Disc Golf Center
Lexington, KY 
Shillito Park Share
Uploaded By: Atvizory2000 Hole #17 (Taken 2/2014)
4 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Fun course

5+    6/26/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: wildcatfreak21
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its easy enough for everybody to play on yet fun and challenging for the more experienced player. It is well maintained and is very compact. also its right next to a swimming pool so when you are done you can cool off in the pool. It is a pretty fast moving course as you can get in 18 in around an hour to an hour and a half
Cons: Its too close to the roads as I and others have hit many a car. it also can get very packed where you can be backed up all the way around the course.
Other Thoughts: If you plan on playing this course go earlier in the day as the course wont be as full. rush hour on shilito is around 5:00

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Get a quick, fun 18 holes in

1    6/1/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course to play, has some variety of shots, and a couple holes play through and into the trees.

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in good shape. Mach baskets in good condition. Some tee signs are there, but the map on here is more than adequate to navigate the course. Facilities are adequate, and plenty of parking available right at the course.

The grounds appear to be very well taken care of, no trash or any other visual detriments that I could see.

My memorable holes:
7 - Neat shot up over a rise, then into the trees a little to the pin. Blind pin from the tee, might want to walk it the first time to get an accurate drive.
10 - Hyzer out from the trees along the treeline on the left, to the basket on the edge of the treeline. Nice challege to keep it out of the trees but still place it close to the pin for a deuce putt.
11 - My favorite hole on the course. Slight downhill, through the treeline to the basket on the other side.
16 - Through the tree, up a hill, gentle hyzer.
17 - Long flat hole, but semi tight fairway with some nasty stuff left to avoid.
18 - Across the street from the rest of the course, but long hole up over the hill, around a tower, very neat looking, and tough to judge.

If you'll notice, most of my memorable holes are on the back nine, as it seems much more substantial and better laid out, but the front nine are fun nonetheless.
Cons: Very simple course. Most holes are deuce-able by decent throwers. It makes decent use of the available land, but overall is pretty bland.

Signage was not very good. You won't get lost, but the course map on here will save you a lot of time on the course. With it, you can play this course in an hour and a half with light traffic.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 3 is based on the fact that the course is very fun, and makes good use of the available land. It could really benefit from reevaluating the hole layout to see if more of the natural topography could be incorporated into the course. Considering it is only 11 years old I would have thought it would be much tougher, especially designed by David Greenwell.

Still a very fun little course, and great way to get a quick 18 in as long as it's not crowded, as this course gets pretty busy in the summer from what I hear. (see map)

Don't get lost looking for ten, you have to walk around the front of the pool to the other side, 10 is along the long treeline, just right of the pavilion.

If you are in Lexington and pressed for time, you can knock this one out pretty quickly. If that is your situation, I suggest hitting it up.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course!

5+    5/9/2009   5/16/2009
Review By: QbertPrime
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very open with a lot of opportunities for birdies on the front 9 with a good first shot.
Cons: Some of the holes on the back 9 are much longer than the first 9. This may not be a problem for a pro player, but I have difficulty reaching some of the baskets in two shots to set up a par opportunity.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course a lot. It has been great to play here while living in Lexington, I am going to miss it when I move down to Florida.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable when not crowded

5+    4/22/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's not that Shillito is easy exactly; it has some long holes and some tricky shots through and around trees. It's just that if you miss your shot, your disc will probably land in a well-mowed, green field so that you'll have a simple, open recovery shot. Shillito has minimal risk with lots of reward - which can make it really fun.

The course is in a relaxing, well-kept, and well-used park. The tees are good size. The course is reasonably easy to follow; when the new signs are completely installed it will be better. Restrooms are available when the pool is open. Trash cans are easy to find (though not always used). The signs are mostly old an beat up, but are in the process of being updated to reflect the new course layout.
Cons: You'll find the first five a little cramped if you have a big arm. If you are new, you may find some of the newer holes a little challenging. Many of the tee signs are broken or defaced (but are being replaced). The front nine (particularly the 4, 7, and 9) can get sloggy when it rains. And a few holes on the tighter front nine run parallel, which can lead to errant throws crossing into the wrong fairway.

The big negative is that this course stays CROWDED. It's popular; that speaks well of the course. But that popularity has meant - on more than one occasion - that I've been stuck behind 4 or 5 groups of 6 or 8 people. Once I got caught behind a group of 14.
Other Thoughts: I've never seen this course empty, and usually I've seen both serious players and total beginners. That it attracts so many players of such a wide skill level speaks well for the course. If you want a serious challenge, there are a few other courses nearby that'll beat you up and make you better. If you want to enjoy some good disc golf on a lovely day, go visit Shillito.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/30/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shillito is a fun, short course in a nice, well populated park. It is mostly open with a few strategically placed trees and some moderate elevation changes. This is a great course for newer players to learn the game.

The front 9 is short and a decent shot can easily result in a birdie. The back 9 is longer and a bit more challenging.

Some of the holes have two pin placements which seem to really change how some of the holes are played.
Cons: There's a walk between the front and back 9. After hole 9, go to the other side of the pool, past 11's pad to find hole 10.

There isn't a good shot variety here. Most all the holes require a hyzer or straight shot.
Other Thoughts: I believe this was the first course in Lexington and it is what it is; a great beginner course. Veterans Park and Riney B are near by making for a nice variety of courses in the area.

More advanced players will tear this course up. Go to Veterans Park or Riney B if you're looking for a challenge.

***UPDATE 5/5/10***
Some changes have been made to this course since I last played here, so some information in my review could be out of date. I will update it once I play here again.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Easy but enjoyable

5+    7/2/2007   12/8/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shillito is short, but enjoyable. The front 9 starts off with three easy shots, but gets a little trickier with some wooded shots. Hole #7 is my favorite at this course, it is about 320 feet with a well defined fairway. The basket is protected in the edge of the woods making accuracy important, as an errant throw could go into thick schule. The back 9 plays a bit longer and can sometimes be windy - especially the 2 finishing holes which are near the road. The final hole is around 400 feet over a hill. The main obstacle on this hole is an electrical tower, although a busy road comes into play on the left side of the fairway. A shanked drive could go into thick schule on the right, or onto the railroad tracks.

A plus of this course is that it has good basket locations. Many of the baskets are surrounded by several trees - one basket is strategically placed between two large bushes.

Shillito is great for begginers. It is not too challenging and can be played in a little over an hour.
Cons: The course could benefit from being longer, even if it was only a couple longer shots. Unfortunately, the layout doesn't allow for much additional length.

Course is usually busy, and there are 2 or 3 holes where you will be throwing parallel to a busy road.

No par 4's here - you will have to go to Veterans Park for that kind of golf.
Other Thoughts: The location of the course is convenient (easy access, right behind Fayette Mall). There is also a lot of traffic because of this.

Shillito is great place for beginners to learn the game, or for a casual round of golf. I've introduced several people to sport at this course, and they are now regulars.

Veterans Park is within 10 minutes and is a much better option for experienced players.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Tom & Sara Go to Lexington

2-4    10/11/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: kytopbutton
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kudos to the course designer as the first few holes are challenging, but not too intimidating for the novice. The course gets progressively more challenging on the front 9 and is a good warmup for the back nine which are longer with denser trees.
Cons: We had difficulty locating the tee pad for hole number 10 as there were no signs pointing to it.
Other Thoughts: This a fun course to play and as evidenced by the number of people that regularly play it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  My first outing

2-4    10/30/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: Zeppsin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good combo of open fairways with a few percision shots required
Cons: other than the fact people are parking on hole #5 no complaints
Other Thoughts: I can see myself getting hooked on this sport....I am hooked! This is a great activity with little cost.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

5+    10/29/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: tom8658
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly open, not much chance of losing discs, though there are strategic trees on many of the holes. There is some use of elevation on a few holes. Most of the signage is intact, and it is easy to find the tees.
Cons: Holes 10 and 16 are occasionally rendered unplayable by groups of picnickers and peewee football teams, respectively. The rough on 6, 11, and *especially* 18 is nasty. I don't even bother looking for discs I've thrown deep into the brush on 18 anymore, unless i think they're hit the train tracks. The only thing I ever get is cut up by the brambles and rusty metal fencing. Course can be extremely busy, and there are occasionally large groups of players who either do not know to let smaller groups play through, or flat out refuse (or agree when asked and then continue playing....).
Other Thoughts: Beginner friendly, a good place to work on drives. The road running through the park is a through street, and I have seen cars hit by errant discs on holes 3 and 18.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Shillito park DGC

5+    12/26/2008   9/12/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent beginner friendly Course that is well maintained by Parks Dept, Course layout allows for a variety of shots. Most holes are short/average length and doesn't present a lot of areas where players have to be concerned with disc loss. About 4 holes present some serious rough. Nice course to learn the game or work on certain skills. Have played it well over 100 times.
Cons: Not extremely challenging for Pro & Advance players so the attraction of this course is dependent on the player level and the type of round you want to play.

VERY heavily played course in a busy Park and the Spring/Summer months can cause backups when you can run into groups of 6+ players on multiple holes. People picnicking at the shelters sometimes have a tendency to park in the grass blocking fairways or setup picnic areas near (talking a couple feet) the baskets.

More signage needed alerting other park users of the DG course and the potential danger.

New tee signs needed on many holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice course, A few holes I really like. Is a great beginner friendly course which every area needs.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.