Las Vegas, NV 
Mountain Crest Park Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #6 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 277ft.   3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Public Park Course

2-4    10/26/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintained park with a great view of Las Vegas. It's a shame they are thinking of pulling the park as it's one of the best ones in Vegas.

The Tees are flat and well marked so it makes navigation without a map really easy. Some of the markers are upside down for some reason, but they are still well done with satellite views so it's not a guessing game as to where the baskets are, which is good since some of them are blind shots.

Hole 1 was awesome, a straight upshot through narrow trees made it a very difficult hole for anyone who can't throw very straight and low for a long distance.

The course makes great use of the terrain and the layout, for the most part, is meant to allow for disc golfers and park goers to all be happy.
Cons: There are a plethora of people in this park, so I can see why there is the threat of pulling the course if golfers aren't cautious. We had a group of girls playing soccer on hole 2 so we skipped it, but didn't have any other issues the rest of the round, and given how busy it was it seems that the park goers are pretty mindful of the course.

As mentioned, some of the markers are upside down and a couple are torn. Pretty petty con, I know, so that should give you an indication of why this is a well rated park, there isn't much to complain about at all.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a fun park to play. It didn't have the long open shots that you find at Sunset, but it also doesn't have the jagged disk eating rocks of Red Ridge.

The design was very well done in my opinion. The layout flows very well.

I agree with all of the other reviewers when I say to be very courteous on this course. With the blind shots and close pavilions it could be tempting to just throw without having a spotter or not lay it up when people are around, but with the heavy usage it's a bad gamble to take, (Vegas reference, hahaha).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Windy and tight

1    8/31/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Auto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park was awesome and well kept. This is a course to bring the whole family out to. There is something for everyone. The course had concrete pads and a well maintianed area. There where challenging throws that border the street.
Cons: Some signs where missing and a few baskets where Close together which made it difficult to tell apart for your next shot.
Other Thoughts: It is a simple short course that is placed in a beautiful park sitting. This is a great beginners course. Really enjoyed.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A solid course

5+    6/10/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: OMGChaos
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is clean, green, and almost impossible to lose a disc on. Great course for beginners.
Cons: It can get really crowded on nice days, and weekends especially. Plenty of people don't even realize there is a disc golf course on the park, and are totally oblivious to it. Patience is a must.
Other Thoughts: Great course overall. Not super challenging, but a good quick course for players looking for some shorter holes and limited obstacles

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A nice park-style course

2-4    4/6/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simple to navigate-almost all the tees are within 60 feet of the last basket and all baskets are visible from the tee area

You won't lose a disc here.

Easily strollerable

Playground for the kids in the middle where you can play around them and keep an eye on them

Good variation of length on holes

Concrete tees in nice shape

Baskets in great shape

Almost all the holes had signs, all but 2 or so had accurate distances on them

Nice bathrooms and water fountains

If you play sidewalks, streets, parking lots, and desert areas as OB, there are some interesting risk/reward shots where you have to choose to lay up or go for it

Tons of lights. Easy to finish a round after dark.

All the locals I met were nice; didn't notice any pot smoking going on at all

Very fast- I was worried I wouldn't get a round in before dark and I got 1 1/2 rounds in before dark and easily finished by park lights
Cons: Pretty hard to take a 5 on any hole. My first round I played I threw 13 pars in a row in some high wind. There just aren't that many obstacles out there. Some scattered trees are the only obstacles, but most are so short you can throw over them. For example, the first hole is designed as a difficult 300+ foot tunnel shot. But anyone in their right mind would just throw a big hyzer around the right side of the tunnel. Most of the trees are 20 feet high or less. So in general it is a "drive and putt" course for anyone who can drive 300-350. If your drive is accurate you get a short putt. If it isn't, you get a long putt then a drop in par. Only one hole will force a 300 foot driving player to throw a significant upshot.

A fair number of walkers in the park. I never had to wait long, but I did have to wait several times during a round

Only one set of tees and one basket placement

Random posted pars-I don't see why par in disc golf doesn't mean the same as in ball golf. I'm no pro and I shot 12 under the posted par my first time to the park. Give me a break. If you can make par without any single throw being longer than 100 feet the par is wrong.

No water

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite in Vegas

1    10/2/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: drickanderson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a lot in the way of challenge, elevation and risk/reward. There a few holes that are longish but the shorter ones are offset by OB-surrounded baskets, and blind shots over hills and around trees. If you play with strict OB rules, this can be a very challenging course.

The landscaping is beautiful, and the grass is fantastic. It's beneficial to have somebody with you that knows the course, but the signs are sufficient if you don't.

I regularly play Sunset and Red Ridge, and can tell you that I prefer this course of the three. The only thing that would keep me from playing it more is the long drive from my house.
Cons: As stated previously, a few of the holes drive along the road-side, but they're shorter holes, and can be reached using a putter from the tee, so it really isn't that big of an issue.
Other Thoughts: There were a lot of people in the park when we played, and the guy that I played with said that it wasn't as bad as it usually is, and they generally have to skip a few holes because there are people in the way. I would suggest getting on the course in the wee hours of the morning to avoid the traffic.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/14/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: KJTchouop
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Certainly, this is the most attractive course in town. Although it tends to run a little shortish on distance for many of the holes, there still are some challenges for the seasoned player. It's a really nice park with picnic areas, playgrounds, water fountains, bathrooms, etc.
Cons: This course would be better if they had just a little more room. It feels like they could have made a great fifteen hole course, but had to figure out a way to cram in three more holes. A couple of holes are a bit confusing as to where to go for your next drive. A few holes run parallel to residential streets, so be prepared to lose a disc on an errant throw that flies over a six foot wall into a yard. The back nine isn't as interesting as the front nine, save for a couple of great holes right after the turn.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Crest park

1    8/1/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Young park with plenty of potential
Nicely kept and clean
Lawn all-around
Some holes nicely framed
Restrooms, picnic tables, water play area, bbq
Elevation used well
Not too much foot traffic due to heat (it is Las Vegas)
All pins are baskets (though some are a little bent)
Concrete pads
Signage (on some)
You can easily find your way around
Friendly people
Cons: Some of the signage is missing
When the grass is irrigated some of the tee pads when wet or flooded
The back nine can get redundant
Long drive from the strip (I was on vacation): 20-25 minutes
Other Thoughts: The park is young so the trees don't play a big factor but when they grow up this course will definitely be more difficult. By the way, if you throw your disc into a park yard consider it gone. There is signage to not jump into back yards because the city could pull the course. If you're in town I recommend Sunset Park first but this little course is definitely not a waste of time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Vegas

2-4    1/7/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: ThrowTennesseeDCM
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots. Great tee signs, and well marked. Young trees that will become quite challenging in the years to come.
Cons: Last five holes are VERY short to keep people from throwing into a neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: Great course given the setting. Best and most maintained course in Vegas. Better Part of town than Sunset Park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty to the northwest

2-4    5/4/2008   8/24/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, new course. Open & relatively flat so it's an easy walk. Nice long holes mixed with short. Trees and lanscaping come into play.
Cons: It's a mult-use park so there are picnics & people running all around the course. It's pretty open so if (when) it's windy it's a little tough.
Other Thoughts: It's a long drive out here but it's a nice part of town. I highly recommend it!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice Course

7/1/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 37  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed course, nice tee pads, relaxing all around game. Fairly short holes, with little trees, but the trees are very young still. As this course matures, it will become much more challenging. Most of the course is very short, but there are still a few long pins. OB makes shots a bit more challenging and comes in to play on the back quite a bit.

Great for practice, and for recreational play, very comfortable park.
Cons: A bit repetitious, especially on the back 9. Some days the traffic makes a number of holes unplayable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.