Centennial, CO 
David Lorenz Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beware of the Brush

2-4    6/18/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Disc Golf only park
-Easy to follow the course flow
-I really enjoy hole 3 even though it is the shortest on the course, the shot down in the bowl really is the only hole even remotely memorable
Cons: -This course gets very monotonous very quickly. All of the holes are basically the same. Yes a little elevation comes into play but all of the holes (except for hole 3) feel for the most part exactly the same. There are very few obstacles and the course lacks a any true challenge.
-The brush on this course is absolutely ridiculous especially when it has been wet and rainy. On some of the holes I felt like I needed a machete just to find my disc. I don't mind a course that has some rough on the edge of the fairways but in the middle summer when the brush is high any throw is liable to disappear. I always wonder what little creatures are just waiting in all of that brush to munch on my hand when i retrieve my discs.
-Many of the tee boxes are uneven and highly rutted out
Other Thoughts: -This course is just not for me, I do not find wading through endless seas of sticky itchy brush searching for my discs fun at all.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 review

5+    4/8/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: dbbarnes2
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Nice course with some elevation changes, pretty open so easy to drive.
Cons: Some more technical shots would be nice. Can be windy, when the weeds/grass/shrubs start growing could be easy to loose a disc
Other Thoughts: Watch the drop off on the first basket when putting

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fair enough

1    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A disc golf course located in a field with some moderate hills. Parking is easy by the first tee. Teepads are either dirt or grass turf which work well. The baskets are in decent shape. Though the tesigns are just 4x4, they at least provide a distance. Navigation is pretty striaghtforward here. I especially like hole #3, you tee off into a "bowl" where the basket is hidden from the tee. No other park users at this course.
Cons: Nothing too exciting here. Basically the holes are straight and long. No trees to get in the way. The dirt teepads are getting worn and thus most holes you throw from next to the original teepad. A noticable amount of trash throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty easy course and I felt it wasn't too much of a challenge. Throw a good drive and a birdie is reasonable on many of the holes. The hills do add some challenge, but not enough. A good course to work on your drives and perhaps bring a beginner to.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected

2-4    9/20/2009   1/20/2010
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a few fun shots that allow you to work on different skills. Most of the holes are open so players with bigger arms can easily air out the discs. Hole 3 is my favorite hole. It is a short shot down in to a hole with native plants and trees guarding the basket. Elevation changes give opportunity for some good drives. Disc golf only park.
Cons: Natural tees are rutted and in poor shape. The course is often grown high with weeds so disc spotting is a must. Some shots are not unique and are not remembered. The parking lot is small. Can get muddy after rain or snow.
Other Thoughts: I would play this course more often if it was closer, but I live on the north side of Denver so I have to make a special trip to get there. The baskets seem to be set rather high off the ground. Be sure to bring a map and a spotter if you play in the summer. Some memorable holes are 3, 6, 13 & 18.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Simply Okay

5+    8/21/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is as average as it gets. It has some good distance holes and a few shorter holes. The layout is very easy to follow. The course is never crowded. The first 3 tee boxes have awesome turf. Fabulous views of the mountains. Several holes to bomb. Good use of the small hills. The brush is easier to navigate in the winter.
Cons: There are no trees. The ground is very uneven. Unless you throw your disc straight as an arrow, you will be wading through thick brush. The pictures and map are dated on this website(you don't need a map here). Don't throw an understable disc on #1.

CAUTION: You will lose your disc or spend hours looking for your disc if you don't pay attention to where your disc lands. The entire course is filled with shrubs and thorny plants. You will cut your hand at some point reaching for your disc. Spotters are highly recommended. If you can't or don't use a spotter then YOU must watch where it lands and go right to that spot. Even when I track my disc perfectly, there are still times where I spend a few minutes looking. This is a course where I pass more groups in the fairway than on the tee pads. Don't throw your disc out of view, especially on #1, #4, and #15. #7 is the toughest to track, it is a 300+ft throw over the tall brush. Follow this advice and your round will go much faster. Bring bright colored discs for when you throw it into a shrub. Blue, red, orange, etc.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the southern part of Denver this course is your only 18 hole option. Most of the pins are straight forward so you can really work on drives of all distances without having to worry about hitting any trees. I like the course, but if you've never played it before now you know what to expect.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but challenging

1    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Elkman27
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy layout, easy to find the next hole for first timers. Holes are mostly in the open. some elevated tee shots.
Cons: Thick shrubery with pokies on them. not alot of shade on most of the course. a few hidden baskets not visable from tee box
Other Thoughts: a fun course if you are not a beginner. and you can also watch the R/C cars and planes fly over while playing

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/16/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: otterchap
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Disc Golf Only
- Wide open holes but still challenging due to foliage
- usually very good weather
Cons: - Very shrubby with prickly bushes
- some poison ivy
- can be VERY difficult to locate discs
- Easy to lose disc
Other Thoughts: -Wear pants and shoes NO sandals
no matter how good the weather is

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/16/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall this course has a lot to offer. It is a Disc Golf only park so there is not any other traffic out in the park other than disc golf players. The baskets are in good condition and the course uses a variety of shoots. Start and Stop at parking lot and easy to navigate.
Cons: Some of the baskets seemed really high off the ground making up hill shots that much harder. You really need to watch your disc because it can be lost very easily. The tee pads could use some work, its okay to keep them dirt just spruce them up every so often.
Other Thoughts: Its a pretty decent course to play in the area. Remember to wear shoes and pants when playing because there are lots of plants, including poison ivy, to attack you out there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/3/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: tmbyram
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice location. Easy to navigate. No chance on loosing a disc unless you go OB into the creek. Not crowded.
Cons: Windy. Barren. Some up and down but boring.
Tee boxes were ok but need some maintenance.
Other Thoughts: Good location and being DG only it was nice. Not hard to find and not crowded at all. I got behind three and had to wait on every tee but enjoyed the views while I was waiting. Nice little course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One and done

1    9/13/2007   3/3/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I enjoyed playing on a disc golf only course. The baskets were nice, but the pads could use some upgrading. They are dirt and many are only a widening of the trail you are walking on. I enjoyed the view of the mountains and the course is easy to find off C-470 and I-25. A business using the same parking lot had a vending machine at the time and I needed it after playing this very exposed course.
Cons: I played this course in mid-September, so the brush was tall, dry and thorny. Almost every hole was the same. Long drives and long putts. The layout is pretty basic as well, with seemingly every hole going back and forth. (Check out map) On quite a few holes, any drive less that 300ft would land in the brush. The only other option was to hit the narrow walking path between the brush. Accuracy is important, but getting the disc to stop on a walking path between 3-4 ft tall brush from 300ft out is difficult for anyone. My buddy and I spent at least a third of our round looking in the brush for our fairly accurately thrown discs. The cars on the highway to the south and on County Line Road to the north gave the course a very tense feel compared to most other courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: Wear pants and long sleeves. I would only consider playing this course again during a different season. Maybe late winter or early spring when the brush is dead and blown away and before the new growth. I could see how this could be a fun course. However, if you play disc golf to relax and recharge in nature, this is not the course for you, at least not in mid-September.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.