Las Vegas, NV 
Mountain Crest Park Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #17 (Taken 6/2013)
4 / 293ft.   4 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    11/8/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Beautiful oasis in the desert! The grass was green, and the equipment was in decent shape. Plenty of parking and restrooms. Nice variety of shots - long/short; straight/arched; even/high/low. Something for everybody to love!
Cons: Multi-use park with lots of non-DGers, so we had to skip around to get all the holes in. Very windy, which seems to be common around town. I had to play real conservative to not lose shots into the street or over fences.
Other Thoughts: The tunnel shot on #1 sets up the course and really makes for a fun round! If you can, come during the week, when most kids are in school, and folks are working, so that you reduce your chance of encountering wandering targets. I will definitely come back and play again next time I'm in town! This would have been a 5-disc review if not for the multi-use aspect of the park, otherwise, this is the cream of the crop as far as I'm concerned!

Perfect example of what's possible in a community park

2-4    4/15/2011   4/15/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome integration of 18-holes into an otherwise great multi-purpose neighborhood park. Amazing variety of shots throughout the course, with no feel of repitition. The designers really maximized the dimensions of the park, and the entire grounds is immaculately clean. Gotta love that short spongy Vegas grass!
Cons: The par 4 signage is a joke. The entire course should play par 3, with the exception of #10 which is a legit par 4 (stated as a par 5). Playing for the first time without a map, I probably added about 20 mins to the round looking for teepads. Playing the walkways and non-grassy areas as OB would certainly increase the challenge level to an otherwise easy course.
Other Thoughts: I was instantly stoked the moment I pulled into the parking lot and located the course starting point. For an "artificial" course, this is as good as it gets...every residential neighborhood out there should have one of these!
For what it's worth, here's my personal ranking of the 8 courses in Las Vegas:
1. Mountain Crest
2. Peccole Ranch
3. Red Ridge
4. Sunset
5. Freedom
6. Paseo Verde
7. Cason's Davis Park
8. Anthem
** I can't wait to play Mt Charleston someday!!
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (terrific layout in a busy park)
Difficulty: B (flat; pars come easy)
Fun factor: A (rewarding birdies; just the right distances)
Aesthetics: A (super clean; manicured; will only get better)
---------------------
Overall: A-

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Oasis in the dessert

1    8/13/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Startlingly good grass makes you want to play this course barefooted. You can park right at the first tee, which is concrete with great signage. We played on a Saturday morning, and talked to a few locals for help a couple of times. Everyone was very friendly.

The course is in excellent shape. Several trees appear to have been planted just for the course play, and the layout uses the park in a great way. A disc golf course with out tons of underbrush and thorns? Sign me up, as often as possible.

For the beginners this course is appealing because there are plenty of trees, but nothing to lose your disc in. An errant shot will be easy to find and get back on track. For more experienced players, striving for even par or less will never leave you bored.

The first hole is fun, with a tree lined alley to shoot through, or if you're a 300+ guy, hyser that bad boy past them all and gor for the money shot!

A handful of the holes use the gentle rolling hills to their advantage, with an occasional blind shot.

Most of the tee boxes are framed nicely by vegetation or the terrain itself.
Cons: Very minor. A couple of approaches are towards the street, but the way the course is landscaped you'd have to miss awfully bad for it to matter.

One hole drives parallel to a street and if you drift right you could be in trouble.

I put these in here just to have something to put here. This is a wonderful course with no real drawbacks.
Other Thoughts: There are water fountains, bathrooms, ample parking close to the starting tee, sidewalks, and friendly locals.

The tees are concrete and baskets are Innova double chain. The signs have useful diagrams, distances, and (my personal favorite) arrows to the next tee. If you can't enjoy a morning round of disc golf here, please take up spelunking.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nicest course in Vegas

5+    3/8/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: Sleeping Giant
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park, green grass, decent mix of short and long holes.
Cons: Could be more difficult and could have a few longer holes.
Other Thoughts: This is our weekly course. The players are friendly and people don't get in your way much. We usually play around 9AM so usually the only people there are throwers. I prefer playing this course over Sunset because it's a nicer park and there are fewer people clogging the fairways doing other park related activities.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.