Lexington, KY 
Shillito Park Share
Uploaded By: dobbins66 Hole #1
3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 My First Time

6/21/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: dvice33
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I enjoyed some of the holes along the tree line, definitely created a bit more of a challenge. Wasn't crowded at all on a Saturday afternoon. Great upkeep and a nice park. Easy to find the next hole location.
Cons: Not very challenging. It was my first full course and I shot 7 under par. Some of the posts are missing the hole lay outs and pars. Too open of a course, I like to go in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice warm up course before heading over to Veteran's. I don't know if it'd be my only stop though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Average...

1    7/17/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/10/2008
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Concrete tees. Decent mix of shots required and good use of available land and a decent mix of elevation. Plenty of ace runs. the possibility of shooting an exceptional round is very good at this course...even if you are from out-of-town.
Cons: Some of the baskets were in rough shape. A few throws were dangerously close to roads. Very short until the last 2 holes and those were still not very long. There is a pool in the same park and at times some of the kids might yell at you for a laugh. If you are easily distracted, even in your throwing motion, this can be a con.
Other Thoughts: Since we were canvassing central Kentucky this was not a bad stop. I wouldn't go out of my way to ever play it again but I might stop by if I am ever in Lexington and want to have a quick round. This course lacked any semblance of memorability. It was well kept and the fairways were well defined. The overall design was basic, but since it is in a public park with a nice pool, it is probably a great way to get youngsters integrated into the sport. When we played this course there was one hole that was playing to a basket different than normal due to some trees being cut down or removed by the parks department. This made things a little confusing.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Easy as can be

3/13/2008   3/14/2008
Review By: broken_star
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great place to practice you "mid" game, well maintained, multiple shot choices on almost every hole
Cons: Heavily played during the summer months, front nine has a tndance to flood and have deep standing water for days after rain (1-2 feet deep in several places), located on a heavily traveled road with possibility of hitting cars on 3 holes, run and gun course with very little risk

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

3/7/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open course with a lot of options for shots. Not limited to one certain type of shot on most holes. Well maintained and groomed.
Cons: Built around public pool, if you go errant on any shot around the pool you could loose your disc.
Other Thoughts: Easy on the legs. Not a lot of hills.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good introductory course

2/23/2008   3/1/2008
Review By: dwain
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great place for a beginner to work on distance and trying out different drives. The holes are very open, and the placement of the trees makes it more about getting around them than through them (unlike nearby Veterans Park). The front 9 are especially friendly to beginners: short, very open, few obstacles. The back 9 are longer and require greater accuracy but still aren't all that difficult.
Cons: The place is usually packed with people. During the summer, children are an added hazard. It's also not a course that's going to refine your game all that much. You can play the course with 3 discs.
Other Thoughts: Fun to play if you have an hour or so to burn, but not a course to play over and over and expect your game to improve.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2/21/2008   2/21/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Open course that I thought may have been a bit boring, however it was packed with players when I visited so it must be very popular. (Unlike the other course in Lexington which I enjoyed much more which had no one playing it) All holes except for the last one were pretty straight forward and on the shorter side as far as most courses go.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

2/16/2008   2/16/2008
Review By: Grzywacz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee areas, clean park. Easy to figure out where next hole is located. Not many trees if you like that. Interesting holes.
Cons: Not many trees leads to less skill needed on several holes. One hole often as cars parked near fairway and become "hazards."
Other Thoughts: Players tend to be very friendly. First 9 are all par 3. Back nine have more variety. Play almost every weekend, this course never gets boring.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.