Centennial, CO 
David Lorenz Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #16 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun Open course, Hot and Windy

5+    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: StoneWallKid
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is nice cause its dedicated to disc golfers. Its wide open, which is great for practicing long shots..
Cons: Tons of brush that stands 1-6ft high everywhere! Its usually very windy, and very hot! There's not a lot of variety. Its pretty much just wide open with a bunch of plants to lose your disc under/get hurt by.
Other Thoughts: Even though its wide open, there are still some pretty cool shots.. The use of hills and a side creek/gorge make for some interesting and somewhat challenging shots.. Its usually pretty crowded, but most of the layout keeps you from playing back into another group. Since it was close to my house I've probably played David Lorenz more than any other park. I went all the time in the morning 7-9am and there was only ever 1-2 people out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/2/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: J-Hits303
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open are with very limited trees to avoid (as long as you stay on the course). Enjoyed the ups and downs of this course with its short and long holes. #13 is fun shot down a steep hill.
Cons: Lighter color discs are hard to find in the rough terrain. Basket on #5 is slanted on the hill side.If you have a wild throw on some holes you can easily loose a disc, or spend time looking for it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beware for Newer & or White Disc Players

1    3/4/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Beef Chief
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great for distance practice for the novice and semi-novice, as well as approach practice. Great show-off for the advanced. Most holes are long enough to give you a good mid-range/putt challenge if your drive isn't far. Nice Scenery.
Cons: I played 54 holes here in one day with a buddy, and had a blast. I mainly used a white Valkyrie, he a neon red Buzzz or ~red driver. I tell you, my disc never landed in a hard-to-find spot, but it took forever to locate that white plastic WAY to many times on this bush-infested course. His disks were easy to find embedded in bushes.
Other Thoughts: Don't use a white disc unless you're prepared for lots of looking!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course in the city

2-4    3/4/2011   3/5/2011
Review By: WellHungSmurf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 3/10/2011
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: + Good long open course to practise drives
+ Never real crowded, lots of open space
+ Short drive for Littleton, lakewood, highlands ranch
+ Best in city course i'v played so far
+ On the left hand side of 4-5 holes is a creek, with a semi steep slope. Don't hyzer to extreme or you'll go fishing for discs
Cons: - Most holes feel the same, wide open grip n' rip
-Windy, played three times always windy
- Lots of shrubs and bushes you can lose discs. Watch carefully where the land
Other Thoughts: I would try this out before Ken Carl, or red rocks course or ACC course

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lighthouse

5+    10/4/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Bmfindley
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Typically not overly populated
-Tee boxes are turf and in very good shape
-Baskets in good condition
-Not a ton of obstacles, so this is mosty a grip it ad rip it course, with the exception of hole #3
-I prefer the front 9 to the back so usually just get a quick session it on the front and bounce
-Pretty wide open course with a lot of space to work with
-The desert landscape is a nice change of pace when you are in the mood for it
-Good location, I usually play here when waiting to pick up a family member from nearby Sky Ridge hospital.
Cons: -Windy
-Zero shade after hole 5, which can be a beating
-No benches after hole #1
-Lot's of brush. I've never lost a disc here as I always try to keep a good eye to see which bush my disc lands near, but I could see how you could if you weren't completely lucid or weren't paying attention. My biggest problem with the brush is walking through it to get to my disc, I prefer shorts but long pants would not be a bad idea...
-Back nine begins to feel a little monotonus
-FYI there is a sign on #5 (near the pin_ that says "poison ivy," but there isn't any in there, trust me
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course, but wouldn't want to play it every day, or even every week.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 4 hour course

1    7/18/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: Freakyjazer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Varied distance holes. Not overly crowded. Good baskets. Easier to follow.
Cons: Overgrown brush. VERY EASY to lose discs. Some wild flowers/natural brush colors make finding discs even more difficult. Lots of bugs and bees. Saw two snakes, heard a rattlesnake.
Other Thoughts: Use brightly colored discs. Bring a spare of your favorite driver just in case. Wear long pants and boots.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Where'd my disc go?

1    7/14/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 80  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has a few good turf tee boxes. Hole #3 was a great short blind shot: Hole #17 was a long shot between 2 big bushes, and #18 was a great hole with a tree to the right. Also, several flowers were blooming which made for a inviting scent. That's about it.
Cons: The first basket is elevated about 2 feet too high. The course has poison ivy, and is overrun with waist-high weeds. Weeds that are very sharp with nettles and other obnoxious stickers. To go by yourself, is to ensure about 30 total minutes of searching for lost discs. The Course was poorly marked, and several holes were near each other making it hard to distinguish where to go. The road was rather obnoxious. Outside of the few nice tees, the rest of the tee "areas" should I say? were basically 3 foot long holes in the ground. Poor maintenance, and little hole variety made for a bad course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Must miss.

1    6/10/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: monkeytaco
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some nice longer holes. Never anyone around. Some fun elevation changes. 0.5 rating for trying...
Cons: BRUSH. You can lose a disc on a perfect drive. The brush eats discs for breakfast, we heard a rattlesnake near hole #8, the tee boxes are garbage.

If it weren't for all the time spent locating your disc in the dense brush (even in the middle of the fairway) this might be a fun course.

Also watch out for broken glass, it is everywhere near the creek.
Other Thoughts: Played this course once and don't really have a desire to go again unless they mow down all the brush. It took FOREVER because the brush is so nasty to wade through (even in long pants and hiking boots) and locating your disc is a chore.

Its worth it to drive to Johnny Roberts or Badlands North because this is the exact opposite of those courses.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beware of the Brush

2-4    6/18/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Disc Golf only park
-Easy to follow the course flow
-I really enjoy hole 3 even though it is the shortest on the course, the shot down in the bowl really is the only hole even remotely memorable
Cons: -This course gets very monotonous very quickly. All of the holes are basically the same. Yes a little elevation comes into play but all of the holes (except for hole 3) feel for the most part exactly the same. There are very few obstacles and the course lacks a any true challenge.
-The brush on this course is absolutely ridiculous especially when it has been wet and rainy. On some of the holes I felt like I needed a machete just to find my disc. I don't mind a course that has some rough on the edge of the fairways but in the middle summer when the brush is high any throw is liable to disappear. I always wonder what little creatures are just waiting in all of that brush to munch on my hand when i retrieve my discs.
-Many of the tee boxes are uneven and highly rutted out
Other Thoughts: -This course is just not for me, I do not find wading through endless seas of sticky itchy brush searching for my discs fun at all.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 review

5+    4/8/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: dbbarnes2
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Nice course with some elevation changes, pretty open so easy to drive.
Cons: Some more technical shots would be nice. Can be windy, when the weeds/grass/shrubs start growing could be easy to loose a disc
Other Thoughts: Watch the drop off on the first basket when putting

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.