Course Extinct
Katy, TX 
BridgePoint Bible Church Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Newly painted tee markers



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    11/27/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is a six hole course on a few acres of land at a nice church real easy to find off of I-10.
-The course is empty. I am not sure how many people know this course exists. I have never seen anyone else play here.
-The baskets are all in great shape. The tee signs are all there which is a huge pro when it comes to Houston disc golf. The design and flow of the course runs well, with only six holes navigation is not a problem.
-The last hole is unique in the sense that it is much longer and has a small hill at the end of the hole. It is easily the best hole on the course and sticks in my memory the most.
Cons: -Because this course is only six holes it does not see a lot of love. Hole 3-4 is very overgrown, not to the point of unplayable but it is a bit annoying.
-The first five holes are all very repetitive and straight forward. A serious disc golfer would not spend a lot of time here because this course is simply too easy and not challenging. However, little can be done with the course with the land that it is on.
Other Thoughts: Usually, when I go play short courses like this I will bring just a midrange and a putter and this course proves that that is all you need. It might be a bit hard to get par on #6 with just a midrange but it is a good challenge!
Like said in previous reviews, this would be a good course to go and play along with Nottingham Park for a full 18.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than I expected

1    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: TexasChains
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - I was the only golfer
- Mix of different shots
- Small hill and ditch
- a few technical shots through trees
Cons: - Non-intuitive layout
- Hard to find tees, then baskets
- Only 6 Holes
Other Thoughts: - Played as a pair with Nottingham park to make a full 18

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun if you are close

1    6/9/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Caleb
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Short and sweet for quick round
-Designed well for such a small amount of land.
-Despite lack of length, still plenty of shots to try out.
-Easy to Navigate after finding hole one.
-Clean
-Markers for each hole with map and distance.
Cons: -Swamp land after rain, T-Box, Fairways, Holes and everything around.
-Only 6 holes.
-No Cement T-Boxes
-Uneven T-Boxes and fairways make for difficult shots and some times dangerous shots if you aren't careful with your footing. (Almost twisted a knee off of 4 T-Box)
Other Thoughts: Over all the cons outweigh the pros to make this course worth any trip over 15 minutes.Even when you play this with Nottingham Park, it's still not worth the Gas money.

With that said, if you live near by or are in the area and are looking for a quick game. This course will serve you well. The design layout is extremely well done given the amount of land he had to use. You have the chances to use different shots and score a good round which can give you confidence going out to harder courses.

Number 6 is wide open and plays 495 ft which plays long compared to the rest of the holes which might hit 300 ft. It plays along a street so watch for cars, but it's good for practicing control.

Do not play this course after it rains. Made that mistake, feet got soaked, bugs were active, not a dry piece of land on the course. Would be a lot more fun if dry.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sweeeeeet!

1    9/29/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: jrcamp001
Played: 198  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of trees/shrubs and the road on #6. Yeah, I like the road & I really like a hole you can air it out. Great baskets! Good signage. The flow of play is easy to follow. None of the holes interfere with any other hole.
Cons: Okay, it only has 6 holes, but it's a good 6 holes. Please don't cram more baskets in - more is less. It's not like you'll have 30 players on the course.
Other Thoughts: Great job on the design JD!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Maintenance Update

2-4    7/3/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: JDiscraft
Played: 127  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As designer, I'm biased, but I like what a lot of you have already written above. The primary "pro" in my mind is that there is a defined "line" to hit on every hole. Even on hole 6, where you get to air it out a bit, you can't get overly aggressive or the street (right) or a blocked approach shot (left) await.
Cons: The main Con, of course, is that it is 6 holes. The other "con" in my mind is... probably hole 6. I really wrestled with the distance on this hole... and admittedly, probably made it 30-50 feet to long. Reason being, it's just outside of birdy range for "big arms", with the exception of a few. That said, I couldn't have made it much longer... which would have been the ideal option.
Other Thoughts: "Maintenance Update" - I have done a lot of clearing to hole's 2-5... The right line at Hole 2 now gives an accurate thrower a legitimate shot at a 2 (I scored a 2 twice out of four times today). I've told a lot of folks that I've been "90%" done with the course... I'm bumping that up to 97% now. Enjoy.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 small but fun

2-4    4/21/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: underpar24
Played: 119  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: there are lots of trees to make it a bit more difficult. good course to work on accuracy on your midrange disc. One nice long hole to finish it up.
Cons: only 6 holes. when it is slightly wet outside it gets muddy. short holes.
Other Thoughts: considering how small the land that this course is on it is as big as it can get. close to my work so i don't mind stopping by and throwing a round or two.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice job Jim

2-4    4/10/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice little course on not much land. Excellent double chain Chainstar baskets. Tightly wooded course that forces you to hit a specific line to be in position for a '2' on almost every hole. Navigating the course was not hard even without a map. The tee signs are above average for Houston. Not much walking so it plays quickly. Good variety of shots. Nice basket location for the final finishing hole. Boxes are marked with the sign and two large bricks that are painted white for easy visibility.
Cons:
Hole #6 plays very close to the street, so be careful as you're trying to throw that big 450' bomb. The tee boxes are rough and could use some smoothing. #4's box looks like it could be a big mud puddle after some rain.
Other Thoughts:
For a good REC player the first five holes are all reachable with a good shot, and a good putt will get you the '2'. At over 450', with the basket on a hill and street OB, the last hole would be a good '3' for most REC players.

Better players will need a driver only on #6, the first five holes are mid-range/putter holes.

This is the type of course that after you play once you want to immediately shoot again because you know you can do better. ;-) Play three rounds here to get in 18 holes, or as was previously mentioned in other reviews head to Nottingham Park for 12 holes there.

It really is a good course for just six holes, but it's hard to rate a six-holer too high.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good short course

1    3/21/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All of the holes have individual signs which show the hole "layout" and yardage. Most of the holes are tightly wooded and require you to find a line through the trees (which is definitely possible) and have good accuracy. However, even after a bad drive recovery for par is still possible with a good/great layup.
Cons: There are no tee pads per se - but they do mark where to throw with some bricks. While not impossible to find the next hole, it would be nice if the direction from the basket to the next tee were indicated.
Other Thoughts: The first hole's tee is off to the left near a basket on the small hill. I felt that the course favored right-hand sidearm throws. They did an excellent job given the limited space and I second the suggestion that people play this course and nearby Nottingham Park (a 12 hole course) together. This course will provide the tight, wooded technical holes, while Nottingham will provide more open holes. Together they make an above average 18-hole course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little more work to do - but good fun.

2-4    5/16/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Each hole is marked with a sign showing the hole number, hole layout, and yardage - while these are not Houck quality sings, there are a step up compared to most Houston course signage. The course also flows well, but a painted spoke from hole one to two would be nice.

Most holes are tightly wooded, and with many slight doglegs right, RHBH throwers are forced to really think through disc and shot selection. Pars aren't that hard to get, but a player must really work for a birdie.

With all of the growth, this would be a good course to play in the hot Houston summers since only hole six isn't shaded. Right now this is also a good course if you don't like competing with crowds of people.

BEST HOLE/S: #2
Cons: The tee boxes are natural, and therefore are very uneven on soft ground, so a player needs to watch their footing.

Some of the holes (i.e. hole 2) are still too rough and wooded, but it's basically one person doing all of the clearing. Other areas just need some general course maintenance, and this course looks like it has the real potential to get muddy.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: Obviously having only six holes on a small piece of land will limit this course from ever being anything great, but the overall feel, shaded areas, and use of the trees to shape each hole are decent. It was also nice on hole six to be able to open up and bomb a shot, even though everything fifty feet to right is O.B. You can tell the designer really wanted a hole on top of the little hill to add some extra challenge at the end.

I wouldn't call this a good stand-alone course, but with having 12 holes at Nottingham Park only a few miles away, a person could play both courses to get in a full 18 holes of solid golf. Also, if a player plays both courses together, they will appreciate the differences in it's hole designs that much more.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A good start

2-4    3/4/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: sp1n
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a technical little course that is a fast play. You can throw some longer shots or attack it with a mid range. The baskets are nice and the holes have a good variety. The signage is and baskets make it an easy course to follow.
Cons: It needs some clearing out and traffic to beat the course in a bit still. Some of the branches and brush leave no real line to the basket, and you find yourself just chunking and hoping.
Other Thoughts: I did not want this to be a con per se, because it is due in part to my ineptness. The last hole (400'+) runs very close to a road. The power this hole requires fonund me landing in the street repeatedly and lost one disk to the aparment complex across the street. An overstable disc would have solved this issue, but I had to travel light and no matter the hyzer it kept turning over into the head wind.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.