Madison, AL 
Dublin Park Share
Uploaded By: ChrisL430 Hole #7 (Taken 10/2012)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Don't go out of your way for this one

1    8/13/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
Pros: The other reviewers have pretty much summed it up well. This course is a decent place to take someone for a quick introduction to the sport or to practice with your putters and mids.

You won't lose a disc here or wack a lot of trees, but not all the holes are gimmees. There is a bit of challenge, particularly with the last three hilly holes and that factor does keep me playing here on occasion for variety.
Cons: There are no teepads and the baskets are pretty weak.

You really want to play with someone who knows the layout, because it'll be very frustrating trying to navigate the course otherwise.
Other Thoughts: If you happen to be in town and have played all the other courses first, then give me a shout and I'll guide you on the course. Otherwise, you might want to consider something else to do with your time.

 Not bad

1    4/22/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a neat little 9-hole course that is new to the Huntsville scene. It is located in a well-kept park and plays through an open hillside with mature trees. The major pro of the design lies in the use of elevation. While the throws are not difficult for seasoned players at all, beginners will be able to test their game with some uphill holes. Plenty of Ace opportunities and a couple of trick pin placements. (side hills)
Cons: The baskets are single-chained. Since the layout is short and relatively close together, there could be issues if the course is busy. There are no tee pads. This is not a con because they are needed; it would just help to point out the correct target. There are tee posts, but they offer little direction and multiple targets are visible from each tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little cool-down spot. If you've played a grueling layout like UAH or Indian Creek, it never hurts to stop by this park and play a quick 9 to feel better about yourself. The course could be played easily in 20 minutes if you happen to be alone. Just take a neutral mid-range and a putter and enjoy. Breaking 18 is definitely possible at Dublin Park.

The park plays around a nice playground and tennis courts. There are park roads that can be a danger if you happen to shank a shot...but it would have to be a really bad shot.

After playing with my friends, we discussed how every disc golf town needs a course like this. Beginners will not be discouraged with difficult holes and will not get in the way of more seasoned golfers at the better courses in the area. Courses like this also serve as decent mid-range practice for advanced players. This course is a good addition to the Huntsville scene, and it fills a needed niche. If you're a beginner and you live in Huntsville, give this course a shot. If you're an average player and passing through the area, just go play the better courses in the vicinity. Huntsville has a course for everybody.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/22/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great little introductory 9-hole course for beginners. It is also good for casual players who view a quick round of disc golf as just one of the many activities to do during a day at the park. The park itself is nice and is located in a good part of town. Though mostly open there are your standard isolated trees to avoid. The holes have varying distances, and get progressively longer from start to finish. Elevation is the biggest challenge here playing both up and down decently steep hills for a small course like this. It does not take very long to play a round here- about an hour as a group or 25 minutes by yourself. Experienced players will have the chance for many ace runs and may consider this a par of 18-20.
Cons: No permanent tees, you just tee off from somewhere around the post marking the hole #. Hole distances were not given. Each post did have the hole # on it, but it was inconsistent as to which way it pointed. The less-than-desired single chain InStep baskets had numbered flags, but they were worn and torn and hard to read from the tee area. So for navigating the first time through you might have to make a short jog to the basket to see if it is the right one. The holes are relatively close together, especially the baskets in relation to the next tee, and are close to the playground and the tennis courts and the road, so all need to be cautious as the majority of people playing here will not have the best disc control.
Other Thoughts: This would definitely be a place where I would want to take somebody to play for the first time. Dublin is not too hard, but not boring, quick to play, no chance to lose discs, and no intimidation factor. Every town needs a course like this to get people introduced to the game and to give casual players and families an option that is more suitable for their needs.

Experienced players will want to skip this course as there are so many other good options for disc golf in Huntsville.

Hole #1 is a little hard to find, but it runs along the road that goes up to the parking area for the giant playground. Basket 9 is the one you will see closest to the corner of the parking lot when you park. Just walk back down the road past the playground and you will see the first white post.

*This review reflects the course conditions as I played it literally just a few days before the historic and devastating tornado outbreak on 4/27/11. I am unaware of any damage that may have occurred as a result since I live out of state. Obviously disc golf ranks way behind the loss of life and personal property, and my thoughts and prayers are with all those affected by this tragedy. Getting in and out of Huntsville may be difficult for a while, and I would suggest researching course playability before planning a trip to Alabama anytime soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ehhhh

1    1/30/2010   11/9/2010
Review By: CGarcia
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept, pretty park.
Good course for children and people who want to practice putting.
Cons: Kind of obvious that the disc golf course was put in just for the heck of it. Poor baskets, no tee pads, extraordinarily short.
Some of the other reviewers suggested bringing beginners there, but I would rather take them to Brahan Springs in Huntsville.
Other Thoughts: Not a course that I would ever play again, but I appreciate the effort in trying to spread the sport. For what it is (an extremely short course with little technical difficulty), it's passable. There is a lot of room around the park, but they might have concerns with hitting the hordes of pedestrians that are in the park 98% of the time.
Any experienced players in the area should take the 5-10 minute drive over to Indian Creek instead.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Pitch & Putt Course!

1    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, the course is not mostly flat, it's mostly on the side of slightly, sloped hillside. There wasn't one hole that was flat. It's set below a children's play area fort and some tennis courts in a small wooded area. I've never seen these baskets before. They're made by Instep and they are made of the thinnest guage metal (with single chains) that I've ever encountered. Thus far, no goofy teenager has climbed up on one and bent it all to hell. The course is very short but four holes do play uphill adding to the difficulty. It is a perfect place to bring the beginner or for the neighborhood 5th graders to learn to play. There are no teepads, just white posts with a number on them. There are a few trees to throw around.
Cons: I looked long and hard for the # 9 basket but couldn't locate it. I asked a maintenance worker and he looked at me like I was green with an eye in the middle of my forehead! The white tee markers are freestanding. A teen prankster, not really being malicious, could really screw with visiting players like me by moving these around.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent little course for what it is, that is a Pitch & Putt or a beginner course or maybe a total recreational course. I can always see the purpose of these types of courses and appreciate having them around. If I lived in this neighborhood, I'd be over trying to rack up the aces or trying to shoot 9 under.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.