Rio Rancho, NM 
Canyon Park Share
Uploaded By: AlexBradford Hole #2 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Putt-Putt Disc Golf

1    6/15/2013   2/3/2014
Review By: adamwad
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Not crowded, and there are disc golf baskets.
Cons: Really short, no challenging shots, not a full course. Only need to bring your Roc and you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: Any course is better than no course, but this is tiny, simple, and pretty boring.

Quiet course, good for practice

5+    5/27/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: jamesp123
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a short course that you can play in about 20 minutes.There is usually no one here so I have the course to myself which is nice since the course is in a compact area.
Cons: The course is situated in an arroyo. It says no pets but I see pets there often.The city has torn out grass and added gravel which makes footing difficult, we had to move city marked tee boxes because of footing issues on the gravel.
Other Thoughts: There is a resident coyote at this course. It likes humans and will walk up to you because a nearby homeowner feeds it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great to learn on

2-4    3/22/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good confidence booster. Aces & birdies galore. Course plays in less than 20 minutes. It's better to have 9 baskets out there to offer some recreational activity than just another drainage ditch running through a subdivision.
Cons: Like the title says: simple and easy. Not a wide variety of shots. Boring.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short course

2-4    7/28/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: KDFrosty
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great use of the land between neighborhoods.
-Short course can be played in ~30 minutes.
-Offers a small variety elevation change, obstacles, short holes, and medium sized holes.
-Not a lot of people play this course
-Each hole has its own sign and basket
Cons: -Course encompasses a park with playground in the middle. Be aware of kids.
-A few of the tee pads are on uneven dirt or in 4" of crushed gravel. Just play from where you feel safe.
-Only 9 short-medium distance holes..no holes to REALLY air it out.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and play it as often as I can during lunch breaks from work. Definitely a good place to practice your mid-range game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Small Neighborhood Pitch & Putt!

1    3/31/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Canyon Park is a small, narrow neighborhood park. It's mostly grassy, with scattered trees and slopes down into the center where a very shallow concrete drainage ditch that runs the length of the park. This gives the park a little elevation and allows you a couple chances to get some air under your throw. Most of the signs are there with the posted distances. The first five holes play away from the parking lot with the final four playing back to the beginning. Being that this is such a small park, it's very easy to navigate and a round can be played in less than 30 minutes. There are also #'s on the baskets to help with finding your way around. # 1 is kind of a fun little throw starting from just below the parking lot, you're throwing down the sloping grass to a basket down past the culvert 270' away. It's a nice easy little ACE run. I don't think this park would get the swarms of people that would get in your way like some other parks do.
Cons: # 2 & # 3 signs are both currently missing. I couldn't find a teepad for # 5. One teepad ( # 3 maybe ???) forces you to tee off a sharply sloping hillside, I didn't like that. # 7 was a very short PAR 2-just 105'. Make no mistake, this is just your basic pitch and putt. It's designed for Rec players, families and newbies Or maybe as a course to go and work on a particular shot or skill.
Other Thoughts: As I was playing, three 12 year olds came walking out of the neighboring houses. One kid climbs up on the basket like it's a Jungle Gym. And we wonder why courses get trashed?

If I lived closeby, I'd play this course. I'd be trying to increase my career ACE total. I'd be trying to shoot 9 under. I think it's interesting enough to keep my attention. It serves it's intended purpose.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Small, narrow course.

1    5/17/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: tpgramlich
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has grass and a few trees, which can be hard to come by in Albuquerque. Each hole has a dedicated tee and basket. The hole layout is very straightforward and doesn't require crossing other holes. Baskets are all in great shape.
Cons: This is a small park and the course was clearly just stuck into it. The entire park is quite narrow and bordered by fenced-in back yards on both sides. This makes losing a disc a real possibility. A couple of holes had broken tee signs and the marker for 2 was completely gone, pole and all. The course layout was easy enough to figure out though as each tee was within feet of the previous basket. Holes are almost all quite short (most between 200 and 300 feet, with one 500+ exception) with very few obstacles. There are no maps or scorecards provided but the intact tee markers provide a diagram for that hole.
Other Thoughts: I would like to say this is a good course for beginners due to the short holes and lack of overall difficulty if it weren't for the fact that losing a disc into someone's back yard is such a threat on an errant throw. As it is, I'd say it's best simply as a place to practice some shorter shots if you're already in the neighborhood but definitely not worth a special trip.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Super Simple, Super Easy

2-4    3/24/2010   4/8/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good confidence booster. Aces & birdies galore. Course plays in less than 20 minutes. It's better to have 9 baskets out there to offer some recreational activity than just another drainage ditch running through a subdivision.
Cons: Like the title says: simple and easy. Not a wide variety of shots. Boring.
Other Thoughts: If I lived in the neighborhood around the park, I'd be out there every day listening to the sound of birdie shots in the chains, but I'm not going to make the drive just to play there again.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.