Madison, AL 
Dublin Park Share
Uploaded By: ChrisL430 Hole #1 (Taken 10/2012)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Pitch and putt and that's it

1    4/18/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 37  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It's a DG course in a very nice looking park.
- Grass is mowed.
- Other than some fairways being a little close to each other there really are no serious safety hazards.
Cons: - Signage...lol wut?
- No teepads just cheap little plastic fence posts with numbers on them.
- Not only are these baskets cheap but many of them are in sore need of some TLC.
Other Thoughts: This is a classic example of a park district or park department (or whatever it happens to be in this case) trying to shoe-horn a 9 hole course into an impossibly small area for as little money as possible - at least that's what this looks like. This course is also a fine example of the concept that not every plot of land in the world is a good spot for a dg course. I see the designer work here though, it appears to me they did the best they could with what little they were allowed to work with and made the absolute most of what is here. Unfortunately, with the lack of maintenance, bad baskets and disappointing lack of appropriate signage I can't give this anything more than a 1. Poor is an apt description compared to the other courses I've played. Some previous reviews state that this is a good place to bring a newb to introduce them to disc golf. I completely disagree especially with courses like Bahran and Mastin in the area - those are much better for that purpose. If I were introduced to the sport with this course I would've walked away and never looked back.

Go ahead and mark my review as "not helpful" because unless some serious hard-core improvements are made I will never waste my time coming back here even if I just happen to be in the Huntsville area. If I lived across the street from Dublin Park and gas was $10/gallon I might be tempted to come here once in a while.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Don't go out of your way for this one

1    8/13/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
Pros: The other reviewers have pretty much summed it up well. This course is a decent place to take someone for a quick introduction to the sport or to practice with your putters and mids.

You won't lose a disc here or wack a lot of trees, but not all the holes are gimmees. There is a bit of challenge, particularly with the last three hilly holes and that factor does keep me playing here on occasion for variety.
Cons: There are no teepads and the baskets are pretty weak.

You really want to play with someone who knows the layout, because it'll be very frustrating trying to navigate the course otherwise.
Other Thoughts: If you happen to be in town and have played all the other courses first, then give me a shout and I'll guide you on the course. Otherwise, you might want to consider something else to do with your time.

 Good for What it Is

5+    5/15/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: DiscDawg015
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: Dublin is good for a quick warm up round, or a first time round for newer people to the game. Holes are short so it is easy to get a good score for those who play alot, and easy for those who are just starting out to build confidence. The park itself is a nice place to play and there are a couple trees scattered around for some shade. It can be played 2 or 3 times at once pretty quick.
Cons: The first time you play it is hard to figure out which basket you are playing to and where the next tee is. The baskets have numbers on them and the white plastic tee marks do as well. The course can easily be walked to figure out where everything is before you start. The baskets aren't the best. They are very flimsy and single chain, so expect some to bounce out everynow and then. Also, cars tend to park in fairway 1 which can be bothersome. Fairway 1 is slanting down though and for the most part the cars can be avioded.
Other Thoughts: If you don't come to this course expecting a heated round between you and your friends then you will be disappionted. However, if you just come to have fun and maybe play only midrange and putters then it will be a more pleasent experience.
Tee 1 which can be hard to find is one the right of the playground on the street you drive in, and hole 9 is on the other side of the playground.
Give this course a chance and don't expect a serious competition and it can be alot of fun, and a good warm up for the other courses around.

 Dublin Park

1    1/16/2012   1/16/2012
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a very nice community park with plenty of parking, restrooms and a gigantic kids play area. The course plays along a sloping area isolated from other park activities. The course flows well and is a great place to introduce beginners to the game or play a round with the kids. Although the course is pretty short and repetitive, it is actually laid out nicely with just enough trees and elevation to present a decent challenge. While the first six holes are all in the 175'-200' range, the final three holes are in the 250'-275' range and play considerably longer because they are uphill.
Cons: The baskets are the least sticky I have ever encountered. I had four or five putts smack the middle of the chains and go right through. The baskets are single-chain and very lightweight, almost as if they were homemade. The support poles are very thin and most are leaning. The only way I could get a putt to stick was if I managed to lob it into the basket rather than crashing into the chains. The tee pads are natural and marked by a short PVC post set in concrete with a vinyl sticker denoting the hole number. Despite the compact layout and the fact that every tee is immediately following the previous basket, it is hard to follow the intended layout. This is because when you stand at any tee, you can see all nine baskets. I twice finished a hole only to realize I played to the wrong basket--fortunately it is a short walk back!
Other Thoughts: On the day I played, the winds were gusting about 20-25 MPH. Under those conditions, it was maddening to place a drive within 15 feet of the pin only to have a nice putt go right through the chains like the basket was simply an illusion. I must have tried 25 practice putts after I finished my round and only two of them stayed in. With better baskets, this would actually be a pretty nice pitch and putt. As it is, it is just a way to bulk up your "Courses Played" list on DGCR.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    4/22/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a neat little 9-hole course that is new to the Huntsville scene. It is located in a well-kept park and plays through an open hillside with mature trees. The major pro of the design lies in the use of elevation. While the throws are not difficult for seasoned players at all, beginners will be able to test their game with some uphill holes. Plenty of Ace opportunities and a couple of trick pin placements. (side hills)
Cons: The baskets are single-chained. Since the layout is short and relatively close together, there could be issues if the course is busy. There are no tee pads. This is not a con because they are needed; it would just help to point out the correct target. There are tee posts, but they offer little direction and multiple targets are visible from each tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little cool-down spot. If you've played a grueling layout like UAH or Indian Creek, it never hurts to stop by this park and play a quick 9 to feel better about yourself. The course could be played easily in 20 minutes if you happen to be alone. Just take a neutral mid-range and a putter and enjoy. Breaking 18 is definitely possible at Dublin Park.

The park plays around a nice playground and tennis courts. There are park roads that can be a danger if you happen to shank a shot...but it would have to be a really bad shot.

After playing with my friends, we discussed how every disc golf town needs a course like this. Beginners will not be discouraged with difficult holes and will not get in the way of more seasoned golfers at the better courses in the area. Courses like this also serve as decent mid-range practice for advanced players. This course is a good addition to the Huntsville scene, and it fills a needed niche. If you're a beginner and you live in Huntsville, give this course a shot. If you're an average player and passing through the area, just go play the better courses in the vicinity. Huntsville has a course for everybody.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/22/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great little introductory 9-hole course for beginners. It is also good for casual players who view a quick round of disc golf as just one of the many activities to do during a day at the park. The park itself is nice and is located in a good part of town. Though mostly open there are your standard isolated trees to avoid. The holes have varying distances, and get progressively longer from start to finish. Elevation is the biggest challenge here playing both up and down decently steep hills for a small course like this. It does not take very long to play a round here- about an hour as a group or 25 minutes by yourself. Experienced players will have the chance for many ace runs and may consider this a par of 18-20.
Cons: No permanent tees, you just tee off from somewhere around the post marking the hole #. Hole distances were not given. Each post did have the hole # on it, but it was inconsistent as to which way it pointed. The less-than-desired single chain InStep baskets had numbered flags, but they were worn and torn and hard to read from the tee area. So for navigating the first time through you might have to make a short jog to the basket to see if it is the right one. The holes are relatively close together, especially the baskets in relation to the next tee, and are close to the playground and the tennis courts and the road, so all need to be cautious as the majority of people playing here will not have the best disc control.
Other Thoughts: This would definitely be a place where I would want to take somebody to play for the first time. Dublin is not too hard, but not boring, quick to play, no chance to lose discs, and no intimidation factor. Every town needs a course like this to get people introduced to the game and to give casual players and families an option that is more suitable for their needs.

Experienced players will want to skip this course as there are so many other good options for disc golf in Huntsville.

Hole #1 is a little hard to find, but it runs along the road that goes up to the parking area for the giant playground. Basket 9 is the one you will see closest to the corner of the parking lot when you park. Just walk back down the road past the playground and you will see the first white post.

*This review reflects the course conditions as I played it literally just a few days before the historic and devastating tornado outbreak on 4/27/11. I am unaware of any damage that may have occurred as a result since I live out of state. Obviously disc golf ranks way behind the loss of life and personal property, and my thoughts and prayers are with all those affected by this tragedy. Getting in and out of Huntsville may be difficult for a while, and I would suggest researching course playability before planning a trip to Alabama anytime soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Quick Course

1    4/7/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: superchadw
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the perfect course for going out on your lunch break and getting some mid-range work in. the cool thing about this course is that you can make up your own holes by picking a tee and looking around and just pick a hole to throw at. I enjoyed it.
Cons: Only problem i had was there were some kids hanging around one of the holes and i had to skip it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ehhhh

1    1/30/2010   11/9/2010
Review By: CGarcia
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept, pretty park.
Good course for children and people who want to practice putting.
Cons: Kind of obvious that the disc golf course was put in just for the heck of it. Poor baskets, no tee pads, extraordinarily short.
Some of the other reviewers suggested bringing beginners there, but I would rather take them to Brahan Springs in Huntsville.
Other Thoughts: Not a course that I would ever play again, but I appreciate the effort in trying to spread the sport. For what it is (an extremely short course with little technical difficulty), it's passable. There is a lot of room around the park, but they might have concerns with hitting the hordes of pedestrians that are in the park 98% of the time.
Any experienced players in the area should take the 5-10 minute drive over to Indian Creek instead.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Dublin

1    5/5/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: babbakanoush
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Very well kept. Great for a fast game of disc golf. The best place to take someone who has never thrown a disc before.
Cons: The baskets only have an outside chain. The pine trees grab discs out of the air. Sometimes cars park in the fairway of hole #1. There aren't any trashcans on the course. Mostly in the open field so no real obstacles and it gets pretty hot.
Other Thoughts: This course is what you make it out to be. Sure if you play all 9 holes (which you can do in 15 mins) and it will be a short lived and mostly boring experience. But what I usually do is play the 9 holes and then switch it up and play from tee-box 1 to pin 2, or pin 9 to pin 7 etc. It adds a great twist to the little course.


1    10/17/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little beginner course in well kept park. The course is very short, but elevation changes on nearly every hole help keep it interesting.

The course layout is pretty easy to follow. There are two and a half foot tall portable white posts marking the grass tee area. It doesn't look like the course gets a lot of use so the grass around the tee area is in nice shape.

Hole 7 is a short, but fun turnover shot up a big hill. The rest of the holes are straight or hyzer shots.
Cons: This course is what it is, a short easy course designed for new players and families.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice course for beginners and families to get out and play. If you can throw over 200ft, don't expect a challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.