Las Vegas, NV
Mountain Crest Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 341ft.   3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 New Vegas DG Vs. Old Vegas DG

2-4    9/1/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 baskets. Brand new DiscCatchers. Easy to navigate. Many extras such as bathrooms, trash cans everywhere, benches near or on almost every tee. Good use of a small area to create challenges.
Cons: Multiple use park. Many things and activities to do at this park so on a busy day I imagine the threat of hitting people would be high. Windy, with many holes near a busy street and not far from backyards of residential community. (not sure if the wind is common, but each time I visited Las Vegas the wind was obnoxious, LOL.)
Other Thoughts: I titled this review New Vegas Vs. Old Vegas, this comes from a comparison between Mountain Crest and Sunset Park (the other Vegas course I have reviewed). Sunset has older baskets and is an older course, from what I can tell, and seems to be old school Vegas DG. Mountain Crest seems brand new! This is seriously one of the most beautiful parks I have played disc golf in. Restrooms, trash cans, benches! Playgrounds, workout stations, sprinklers, I mean this park has EVERYTHING plus disc golf! If I lived near here I could see my family coming and enjoying the park as I played a full round. Just idyllic! Still and all I feel the course itself is basic. Not enough trees to raise the bar, but just enough to add a bit of challenge. Back to my comparison, Sunset is an old school challenging course with many mandos and OB's to raise the challenge and extra holes on top of the 18. Mountain Crest doesn't have the same challenges, but the overall amenities of this gorgeous park more than makes up for it. Thus I rate both parks a three, but for different reasons.

Favorite Holes and Notes:

Hole 1: Neat little tunnel shot between a long row of trees, but of course with no mando to mark it, most will throw around the tunnel. I didn't. Threw right down the tunnel and still made par. Treat as a mando for extra fun!

Hole 7: Up a hill and the down the backside of the hill. Can't even really see the basket over the hill top. Very fun and with a lot of wind a nice challenge.

Hole 12, 13, ect: These holes are on the edge of the park. the Tee boxes are on or near the street. They have spray painted on them warnings about not climbing over the walls of nearby homes to retrieve discs. If you are like me, you'll look at them and the homes across the street and scoff, but due to the aggressive wind, my first throw sailed across the street, but thankfully not over the wall. Wow! Pay attention to the warnings!!!!!! Still thanks to the wind, these holes can be very tricky and if they have the tee boxes painted with warnings I'm sure I am not the first or last to end up near the homes and deep in OB.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A solid course

5+    6/10/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: OMGChaos
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is clean, green, and almost impossible to lose a disc on. Great course for beginners.
Cons: It can get really crowded on nice days, and weekends especially. Plenty of people don't even realize there is a disc golf course on the park, and are totally oblivious to it. Patience is a must.
Other Thoughts: Great course overall. Not super challenging, but a good quick course for players looking for some shorter holes and limited obstacles

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Grassy park!

1    2/23/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: JDee
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was a lot of fun. I'm from salt lake and I loved visiting this course. It's not to difficult, but I love that you get to drive on almost every hole.
-Fairly open with a few trees. Grassy terrain so you will never lose a disc.
-was not very crouded when i went. If i was in Vegas longer, I would have definately played this course again. I will play it a few times next year when i visit again.
-Tee's were great, every whole marked very well.
-One of the most well kept courses I've been too.
Cons: -They day I went it was very windy. I'm not sure if this is common, but it is an open and fairly flat park, so I would imagine it gets pretty windy often. Despite the wind, this course is fun!
-People sitting around the grassy areas by trees in the shade. Just be careful of the people in the area just enjoying the park on a sunny day.
Other Thoughts: -I would have loved to have played this course multiple times on my trip to Vegas. I will play it again next February and I'll update this post if I have any more thoughts about the course.
-For a first timer at this course, i would absolutely recommend it. I look forward to playing it again.
Difficult? Not really.
Fun? Yes!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Perfect example of what's possible in a community park

2-4    4/15/2011   4/15/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome integration of 18-holes into an otherwise great multi-purpose neighborhood park. Amazing variety of shots throughout the course, with no feel of repitition. The designers really maximized the dimensions of the park, and the entire grounds is immaculately clean. Gotta love that short spongy Vegas grass!
Cons: The par 4 signage is a joke. The entire course should play par 3, with the exception of #10 which is a legit par 4 (stated as a par 5). Playing for the first time without a map, I probably added about 20 mins to the round looking for teepads. Playing the walkways and non-grassy areas as OB would certainly increase the challenge level to an otherwise easy course.
Other Thoughts: I was instantly stoked the moment I pulled into the parking lot and located the course starting point. For an "artificial" course, this is as good as it gets...every residential neighborhood out there should have one of these!
For what it's worth, here's my personal ranking of the 8 courses in Las Vegas:
1. Mountain Crest
2. Peccole Ranch
3. Red Ridge
4. Sunset
5. Freedom
6. Paseo Verde
7. Cason's Davis Park
8. Anthem
** I can't wait to play Mt Charleston someday!!
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (terrific layout in a busy park)
Difficulty: B (flat; pars come easy)
Fun factor: A (rewarding birdies; just the right distances)
Aesthetics: A (super clean; manicured; will only get better)
---------------------
Overall: A-

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A nice park-style course

2-4    4/6/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simple to navigate-almost all the tees are within 60 feet of the last basket and all baskets are visible from the tee area

You won't lose a disc here.

Easily strollerable

Playground for the kids in the middle where you can play around them and keep an eye on them

Good variation of length on holes

Concrete tees in nice shape

Baskets in great shape

Almost all the holes had signs, all but 2 or so had accurate distances on them

Nice bathrooms and water fountains

If you play sidewalks, streets, parking lots, and desert areas as OB, there are some interesting risk/reward shots where you have to choose to lay up or go for it

Tons of lights. Easy to finish a round after dark.

All the locals I met were nice; didn't notice any pot smoking going on at all

Very fast- I was worried I wouldn't get a round in before dark and I got 1 1/2 rounds in before dark and easily finished by park lights
Cons: Pretty hard to take a 5 on any hole. My first round I played I threw 13 pars in a row in some high wind. There just aren't that many obstacles out there. Some scattered trees are the only obstacles, but most are so short you can throw over them. For example, the first hole is designed as a difficult 300+ foot tunnel shot. But anyone in their right mind would just throw a big hyzer around the right side of the tunnel. Most of the trees are 20 feet high or less. So in general it is a "drive and putt" course for anyone who can drive 300-350. If your drive is accurate you get a short putt. If it isn't, you get a long putt then a drop in par. Only one hole will force a 300 foot driving player to throw a significant upshot.

A fair number of walkers in the park. I never had to wait long, but I did have to wait several times during a round

Only one set of tees and one basket placement

Random posted pars-I don't see why par in disc golf doesn't mean the same as in ball golf. I'm no pro and I shot 12 under the posted par my first time to the park. Give me a break. If you can make par without any single throw being longer than 100 feet the par is wrong.

No water

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Most Complete Vegas Course in Terms of Course Design

1    11/19/2010   12/5/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Most Complete Course in Vegas. When compared to Sunset and some of the other courses in Vegas, Mountain Crest is a more complete course. Short holes, long holes, medium holes, hyzer shots, straight shots, (although no forced anhyzers/sidearms), lots of OB, and a few holes with great use of the minimal elevation available. On several Holes I threw my putter and mids off the tee… as compared to Sunset where I never threw any putters or mids off the tee.
- Concrete Tees/Signage. Like the other Vegas courses, Mountain Crest had beautiful concrete tees with a textured surface. Every hole also had adequate tee-signs… nothing special, but adequate enough to help with shot selection and navigation.
Cons:
- Potential Danger. The park is definitely a multi-use park… playgrounds, picnic shelters, walking paths, parking lots, etc are all in play… The hole that throws past the gazebo is especially questionable; I could easily see somebody wiping out a birthday party. There are also several holes that shoot towards or along a busy street and the potential for a noob to yank one out there is probably one of the safer bets you could make in Vegas.
Other Thoughts:
- Lots of Golfers in Vegas. The course was packed. There were groups on every hole. This is great for the Vegas golf community, but it may slow down your round a little. We saw groups at every course we went to, but Mountain Crest was the busiest.
- Overall. Overall, I felt that Mountain Crest was the most complete course in Vegas. It was definitely less redundant than Sunset in terms of types of shots needed and length of holes, and was super fun to play. However, the course is too small to have a major event, and therefore probably has to be ranked the second best course in town.
- Chicago Brewery. I've been to more than 70 microbreweries during my travels and the Chicago Brewery, which is approximately 6 miles away from the course, is Fantastic! Of the 10 beers I sampled, 9 were better than 90% of other beers that I've had of that same style. And, their food was great too. I highly recommend their hot pastrami with cole slaw.
- My Las Vegas Rankings. I played 6 of the 7 courses in Vegas during a recent business trip. My rankings are: Sunset, Mountain Crest, Red Ridge, Pecole Ranch, Freedom, Carson Davis.
- My Score: -4 with 9 missed putts (post-brewery visit - Yikes!)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite in Vegas

1    10/2/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: drickanderson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a lot in the way of challenge, elevation and risk/reward. There a few holes that are longish but the shorter ones are offset by OB-surrounded baskets, and blind shots over hills and around trees. If you play with strict OB rules, this can be a very challenging course.

The landscaping is beautiful, and the grass is fantastic. It's beneficial to have somebody with you that knows the course, but the signs are sufficient if you don't.

I regularly play Sunset and Red Ridge, and can tell you that I prefer this course of the three. The only thing that would keep me from playing it more is the long drive from my house.
Cons: As stated previously, a few of the holes drive along the road-side, but they're shorter holes, and can be reached using a putter from the tee, so it really isn't that big of an issue.
Other Thoughts: There were a lot of people in the park when we played, and the guy that I played with said that it wasn't as bad as it usually is, and they generally have to skip a few holes because there are people in the way. I would suggest getting on the course in the wee hours of the morning to avoid the traffic.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/14/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: KJTchouop
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Certainly, this is the most attractive course in town. Although it tends to run a little shortish on distance for many of the holes, there still are some challenges for the seasoned player. It's a really nice park with picnic areas, playgrounds, water fountains, bathrooms, etc.
Cons: This course would be better if they had just a little more room. It feels like they could have made a great fifteen hole course, but had to figure out a way to cram in three more holes. A couple of holes are a bit confusing as to where to go for your next drive. A few holes run parallel to residential streets, so be prepared to lose a disc on an errant throw that flies over a six foot wall into a yard. The back nine isn't as interesting as the front nine, save for a couple of great holes right after the turn.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Oasis in the dessert

1    8/13/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Startlingly good grass makes you want to play this course barefooted. You can park right at the first tee, which is concrete with great signage. We played on a Saturday morning, and talked to a few locals for help a couple of times. Everyone was very friendly.

The course is in excellent shape. Several trees appear to have been planted just for the course play, and the layout uses the park in a great way. A disc golf course with out tons of underbrush and thorns? Sign me up, as often as possible.

For the beginners this course is appealing because there are plenty of trees, but nothing to lose your disc in. An errant shot will be easy to find and get back on track. For more experienced players, striving for even par or less will never leave you bored.

The first hole is fun, with a tree lined alley to shoot through, or if you're a 300+ guy, hyser that bad boy past them all and gor for the money shot!

A handful of the holes use the gentle rolling hills to their advantage, with an occasional blind shot.

Most of the tee boxes are framed nicely by vegetation or the terrain itself.
Cons: Very minor. A couple of approaches are towards the street, but the way the course is landscaped you'd have to miss awfully bad for it to matter.

One hole drives parallel to a street and if you drift right you could be in trouble.

I put these in here just to have something to put here. This is a wonderful course with no real drawbacks.
Other Thoughts: There are water fountains, bathrooms, ample parking close to the starting tee, sidewalks, and friendly locals.

The tees are concrete and baskets are Innova double chain. The signs have useful diagrams, distances, and (my personal favorite) arrows to the next tee. If you can't enjoy a morning round of disc golf here, please take up spelunking.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Worth the Trip

1    6/20/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: Martog
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 38.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Friendly People
Some Challenging holes and obsticles
Long shots and short - good mix
Great newbie 18 hole coarse and a nice outing for groups of more experienced players
Some holes have nicely hidden baskets
All n All - worth my time to cross town to play once a week.
Cons: All the short holes seem to be bundled at the end of the coarse
Some holes overlap in the center of the park but not too badly
Baskets near the streets in a couple of cases
Other Thoughts: I believe this coarse has potential. I am glad I made the trip accross town to play it and will do it again many times in the near future.
I wish the parks here would open a few pro shops on site. I would be willing to open them up myself and staff them. It is so much more convienient for players to stop by and see equipment at the park.

Martog

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.