughts: Don't use a white disc unless you're prepared for lots of looking!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.