Las Vegas, NV 
Mountain Crest Park Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #7 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 271ft.   3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A must play in Las Vegas!

1    10/2/2015   10/2/2015
Review By: ncbrett92
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good tee sighs on almost all of the holes. The arial shots of the holes are very helpful when you can't see the baskets from the tee and help show where the OB areas are. Anything that is not grass is OB here and with the walking paths on almost every hole and the rock river running threw part of the back 9 you really have to watch your shots or you can rack up OB strokes fast. The wind plays a big factor into this course and makes you thing about shots and trying to putt here is a real challenge. There is also some really small and tight greens with the OB as well. Don't let the shortness of this course fool you. With the wind playing all through the course (10 to 15MPH+ when I played here) it makes you have to really throw hard. the grass is cut short and even and the tee pads are all fairly grippy. While it is an open field course there are trees throughout that make you pick lanes and have to flex shots between trees and the wind.
Cons: A few of the tee sighs need to be reprinted as they have been partly torn up/off. A couple of the tee pads felt a bit short and 9's gets soaked when the sprinklers come on and gets really slick. A few of the baskets have partly broken bands on them and the chains are starting to look a little rough (they all catch good thought). The double edge sword to the OB walking paths adding the difficulty to this course is the people walking on them. But when I played at about 8AM they were all nice and worked with us disc golfers on sharing the space. The green on 13 was the only hole I thought was a bit unfair and dangerous to walkers as it was right on top of the walking path and the rock river and is a blind left-hander downhill from the tee. Did't see any dog poop when I played but watch for it as it could be close to a few of the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Overall I love this course and will be back anytime I'm back in Vegas for work. The biggest 3 things I think this course could use to push it up to a 4 or 4.5 would be a true practice basket (hole 8 or 18's work but would be nice to try to put one in in-between hole 8's basket and 1's tee box). Need a kiosk somewhere by hole 1's tee (could maybe try to put it just to the right of 1's tee box) to help find hole 1 and give some info on the local disc golf area and the course. And move hole 13's basket back a bit or over the right to either give a bit more room on the landing or take out the blindness of it to make it a bit safer for walkers. Favorite hole was hole 11 because of taking the high risk/high reward option of trying to clear the OB or laying up and playing it safe off the tee.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Desert Oasis

1    3/27/2015   4/3/2015
Review By: unsmith
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course in a well maintained park.

Baskets are all in good shape, no issues there.

Concrete tees provide excellent footing.

Bathroom facilities are right in the middle and accessible in the middle of your round or at the end.

Very good signage and easy to navigate from tee to tee.

Friendly locals.
Cons: Not a lot of shot variety required as most holes are basically open.

The tee signs are basically printouts of Google Maps and seem to always be oriented north->south, which can be a little confusing to figure out which direction you're facing.

No dedicated practice basket, most people seem to practice at 18 and then give way when people come up.

If there is "official" OB it's not marked anywhere. I got the impression that outside the walking paths was OB as you'd expect, but it wasn't clear whether the rock beds were supposed to be OB or not. If they are, there are a couple of baskets that are silly close to OB.
Other Thoughts: This course is popular! On a weekday afternoon there were multiple other groups playing as well as dog walkers and other general park-goers. That's a good sign.

It's not marked, but play the tunnel shot on 1 as a mando into the tunnel. That's probably the way it was meant to be played, and trying the big hyzer route has you throwing directly at hole 2's teepad, which is dangerous.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mountain Crest Park - A walk in the park!

1    8/4/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 195  Reviewed: 188  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Mountain Crest Park is the nicest course off the strip in the Las Vegas area. This course plays in a well manicured park with ample room to park with easy access off the highway. Although not the most difficult course, the fun factor is high here and is a hot spot for local disc golfers. Due to the heat, playing in the early morning or late evening is a must if you don't want to fry. Even though there are plenty of trees in the park to find shade under, the fairways are wide open for the most part and are in direct sunlight.

Holes on the course range anywhere from 197-416 feet but average closer to the 300ft range. Par for the course is 62, which seemed high, with no real par 4's in my opinion. I shot 15 down my first time which was a 974 rating and didn't even play that well considering it was my first time. It was however quick to play and easy to navigate due to nice signage and an obvious flow. Toward the end of my round I met some great locals who invited me to play since I was solo which was welcoming and ended up being a lot of fun!
Overall Challenge

There are a few blind holes which add to the difficulty but most pins can be reaching using any line you choose due to the open space. Fairways present little challenge on most holes but as time goes on and the trees continue to develop, I can see the difficulty here increasing some over time. Fortunately, due to selective pin placement and OB along the walking path and roads that comes into play throughout the round, disc placement does become important at times. Especially when it is windy! Tee pads and baskets are in excellent condition, although like many other courses around here, are quite slick when wet creating the potential chance of an errant throw or even worse, and injury.

Speed of Play

As mentioned previously in my review, this course gets packed! Whether it's disc golfers, dog walkers, or someone out exercising, there is always someone here. On a busy day it could take hours to play as to when the park is empty and it takes about an hour and a half. That has an impact on one's schedule so plan accordingly.
Other Thoughts:
Mountain Crest Park was ideal for someone coming from out of town like myself. It was easy to find, navigate, and play in a reasonable amount of time. It was a beautiful park located in a safe area with zero chances of losing a disc. I am very happy to have played this course for the experience and even though it wasn't great, it was more than enough for someone trying to play a round in the desert. I appreciate the efforts the locals put into maintaining this course and know it will continue to get better with age.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Quick Easy

1    11/18/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: andylibrande
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course that is in a well-maintained park. Relatively short and straight-forward but uses the terrain much better then most city-type parks. Loved how all of the grass was in good condition and how well the park was maintained.

We had a rest day in Las Vegas and showed-up here with no research and it was easy to find and easy to play. Played on a Monday mid-morning and the only people in the park were other disc-golfers so it was nice and relaxed.
Cons: Hole #1 is not marked but is relatively obvious. Otherwise all other holes were well-marked except the walk to #18 (still easy to find).
Other Thoughts: Great spot for a quick and straight-forward round of disc golf.

Nothing too challenging but still interesting to play in a nice park setting.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent open park course

1    1/24/2013   2/1/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large multi-use park. The fairways are grassy and nicely groomed with lurking sidewalk and desert OB on many of the holes. If you play all these as OB, it adds quite a bit of risk to some of the shots especially when running the basket from the tee. There is a wide range of hole lengths, from ace runs to longer shots that let you rip a longer drive.

The trees are pretty scattered and most are fairly small, but the design uses them fairly well. Most of the drives feel pretty open but you do have to consider shot placement and there are a couple holes where you have to hit a specific line to get your birdie.
Cons: I like the chance to throw some longer drives in the open, but there's a little too much of that on this course. There isn't a whole lot more to work with but it still allows for pretty simple hyzers on just about every shot. A couple spots have some awkward flow, make sure to take a map and pay attention to the directional markers for the next tee on each tee sign. The sidewalk didn't seem too crowded, but with several blind shots crossing the walkways there is a potential for safety issues and conflicts with other park users.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course longer but forgiving, with no punishment for errant shots and no lost discs. More experienced players will find this an ok place to work on longer drives and shot placement in the wind, but not many technical line shaping skills are necessary here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    12/29/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: HEATER
Played: 38  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked course with the land and baskets in great shape.

Great use of the land.

Great signage and easy to navigate except the walk from 17-18.

Mostly short holes between 200 and 325 feet with one or two over 400.

Good use of the slight elevation changes through the park.

Great views of the mountains in the background.

Can be played quickly if not busy.

Met some friendly locals.
Cons: Played on a Saturday afternoon and the park was packed! Saw two mob groups of 8 players on the course that created a substantial backup for many holes.

A couple holes on the back 9 are downright dangerous. 13 comes to mind where the basket is a blind shot and directly over a walking path.

A couple holes play really close to the road.
Other Thoughts: A short but quite fun course not too far (20 mins) from the strip.

Worth bringing a couple discs if you need some reprieve from the chaos on the strip.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    11/8/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 53  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.1 Years
Pros: Beautiful oasis in the desert! The grass was green, and the equipment was in decent shape. Plenty of parking and restrooms. Nice variety of shots - long/short; straight/arched; even/high/low. Something for everybody to love!
Cons: Multi-use park with lots of non-DGers, so we had to skip around to get all the holes in. Very windy, which seems to be common around town. I had to play real conservative to not lose shots into the street or over fences.
Other Thoughts: The tunnel shot on #1 sets up the course and really makes for a fun round! If you can, come during the week, when most kids are in school, and folks are working, so that you reduce your chance of encountering wandering targets. I will definitely come back and play again next time I'm in town! This would have been a 5-disc review if not for the multi-use aspect of the park, otherwise, this is the cream of the crop as far as I'm concerned!

 Fun Public Park Course

2-4    10/26/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 71  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintained park with a great view of Las Vegas. It's a shame they are thinking of pulling the park as it's one of the best ones in Vegas.

The Tees are flat and well marked so it makes navigation without a map really easy. Some of the markers are upside down for some reason, but they are still well done with satellite views so it's not a guessing game as to where the baskets are, which is good since some of them are blind shots.

Hole 1 was awesome, a straight upshot through narrow trees made it a very difficult hole for anyone who can't throw very straight and low for a long distance.

The course makes great use of the terrain and the layout, for the most part, is meant to allow for disc golfers and park goers to all be happy.
Cons: There are a plethora of people in this park, so I can see why there is the threat of pulling the course if golfers aren't cautious. We had a group of girls playing soccer on hole 2 so we skipped it, but didn't have any other issues the rest of the round, and given how busy it was it seems that the park goers are pretty mindful of the course.

As mentioned, some of the markers are upside down and a couple are torn. Pretty petty con, I know, so that should give you an indication of why this is a well rated park, there isn't much to complain about at all.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a fun park to play. It didn't have the long open shots that you find at Sunset, but it also doesn't have the jagged disk eating rocks of Red Ridge.

The design was very well done in my opinion. The layout flows very well.

I agree with all of the other reviewers when I say to be very courteous on this course. With the blind shots and close pavilions it could be tempting to just throw without having a spotter or not lay it up when people are around, but with the heavy usage it's a bad gamble to take, (Vegas reference, hahaha).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Grassy Knoll in the Desert

1    9/24/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: jasonc
Played: 143  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice park-style course that offers plenty of variety.

The Park District does a very nice job keeping the grass alive. This was a pleasant surprise in the middle of the desert.

The baskets were nice, but the loop for the inner ring of chains was missing from most of the baskets. I am assuming that some kids with too much time on their hands caused this, so I am not listing baskets as a "con". Hopefully the local club or park district will handle this issue in the near future.

The teepads were nice and level.

The signs were good, but some were mounted upside-down. I found myself tilting my head on more than a few holes to try and figure out where to look for the next basket.

I believe #1 was the signature hole here. This will become a rather difficult hole as the trees mature over time.

On several holes, the basket was not visible from the teepad either because of trees or elevation changes.

The available elevation was utilized very well here.

The walking path/sidewalk can and should be used as OB. This will add some difficulty to a mostly open layout.
Cons: There are various other park activities and shelters that are located very close to some fairways. On a nice day, this course is an accident waiting to happen. As other reviewers have mentioned, please be careful and don't hit anyone.

#13--#16 are close to the road. This could cause problems on windy days. It was very windy for my round and thankfully I only had 1 disc land in the street.
Other Thoughts: Pro/advanced level players will find some difficult holes here on their first round, but will most likely still score very well.

Recreational level and new players will be challenged here at Mountain Crest.

This is a fun course with plenty of opportunities for alternate tees and/or safari holes.

I would be happy to play another round here on my next trip to Vegas.

Please be careful and don't gamble on this course. I know it's tempting while here in Vegas. ;) However, please use caution and spotters if other park users or disc golfers are in the vicinity of whichever hole you are playing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/2/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: bdodson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like that you can go throw some plastic and get a round in in an hour.

The grass is nice and green in the middle of dead heat summer.

Layout is good use of the land available
Cons: Not disc golf dedicated and public use is public use. I am happy to have the course here so I hope disc golfers are courteous. EG there were about 1000 people there tonight so I got seven holes in (with my two my boys) and was happy that I got those 7 in (holiday weekend)

I am not a big fan of some of the pin locations, lots of sidewalks creating difficult islands left to chance rather than skill....maybe i am just not good enough for the skill!
Other Thoughts: There is risk of the course being pulled because of the bad apples, I do my part and say hi to the other users and let them have the right of way. This is defintely not a championship course but for those who like to play for fun this is a good spot

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.