Centennial, CO 
David Lorenz Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
View of basket #14 from Hole #1's fairway



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Where'd my disc go?

1    7/14/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 91  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has a few good turf tee boxes. Hole #3 was a great short blind shot: Hole #17 was a long shot between 2 big bushes, and #18 was a great hole with a tree to the right. Also, several flowers were blooming which made for a inviting scent. That's about it.
Cons: The first basket is elevated about 2 feet too high. The course has poison ivy, and is overrun with waist-high weeds. Weeds that are very sharp with nettles and other obnoxious stickers. To go by yourself, is to ensure about 30 total minutes of searching for lost discs. The Course was poorly marked, and several holes were near each other making it hard to distinguish where to go. The road was rather obnoxious. Outside of the few nice tees, the rest of the tee "areas" should I say? were basically 3 foot long holes in the ground. Poor maintenance, and little hole variety made for a bad course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Must miss.

1    6/10/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: monkeytaco
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some nice longer holes. Never anyone around. Some fun elevation changes. 0.5 rating for trying...
Cons: BRUSH. You can lose a disc on a perfect drive. The brush eats discs for breakfast, we heard a rattlesnake near hole #8, the tee boxes are garbage.

If it weren't for all the time spent locating your disc in the dense brush (even in the middle of the fairway) this might be a fun course.

Also watch out for broken glass, it is everywhere near the creek.
Other Thoughts: Played this course once and don't really have a desire to go again unless they mow down all the brush. It took FOREVER because the brush is so nasty to wade through (even in long pants and hiking boots) and locating your disc is a chore.

Its worth it to drive to Johnny Roberts or Badlands North because this is the exact opposite of those courses.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beware of the Brush

2-4    6/18/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Disc Golf only park
-Easy to follow the course flow
-I really enjoy hole 3 even though it is the shortest on the course, the shot down in the bowl really is the only hole even remotely memorable
Cons: -This course gets very monotonous very quickly. All of the holes are basically the same. Yes a little elevation comes into play but all of the holes (except for hole 3) feel for the most part exactly the same. There are very few obstacles and the course lacks a any true challenge.
-The brush on this course is absolutely ridiculous especially when it has been wet and rainy. On some of the holes I felt like I needed a machete just to find my disc. I don't mind a course that has some rough on the edge of the fairways but in the middle summer when the brush is high any throw is liable to disappear. I always wonder what little creatures are just waiting in all of that brush to munch on my hand when i retrieve my discs.
-Many of the tee boxes are uneven and highly rutted out
Other Thoughts: -This course is just not for me, I do not find wading through endless seas of sticky itchy brush searching for my discs fun at all.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 review

5+    4/8/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: dbbarnes2
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Nice course with some elevation changes, pretty open so easy to drive.
Cons: Some more technical shots would be nice. Can be windy, when the weeds/grass/shrubs start growing could be easy to loose a disc
Other Thoughts: Watch the drop off on the first basket when putting

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fair enough

1    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A disc golf course located in a field with some moderate hills. Parking is easy by the first tee. Teepads are either dirt or grass turf which work well. The baskets are in decent shape. Though the tesigns are just 4x4, they at least provide a distance. Navigation is pretty striaghtforward here. I especially like hole #3, you tee off into a "bowl" where the basket is hidden from the tee. No other park users at this course.
Cons: Nothing too exciting here. Basically the holes are straight and long. No trees to get in the way. The dirt teepads are getting worn and thus most holes you throw from next to the original teepad. A noticable amount of trash throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty easy course and I felt it wasn't too much of a challenge. Throw a good drive and a birdie is reasonable on many of the holes. The hills do add some challenge, but not enough. A good course to work on your drives and perhaps bring a beginner to.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected

2-4    9/20/2009   1/20/2010
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a few fun shots that allow you to work on different skills. Most of the holes are open so players with bigger arms can easily air out the discs. Hole 3 is my favorite hole. It is a short shot down in to a hole with native plants and trees guarding the basket. Elevation changes give opportunity for some good drives. Disc golf only park.
Cons: Natural tees are rutted and in poor shape. The course is often grown high with weeds so disc spotting is a must. Some shots are not unique and are not remembered. The parking lot is small. Can get muddy after rain or snow.
Other Thoughts: I would play this course more often if it was closer, but I live on the north side of Denver so I have to make a special trip to get there. The baskets seem to be set rather high off the ground. Be sure to bring a map and a spotter if you play in the summer. Some memorable holes are 3, 6, 13 & 18.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Simply Okay

5+    8/21/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 68  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is as average as it gets. It has some good distance holes and a few shorter holes. The layout is very easy to follow. The course is never crowded. The first 3 tee boxes have awesome turf. Fabulous views of the mountains. Several holes to bomb. Good use of the small hills. The brush is easier to navigate in the winter.
Cons: There are no trees. The ground is very uneven. Unless you throw your disc straight as an arrow, you will be wading through thick brush. The pictures and map are dated on this website(you don't need a map here). Don't throw an understable disc on #1.

CAUTION: You will lose your disc or spend hours looking for your disc if you don't pay attention to where your disc lands. The entire course is filled with shrubs and thorny plants. You will cut your hand at some point reaching for your disc. Spotters are highly recommended. If you can't or don't use a spotter then YOU must watch where it lands and go right to that spot. Even when I track my disc perfectly, there are still times where I spend a few minutes looking. This is a course where I pass more groups in the fairway than on the tee pads. Don't throw your disc out of view, especially on #1, #4, and #15. #7 is the toughest to track, it is a 300+ft throw over the tall brush. Follow this advice and your round will go much faster. Bring bright colored discs for when you throw it into a shrub. Blue, red, orange, etc.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the southern part of Denver this course is your only 18 hole option. Most of the pins are straight forward so you can really work on drives of all distances without having to worry about hitting any trees. I like the course, but if you've never played it before now you know what to expect.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but challenging

1    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Elkman27
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy layout, easy to find the next hole for first timers. Holes are mostly in the open. some elevated tee shots.
Cons: Thick shrubery with pokies on them. not alot of shade on most of the course. a few hidden baskets not visable from tee box
Other Thoughts: a fun course if you are not a beginner. and you can also watch the R/C cars and planes fly over while playing

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/16/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: otterchap
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Disc Golf Only
- Wide open holes but still challenging due to foliage
- usually very good weather
Cons: - Very shrubby with prickly bushes
- some poison ivy
- can be VERY difficult to locate discs
- Easy to lose disc
Other Thoughts: -Wear pants and shoes NO sandals
no matter how good the weather is

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/16/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 76  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall this course has a lot to offer. It is a Disc Golf only park so there is not any other traffic out in the park other than disc golf players. The baskets are in good condition and the course uses a variety of shoots. Start and Stop at parking lot and easy to navigate.
Cons: Some of the baskets seemed really high off the ground making up hill shots that much harder. You really need to watch your disc because it can be lost very easily. The tee pads could use some work, its okay to keep them dirt just spruce them up every so often.
Other Thoughts: Its a pretty decent course to play in the area. Remember to wear shoes and pants when playing because there are lots of plants, including poison ivy, to attack you out there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.