Disc Golf Store
Chapel Hill, NC
Southern Community Park Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #15 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
No Longer Fun

5+    3/23/2014   3/24/2014
Review By: hurryjet
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Cons: Someone decided to move the baskets to spots behind dense screens of trees turning the course from a fun, though tight, course into a mean spirited, discouraging, no win downer. I've played with others who feel the same way. To my mind, you don't make a course challenging simply by putting the baskets in impossible to reach locations. You just make the course irritating. Interestingly, I've seen few other players on the course on the last two Sundays I've played--days with great weather when one would expect the course to be teaming with players. I wonder if other people have gotten fed up with it, as I and the people I play with have, and decided to play on the other decent courses in this area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Decent but not unique

1    3/9/2014   3/19/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 28  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great pads and baskets. Fairways are mostly fair. Nothing too long or short.
Cons: A bit repetitive. Not a ton of elevation or features to the course, so you're basically just throwing through the woods for 18 holes. Not bad, not great.
Other Thoughts: Apparently they've made some improvements to the course over the last year or two so that it's a playable course now. Just don't expect anything too unique.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/29/2014   1/29/2014
Review By: millsbury
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 2/2/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has come a long way, with three varying pin placements on nearly all holes thanks to hardworking volunteers. Some holes are hard to get in three! As of 1/28/14 pins are mostly in long positions, but there are birdie holes and it is possible to shoot under par.
Any easy course to play just nine holes since the parking lot is between the front nine and back nine.
Cons: Teepads are a bit short for a big runup. Some holes are tight but that is not a con!
Other Thoughts: A beautiful piece of land that is well used by the course. Much drier than the UNC course, which is a drainage nightmare if it gets wet.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent, but definitely not the UNC course!

1    1/26/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: Jonathan K.
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice open hole on 1 so you can loosen up the arm a little bit!

Nice elevation changes. I am used to playing courses east of Raleigh where everything in pretty much flat. Throwing up/down hill makes things interesting.

Signs for next tee helped out, even though most pads are pretty close to the previous basket.
Cons: Fairways are tight which is fine, but when they are only 8 feet wide and you still leave random trees in the middle it almost comes down to luck as to whether or not you get through or not. There are also some really nasty turns on some of them with absolutely no way to get within 75 feet of the basket on the tee shot, even if the hole is only 300 feet or so.

The tee pads should be a little longer. They are a little bit short for those of us with longer legs. I stumbled off the end several times and I only do the typical 3 step drive.
Other Thoughts: My brother and I (who have both been playing for a while and played many courses) both thought that the course is laid out very well, but that a few of the "random" trees need to be taken out on the tightest fairways so it doesn't come down to luck. It is definitely a challenging course, which is fine, but they could to a few things to make it more playable.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent, but tight

1    11/20/2013   11/22/2013
Review By: pfpro
Played: 45  Reviewed: 35
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice use of elevation.
- Great "next tee" signs that were always within view of the basket.
- For the most part, this is a challenging course. There are a lot of short holes, but typically the line is tight. I guess you could argue that length on an open course or a tight course is the same for an ace run - since most shots are not aces, I'm thinking there is a mental aspect to all the trees.
- The alternate pin locations add nice variation. I only played in one layout, but you could see where most of the sleeves were. The long pins definitely added difficulty. They layout I played (I think) alternated long-short. I didn't see anything explaining ahead of time. You could see the basket from the pad. Don't know if this is an issue in the summer when the underbrush isn't dormant.
- Two nine-hole loops, so you could play a quick nine.
- Nice park, soccer fields for field work.
Cons: - Fairways (in general) are tight, tight, tight. I'm sure they have loosened up a little as the course has worn in, but they are still really tight. You have to hit your line, or you will have a difficult next shot.
- Teepads were really small. I don't have a large run-up, and it was bothersome to me.
- It would have been nice to have some signage somewhere on the course with a map. The scorecard on this site is nice, but I didn't have a copy of it. Also, a picture of the hole on the hole sign would have been nice.
- This course isn't super accessible. If you were local, it would be OK. If you're coming off the interstate - Leigh Farm (if open) and UNC are superior courses that are more accessible.
- Potential interaction with hikers on the walking path - could be dangerous for them.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. It is a typical NC wooded course. Since is it new, the fairways are really tight. I played when the leaves were down, so the underbrush was mostly dead. That could be a concern in the growing months. Looks like it could be a little swampy. If you like the challenge of short technical courses, you will probably like this course. If you like to bomb, you will probably not like this course. My favorite hole was 9 - really tight that opens up to a field (it probably helped that I didn't know about the water hazard, so wasn't trying to "not" throw it in there). A few of the holes had large trees that had fallen, but were caught, so you have an obstacle at 45 degrees across the fairway - makes those fairways a little more challenging.
I had a little extra time, so I played this course. It was OK - but I will probably stick to UNC or Leigh since I'm usually trying to squeeze a round in.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Typical Triangle Course

2-4    5/30/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2013
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice, short course through the woods, very typical of the area. It will definitely make you work for birdies down narrow fairways and through tight gaps.

It does one of my favorite things: it opens with one wide open hole to a basket perched at the entrance to the woods. I love loosening up the arm with at least one rip. From there, its essentially all woods.

There's a fair amount of elevation changes and multitude of lines on the majority of holes but two holes standout. 13 is the highlight. (and the only hole currently pictured on DGCR) It's a long straight line over a gully with a smallish gap about midway. The other (11?) features two parallel lines, with the left a little narrower but a slightly better approach angle. Good stuff.

Southern also flows well, with a large break only between the front and back nines. There are many possible wrong paths to take but the green signs almost always point out the right one. (The two exception are after 5 and 6. These need next tee signs badly,)

It's a fun but technical course that if anything should give you the chance to see approach shots from different angles.
Cons: It's similar to Valley Springs, but not as good in a few ways. For starters, it's a lot less clean. The brush creeps onto the fairways and the boundary between fairway and rough is not always clear. Sometimes the undergrowth even surrounds the basket.

Additionally, there isn't much distance. Most of the holes are fairly short and are a little too similar. Not bad holes in themselves. But it's a lot of the same here. The one hole that could have been very different, 9, is ruined by a thick tree just in front of the tee. The way that hole goes down and up into the field, with the sludge lake on the left, could have been a nice risk/reward shot with different lines possible. But with the trees right there, the options are too limited.

Really though, too many of the holes are the type of hole that is a tough birdie for an intermediate player, but an automatic birdie. There are enough trees to make it hard to park holes, but not enough distance to keep you from getting up and down from a bad drive. It's just par, regardless of how well you drive. At the same time beginners will likely be frustrated with all of the brush and lines that will be too difficult for them. So I'm not sure if there is a target player that will love this course.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Dogwood'n it up

5+    3/22/2013   3/23/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 3.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Technical NC woods golf is what you'll find here. One set of tees and two rotating pin positions, short and long.

For the most part it's a tight course that is pretty much hit this gap straight ahead and you'll score well. Miss this gap and good luck. From the longs it's even more exaggerated because you not only have to hit the gap you have to put some mustard on it.

There's a good amount of elevation out here, nothing to steep but it's there. It mainly makes you throw up/down hill or over a valley.

You'll need some shots to get through the course, it shows you some lines that move right and left; early and late in the fairway. A few holes have multiple routes.

The first hole is in the open and on 9 you throw out in to the open... enjoy it if you like open. Though 9 also makes you throw through a tight gap to begin with and watch out for the water hazard out on the left.

Course flows pretty good, possibly a few confusing transitions but there are signs. You loop back to the parking lot after 9.

A lot of the rough has been cleaned out and it's made it a lot better, you'll still have trees in your way if you get off fairway but a lot of the short thick stuff is gone.

Equipment - They finally got some concrete pads out here and man does it make it so much better. Baskets are in good shape as well.

Good signage that shows you the way throughout the course. The hole signs only show distance.

Atmosphere - Really nice park, very wooded and once you're on the course it's pretty much you and other dg'ers. Occasionally you'll run in to a walker on the back 9 but it's never been a problem.

Cons: Layout - Still possibly a bit to tight on some of the long tees; doesn't really bother me but if you're less experienced you may find it a bit tough.

The course does lean a bit RHFH or LHBH friendly. More than a few holes finish right after straighter fairways. Perhaps to many straighter holes overall.

If you like to mix in some open shots or even more open wooded shots you won't find them here. For that reason some of it does kind of blend together; some holes don't stand out and are forgettable.

Equipment - The new teepads could be a bit short for some people. Some signs with the hole layout would be helpful, especially on the long pins where they can be hard to see from the pad.

There's no course map at the beginning or really anything that would tell you a course is there unless you notice the pad near the parking lot.

Atmosphere - There's still a few areas near baskets that could be cleared out more; but whoever is running the course has done an amazing job so far.

There's a deer that hangs out in the fairways... I've seen him twice and he just hangs out and dares you to throw at him.
Other Thoughts: This course has improved by leaps and bounds. Actually makes me want to go play it when I get up that way.

If you like technical style golf this place is for you. It's nothing amazing but a very solid course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 New Improvements at Dogwood

5+    8/12/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: jizzle79
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Baskets have been extended into the woods for longer holes on holes 5 and 6. The course is getting cleaned up pretty good and now that the baskets are in the city should be coming out to do some clearing of trees, but for now me and a buddy cleared out 6 to at least give a tight lane. If the one thing I enjoy the most though out there is the variety of shots and the change in terrain. This course allows you to play a quick 9 on either front or back and even gives and option to play 5 when it starts to get dark. All-in-all my favorite course.
Cons: Just need the city to come out and do some clearing of trees on a few of the holes and a lil bit of poison ivy. Other than that the course just needs more foot traffic off the beaten path,

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

I swear, they even have extinct species of trees on the fairways here.

5+    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.9 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The baskets are in good shape; highly visible.

Concrete tees on every hole.

The fairways are challenging; lots of obstacles.

Some legitimate ace runs; some holes you'll be doing well with a 3.

The park has a dog park, tennis courts, soccer field, hiking trails.

The course is not usually very crowded. You probably won't have to wait for other groups to finish a hole.

Dedicated volunteers working hard on improvements (in addition to park employees).

Nice natural scenery. Pretty forest.

Well-maintained field in play on 1 and 9.

Bridges built on the fairways for crossing creeks and swampy areas.

The course is divided into front 9 and back 9. It's simple to start on 10.

The tee for hole 1 is right next to the parking lot.

There are a lot of right doglegs. (Put this into the cons if you find it more appropriate there.)
Cons: If you don't have good control on your throws (and emotions) you might want to find a less wooded course. I hit several trees on a good day there.

The tee signs show very little information, and even that is not always accurate. There's no indication of alternate pins, and when the basket is moved, the sign still says the same distance and par as before.

Lots of poison ivy in the summer and spring. I mean lots of it. If you're extremely allergic, you should just go somewhere else during ivy season.

It can get swampy in places sometimes.

Lots of undergrowth in the summer in those areas that get swampy.

There's no shade in the parking lot in the afternoons. And no other reasonable place to park.

When you finish 9, you could get lost looking for 10. you have to go across the main road and cut onto a little path in the woods; watch for little tiny signs with little frisbees drawn on them.

The pond isn't advertised on 9, and it isn't visible from the tee. It's lining the left of the fairway just after you come out of the woods.

I'd prefer tees a little bit longer, or at least level with the ground so I can run-up from behind. However, the concrete tees were built by volunteers, not by park employees, so maybe I should have helped; then my 2 cents might have been worth a couple of bucks.
Other Thoughts: You've been warned about the trees, right? Just want to make sure.

Ace potential depends on your ability, and other things. I wouldn't be surprised to learn of aces on a lot of the holes here. I've played this course about 20 to 25 times, and no dice so far, but I've come very close on hole 1 (short position), 3 (short), 3 (long), 6, 7 (long), and 15.

1 (short) is the only hole that is completely open, and even there, you're in the woods if you overthrow at all. On every other hole I've hit trees from time to time.

3 is one of the easiest holes here, IMO.

2 and 4 are both tight uphill drives.
Some people have mentioned yellow jackets on hole 4. I saw no sign of them today. Maybe they're gone or maybe they let me play through.

I would make hole 4 a par 4 when it's in the long position. It's well over 300 feet, probably the steepest uphill you'll find in this area, with a winding tight fairway, and huge dead trees to dodge in addition to the live ones.

5 and 6 are very similar to one another. Level, tight, short.

7 is a little longer, but downhill.

8 gives you a little room in the fairway.

9 is the longest of the course. 100 ft or so and you're out of the woods, but make sure you hit the gap. Then all you have to watch out for is the pond on the left.

10, 11, 12 are moderately short, tight fairways with undergrowth.

13 is a long one, and there's a tight gap about halfway down the fairway.

14 and 15 are reasonable, if you stay in the fairway.

16 is very tight; you almost have to throw a sharp left turn, rather than go straight down the path.

17 is another tight, winding, uphill fairway, and there's a poison ivy plantation to the right.

18 reminds me of the very tight fairways on the last 16 holes. No mercy here either.


4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Angry Yellowjackets

2-4    6/13/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: cyclone251
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A beautifully wooded course with generally short, narrow fairways typical of the triangle area. More open than Carrboro's Anderson Park, this course doesn't just rely on the trees to create challenges, as holes make clever use of the elevation changes in the park. Doglegs bend both right and left, with plenty of straight fairways as well, something I appreciated as I throw LHBH without a great forehand.
Cons: Yellowjackets. The nest--or at least one of them--is on the fourth hole or so with a sign at the tee pad warning about its location, but they seem to be prevalent throughout the course. The last time I played, my group stumbled across a few around the 8th or 9th hole, and most of us were stung a handful of times.

I have few complaints otherwise. The tee pads are a little small, and awkwardly high.
Other Thoughts: Would play this course regularly if not for the stings.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.