Chapel Hill, NC 
Southern Community Park Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #5 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 I swear, they even have extinct species of trees on the fairways here.

5+    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.8 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The baskets are in good shape; highly visible.

Concrete tees on every hole.

The fairways are challenging; lots of obstacles.

Some legitimate ace runs; some holes you'll be doing well with a 3.

The park has a dog park, tennis courts, soccer field, hiking trails.

The course is not usually very crowded. You probably won't have to wait for other groups to finish a hole.

Dedicated volunteers working hard on improvements (in addition to park employees).

Nice natural scenery. Pretty forest.

Well-maintained field in play on 1 and 9.

Bridges built on the fairways for crossing creeks and swampy areas.

The course is divided into front 9 and back 9. It's simple to start on 10.

The tee for hole 1 is right next to the parking lot.

There are a lot of right doglegs. (Put this into the cons if you find it more appropriate there.)
Cons: If you don't have good control on your throws (and emotions) you might want to find a less wooded course. I hit several trees on a good day there.

The tee signs show very little information, and even that is not always accurate. There's no indication of alternate pins, and when the basket is moved, the sign still says the same distance and par as before.

Lots of poison ivy in the summer and spring. I mean lots of it. If you're extremely allergic, you should just go somewhere else during ivy season.

It can get swampy in places sometimes.

Lots of undergrowth in the summer in those areas that get swampy.

There's no shade in the parking lot in the afternoons. And no other reasonable place to park.

When you finish 9, you could get lost looking for 10. you have to go across the main road and cut onto a little path in the woods; watch for little tiny signs with little frisbees drawn on them.

The pond isn't advertised on 9, and it isn't visible from the tee. It's lining the left of the fairway just after you come out of the woods.

I'd prefer tees a little bit longer, or at least level with the ground so I can run-up from behind. However, the concrete tees were built by volunteers, not by park employees, so maybe I should have helped; then my 2 cents might have been worth a couple of bucks.
Other Thoughts: You've been warned about the trees, right? Just want to make sure.

Ace potential depends on your ability, and other things. I wouldn't be surprised to learn of aces on a lot of the holes here. I've played this course about 20 to 25 times, and no dice so far, but I've come very close on hole 1 (short position), 3 (short), 3 (long), 6, 7 (long), and 15.

1 (short) is the only hole that is completely open, and even there, you're in the woods if you overthrow at all. On every other hole I've hit trees from time to time.

3 is one of the easiest holes here, IMO.

2 and 4 are both tight uphill drives.
Some people have mentioned yellow jackets on hole 4. I saw no sign of them today. Maybe they're gone or maybe they let me play through.

I would make hole 4 a par 4 when it's in the long position. It's well over 300 feet, probably the steepest uphill you'll find in this area, with a winding tight fairway, and huge dead trees to dodge in addition to the live ones.

5 and 6 are very similar to one another. Level, tight, short.

7 is a little longer, but downhill.

8 gives you a little room in the fairway.

9 is the longest of the course. 100 ft or so and you're out of the woods, but make sure you hit the gap. Then all you have to watch out for is the pond on the left.

10, 11, 12 are moderately short, tight fairways with undergrowth.

13 is a long one, and there's a tight gap about halfway down the fairway.

14 and 15 are reasonable, if you stay in the fairway.

16 is very tight; you almost have to throw a sharp left turn, rather than go straight down the path.

17 is another tight, winding, uphill fairway, and there's a poison ivy plantation to the right.

18 reminds me of the very tight fairways on the last 16 holes. No mercy here either.


4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course, Angry Yellowjackets

2-4    6/13/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: cyclone251
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A beautifully wooded course with generally short, narrow fairways typical of the triangle area. More open than Carrboro's Anderson Park, this course doesn't just rely on the trees to create challenges, as holes make clever use of the elevation changes in the park. Doglegs bend both right and left, with plenty of straight fairways as well, something I appreciated as I throw LHBH without a great forehand.
Cons: Yellowjackets. The nest--or at least one of them--is on the fourth hole or so with a sign at the tee pad warning about its location, but they seem to be prevalent throughout the course. The last time I played, my group stumbled across a few around the 8th or 9th hole, and most of us were stung a handful of times.

I have few complaints otherwise. The tee pads are a little small, and awkwardly high.
Other Thoughts: Would play this course regularly if not for the stings.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Smiley Face

5+    4/20/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: mooretull
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some courses that are just fun to play and for me this is one of them. I really enjoy the variety of shots required to take on the holes. Course has seen drastic improvements inlcuding 18 new concrete tpads and after playing yesterday there is also alternate pin placements which is really exciting! A lot of work has been done on this course and it really shows. Fairways are really coming together and a lot of growth has been cleared away. I live in the area and right now this is my favorite course to play even if I have to drive further and pass by unc dgc to get there. If you have not played this course in a while, you will be pleasantly surprised when you play it now!
My favorite holes are the uphill #4 . #7 which is really one of the sweetest holes on the course and a real challenge to get up and down. #13 and #14 on the back are also great holes.
Cons: No major cons
Other Thoughts: I really like how the front 9 and back 9 start near the parking lot. If #1 is crowded just start on #10.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good addition to the rotation

1    6/15/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I need to start by saying that when I played this course (June 2011) everything seemed well maintained, in contrast to earlier reviews. The grass in the field that #1 and #9 play through was cut, paths were clear, and the baskets were in excellent shape.

The course has good use of the elevation available, with both down- and uphill shots. It is a wooded, technical course, which I like but is not going to be everyone's cup of tea. Despite the woods, the trails are clear and obvious and signs pointing the direction to tees guide you on every hole. The woods are fairly clear, you're mostly just competing with trees, there is very little undergrowth on the course as a whole. There is a good variety of long an short holes here, though you don't get any chances to really let a big drive rip on a fully open hole.

There are many enjoyable holes here. #9 is a great close to the front nine, with a narrow tee shot through woods out into a field. If your drive gets out of the woods a 3 should be well within reach. #18 follows a similar pattern of opening up after a narrow tee shot, but then has a basket guarded by a few trees. #13 is a a fun throw-over-the-valley shot where a good sidearm or turnover shot (again, RHBH) will set you up with a great chance at a birdie or even eagle.

This is a course to get a fun round in and test your skills a bit. I would not take someone who is new to this course because they will not have the precision and shot selection necessary to play this course well.
Cons: No tee pads is a big drawback and no course these days should go without good pads, and the same goes for tee signs that lack hole maps (you only get hole # and distance). For instance #9 has a pond to the left of the landing area for your throw off the tee, so a RHBH shot is going to fade towards it, but you cannot see the pond from the tee and without a hole diagram a new player may throw a disc in unwittingly.

I also think the course is a little too tight at times. I enjoy a nice tunnel shot, but at times I felt the course was overly punishing without offering much risk/reward. There appear to be trees marked for removal so once these are out I think the course will improve considerably. The shots tend to favor straight or left-to-right shots, so there is not as much variety as I would like, I found myself doing a lot of sidearm shots.
Other Thoughts: Nice park accompanying the disc golf course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Coming around...

5+    10/15/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: southgrooves
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice technical layout in a huge park. Restrooms and water near the dog park, large soccer fields and playground near back nine.

Cool layout with true front and back nines, both looping back to the same parking area. Great use of elevation change and available land. There are uphill, downhill, L-R and R-L sloping, and flat shots. Water in play on #9 as well as a small creek that runs through the fairways of #13-#17.

New alt pin placements on most holes.
Cons: Tee boxes - although there are new concrete pads, they are fairly small and raised above grade on most holes making them a tripping hazard on full run-ups

Overgrowth - The back nine still needs a lot cleanup, but it's coming around. Front nine is in much better shape, except for #7. Poison ivy is everywhere, most places a disc could land are within 3' of it.

Signage - Tee signs are hole # and distance only, and the distances on most signs are off b/c of the two pin placements. No direction from front to back nine, which is across the street and to the left.

Few trashcans and no benches except b/w #9 and #10.
Other Thoughts: Best Hole - #9, 492' Par 4, uphill slightly with water in play on the left. Basket will eventually be protected by a grove of recently planted trees. Brutal, but a three is well earned. New alt/short position brings the basket closer to the water and a steep hill.

Most Fun Hole - #15. Downhill around an old uprooted tree with a creek cutting across the fairway and down the right side.

Course is really coming around. The front nine, especially, is a lot of fun to play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Dogwood Facelift...(updated review)

5+    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: aggreen
Played: 144  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a nice mix of long and short holes, as well as a good mix of straight to right shots.
Very scenic and in a nice section of Chapel Hill. Dog park next to hole 1 and there is a ton of wildlife running through the park - although that could be a con :)
Updated...
The course now has 18 tee pads, while a little on the shorter side, it is something that was needed for this course..
All 18 holes (including #18 - yay) have been cleared of the unrealistically tight fairways - while still very wooded - they are now very fair and solid and forces you to use more shots in your arsenal.
The signs were a con, but they are being updated with the actual distances.
Multiple pin placements - on a number of holes, there will be multiple pin placements - this really makes the course have some variety that is sorely needed.
Cons: Mentioned in the Pros - the tee pads are slightly short - at least for myself - and raised, so those who might use a run up on the longer 2 holes might have an issue. On holes #15 and #16 there is a small plant type covering the entire ground along the fairways and near the tees. It is VERY easy to lose a disc here.
Other Thoughts: Big kudos to Andrew George who has headed up all the work out here - from installing pads, heading up the clearing and making multiple pin placements. This course has went from an afterthought to a decent option. No, it is not an epic course, but definitely one to play when in the Chapel Hill area.

After playing with a friend who throws RHFH, I realize that many of the lines favor this shot (or LHBH). New bridges have been built to cross gulleys, including a nice new one on #13. Aesthetics and functionality keep it down from the others.
I always walk out of here with numerous thorn scratches, seemingly more than other courses. Although, this is likely from my straying from the fairways often :). That said, long pants are helpful - when the weather allows.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Typical Chapel Hill Area Course, Bring Backup Discs

5+    4/7/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: ExhaustedDog
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the newer courses in the area and certainly a tribute to the tight wooded courses that dot Chapel Hill. I've been playing ever since the course was under development and it is finally what qualifies for done. The signs are extremely informative and there are now path signs to help you navigate the course (there is a nature trail that also criss-crosses the disc trail a couple of times).

The front 9 are nicely set. Tight, wooded, and technical shots. There are some particularly brutal upslope key hole drives (Hole 4). Hole 1 and 9 being the only open field shots on the entire course are a nice break from being in he woods. Hole 13 is nice long 380 ft. shot across a ravine in the middle of the woods with a moderately forgiving fairway on both sides.

All in all it's your typical area course: Tight wooded shots with a couple of memorable ones. Hole 9 is by far the most interesting, being a keyhole drive out of the woods, with a steep hill on the right and a water trap on the left. Throw a forehand if you are a RHBH player and sit your disc right on top of that hill.
Cons: Beyond hole 9 and 13 most of this course is forgettable. It doesn't set itself apart from other area courses. Hole 18 needs an absurd amount of work; it's way too tight and there's no way to Hyzer around all of those tress.

Discs get eaten up like nothing else. I would love to see CH Parks and Rec go in with some leaf blowers and fill out the boundaries. I've lost a few discs on this course, even though I saw where they dropped. Lots of underbrush and pockets of leaves for your worm burners to get lost in.
Other Thoughts: If I had a choice, I'd make the trip to UNC or Leigh Farm, as they tend to inspire improving your game on a challenging course. This course can be frustrating on an off day, since the fairways mostly don't exist save for a 6 ft span to drive down.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Like tight fairways?

2-4    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played this course for the first time probably 8 months ago not too long after it opened up. Played it today for only the second time.

- Nice elevation changes that come into play on about half of the holes.
- Really nice signage has been installed since I first played it. Tee sign on each hole and directional sign at the end of each hole. It made navigating the course much easier.
- Holes 1 and 9 add some much needed variety to an otherwise extremely tight wooded course.
- Holes are pretty fairly balanced for lefties and righties.
- Holes 1, 4, 9, 10, 15, 17 are the only holes that I found to be both fair and enjoyable.
- Placed in a very nice park....stretching for pros now, moving onto the cons......
Cons: - Too many poke and hope holes. The fairways are not well defined on holes 7, 12, 14, 16, and 18. The rest of the holes minus hole 1 are tight at least one point in the fairway if not the entire length of the hole
- No variety in this course. Just a bunch of holes with either a tiny choke point, an unreasonably tight fairway or very little fairway definition.
- Debris from tree removal not taken off the fairway in some spots and not far off the fairway in other spots. This should clear up as the course gets worn in and time passes.
- Natty pads, which isn't always a horrible thing, but there seem to be a lot of roots around a lot of the pads. Can make up for some awkward run ups.
Other Thoughts: If you like tight, technical courses then you might like this course. Then again you might not because there is just too much luck involved in this course. This is the type of course that frustrates me to no end since I believe in fairways being well defined enough to make a course more about skill than luck. I would have like to have seen more variety in types of holes too. Holes 1, 4, 9, 13, 15 stand out to me among a bunch of 180ft-250ft tight fairways and poke and hopes. I would hope a few more trees could be taken out, but it looks like very little clearing has been done since I first play the course over half a year ago.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 ANOTHER WOODS COURSE IN CHAPEL HILL yea

5+    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.5 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: nice short woods. not as chalenging as carboro, or as fun as chapel hill.its another piece they need for the chapel hill tourney. no hole stand out, favors side arms in tight places. try it once but more than that not necessary
Cons: short but fun with friends
Other Thoughts: great park with trails baseball fields and soccer fields

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Getting there

2-4    12/28/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course that requires accuracy, but still has some distance to it. Mostly a good course for RHFH players or LHBH players, but not so much as to give them a huge advantage. Not heavily played so it's easy top get a round in. Good typical NC narrow wooded fairways. Distance and Par signs at tees.
Cons: Raw. Still fairly new with fallen trees and brush in some fairways and near some baskets. Not sure about accuracy of some of the distance signs. No tee pads. Still just has flags in the ground. Uneven and heavily rooted natural tee pads suck. A few chuck and pray holes with an overly narrow fairway.
Other Thoughts: I first played this course early last summer. It is better in the winter without leaves, but it is still tight and tough. But it is getting better. Tee pads would be a huge addition. Back 9 has signs directing you to the next hole so hopefully the front nine will get some soon. With a few more signs and some tee pads this could be a really good course. Still worth playing if you are nearby, but not quite up to snuff yet with some of the other close by.

I have played this course 3 times since my original review. They have added some nice signs and the fariways are a little bit more playable. Still a work in progress, but it is getting better. If they ever get concrete pads this course will be another Triangle gem. It is coming along nicely. If UNC is busy thi sis close and worth playing.

August 2012 Update - New basket positions have been added. There are some tough new long positions as well as some short beginner type positions. Depending on the set up this can be a very nice course now. Signs are now in need of improvement to keep up with all the changes, but this is definitely a course to check out.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.