Appleton, WI 
Plamann Apple Creek 18 Share
Uploaded By: icedpuck Hole #2 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 299ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Plamann Apple creek 18

1    10/30/2010   12/3/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice well kept park, well kept fairways, rolling hills, surounded by grassy medows.
-Fantastic use of elevation
-Nice concrete tees
-Trash cans on most holes
-Tee signs
-Easy to follow course flow
-an optional 9 holes come into play about halfway through (at hole 12)
-A creek winds through several holes adding an extra obstical, shallow enough to retrieve discs easily.
-Many old and beautiful trees make certain shots fun and challenging.
-Several blind pin placements
-Baskets in good shape
-Several benches at holes
-Dual pin placements
-Excellent variety of short to long holes, left to right shots etc...
-Erosion mats around some of the teeboxes is helpful for preventing erosion, and also helps to retain turf in these areas.
-Nice basket placements, several baskets are on hills and offer roll away potential
Cons: -Thick rough surrounds some holes making errant shots difficult to find
-Course gets muddy and soft after rain
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing this course, Im not sure why they didnt just add the optional 9 holes to the other 18 holes. This seems a bit goofy. You also start the optional 9 holes at hole 12 which seems out of place. I would agree with some other reviewers in the fact that if this course were 27 holes instead of 18+ 9 alternates I would have rated it higher. The course was very fun to play and I would love to come back and give it another shot now that I have seen the blind pin placements and have a good feel for where everything is. This is a Rich Martin designed course which adds to its overall coolness. Rich is the man!! He really knows how to use the land he has available to maximise its potential for disc golf, hes a great designer. Its definitely worth a trip to play if your around the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Apple Creek 18

1    10/30/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 192  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The Plamann Apple Creek 18-holer is situated in a spacious, well-maintained, multi-use park along with the Plamann Meadowview 9-hole course. After Apple Creek's 12th hole, you are given the option of playing Meadowview's 9 holes before looping back to Apple Creek's 13th hole.
- Moderate elevation and tightly-spaced trees and bushes require precision and skill to score well. Elevation, as well as the course's trees and brush, is used well throughout. Most holes are in the 300' range or shorter, and several are aceable. A few longer open holes scattered here and there, although nothing punishingly long.
- Risk/reward opportunities throughout. A small creek comes into play on several of the holes, but isn't deep enough in most places to lose a disc in. Most risk comes from trying to hit the "perfect line." Trees will smack you down and ruin your upshot/putt if given half the chance.
- A good mix of hole styles. Everything from short straight ace runs to bombing off of small hills. Trees provide the main obstacles, but do so in a way that doesn't become boring or repetitive. Good mix of anny and hyzer lines. Plenty of blind holes to navigate.
- Concrete tees in great shape. Baskets in good condition for the most part. Adequate signage, trash buckets, and benches at each hole.
- Dual pin positions, although apparently the baskets get moved only very rarely (once every couple of years or so).
Cons: - The signs, while in good shape and easy on the eyes, don't really depict the hole layout very well. Most end up looking very much the same. This becomes a slight issue with the number of blind holes.
- A few of the baskets had chains that have come loose from the ring that holds them, allowing the chain-links to hang straight down.
- A little on the short side, but not short enough to be super easy or boring. The addition of long tees (if possible) would make this course outstanding.
Other Thoughts: - As a stand-alone 18, this course is a solid 3.5 discs. Coupled with Meadowview's optional 9 holes, this 27 hole course delivers and would rated higher on my scale.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Amazing course!

1    6/27/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18+ hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(Overall not a very punitive course - you can save par on most holes despite pretty much any normal screw-up. This grade is boosted some by several of the holes giving you intriguing choices on how you can best play them…decision making depending on how you are feeling/playing, which way the wind is blowing, etc.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+
(Minus about 2-3 holes that are too short to be rewarding and 2 or so that are too long to ever expect anything other than a 3, this course fits me perfectly! A low round (say 40-45) would really tell me I was on my game.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
(Although this course is more open than wooded, the great use of terrain makes up for that by adding a great fun factor and good challenge….especially when windy.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A
(Much more of a manicured feeling than the in-the-woods feeling I love so much, but seclusion is pretty good on over half the course and it is truly beautiful in a golf course sort of way.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A

My grades for the individual components average to a B+, but this course has a perfect combination off all it offers to somehow gets it into the solid A- stratosphere on my ratings list. I think it is the incredible fun-factor of this course that boosts it up.
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Home Brewed Disc

2-4    8/13/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: Craton
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Flow- The signage for this course was one of the best I've seen in a course. The signs unique take on the holes were characterized by a simple molding of the hole at hand. Paired with the intuitive layout and short walks between holes, I found it to be particularly easy to get from one hole to the next.
Upkeep- The course was kept in very good shape, and I was hard pressed to find trash laying about.
Variety- There were a surprising amount of variety packed into this 18 hole gem. I was able to play just about every disc in my bag for one reason or another- some straight shooters, a steep downhill around 380' that was particularly fun, and a number of lines to be had.
General: What perhaps struck me the most impressive was the utilization of space. There are a few holes that were in the 250-300' range that were placed on top of a hill, a shorter shot that actually requires a bit more power than a normal flat hole with the same distance would demand. This utilizes the space very well, in that I am forced to bust out a distance driver, but only have to walk 300' to retrieve my disc.
Cons: The biggest complaint that I had was the ability of the course to handle water. We played after a pretty nasty storm, but even so, there were a few spots where a simple creek bed cut into the clay would serve the course wonders, if not add another feature. There are patches where the sod absolutely does not allow the water to flow down what should be valleys, and the result is a hidden marsh trap that you almost can't avoid.

In relation to this, there are a few holes where, once again, some landscaping would help the course dearly in wet weather. The erosion is fairly bad on a few holes in particular, which in the future could ruin the area.
Other Thoughts: This course was a blast to play- I'd say if you go through Appleton, WI and miss it, you have completely missed an experience. With such a gorgeous, low traffic course offering the variety that it has, I will be looking forward to visiting it again in the future.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

1    7/4/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nicely manicured multi-use park with awesome maintenance and good separation from other park activities. There are lots of elevation changes, and though none are really drastic they are enough to add quite a bit of challenge and variety to the course. There are some tough uphill shots and some fun downhill holes, and a couple pin placements that are quite conducive to roll aways on missed putts for a little extra risk.

There is a mix of left and right turning holes that make the course play pretty balanced for righty and lefty players. There is a nice variety of distances from ace runs to long bombs which helps keep the course from ever feeling very repetitive. Many holes have enough rough and obstacles that the few open holes make a nice contrast, and the brush that lines some fairways makes for a punishing lie if you throw an errant drive. There are decent signs here with the hole distance, and good concrete tees. The park is well kept with no trash or vandalism that I saw.
Cons: The hole maps on the signs are useless, they all look exactly the same so they don't really help all that much, and you still have to walk up the fairway to know where to throw on the several blind holes. There are several holes that bring the park roads into play, making for some possible safety hazards and waits for traffic to pass.

Though there is a good balance of left and right turning holes, few of them require very much turn to negotiate the fairway. This ends up making the course feel like too many holes play pretty much straight ahead, and takes away from the fun factor and challenge for me.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course that's definitely worth the stop if you're in the area. With the 9 hole course in the same park that intersects this course, you can play a full 27 hole loop which is a nice plus. Beginners will find the course long, and a little punishing. More experienced players will be challenged, though much of the challenge comes from keeping the disc on the fairway not from making a wide variety of shot shapes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Expansive and Varied Course

5+    6/29/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of space for big arms to flex. Several 350-450 foot holes that can accommodate any style of throw. Many possible routes for nearly every drive. Sky it toward the hole or wind around some well-placed, mature trees in the fairway. Excellent footing on concrete tee pads, many of which are surrounded by black mesh to prevent mud around the pad. Good accurate signage with a bench and trash can for every hole. Elevation changes are frequent and subtle rather than spiking uphill and downhill. Hole 13 is a nice downhill bomber. Fairways are never so narrow that they feel cheap. Course is all lawn and frequently maintained. Good welcoming area with large parking lot, soda machine, and practice basket.
Cons: Thick, disc-eating woods can come into play with stray throws on 1 through 5 and 13. Course is wetter than others in the surrounding area, to the point where it's worth avoiding after rainstorms and as late into the season as through May. Course gets more stroller/ large group/ slow casual golfer traffic than others in the area. Mistakes on number 18 can end up over the fence in the man-made swimming area.
Other Thoughts: Balanced course with an option for playing 27 holes while you're there. Beginners may find it too long, pros may be disappointed by lack of winding, deeply wooded holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 play while in the area

5+    10/15/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 729  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quite solid course; has stood the test of time. One of the first 10 with baskets in Wisconsin. Steady Ed involved with original course walk through and design.
Well designed mixture of lhbh and rhbh shots.
Well designed mixture of long and short holes.
ALL shot types are represented here...for blue level players)
Some fall-away greens.
Some ace runs, but only a couple that you should "absolutely" get.
Very well maintained park (with ball golf course feel, as noted by other reviewers). Plamann Park staff maintains this course wonderfully, especially considering amount of play. Trash cans emptied daily; etc. Trash buckets attached to each and every tee post.
Both a con and a pro is the fact that there are few "wow" holes. However, nearly every conceivable "almost wow" shot IS presented.
One 400 foot, but requiring steerage, hole per nine.
Gold level players will find this course rather short. Everyone else should enjoy Plamann a GREAT deal; as nearly every shot presents a good challenge to this level of player. (Thus the 4 rating and above from many "average" players in other reviews.
Meadow view nine makes this overall layout, 27 holes. Big plus. (In most reviews, I bump a course up by .5 for this alone. Here, I did not; as they are listed separately. Meadowview nine less played than Apple Creek, and offers more alone time. (After #11 (original course), go to tee to right of #12 and begin play at #2, Meadow view, to play full 27.)
Big parking lot.
Swimming offered in nice setting.
Hole #1, longest hole on front nine, challenging you from the start. Rhbh players may choose to brave the road to the right with a hyzer and attempt a road skip back into fairway. Tough to get it to come all the way back, without tree trouble on the upshot.
Blind #4, quite a tough hole.
#7 and #8 require long drives to reach. #7 is a quite scenic hole; and for rhbh; required a shot that follows the contours of the land to a blind pin.
#10 and #11 are two of the better short holes anywhere. #10 has all kind of rollaway possibilities, as well as huge pin protection. #11 is aceable through the "two goal post trees", but is a blind placement.
#13 is probably the signature hole here; a "top of the world" type of hole.
#15 is only 245 ft., buts plays uphill the entire way and plays like 300+; in nearly 20 years; I've seen very few drives past this pin
#16 and excellent blind pin. I would perhaps call this one the signature hole.
#17 is only 271 ft., but, again, is an uphill hole.
To sum this up; the overall footage here is only 5300 feet; and there are a few short holes (10,11, 12, and 14); but, a number of the others you may think are short; play longer.
Cons: One set of tees.
One pin placement (though most holes have been moved slightly over the years to allow pin areas to recuperate).
The MOST crowded course in the Fox Cities. Fox Cities area, in general, played hard. (before noon is preferred if you would like to play at a faster pace)
Some blind holes. (I don't really consider this a con. However, first timers need to realize that unless playing with a local, some fairways will need to be walked to see the pin; and this can be annoying; if you're unprepared for it.)
Apple Creek not in play. (Holes #5, #10, and for long arms, #13 can bring the creek into play with errant shots).
Gold level players will find this to be primarily a pitch and putt. This con is given for these players, only; though they probably already know it.
Holes #5, #6, #9 and #10 used to have wonderful apple orchid feel and especially 5, 9 and 10 played quite a bit tougher before these trees perished. #5 is really the only one of these that will seem quite plain; a whole grove of trees was lost here.
Other Thoughts: The very first Rich Martin design. Rich now has more than seven courses to his credit. Plamann, O'Hauser, and Grignon, are all Martin designed. These three form the "must play trifecta" for the Fox Cities. (Telulah Park is not a Martin design; but should get honorable mention as our #4 solid course) If you fail to be thrilled by these three (from long tees at the other two); you have gotten to the point where you need to find 4+ rated courses to play....and if you're not the pro tour, YOU SHOULD BE....
Local rules stipulate that if you're o.b., over the fence on #18, you must buy ice cream for your group! ha ha
I am now 46 years of age and find Plamann to be quite challenging. There was a period, where I considered this course a bit weak. (I'm trying to give the big picture here. I believe this has been previously explained relating to the 950 rated players.) This course has actually gotten tougher in recent years; I believe, due to growth of rough; especially on hole #4.
Possibility of this course becoming pay to play in the near future. (A con in regards to cost, and a plus.... as numbers of players will be cut back.) Would be nice if pay to play allows for second set of tees and pin placements; perhaps bringing the creek more into play. We will have to wait and see.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/19/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: rscd20
Played: 58  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course map at first hole
Well maintained fairways and pads
Nice signs that lead the way
Variety of uphill, downhill, long and blind holes
While in a mixed use park, the disc golf area is only disc golf, no walking paths which surprised me
Cons: Very busy with many families and young kids playing that can interrupt a good flow of play. This is really the only bad thing I have to say about this course. I was able to group up with a few people and play through some families, but most of the time it was just wait, wait, wait. And not really any benches to sit at.
Other Thoughts: Has an additional 9 to play for 27 holes. I never did it, but I heard it's quite hard.
There is a small lake to cool off at between rounds if you want to go for a dip

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well designed, fairly long, and challenging.

1    11/7/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice large concrete tees are always a plus especially on courses with longer holes.

2) Signage is attractive and shows distances.

3) Very nice park and the disc golf section is completely removed from the rest of the park which is always a plus to not have to worry about bystanders and walkers and such.

4) Rolling terrain including some larger uphills and a couple slight downhillers. One long downhill hole is almost like a skihill shot. About 400' and reachable for anyone that normally throws about 275-300'. Creek behind the basket and a patch of wooded area on the left of the green.

5) Erosion mats around some of the teeboxes is helpful for preventing erosion, and also helps to retain turf in these areas. (See #2 negatives for what went wrong).

6) Nice basket placements to add to the challenge of this course. There are some nice hills that the baskets are perched on at least 3 or 4 holes.

7) The use of the mature trees in this park is well done to help force you to pick specific lines rather than just running and gunning.

8) Plenty of garbage baskets and benches on most tees (if not all).

9) Nice variety of hole shapes, shots required, terrain is ranging from flat to gently rolling to a bomb downhill, even a couple up slight uphillers. Hyzer and anhyzers are needed on this course, or sidearm and backhand. If you have all 4 you will play better than most on this course.
Cons: 1) Course could use a sign on #4 green to show you to cross the bridge. There is another path that could confuse some people in that area.

2) Some of the teepads could use some mulch installed or more of the plastic mesh to prevent erosion. The mats didnt seem to be working as well as other places I have seent his feature (specifically i can remember Bryant Lake in MN). The mats work for preventing the erosion, but the grass seems to be sturggling to grow through this stuff. I have a feeling the ground was compact, and they wanted to try this out, put it in but never corrected the soil issue so the new grass just cannot establish.

3) Basket on #5 seems low and is missing an inner ring (other than that the baskets seemed to be in fine shape.

4) Baskets are tough to see especially on some of the blindholes.

5) Apple Creek is only a backdrop on a few holes and it never comes into play. You cross over the bridge after #4 and then play alongside the creek, but again it is really not in play. It is a nice feature I would have liked to see incorporated intot he design.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a very enjoyable course. I loved the first hole and I even got a 3 on it with a simple little approach to underneath the basket. It uses the rolling terrain very well and includes quite a few S shots which are always fun to try and execute. It can be challenging in spots, but there are still some birdie holes out there and I consider this a huge plus. The course has some decent length on many holes and has some shorter ones too. The range is from 179' up to 463' which is avesome to see. COurses where every hole is between 180-230 get kindof repetetive. This course forces you to use many different discs for different shots and to hit specific gaps.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Falling just short

1    10/21/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: tick
Played: 187  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful well maintained park with great amenities. Concrete tees, Mach 3 baskets, trash receptacles, attractive and durable tee signs add up to a really nice walk iin the park. Interesting use of terrain makes for some really nice holes, and the flow is easy to follow. The 27 hole option is a big plus, as Meadowview adds tight technical holes to the more open Apple Creek 18.
Cons: The beautiful tee signs are almost useless. While they do list the distance to the basket, they do not show the shape of the hole or it's hazards, or even where to find the goal. Although the park's course information board calls the course "championship", the posted pars are a joke - appropriate only for casual and recreational players. They are close to correct for green level play, but are apparently not adjusted for elevation change or foliage density.
The baskets are difficult to see. The Mach 3's are plain galvanized without any orange focal point stickers, and the (real nice) top plate is dark green and light yellow, ie. camo! In combination with poor tee signs, finding baskets the first time through can be frustrating.
The proximity of many tees to the last goal is unsafe. While it makes the flow easy, this kind of crowding is bound to cause problems!
Too many holes fall into the "everybody gets a three" length. These are average difficulty holes that play at 300-425 feet.
Other Thoughts: This course has the venue to be really good, but it falls short. First shorten some of the stupid length holes - (move the tee on #14 forward by about 40 feet) Also moving other tees and goals further apart is a safety must. Find a 500' hole. Get useful signs, with realistic white level (advanced) pars.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.