Disc Golf Store
Appleton, WI 
Plamann Apple Creek 18 Share
Uploaded By: icedpuck Hole #3 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 265ft.   3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Plamann Course Review

5+    7/20/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: FoxRacer23TW
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a really long and well laid out course. Plenty of hills to throw up or down from. There is also an optional 9 holes off of the back 9.
Cons: The holes a too straight. They don't offer any type of obstacle to throw around or trees to maneuver through. It seems like every hole par is made for beginner throwers. Some holes could easily be made in 2, but has a par 4 listed.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, definitely check this place out. When its not busy, its a fun and a smooth course to play. The ground is normally good and not too swampy. Bugs aren't a huge nuisance, unless you get into the water and muddy areas.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Apple Creek 18 hole.

1    10/19/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course can be played by itself or you can jump onto the meadowview course after hole 11 to play the whole 27 hole loop. All holes have nice large, level concrete tees that are plenty grippy. The baskets are Mach 3's that are all in excellent shape and catch nicely. these also have the number plates on top of each which is always nice. There are signs at each tee that have a map of the hole, par, hole # and distance. The flow from hole to hole is very intuitive. the course was well mowed and maintained when we went. There are benches and trash cans all over throughout the course. There's a really good amount of elevation on this course. It's one of the major challenges on this course. There's a really solid mix of left, right and straight shots required here. It's a pretty well balanced course in this regard. Other than that it's moderately wooded with a number of holes being mostly open. There's a good mix of different distances on this course. It starts out with the longest hole at 463 feet on hole 1. The shortest is 179 feet on hole 11, however this is a blind uphill shot which makes up for the shortness here. All the holes have either wood chips or metal grating around each tee pad. Some have both. There's a great variety of different types of trees throughout the different sections of the course making it a very visually appealing course. The course is also free to play. They have a large board at the start of the course with any kind of disc related postings on it.
Cons: My main con here is the tee signs. The map of each hole layout is pretty much useless for first time players. It's basically just a blob that's supposed to be the fairway with a cartoony basket on top of the blob. It doesn't help at all in knowing where the basket is. The course is only open late spring to late fall. It's always nice seeing courses being open year round but there's plenty of other courses nearby that stay up all year. Also the drainage can apparently get pretty bad here. Everything was good as far as that when we went, however it was late October. Something to remember if you go in the spring or after any rain. In order to jump onto the 9 hole loop you need to cross the road after hole 11. You'll see hole 12 to your left and hole 2 of Meadowview to your right. It's just easier to start on hole 2 of Meadowview and finish with hole 1 which will bring you right back to hole 12 to finish the 27 hole loop. I can see why hole 1 is where it is just a little confusing for first time players. There's only one set of tee and basket locations here. It would be nice if at least they had multiple pin locations on such an otherwise real solid course.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a plenty fun course that would make for a fun day of disc golf by itself or combined with any of the many other nearby courses. I gave it a 3.5 because it is very good. There's just nothing that really sticks out to make it super memorable. It's just a real solid well designed course. I'd definitely check this one out if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/23/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: Dan K
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation, Some big distance holes.
Cons: Wasps and Bees! Not going to lie, after going into anaphylactic shock years ago the amount of potential near death experiences made the course particularly challenging for me. :)

Besides a few holes, it seemed the majority of holes were shorter with not much variety in technical difficulty.
Other Thoughts: Over-all one of the better kept courses I've been to. Garbage disposal options were stellar!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Apple Creek AND Meadowview review

1    7/28/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: Furry Lint Trap
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great layout, with a variety of obstacles, elevation, tight and open shots. Meadowview plays more on the tight and narrow side.

- Tees, baskets well maintained. Garbage and benches at nearly (if not all) holes.

- Ton of fun factor
Cons: - Biggest complaint is drainage. Played after a slight rain, and was muddy, etc in places. Nothing crazy, but could use a bit of work in this area.

- Tad short for the experienced player, but makes up for it with variety of shots.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this 27 hole course. Might be biased as I played a -7 here, but I found it very enjoyable and never felt repetitive. Was sad there wasn't a couple super long holes to let the big dog hunt, but not all course can have a 700' fairway. Will DEFINITELY play this course again if up near Appleton.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great city park course

5+    6/22/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: BriZimm
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
Pros: This course is well-laid out and has excellent tees with garbage cans at every hole. I like the different elevations and the need for different throws because of it. The terrain also creates the feeling of a few different courses. The first few holes are on one side of the creek and a large wooded barrier. This is followed up with an open course for a few more holes. After an uphill hole (11) you're brought to the next section of the course after crossing the small park road. You have the option of splitting here to the 9 hole or continuing through the 18 hole course. The next three holes wrap around a large hill and you cross the same park road again and head to the finishing stretch with two of my favorite holes in a row.
Cons: The only con that I see is the water drainage. in the open area of the course a column of standing water interrupts 3 holes. A simple, but small footbridge would alleviate a lot of headaches for people. The other issues on Holes 1 and 3 can be fixed by digging the sections out and using gravel under the new sod. I'm not sure why this isn't done.
Other Thoughts: With the drainage issues mentioned, my favorite time to disc is in the mornings after a big rainstorm. The course is much less crowded and I wear some old sandals and prepare to get a little wet and muddy.

Plamann is only 5 minutes from me and is one of my favorites in the Fox Valley area.

Great open course

5+    11/10/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: Putter
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Free.
Well groomed.
Concrete pads with benches near by.
Mach 3 baskets.
Course flows well.
Information board with postings.
Option of playing 27 holes.
Cons: Not open year round. Course open usually late spring to late fall.
Large groups beyond 6 frequently in summer months.
Course can be very wet for days after it rains.
Other Thoughts: I grew up playing here. More than a decade later I still rank this course in my top 10.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Stopped out for a quick round

1    10/2/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: Awol
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good variety of holes
- Benches at most of the tees
- Bag hangers and garbage at every tee.
- Well groomed
Cons: - A second tee would be nice for some of these holes.
- Blind baskets require a bit of wandering if you are a first-time (I was.) Minor complaint though.
- Signs could be a bit more descriptive. To explain a bit, the signs seemed to be too small to show an appropriate scale for the hole. A dog leg left that was a sharp turn was shown the same way as a gentle dog leg. The signs seemed too cramped to offer what people expect from a sign.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course, definitely worth stopping at. I wasn't able to try the suggested 27 hole path, but look forward to getting back out there to try it.

I can't speak to how busy it was. I only saw one other group on the course but I was there mid-day on a Tuesday.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/23/2011   5/28/2012
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice tee boxes and signs
Fairways are always mowed to perfection
Easy navigation
Great mix of hole lengths
Cons: Not to many benches
Can get crowded
Can have a lot of bugs at dusk
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses. A few minor improvements can bring this course to being top notch. I would not mind paying 2 - 5 dollars if that is what it takes to keep the fun ruiners out

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/25/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: BKGuitar9
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Good variety in holes. Some fields, some trees, some open, some elevation in addition to great variation in distance.
2. Great, large concrete tee boxes.
2. Clean (Garbage cans on every hole)
3. Good signage
4. Great fairways- with the exception of a couple of holes every fairway is grass
5. Huuuge park
6. Great layout and flow

Cons: 1. Holes 1,3,5,6,7,9 often acquire large amounts of water
2. Late summer = lots of apples on the ground. Lots of apples on the ground = lots of bees
3. Highest chance of encountering large groups of rude disc golfers in the area as Plamann is often crowded.
4. It's always more windy in comparison to other local parks
Other Thoughts: My favorite place to go when it isn't windy or crowded.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Plamman 18

5+    5/17/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 29  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1) nice country club feel
2) concrete tee pads offer great footings for drives.
3) great use of the hills and small patches of woods.
4) has a few good places to bomb a disc
5) very good flow throughout course.
6) practice basket
7) well manicured
8) benches and trash cans at nearly every hole
9) the Medoview 9 picks up after hole 11, makes a good 27 hole course if you have the time.
Cons: 1) there's a drainage problem that causes holes 1, 3, 6,7, and 9 to be very wet and soupy more often than not.
2) holes 7 and 8 run very close together and can cause problems with golfers on the adjacent hole.
3) VERY undesrciptive tee signs
4) busy, busy, busy
Other Thoughts: An all around good course that has had trouble keeping up with the times and really has no legitimate par 4s or 5s.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.