Appleton, WI 
Plamann Apple Creek 18 Share
Uploaded By: icedpuck Hole #16 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 353ft.   3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great city park course

5+    6/22/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: BriZimm
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.7 Years
Pros: This course is well-laid out and has excellent tees with garbage cans at every hole. I like the different elevations and the need for different throws because of it. The terrain also creates the feeling of a few different courses. The first few holes are on one side of the creek and a large wooded barrier. This is followed up with an open course for a few more holes. After an uphill hole (11) you're brought to the next section of the course after crossing the small park road. You have the option of splitting here to the 9 hole or continuing through the 18 hole course. The next three holes wrap around a large hill and you cross the same park road again and head to the finishing stretch with two of my favorite holes in a row.
Cons: The only con that I see is the water drainage. in the open area of the course a column of standing water interrupts 3 holes. A simple, but small footbridge would alleviate a lot of headaches for people. The other issues on Holes 1 and 3 can be fixed by digging the sections out and using gravel under the new sod. I'm not sure why this isn't done.
Other Thoughts: With the drainage issues mentioned, my favorite time to disc is in the mornings after a big rainstorm. The course is much less crowded and I wear some old sandals and prepare to get a little wet and muddy.

Plamann is only 5 minutes from me and is one of my favorites in the Fox Valley area.

 

5+    6/23/2011   5/28/2012
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice tee boxes and signs
Fairways are always mowed to perfection
Easy navigation
Great mix of hole lengths
Cons: Not to many benches
Can get crowded
Can have a lot of bugs at dusk
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses. A few minor improvements can bring this course to being top notch. I would not mind paying 2 - 5 dollars if that is what it takes to keep the fun ruiners out

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Amazing course!

1    6/27/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18+ hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(Overall not a very punitive course - you can save par on most holes despite pretty much any normal screw-up. This grade is boosted some by several of the holes giving you intriguing choices on how you can best play them…decision making depending on how you are feeling/playing, which way the wind is blowing, etc.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+
(Minus about 2-3 holes that are too short to be rewarding and 2 or so that are too long to ever expect anything other than a 3, this course fits me perfectly! A low round (say 40-45) would really tell me I was on my game.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
(Although this course is more open than wooded, the great use of terrain makes up for that by adding a great fun factor and good challenge….especially when windy.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A
(Much more of a manicured feeling than the in-the-woods feeling I love so much, but seclusion is pretty good on over half the course and it is truly beautiful in a golf course sort of way.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A

My grades for the individual components average to a B+, but this course has a perfect combination off all it offers to somehow gets it into the solid A- stratosphere on my ratings list. I think it is the incredible fun-factor of this course that boosts it up.
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Home Brewed Disc

2-4    8/13/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: Craton
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Flow- The signage for this course was one of the best I've seen in a course. The signs unique take on the holes were characterized by a simple molding of the hole at hand. Paired with the intuitive layout and short walks between holes, I found it to be particularly easy to get from one hole to the next.
Upkeep- The course was kept in very good shape, and I was hard pressed to find trash laying about.
Variety- There were a surprising amount of variety packed into this 18 hole gem. I was able to play just about every disc in my bag for one reason or another- some straight shooters, a steep downhill around 380' that was particularly fun, and a number of lines to be had.
General: What perhaps struck me the most impressive was the utilization of space. There are a few holes that were in the 250-300' range that were placed on top of a hill, a shorter shot that actually requires a bit more power than a normal flat hole with the same distance would demand. This utilizes the space very well, in that I am forced to bust out a distance driver, but only have to walk 300' to retrieve my disc.
Cons: The biggest complaint that I had was the ability of the course to handle water. We played after a pretty nasty storm, but even so, there were a few spots where a simple creek bed cut into the clay would serve the course wonders, if not add another feature. There are patches where the sod absolutely does not allow the water to flow down what should be valleys, and the result is a hidden marsh trap that you almost can't avoid.

In relation to this, there are a few holes where, once again, some landscaping would help the course dearly in wet weather. The erosion is fairly bad on a few holes in particular, which in the future could ruin the area.
Other Thoughts: This course was a blast to play- I'd say if you go through Appleton, WI and miss it, you have completely missed an experience. With such a gorgeous, low traffic course offering the variety that it has, I will be looking forward to visiting it again in the future.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Expansive and Varied Course

5+    6/29/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of space for big arms to flex. Several 350-450 foot holes that can accommodate any style of throw. Many possible routes for nearly every drive. Sky it toward the hole or wind around some well-placed, mature trees in the fairway. Excellent footing on concrete tee pads, many of which are surrounded by black mesh to prevent mud around the pad. Good accurate signage with a bench and trash can for every hole. Elevation changes are frequent and subtle rather than spiking uphill and downhill. Hole 13 is a nice downhill bomber. Fairways are never so narrow that they feel cheap. Course is all lawn and frequently maintained. Good welcoming area with large parking lot, soda machine, and practice basket.
Cons: Thick, disc-eating woods can come into play with stray throws on 1 through 5 and 13. Course is wetter than others in the surrounding area, to the point where it's worth avoiding after rainstorms and as late into the season as through May. Course gets more stroller/ large group/ slow casual golfer traffic than others in the area. Mistakes on number 18 can end up over the fence in the man-made swimming area.
Other Thoughts: Balanced course with an option for playing 27 holes while you're there. Beginners may find it too long, pros may be disappointed by lack of winding, deeply wooded holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well designed, fairly long, and challenging.

1    11/7/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice large concrete tees are always a plus especially on courses with longer holes.

2) Signage is attractive and shows distances.

3) Very nice park and the disc golf section is completely removed from the rest of the park which is always a plus to not have to worry about bystanders and walkers and such.

4) Rolling terrain including some larger uphills and a couple slight downhillers. One long downhill hole is almost like a skihill shot. About 400' and reachable for anyone that normally throws about 275-300'. Creek behind the basket and a patch of wooded area on the left of the green.

5) Erosion mats around some of the teeboxes is helpful for preventing erosion, and also helps to retain turf in these areas. (See #2 negatives for what went wrong).

6) Nice basket placements to add to the challenge of this course. There are some nice hills that the baskets are perched on at least 3 or 4 holes.

7) The use of the mature trees in this park is well done to help force you to pick specific lines rather than just running and gunning.

8) Plenty of garbage baskets and benches on most tees (if not all).

9) Nice variety of hole shapes, shots required, terrain is ranging from flat to gently rolling to a bomb downhill, even a couple up slight uphillers. Hyzer and anhyzers are needed on this course, or sidearm and backhand. If you have all 4 you will play better than most on this course.
Cons: 1) Course could use a sign on #4 green to show you to cross the bridge. There is another path that could confuse some people in that area.

2) Some of the teepads could use some mulch installed or more of the plastic mesh to prevent erosion. The mats didnt seem to be working as well as other places I have seent his feature (specifically i can remember Bryant Lake in MN). The mats work for preventing the erosion, but the grass seems to be sturggling to grow through this stuff. I have a feeling the ground was compact, and they wanted to try this out, put it in but never corrected the soil issue so the new grass just cannot establish.

3) Basket on #5 seems low and is missing an inner ring (other than that the baskets seemed to be in fine shape.

4) Baskets are tough to see especially on some of the blindholes.

5) Apple Creek is only a backdrop on a few holes and it never comes into play. You cross over the bridge after #4 and then play alongside the creek, but again it is really not in play. It is a nice feature I would have liked to see incorporated intot he design.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a very enjoyable course. I loved the first hole and I even got a 3 on it with a simple little approach to underneath the basket. It uses the rolling terrain very well and includes quite a few S shots which are always fun to try and execute. It can be challenging in spots, but there are still some birdie holes out there and I consider this a huge plus. The course has some decent length on many holes and has some shorter ones too. The range is from 179' up to 463' which is avesome to see. COurses where every hole is between 180-230 get kindof repetetive. This course forces you to use many different discs for different shots and to hit specific gaps.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Place

1    5/16/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: kaitm22
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course.
Beautiful park, with nice variety of holes.
Cons: Be prepared for a hike.
I have encoutered some real jerks here, and when you have to wait to play a hole with rude people the game becomes consederably less fun.
Other Thoughts: Nice place to play, go on a weekday during schooltime so it wont be so packed.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/5/2007   5/31/2009
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2011
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course was the first course I ever played, and continued to be my main course until I moved out of the area.

This course is amazing. The designers really utilized the lanscape to its advantage. The course has a variety of elevation changes on the holes, There are a few holes that you drive uphill and others that drive downhill, one being a long bomb downhill. Another downhill hole features a blind shot at the basket. Some holes also play downhill and dogleg to the right, requiring a long anhyzer throw (RHBH here). There are thrashcans at every hole, and benches at most. All of the tees on the course are cement. As an added bonus, you can take a side trek after hole 11 and play the meadowview 9 course that is also in the park. Aesthetically, the park is beautiful. It is taken care of very well. Each hole also features very nice tee signs.
Cons: The only annoying thing about the park is that it gets very busy during the summer and late spring, right after school lets out. Sometimes there will be over three groups waiting at the first tee. This course also has the tendency to attract a very large number of rec players who are not the most courteous people. They sometimes will throw in on you while you are still playing a hole without a second thought.
Other Thoughts: Overall, plamann is one of the nicest and well-kept public courses i have played in the area. It offers a good balance of difficulty for new players and experienced players alike.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Plaman of Plenty

5+    4/10/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: Stashride
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful well maintained course..27 holes overall at the park..A Plethora of Disc golf shots are needed..Great use of Elevation and challenging pin placements..Very aesthetically pleasing with serene streams and bridges..Plays alot of different ways with varying weather..Inclines, declines, hyzers, annies, length, aceholes, trees & very clean and earthy..truely alot to offer..
Cons: Some days It get pretty Windy out here..Dont miss to the left on the 1st hole if you want to keep your disc..Hit your fairways or youll spend some time searching through some thick brush
Other Thoughts: Clear your schedule if you are going to come to Plaman because youre not going to want to leave..Play the extra nine and use the trash cans!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/26/2008   12/11/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 215  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has it all: uphill, downhill, long, short, hyzer, anhyzer, some lightly wooded holes and a couple blind shots. It's a course that will challenge many aspects of your game and require many different shots.

The teepads are nice and long, there are beautiful wooden signs at each hole and there are plenty of trash cans.
Cons: While the tee signs are very nice looking, they aren't very accurate, so be sure you know exactly where the pin is on blind holes.

Some of the shorter holes appear to be kind of easy, but elevation, rough or a well placed tree adds to the challenge.

Other Thoughts: I was impressed by the condition of this beautiful course and the work that's been put into it; it's definitely worth checking out.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.