Disc Golf Center
Monticello, GA 
The Monty @ Deer Ridge Share
Uploaded By: Luke Hole #13
3 / 373ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Whoa.

2-4    7/23/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 75  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome layout,seriously...awesome.
It's very wooded,so you're pretty much in the shade 90% of the round.
Cons: The terrain out here is pretty rough,make sure you wear some appropriate footwear.

Bugs.
There are a large variety of things out here,mostly ticks,lots of them..I pulled a few for sure,I also got some chiggers at the course,but I didn't really prepare very well,so make sure you layer on the deet and wear some long socks.
Other Thoughts: I couldn't really think of a lot to put in the pro's and con's section,as I think I find it easier just to describe what I want to convey here.

This course is seriously great,It's in my top 3 as far as actual course layout goes,a ton of memorable holes. Mostly par 3's with either one or two 4's,not really any "gimmes" so to speak and it plays very tight,but there's always a gap to work with,sometimes only one line,but there's always something.

Now,what keeps this course from excelling isn't the lack of fancy signs,or concrete teepads,I could really care less,the natural tees played fine(at least when it was dry),the signs they had worked perfectly and the rock markers worked well. What really stops it is just the amount of limbs/roots/stumps/etc on the holes and inbetween the holes.

I've gotta believe in time,some of this will be done away with just by being played,but more than that,the amount of work they have had to put in out there is ridiculous,you can tell that the two man team has cleared out almost everything inbetween holes by hand,it is staggering.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 An "off the beaten path" find

2-4    11/30/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: MrFixIt
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well removed from other park activities.
Very clean, very little trash.
A different type of throw required on nearly every hole.
Cons: Can't really say anything negative, this is obviously "a work in progress".
No scorecards available.
Basket missing on #15.
Hard to see the baskets, maybe some bright paint on them?
No signage on the back holes.
Once again, the above statements aren't "cons", just observations.
Other Thoughts: Heavily wooded. Your disc will skip on the pine straw!
Liked the benches, fit in well w/ the pines.
This is obviously a labor of love. The course was installed "by disc golfers, for disc golfers".
I expect this course to do nothing but get better as it evolves.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/29/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course as has been stated is not yet finished but has great potential and is fun to play. there is a large blue board at the start of the course with a map on it and score cards available, I loved the old log cabin style log benches stattered throughout the course. There is a nice ballance of hyzer and anhyzer shots required and some open holes to end up. The wooded holes all had decernable fairways and multiple possibilites on many. The land is prety flat here so the most use of woods and other challenges were taken advantage of. The small creek comes into play often. There has been a lot of rain in Ga. lately so the creek may not allways have water. especially like the use of the abandonded 18 wheeler trailers and the name of the hole shows the sense of humor. "Trailor Trash" I love it. There is also something you don't see in many disc golf courses, Deer stand! I bet at dusk or dawn you would stand a good chance of seeing deer. I very much liked the paths created, lined with small trees taken out to make fairways. Nice use of natural resources. Coupled with the laminated arrow signs once I found
# 1 geting around was pretty easy. Altho most of the course is in the 200' to 300' range there are a few longer holes and one over 500'.
Cons: It was a little hard finding hole 1 mostly due to the wet conditions makeing it hard to get into the woods. I wandered around playing various holes until I found 1 and then all flowed well from there. A few places requireing crossing the creek could use some help. I did not find baskets for 16 or 18 and the grass could stand to be cut in the open area.
Other Thoughts: When attempting to find the park you need to look for the Jasper Co. Recreation sign, it's easy to miss. Look for the blue board to the right of the ball fields. In the intrest of honesty I had to put the "Cons" in my review but truthfully I thought they added to the charm. I hope to come back again and see what additions have been made.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Going to be a great one

5+    3/8/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: Sea Bass
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Course has no interference from other park activities.Most of it is in the woods, so you get a isolated feeling.
-Fairways are fair.Unlike many woods courses there are clear paths to each pin.Good shots will be rewarded, bad shots will be punished.
-Schule.Most woods courses in ga have a buttload of briars, kudzu, poison ivy/oak, when you get off the fairway. Thats not the case here.Its mostly pine forrest, so there is very little undergrowth.Dont get me wrong, its not briar free, but its avoidable most of the time.
-You wont feel trapped if you get off the fairway.Due to my previous "pro", many times you feel like there is a chance to recover. This can lead to some intresting results.
-Great use of land provided. You have to do the best you can with what you are given to use, and a great job of that has been done here.
-Good mix of shots.Hyzers, Anhyzers, straight, and low ceiling.This course will test your accuracy. The last 4 or 5 holes are pretty open, so you get some of that too.
Cons: -TICKS TICKS TICKS!! In the summer you will pull 5 or 6 off you, go home and find 3 more that you missed.I have pulled multiple ticks off me playing in january in with temps in the 30's. Bring some deet, and do a tick check whenever possible.
-Natural pads. Tees out here are slick when wet, and a few have some roots and rocks in the way.
-Baskets.Does anyone remember the old lenora baskets? Along with a few discatchers from deer lick, every basket here saw their best days a long time ago.
-Did I say ticks?
-Tough to navigate for a first timer. At the time of this review there are signs and some directional markers.Some will get beat up in the next few months, as they are not meant to be permanent.There is a 300 mile walk between 6 and 7. The path is well marked, but its a long enough walk to make you think you screwed up.
-Little bit short.Its not pitch and putt by any means, but you wont throw your arm out either.Most holes are in the 270'-320' range.
-Dont forget the ticks.They go right for the crotch.
Other Thoughts: Most of the cons here have to do with one thing, and one thing only. 2 people do everything out here. There is almost no park support, so Mr. Anderson and Luke have done everything out here.They cut the fairways, keep it mowed, you name it.Everything your local club does at your course with workdays and course installs, these guys have done by themselves. Believe me when I say that there has been a monumental amount of work done here, and every time I come back there is something new.

This course is not completly finished.There are 18 holes that you can go play right now, but the course is in a constant state of development. With time, many holes out here will change.When its all said and done this will definitely be a great course.

Fun Fact- The movie "My Cousin Vinnie" was filmed in monticello.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.