Chapel Hill, NC 
Southern Community Park Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #8 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 236ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3

1    11/22/2015   11/22/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dogwood is a decent, wooded course located a few miles south of Chapel Hill. This course has good bones, but short of taking out some more trees, widening some fairways, or maybe relocating a few baskets, this is an average course, not a great one.


1. There was a lot more elevation than I was expecting. There are some fun downhills and uphill fairways.

2. This is a very challenging course with tight fairways and lines to hit (too tight, in my opinion, but still, it's a challenge worth taking on). Despite being a technical, wooded course, it's also pretty long (especially when the baskets are in the seasonal long position in the winter).

3. The tee pads were in good shape, but I thought they were just a hair too short.

4. Nice, clean, well maintained course in a scenic nature park. Also, easy to get to off of 15-501.
Cons: 1. The major con for me on this course is the "fairness" of it -- or lack thereof. The fairways are simply too narrow for the lengths of the holes. Also, there are several holes where the basket is behind guardian trees, so even with a perfect drive up the fairway, you may have little to no shot at a birdie because of guardian trees right in front of the basket. There's just too much of a luck factor for me on this course. It's pinball/plinko golf.

2. I mentioned the tee pads above as a pro. I'd say they're slightly more of a pro than a con, but I wish they were just a couple feet longer to allow for a longer run-up and x-step.

3. Drainage was horrible on the day I played, and it had been at least three days since the last rain. The open field areas on hole 1 and 9 were pure mud.

4. Navigation was just ok, probably nit-picky to count it as a con. But I must have missed a next tee sign after hole 5 and wandered around looking for #6. Also, there wasn't a next tee sign after the front 9. You need to pull up a course map to know where to go.
Other Thoughts: On the first few holes, I thought I might be playing a nice 3.5-level course. But the further I got, the more I saw the fairness/luck issue coming in to play on multiple holes. I feel like this could be a 3.5 course with some work, but it's more than just cosmetic: it would take a good amount of tree removal. I probably won't go out of my way to play Dogwood again, but it's good enough to play it again if I'm in the area or passing by on 15-501.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/30/2015   4/30/2015
Review By: DrFurious
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 5/20/2015
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Awesome forest, with three different course settings: short pin placements (in the summer),
middle pin placements (in the spring/fall),
long pin placements (in the winter).

16 tight, technical holes in the woods; two open (hole 1; hole 9)
Balance between right/left fairways.
Balanced use of elevation (down and up)

Pin placements: All holes have a spring/fall; summer; and winter pin-placement

o Shorts in the Summer: when trees' leaves are out, herbaceous layer full, and the bugs are out, this placement allows for easier play and less time spent finding discs.
This set up generally plays under 50 strokes

o Middles in the Spring and Fall: This placement is the "normal" dogwood set up, where the course is most of the year; Most holes are relatively difficult but fair. In the beginning of the spring and end of the fall, most of the holes are relatively free of leaves, etc.; Par 54

o Longs in the Winter: pins are all hard to reach, requiring good outs and good putting; Longs: Course plays par 58
Holes 2; 9; 13 and 18 are par 4's.

o Holes have left and right pin-placements (RHBH and RHFH) depending on season.
o Almost every hole has a tree islands or double fairway. Different fairways are used depending on the season (course pin-placements)
o You can see every basket from the t-pad;

Course has virtually no trash issues; Minor cig-butts, dog-park bombs, and stormwater runoff that carries trash from 15-501. But we get lots of help from volunteers keeping it clean

Short (Summer)
Hole 1 In meadow. 219
Hole 2 Straight, basket on right (RHFH). 231
Hole 3 Downhill, double fairway, basket on left (RHBH). 180
Hole 4 Uphill, on right, fast green (RHFH). 198
Hole 5 Straight, basket on right (RHFH). 204
Hole 6 Straight. 207
Hole 7 Downhill, double fairway, basket on left. 258
Hole 8 Straight, double fairway, basket on left (RHBH). 231
Hole 9 Straight, basket on right, fast green, pond on left (RHFH). 231
Hole 10 Straight, double fairway, basket on left (RHBH). 204
Hole 11 Straight, double fairway, basket on left (RHBH). 198
Hole 12 Dogleg right, double fairway, fast green (RHFH). 201
Hole 13 Straight, over valley. 330
Hole 14 Straight, double fairway, basket on left (RHBH). 231
Hole 15 Dogleg left, double fairway (RHBH). 183
Hole 16 Dogleg left, double fairway (RHBH). 213
Hole 17 Straight, double fairway, basket uphill on left (RHBH). 213
Hole 18 Straight, basket downhill on left (RHBH). 237

Middle (Spring & Fall)
Hole 1 Downhill, basket on meadow's edge (RHBH). 300
Hole 2 Straight, basket slightly uphill on left. 279
Hole 3 Downhill, double fairway, fast green, (RHBH). 228
Hole 4 Uphill, on left, fast green (RHBH). 264
Hole 5 Straight, then dogleg right (RHFH). 246
Hole 6 Straight, then slight dogleg right and slightly uphill (RHFH). 267
Hole 7 Downhill, double fairway. 324
Hole 8 Dogleg right, double fairway (RHFH). 264
Hole 9 Straight, over pond, island green, basket on left (RHBH). 351
Hole 10 Straight, double fairway (RHBH). 252
Hole 11 Dogleg right, double fairway (RHFH). 243
Hole 12 Straight, double fairway, basket on left (RHBH). 228
Hole 13 Straight, over valley, uphill, basket on right (RHFH). 369
Hole 14 Straight, double fairway, then dogleg left and uphill (RHBH). 266
Hole 15 Straight, downhill. 243
Hole 16 Straight, double fairway (RHBH). 216
Hole 17 Straight, basket uphill on right (RHFH). 246
Hole 18 Straight, basket uphill on right (RHFH). 249

Long (Winter)
Hole 1 Downhill, over meadow, past tree-line to green. 345
Hole 2 Straight, then dogleg left and uphill toward dog-park (RHBH). 318
Hole 3 Downhill, double fairway, tucked in trees. 252
Hole 4 Uphill, on right, fast green (RHFH). 300
Hole 5 Straight, then slight dogleg right (RHFH). 276
Hole 6 Straight, then slight dogleg left and slightly uphill (RHBH). 300
Hole 7 Downhill, double-fairway, basket on left (RHBH). 348
Hole 8 Straight, double fairway, basket on left (RHBH). 279
Hole 9 Straight, over pond, opposite side of meadow. 600
Hole 10 Straight, double fairway, basket on left (RHBH). 306
Hole 11 Straight, double fairway, basket slightly downhill. 324
Hole 12 Dogleg right, double fairway, basket downhill (RHFH). 240
Hole 13 Straight, over valley, uphill, through tree-tunnel to basket. 420
Hole 14 Straight, double fairway. 300
Hole 15 Dogleg left, double fairway, slightly downhill (RHBH). 249
Hole 16 Straight, double fairway, basket on left (RHBH). 249
Hole 17 Straight, basket uphill on left (RHBH). 270
Hole 18 Straight, basket uphill on left (RHBH). 324
Cons: It's getting broken in, but if you aren't comfortable in the outdoors, this course can be hard...It's a mature forest in the Piedmont. You will have some minor bushwacking if your disc flies too far from the fairway.

The Town takes FOREVER to respond to requests, mostly for chainsaw work.

Hole 1 has some drainage issues, since they dumped a huge sponge-like mound of dirt in the fairway AFTER the hole was built... But, they're going to build a little bike park there and hopefully address that.

There is poison ivy-- not too much, but in several holes more PI is coming out.
Other Thoughts: Coming up:
Kiosk and Big map at hole 1
Individual signs on each hole's t-pad
12 More benches
More boardwalks
Trees: May still take out some trees.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Better than a 2.9, but not 3.5

5+    1/25/2015   1/26/2015
Review By: adambenson87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation and route variety

Challenging - difficult to get a birdie on any hole. No doubt that this is what course designers intended. On this course, a birdie means "superb job" and not "I should easily birdie every other hole."

Creative shot making off the tee and if you get into trouble. Trouble here is worse than most courses.

Good signage
Cons: You don't always get rewarded for good shots but rather shots that are both good and lucky. A little luck is always needed in disc golf, but on these holes you sometimes need more than a little luck to do well. On some holes, there are so many trees surrounding the basket that the end of your shot needs a good bit of luck to be close to the basket. On these holes, the first half to 2/3 of the distance of the hole requires skill and focus to make a good shot, but the last 1/2 or 1/3 of the shot (when your disc starts to fade) you need a frustrating amount of luck to dodge the trees.
Other Thoughts: Consequently, because we often don't get the luck we need at the tail end of a shot, this course constantly forces you to putt well, which isn't a bad thing. Birdies occasionally come by parking a disc, but more often you will have to be able to make 20, 30 and 40 footers to shoot under par.

I gave this course a 3.5 because I believe it deserves a better rating than a 2.9 (but I wouldn't give it more than a 3.5). It's a challenging course with some variety, a nice course to hike through, but it's easy for this course to frustrate you, especially if you get in trouble off the tee. The course has a few routes and secrets that only the locals would know, which would give them an advantage if a tournament was held here.

Also, please update the hole lengths on dgcoursereview to reflect the long pin placements.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Dodge the tree

5+    11/24/2014   11/24/2014
Review By: Seahawk
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 12/20/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The location/parking is very nice, big field to warm up in, basket locations are mixed up/changed to spice up the course, benches, concrete tee pads (small), signs on every hole.
Cons: The biggest problem for me is that this course is less about if you can make interesting shots vs whether you can dodge trees in a straight line. There are only one or maybe two holes that actually have significant curves besides just having the basket tucked into the trees to one side or the other. The game quickly becomes whether I can throw my disc in a straight line between trees rather than if I really know how to approach complex holes/shots. On some holes there isn't even a proper way to play it..meaning there is no fairway and not even the best of pros could get through without luck. The other main problem with this course is that is full of foliage. Play it during the winter. One of the local DG club leaders told me that this was the course that was meant to not need too much work to keep up... whereas UNC is the course that is more manicured.

Other cons: confusing to navigate at times, nothing besides par 3s.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 No Longer Fun

5+    3/23/2014   3/24/2014
Review By: hurryjet
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Cons: Someone decided to move the baskets to spots behind dense screens of trees turning the course from a fun, though tight, course into a mean spirited, discouraging, no win downer. I've played with others who feel the same way. To my mind, you don't make a course challenging simply by putting the baskets in impossible to reach locations. You just make the course irritating. Interestingly, I've seen few other players on the course on the last two Sundays I've played--days with great weather when one would expect the course to be teaming with players. I wonder if other people have gotten fed up with it, as I and the people I play with have, and decided to play on the other decent courses in this area.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Decent but not unique

1    3/9/2014   3/19/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great pads and baskets. Fairways are mostly fair. Nothing too long or short.
Cons: A bit repetitive. Not a ton of elevation or features to the course, so you're basically just throwing through the woods for 18 holes. Not bad, not great.
Other Thoughts: Apparently they've made some improvements to the course over the last year or two so that it's a playable course now. Just don't expect anything too unique.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    1/29/2014   1/29/2014
Review By: millsbury
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 2/2/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has come a long way, with three varying pin placements on nearly all holes thanks to hardworking volunteers. Some holes are hard to get in three! As of 1/28/14 pins are mostly in long positions, but there are birdie holes and it is possible to shoot under par.
Any easy course to play just nine holes since the parking lot is between the front nine and back nine.
Cons: Teepads are a bit short for a big runup. Some holes are tight but that is not a con!
Other Thoughts: A beautiful piece of land that is well used by the course. Much drier than the UNC course, which is a drainage nightmare if it gets wet.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Decent, but definitely not the UNC course!

1    1/26/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: Jonathan K.
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice open hole on 1 so you can loosen up the arm a little bit!

Nice elevation changes. I am used to playing courses east of Raleigh where everything in pretty much flat. Throwing up/down hill makes things interesting.

Signs for next tee helped out, even though most pads are pretty close to the previous basket.
Cons: Fairways are tight which is fine, but when they are only 8 feet wide and you still leave random trees in the middle it almost comes down to luck as to whether or not you get through or not. There are also some really nasty turns on some of them with absolutely no way to get within 75 feet of the basket on the tee shot, even if the hole is only 300 feet or so.

The tee pads should be a little longer. They are a little bit short for those of us with longer legs. I stumbled off the end several times and I only do the typical 3 step drive.
Other Thoughts: My brother and I (who have both been playing for a while and played many courses) both thought that the course is laid out very well, but that a few of the "random" trees need to be taken out on the tightest fairways so it doesn't come down to luck. It is definitely a challenging course, which is fine, but they could to a few things to make it more playable.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent, but tight

1    11/20/2013   11/22/2013
Review By: pfpro
Played: 51  Reviewed: 39
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice use of elevation.
- Great "next tee" signs that were always within view of the basket.
- For the most part, this is a challenging course. There are a lot of short holes, but typically the line is tight. I guess you could argue that length on an open course or a tight course is the same for an ace run - since most shots are not aces, I'm thinking there is a mental aspect to all the trees.
- The alternate pin locations add nice variation. I only played in one layout, but you could see where most of the sleeves were. The long pins definitely added difficulty. They layout I played (I think) alternated long-short. I didn't see anything explaining ahead of time. You could see the basket from the pad. Don't know if this is an issue in the summer when the underbrush isn't dormant.
- Two nine-hole loops, so you could play a quick nine.
- Nice park, soccer fields for field work.
Cons: - Fairways (in general) are tight, tight, tight. I'm sure they have loosened up a little as the course has worn in, but they are still really tight. You have to hit your line, or you will have a difficult next shot.
- Teepads were really small. I don't have a large run-up, and it was bothersome to me.
- It would have been nice to have some signage somewhere on the course with a map. The scorecard on this site is nice, but I didn't have a copy of it. Also, a picture of the hole on the hole sign would have been nice.
- This course isn't super accessible. If you were local, it would be OK. If you're coming off the interstate - Leigh Farm (if open) and UNC are superior courses that are more accessible.
- Potential interaction with hikers on the walking path - could be dangerous for them.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. It is a typical NC wooded course. Since is it new, the fairways are really tight. I played when the leaves were down, so the underbrush was mostly dead. That could be a concern in the growing months. Looks like it could be a little swampy. If you like the challenge of short technical courses, you will probably like this course. If you like to bomb, you will probably not like this course. My favorite hole was 9 - really tight that opens up to a field (it probably helped that I didn't know about the water hazard, so wasn't trying to "not" throw it in there). A few of the holes had large trees that had fallen, but were caught, so you have an obstacle at 45 degrees across the fairway - makes those fairways a little more challenging.
I had a little extra time, so I played this course. It was OK - but I will probably stick to UNC or Leigh since I'm usually trying to squeeze a round in.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Typical Triangle Course

2-4    5/30/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 268  Reviewed: 266  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2013
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice, short course through the woods, very typical of the area. It will definitely make you work for birdies down narrow fairways and through tight gaps.

It does one of my favorite things: it opens with one wide open hole to a basket perched at the entrance to the woods. I love loosening up the arm with at least one rip. From there, its essentially all woods.

There's a fair amount of elevation changes and multitude of lines on the majority of holes but two holes standout. 13 is the highlight. (and the only hole currently pictured on DGCR) It's a long straight line over a gully with a smallish gap about midway. The other (11?) features two parallel lines, with the left a little narrower but a slightly better approach angle. Good stuff.

Southern also flows well, with a large break only between the front and back nines. There are many possible wrong paths to take but the green signs almost always point out the right one. (The two exception are after 5 and 6. These need next tee signs badly,)

It's a fun but technical course that if anything should give you the chance to see approach shots from different angles.
Cons: It's similar to Valley Springs, but not as good in a few ways. For starters, it's a lot less clean. The brush creeps onto the fairways and the boundary between fairway and rough is not always clear. Sometimes the undergrowth even surrounds the basket.

Additionally, there isn't much distance. Most of the holes are fairly short and are a little too similar. Not bad holes in themselves. But it's a lot of the same here. The one hole that could have been very different, 9, is ruined by a thick tree just in front of the tee. The way that hole goes down and up into the field, with the sludge lake on the left, could have been a nice risk/reward shot with different lines possible. But with the trees right there, the options are too limited.

Really though, too many of the holes are the type of hole that is a tough birdie for an intermediate player, but an automatic birdie. There are enough trees to make it hard to park holes, but not enough distance to keep you from getting up and down from a bad drive. It's just par, regardless of how well you drive. At the same time beginners will likely be frustrated with all of the brush and lines that will be too difficult for them. So I'm not sure if there is a target player that will love this course.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.