Centennial, CO 
David Lorenz Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #16 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Simply Okay

5+    8/21/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is as average as it gets. It has some good distance holes and a few shorter holes. The layout is very easy to follow. The course is never crowded. The first 3 tee boxes have awesome turf. Fabulous views of the mountains. Several holes to bomb. Good use of the small hills. The brush is easier to navigate in the winter.
Cons: There are no trees. The ground is very uneven. Unless you throw your disc straight as an arrow, you will be wading through thick brush. The pictures and map are dated on this website(you don't need a map here). Don't throw an understable disc on #1.

CAUTION: You will lose your disc or spend hours looking for your disc if you don't pay attention to where your disc lands. The entire course is filled with shrubs and thorny plants. You will cut your hand at some point reaching for your disc. Spotters are highly recommended. If you can't or don't use a spotter then YOU must watch where it lands and go right to that spot. Even when I track my disc perfectly, there are still times where I spend a few minutes looking. This is a course where I pass more groups in the fairway than on the tee pads. Don't throw your disc out of view, especially on #1, #4, and #15. #7 is the toughest to track, it is a 300+ft throw over the tall brush. Follow this advice and your round will go much faster. Bring bright colored discs for when you throw it into a shrub. Blue, red, orange, etc.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the southern part of Denver this course is your only 18 hole option. Most of the pins are straight forward so you can really work on drives of all distances without having to worry about hitting any trees. I like the course, but if you've never played it before now you know what to expect.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but challenging

1    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Elkman27
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy layout, easy to find the next hole for first timers. Holes are mostly in the open. some elevated tee shots.
Cons: Thick shrubery with pokies on them. not alot of shade on most of the course. a few hidden baskets not visable from tee box
Other Thoughts: a fun course if you are not a beginner. and you can also watch the R/C cars and planes fly over while playing

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/16/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: otterchap
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Disc Golf Only
- Wide open holes but still challenging due to foliage
- usually very good weather
Cons: - Very shrubby with prickly bushes
- some poison ivy
- can be VERY difficult to locate discs
- Easy to lose disc
Other Thoughts: -Wear pants and shoes NO sandals
no matter how good the weather is

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/16/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 69  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall this course has a lot to offer. It is a Disc Golf only park so there is not any other traffic out in the park other than disc golf players. The baskets are in good condition and the course uses a variety of shoots. Start and Stop at parking lot and easy to navigate.
Cons: Some of the baskets seemed really high off the ground making up hill shots that much harder. You really need to watch your disc because it can be lost very easily. The tee pads could use some work, its okay to keep them dirt just spruce them up every so often.
Other Thoughts: Its a pretty decent course to play in the area. Remember to wear shoes and pants when playing because there are lots of plants, including poison ivy, to attack you out there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/3/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: tmbyram
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice location. Easy to navigate. No chance on loosing a disc unless you go OB into the creek. Not crowded.
Cons: Windy. Barren. Some up and down but boring.
Tee boxes were ok but need some maintenance.
Other Thoughts: Good location and being DG only it was nice. Not hard to find and not crowded at all. I got behind three and had to wait on every tee but enjoyed the views while I was waiting. Nice little course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One and done

1    9/13/2007   3/3/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I enjoyed playing on a disc golf only course. The baskets were nice, but the pads could use some upgrading. They are dirt and many are only a widening of the trail you are walking on. I enjoyed the view of the mountains and the course is easy to find off C-470 and I-25. A business using the same parking lot had a vending machine at the time and I needed it after playing this very exposed course.
Cons: I played this course in mid-September, so the brush was tall, dry and thorny. Almost every hole was the same. Long drives and long putts. The layout is pretty basic as well, with seemingly every hole going back and forth. (Check out map) On quite a few holes, any drive less that 300ft would land in the brush. The only other option was to hit the narrow walking path between the brush. Accuracy is important, but getting the disc to stop on a walking path between 3-4 ft tall brush from 300ft out is difficult for anyone. My buddy and I spent at least a third of our round looking in the brush for our fairly accurately thrown discs. The cars on the highway to the south and on County Line Road to the north gave the course a very tense feel compared to most other courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: Wear pants and long sleeves. I would only consider playing this course again during a different season. Maybe late winter or early spring when the brush is dead and blown away and before the new growth. I could see how this could be a fun course. However, if you play disc golf to relax and recharge in nature, this is not the course for you, at least not in mid-September.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 find another course

2-4    4/19/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: ponto11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 22.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's located where not many other courses are so it's convenient. Nice place to learn the game.
Cons: There are many. Lacks distance variation (very little long) and structure. Busy roads near by. Flat, flat, flat. Tee boxes are lined by 2x6's with no clear indication as to end of tee area.
Other Thoughts: 9 hole course takes very little time to play.

Take the time to drive to Beaver Ranch (just 20 minutes from this course) and enjoy a championship course instead.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of Denver's weaker courses

1    8/22/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Some holes have a bit of elevation in play. Baskets were in good condition. Trash cans on the course for convenient waste disposal. Fairly easy to navigate the course. Starts and ends very close to the parking lot. Disc golf only park: not impeded by other people. Easy to play for first timers, just remember to track your discs all the way to the ground as you throw them.
Cons:
Minimal to no shot variety; hole #6 is the only one that sticks out as being somewhat different than the others. #5 basket was stolen; leaving only the pole. #17 tee sign was missing. Remaining baskets were single chain DISCatchers. The dirt tee boxes were pretty rutted. The hole lengths listed on the course map are supposedly "accurate up to 1 foot", but they differed by an average of 17.5' (ranging from 2' to 62') vs. what I measured by laser. It almost seemed like perhaps extra pin positions were added later, and the tee signs & map were never updated. #14 is a blind tee shot due to the low elevation; for first timers you need to walk most of the way up the 417' fairway to see where you're supposed to throw.
Other Thoughts:
I could have guessed from looking at the course map this would be a pretty uninteresting course. The course has a very barren, wasteland feel to it. The noise from the adjacent highway was not conducive to a relaxing round of golf. After playing the first nine or ten holes I actually considered quitting I was so bored. Looking back on this course there was nothing memorable about it in a good way. I'd say it's the epitome of a "3 shot course". You make a really obvious drive and are left with a pretty obvious approach/birdie shot, after that you should have a short putt. Barring significant wind there's no excuse for taking a '4' on any hole out there. AKA the "Lighthouse" course.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Always Watch Your Disc

5+    10/15/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 93  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The setting is incredibly beautiful and the holes are easy to find. While there may be others playing the course most of the time it is never crowded. Everything looks the same but each hole provides a unique challenge.
Cons: There is so much brush that you cannot count on any rollers. You will have to watch your disc all the way to the ground on just about every shot and even then you may spend five plus minutes looking for your disc. While I have never lost a disc here I can imagine that it would be easy to do so because I have found a few lost discs myself.
Other Thoughts: This has been a great course to learn on but it is very easy to get away without being forced to make too many different shots. I would love for them to get a new basket for hole five, and they have. The basket for hole five is the best basket on the course. There is also a group of locals that get together every wednesday night to play so show up then if you want a challenge.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A real disc eater

5+    8/16/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: jbehm20
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Disc golf course only on very large, open terrain. Not overcrowded at all. Good park to bring your dog. Some elevation change, so that is quite nice.
Cons: Known to be a bit muddy and brush can get out of control during certain times of the year (leads to many, many lost discs). Every hole kind of feels the same.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to wear pants during most of the year or you will be tore up!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.