Chapel Hill, NC 
Southern Community Park Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #15 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better than a 2.9, but not 3.5

5+    1/25/2015   1/26/2015
Review By: adambenson87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation and route variety

Challenging - difficult to get a birdie on any hole. No doubt that this is what course designers intended. On this course, a birdie means "superb job" and not "I should easily birdie every other hole."

Creative shot making off the tee and if you get into trouble. Trouble here is worse than most courses.

Good signage
Cons: You don't always get rewarded for good shots but rather shots that are both good and lucky. A little luck is always needed in disc golf, but on these holes you sometimes need more than a little luck to do well. On some holes, there are so many trees surrounding the basket that the end of your shot needs a good bit of luck to be close to the basket. On these holes, the first half to 2/3 of the distance of the hole requires skill and focus to make a good shot, but the last 1/2 or 1/3 of the shot (when your disc starts to fade) you need a frustrating amount of luck to dodge the trees.
Other Thoughts: Consequently, because we often don't get the luck we need at the tail end of a shot, this course constantly forces you to putt well, which isn't a bad thing. Birdies occasionally come by parking a disc, but more often you will have to be able to make 20, 30 and 40 footers to shoot under par.

I gave this course a 3.5 because I believe it deserves a better rating than a 2.9 (but I wouldn't give it more than a 3.5). It's a challenging course with some variety, a nice course to hike through, but it's easy for this course to frustrate you, especially if you get in trouble off the tee. The course has a few routes and secrets that only the locals would know, which would give them an advantage if a tournament was held here.

Also, please update the hole lengths on dgcoursereview to reflect the long pin placements.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Smiley Face

5+    4/20/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: mooretull
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some courses that are just fun to play and for me this is one of them. I really enjoy the variety of shots required to take on the holes. Course has seen drastic improvements inlcuding 18 new concrete tpads and after playing yesterday there is also alternate pin placements which is really exciting! A lot of work has been done on this course and it really shows. Fairways are really coming together and a lot of growth has been cleared away. I live in the area and right now this is my favorite course to play even if I have to drive further and pass by unc dgc to get there. If you have not played this course in a while, you will be pleasantly surprised when you play it now!
My favorite holes are the uphill #4 . #7 which is really one of the sweetest holes on the course and a real challenge to get up and down. #13 and #14 on the back are also great holes.
Cons: No major cons
Other Thoughts: I really like how the front 9 and back 9 start near the parking lot. If #1 is crowded just start on #10.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 ANOTHER WOODS COURSE IN CHAPEL HILL yea

5+    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.6 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: nice short woods. not as chalenging as carboro, or as fun as chapel hill.its another piece they need for the chapel hill tourney. no hole stand out, favors side arms in tight places. try it once but more than that not necessary
Cons: short but fun with friends
Other Thoughts: great park with trails baseball fields and soccer fields

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Another Nice DGC

1    5/30/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: The Fleez
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DISCatcher baskets, Great elevation differentials on holes, many going straight up hill or down and back up, No concrete tee boxes as stated before but the tee boxes are very solid, compacted dirt. Course also varies in length on holes, seemed the front nine consisted of a lot of holes in the 250 ft range, as the back nine holes got progressively longer and more challenging.
Cons: Lots of paths back in the woods that lead to nothing. Also plenty of fresh green ivy and small weeds all along tree lines of the fairways. These tall grasses made it difficult to find discs on the back nine especially.
Other Thoughts: Other than the multiple paths and heavy weeds, it was a very pleasant DGC. Also as stated before I would definitely not suggest for beginners, for the reason most fairways are very tight and could be discouraging.

The front nine seemed to play much easier than the back nine. I would say the back nine was a lot tighter of fairways, and adding around 100 ft compared to some front nine holes.

Also they have added in a few signs that are made out of white pvc piping with arrows drawn on them to attempt to help navigate.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Southern Hospitality

2-4    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 105  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2012
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good length. Nice park. Well defined fairways. Mostly wooded but a couple were open, play out of the woods type holes, hole 9 is a good example. Be wary of the little pond ~200 ft down and to the left of the tee on hole 9. Very natural course. This is the quintessential course where you feel like you are walking through the woods except there's baskets along the way. Very verdant, very pleasing on the eyes. Although it's very woodsy, there is very little underbrush here so losing a disc takes dedication. Hole one is cool if you throw on the big mulch pile . I doubt that is permanent though. Good variety to the holes, balanced between straight, straight and just left, and straight and just right. A few mild dog leg rights but nothing you couldn't reach the basket off the tee. Holes run from just under 200' to over with a few in the 300'+ range, typical NC wooded course distances. Good flow now that there are tee signs and next tee signs. Good amenities, dog park, etc.
Cons: Fairways are quite tight but very fair and manageable as long as you can throw straight. Some of the holes could of presented multiple lines from the tee as there is plenty of land for it but I'm nitpicking here. Good moderate to advanced course, could be brutal to beginners. No benches but there are a few fallen trees and cut stumps to sit on here and there.

*Update* The tee signs are nice but they lack a general picture of the fairway and the distances seem way off, either that or the public school system failed me in a big way.

**Update** The back 9 needs some clearing of fallen trees and branches and undergrowth (including poison ivy) in a big way. It's perfectly playable, it's just starting to get a little jungle-ish out there.
Other Thoughts: This course is slowly cementing itself in the top 3 of the Chapel Hill area, just behind UNC's and I'd rather play multiple rounds here than anywhere else in the area. As far as a destination course, I would have liked to see some more extreme dog legs to the extent of having some par 4s or 5s b/c I think there's land for it. This course reminds me of Valley Springs except it's prettier and just as fun if not more so despite only having one set of tees.

**update** This is becoming my favorite course in the area. It's easily the prettiest round of disc golf of the 3 (UNC, Anderson) and although UNC is obviously a better course, SoCo's combination of tight lines and wonderful woods make this a fun challenge.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center