Chapel Hill, NC 
Southern Community Park Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #7 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Dodge the tree

5+    11/24/2014   11/24/2014
Review By: Seahawk
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 12/20/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The location/parking is very nice, big field to warm up in, basket locations are mixed up/changed to spice up the course, benches, concrete tee pads (small), signs on every hole.
Cons: The biggest problem for me is that this course is less about if you can make interesting shots vs whether you can dodge trees in a straight line. There are only one or maybe two holes that actually have significant curves besides just having the basket tucked into the trees to one side or the other. The game quickly becomes whether I can throw my disc in a straight line between trees rather than if I really know how to approach complex holes/shots. On some holes there isn't even a proper way to play it..meaning there is no fairway and not even the best of pros could get through without luck. The other main problem with this course is that is full of foliage. Play it during the winter. One of the local DG club leaders told me that this was the course that was meant to not need too much work to keep up... whereas UNC is the course that is more manicured.

Other cons: confusing to navigate at times, nothing besides par 3s.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent, but definitely not the UNC course!

1    1/26/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: Jonathan K.
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice open hole on 1 so you can loosen up the arm a little bit!

Nice elevation changes. I am used to playing courses east of Raleigh where everything in pretty much flat. Throwing up/down hill makes things interesting.

Signs for next tee helped out, even though most pads are pretty close to the previous basket.
Cons: Fairways are tight which is fine, but when they are only 8 feet wide and you still leave random trees in the middle it almost comes down to luck as to whether or not you get through or not. There are also some really nasty turns on some of them with absolutely no way to get within 75 feet of the basket on the tee shot, even if the hole is only 300 feet or so.

The tee pads should be a little longer. They are a little bit short for those of us with longer legs. I stumbled off the end several times and I only do the typical 3 step drive.
Other Thoughts: My brother and I (who have both been playing for a while and played many courses) both thought that the course is laid out very well, but that a few of the "random" trees need to be taken out on the tightest fairways so it doesn't come down to luck. It is definitely a challenging course, which is fine, but they could to a few things to make it more playable.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent, but tight

1    11/20/2013   11/22/2013
Review By: pfpro
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice use of elevation.
- Great "next tee" signs that were always within view of the basket.
- For the most part, this is a challenging course. There are a lot of short holes, but typically the line is tight. I guess you could argue that length on an open course or a tight course is the same for an ace run - since most shots are not aces, I'm thinking there is a mental aspect to all the trees.
- The alternate pin locations add nice variation. I only played in one layout, but you could see where most of the sleeves were. The long pins definitely added difficulty. They layout I played (I think) alternated long-short. I didn't see anything explaining ahead of time. You could see the basket from the pad. Don't know if this is an issue in the summer when the underbrush isn't dormant.
- Two nine-hole loops, so you could play a quick nine.
- Nice park, soccer fields for field work.
Cons: - Fairways (in general) are tight, tight, tight. I'm sure they have loosened up a little as the course has worn in, but they are still really tight. You have to hit your line, or you will have a difficult next shot.
- Teepads were really small. I don't have a large run-up, and it was bothersome to me.
- It would have been nice to have some signage somewhere on the course with a map. The scorecard on this site is nice, but I didn't have a copy of it. Also, a picture of the hole on the hole sign would have been nice.
- This course isn't super accessible. If you were local, it would be OK. If you're coming off the interstate - Leigh Farm (if open) and UNC are superior courses that are more accessible.
- Potential interaction with hikers on the walking path - could be dangerous for them.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. It is a typical NC wooded course. Since is it new, the fairways are really tight. I played when the leaves were down, so the underbrush was mostly dead. That could be a concern in the growing months. Looks like it could be a little swampy. If you like the challenge of short technical courses, you will probably like this course. If you like to bomb, you will probably not like this course. My favorite hole was 9 - really tight that opens up to a field (it probably helped that I didn't know about the water hazard, so wasn't trying to "not" throw it in there). A few of the holes had large trees that had fallen, but were caught, so you have an obstacle at 45 degrees across the fairway - makes those fairways a little more challenging.
I had a little extra time, so I played this course. It was OK - but I will probably stick to UNC or Leigh since I'm usually trying to squeeze a round in.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Typical Triangle Course

2-4    5/30/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2013
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice, short course through the woods, very typical of the area. It will definitely make you work for birdies down narrow fairways and through tight gaps.

It does one of my favorite things: it opens with one wide open hole to a basket perched at the entrance to the woods. I love loosening up the arm with at least one rip. From there, its essentially all woods.

There's a fair amount of elevation changes and multitude of lines on the majority of holes but two holes standout. 13 is the highlight. (and the only hole currently pictured on DGCR) It's a long straight line over a gully with a smallish gap about midway. The other (11?) features two parallel lines, with the left a little narrower but a slightly better approach angle. Good stuff.

Southern also flows well, with a large break only between the front and back nines. There are many possible wrong paths to take but the green signs almost always point out the right one. (The two exception are after 5 and 6. These need next tee signs badly,)

It's a fun but technical course that if anything should give you the chance to see approach shots from different angles.
Cons: It's similar to Valley Springs, but not as good in a few ways. For starters, it's a lot less clean. The brush creeps onto the fairways and the boundary between fairway and rough is not always clear. Sometimes the undergrowth even surrounds the basket.

Additionally, there isn't much distance. Most of the holes are fairly short and are a little too similar. Not bad holes in themselves. But it's a lot of the same here. The one hole that could have been very different, 9, is ruined by a thick tree just in front of the tee. The way that hole goes down and up into the field, with the sludge lake on the left, could have been a nice risk/reward shot with different lines possible. But with the trees right there, the options are too limited.

Really though, too many of the holes are the type of hole that is a tough birdie for an intermediate player, but an automatic birdie. There are enough trees to make it hard to park holes, but not enough distance to keep you from getting up and down from a bad drive. It's just par, regardless of how well you drive. At the same time beginners will likely be frustrated with all of the brush and lines that will be too difficult for them. So I'm not sure if there is a target player that will love this course.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course, Angry Yellowjackets

2-4    6/13/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: cyclone251
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A beautifully wooded course with generally short, narrow fairways typical of the triangle area. More open than Carrboro's Anderson Park, this course doesn't just rely on the trees to create challenges, as holes make clever use of the elevation changes in the park. Doglegs bend both right and left, with plenty of straight fairways as well, something I appreciated as I throw LHBH without a great forehand.
Cons: Yellowjackets. The nest--or at least one of them--is on the fourth hole or so with a sign at the tee pad warning about its location, but they seem to be prevalent throughout the course. The last time I played, my group stumbled across a few around the 8th or 9th hole, and most of us were stung a handful of times.

I have few complaints otherwise. The tee pads are a little small, and awkwardly high.
Other Thoughts: Would play this course regularly if not for the stings.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Typical Chapel Hill Area Course, Bring Backup Discs

5+    4/7/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: ExhaustedDog
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the newer courses in the area and certainly a tribute to the tight wooded courses that dot Chapel Hill. I've been playing ever since the course was under development and it is finally what qualifies for done. The signs are extremely informative and there are now path signs to help you navigate the course (there is a nature trail that also criss-crosses the disc trail a couple of times).

The front 9 are nicely set. Tight, wooded, and technical shots. There are some particularly brutal upslope key hole drives (Hole 4). Hole 1 and 9 being the only open field shots on the entire course are a nice break from being in he woods. Hole 13 is nice long 380 ft. shot across a ravine in the middle of the woods with a moderately forgiving fairway on both sides.

All in all it's your typical area course: Tight wooded shots with a couple of memorable ones. Hole 9 is by far the most interesting, being a keyhole drive out of the woods, with a steep hill on the right and a water trap on the left. Throw a forehand if you are a RHBH player and sit your disc right on top of that hill.
Cons: Beyond hole 9 and 13 most of this course is forgettable. It doesn't set itself apart from other area courses. Hole 18 needs an absurd amount of work; it's way too tight and there's no way to Hyzer around all of those tress.

Discs get eaten up like nothing else. I would love to see CH Parks and Rec go in with some leaf blowers and fill out the boundaries. I've lost a few discs on this course, even though I saw where they dropped. Lots of underbrush and pockets of leaves for your worm burners to get lost in.
Other Thoughts: If I had a choice, I'd make the trip to UNC or Leigh Farm, as they tend to inspire improving your game on a challenging course. This course can be frustrating on an off day, since the fairways mostly don't exist save for a 6 ft span to drive down.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.