Ocala, FL 
The Preserve @ Pine Oaks Share
Uploaded By: denny ritner Hole #1 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 465ft.   4 / 520ft.   4 / 600ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A Must-Play on Your Florida Vacation!

5+    4/20/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is on a former ball golf course that is still well maintained. Golf carts may be rented in the stocked pro-shop. There's a grill featuring adult beverages for those that care to indulge. There's also a great covered atrium area outside of the pro-shop that serves as a wonderful tournament central.

This course is unlike many of the Fly-18 courses that are wide-open rip, rip, rip, putt courses. The course features five holes where water comes into play, many elevated basket locations, and a good balance between crush, placement, and touch required for good scoring.

The course has tees specifically designed for the blue, white, and red level. Even par 65 on each layout will correspond to about a 950, 900, and 850 rated round respectively. It is recommended that most players use the white tees. If you play from the appropriate set of tees, the course will provide a fun challenge with the opportunity to make birdies, pars, and bogeys while playing GOLF.

The course navigation is simple. There is no schule. The only place to lose a disc is in the water. The water can easily be avoided with conservative play.

The course does require skill to shoot low, but won't beat you up. It is very fun to play and addictive. The variety and appropriate level of challenge make this one that you'll want to visit as frequently as you can.
Cons: It is possible to lose plastic in the water here. Discs in the pond are not retrievable due to a delicate pond liner that prohibits wading.

Could be a bit more technical.
Other Thoughts: All the reviews posted prior to this one pertain to the original layout of this course. My re-design has changed about 2/3 of the course and addressed all of the concerns that were pointed about by the previous reviewers. This property is exceptional for a disc golf course and will serve as the future home of the Players Cup, although the championship layout will only be available for the actual event. Presently there are 18 holes on site and plans are in the works to add an additional 9 soon. Coupled with the Greenway Course and another course in the works for Ocala, this is rapidly becoming a MAJOR destination for disc golfers.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 super potential

1    4/5/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: Upshot
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: The property is exceptional. The mounds , ponds and massive live oaks offer great design possibilities . Hole 18 is real nice .
Cons: The design needs to be changed . Alot of the terrain goes unused and what is used sometimes interferes with other holes. I think the property could support 27 holes (or more) . It's great to have 800ft+ holes but it can be boring if there is not enough in the way . The water and mounds need to be taken advantage of more often. Please don't design a hole that encourage's throws over a roadway.(#3?)
Other Thoughts: Having designed several courses I know the challenge involved . It takes time to extract the best from a piece of property.

  

1    3/29/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: cline257
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful facility, bar and grill located at clubhouse, discs for sale. course will challenge all of your shots. I am fairly certain based on my play there that no one plays the blue tees. It seems that most play the whites.
Cons: Blue tees will break you down. they are for the pros. although if its your first time there, rent a cart and play them from the blues, you will find out what type of disc golf game you actually have
Other Thoughts: I feel that the other two reviews are not accurate. the course is well thought out, and since it was created on limited space i think the designer did a good job, being able to rent a cart for $6 total is awesome.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun improving course

2-4    4/25/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: thisdoesfine
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 4/25/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: [Updated 4/25/09]
I played this course again since my first go around and for starters the layout has changed for the better! In the updated layout there are still multiple tees per hole, the overall length of the holes has been shortened yet still retains some lengthy shots for those that love to throw for distance!! Throwing over other holes doesn't exist, only once do you find yourself walking across someone's tee but that's easily walked around if someone were playing. Trees are present but not in abundance.

[Old Review]
The most obvious pro of this course is the length of the holes. More than one hole on the course is over 1,000 feet. I personally can launch a disc (Xcaliber) close to 500 feet and enjoy working on getting it further. This course provides wide open lengthy shots. My daily course, the Greenway here in Ocala is much more technical but doesn't have the open distance Pine Oaks does. This course is built on 9 holes of a ball golf course and offers ball golf type mounds on a generally flat state's terrain. A couple times water makes your shot slightly technical (One of the workers mentioned if you lose your disc in the water, they have some people that periodically retrieve the discs and if your name and # are on them they will call you), especially to a new thrower. The course again is built on a golf course and there are still 18 playable ball golf holes available to play so that means there's a shop, bathrooms, drinks, even golf carts for rent. I went with a group of 4 and next time we'll rent a cart.
Cons: [Updated 4/25/09]
Once again, the layout has changed on this course for the better. I would like to add to the Cons that although there are bathrooms about halfway through the course, locals tell me and I found out the hard way, they are always LOCKED. Not good times! Also, finding the next hole is still a challenge.

[Old Review]
Again, this category is very obvious. The layout. Horrible! Downright Horrible! There are times when you are throwing your disc and reading a sign warning you of flying discs. This is because someone's potentially going to be throwing over your head to get to their hole. In addition to wearing a helmet to this course, you might want to bring your GPS. Finding the next tee can be difficult. At one point our group of 4 split up just to find the next tee. Another time one of our players was within putting range of the wrong hole and only shot at the right one because another scattered group had made the same mistake and were waving their arms frantically to get our attention.
Other Thoughts: [Updated 4/25/09]
This is a new course and is still "growing" Hopefully you will take the time not only to read this post and others but also post your own thoughts!! This course is a lot of fun and the things that would now bring it past a 3 in my mind are minor like signs for the next tee, signs at the tee for par and distance on shots, perhaps physical launching pads and yes, UNLOCKED BATHROOMS.

[Old Review]
I must note my girlfriend who came only to play with me stopped throwing after the 8th hole because they were too long. Also, we had to retrieve two discs from the water from inexperienced players. So length and water hazards could be Cons in some players' books. I don't layout disc golf courses nor do I ever see myself doing so. With that said, someone truly needs to help whoever laid this course out. [Done, THANK YOU] Hopefully in the future, the near future... the course will become what it has in potential.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Initial Review

5+    2/7/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: sidearmer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great property, lovely trees and very little interaction with non-disc golfers. Has the potential to be developed into a solid course.
Cons: Over-lapping fairways, under utilizes the three lakes present on the property and it is way too long for the casual player to ever appreciate.
Other Thoughts: I love long shots, but let's be real. The addition of dogleg shots would be good; straight to the hole is boring. I look to the future and hope this course can be developed with more input from local players.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.