Las Vegas, NV 
Mountain Crest Park Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #4 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 320ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Mountain Crest park

1    8/1/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Young park with plenty of potential
Nicely kept and clean
Lawn all-around
Some holes nicely framed
Restrooms, picnic tables, water play area, bbq
Elevation used well
Not too much foot traffic due to heat (it is Las Vegas)
All pins are baskets (though some are a little bent)
Concrete pads
Signage (on some)
You can easily find your way around
Friendly people
Cons: Some of the signage is missing
When the grass is irrigated some of the tee pads when wet or flooded
The back nine can get redundant
Long drive from the strip (I was on vacation): 20-25 minutes
Other Thoughts: The park is young so the trees don't play a big factor but when they grow up this course will definitely be more difficult. By the way, if you throw your disc into a park yard consider it gone. There is signage to not jump into back yards because the city could pull the course. If you're in town I recommend Sunset Park first but this little course is definitely not a waste of time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Crest

1    8/2/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: ikirumata
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park is well maintained. The Ts are in great shape. All of the signs are present. Quiet park away from lots of traffic.
Cons: The fairways are too close together and sometimes overlap. The course flow is sometimes confusing and for first timers, finding the next hole can be tough. A couple holes end next to the road, so overshooting the hole may land your disc into the road. Lots of other park users around. The sprinkers were on while we were playing (early sunday morning). Until the trees fully grow, the course overall is easy and some holes are pretty uninspiring (there is an 85' hole).
Other Thoughts: There are a lot of things that bug me about this park, but I can see it having a lot more potential, especially once the newly planted trees grow up. Most of the holes are fairly short, but there are a couple holes that allow you to open it up. This park is one of those that is a finesse park rather than a big arm park.

I am used to the parks in North Texas where the rough is very...rough. You can spend a lot of time looking for your discs. Mountain Crest is like a godsend in that aspect. Unless you throw your disc into someone's yard (or on their roof), you shouldn't have any problems with losing your discs. Even though there are a lot of other park users, the ones we came across were very accomodating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not very challenging yet still very fun

1    7/16/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: justint97
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perfectly Manicured

Tee's and baskets extremely easy to find, which to me is not typical

Water fountains & bathrooms are a plus

Nice mixture of short and long holes with moderate obsticals
Cons: No shade during play, however there are covered benches spiratically placed.
Other Thoughts: It was a fun & fast course to play without much traffic on the course. I would recomend this course to anyone, beginner or pro.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Bit Better Than Average

2-4    5/13/2008   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nicest course in Vegas

5+    3/8/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: Sleeping Giant
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park, green grass, decent mix of short and long holes.
Cons: Could be more difficult and could have a few longer holes.
Other Thoughts: This is our weekly course. The players are friendly and people don't get in your way much. We usually play around 9AM so usually the only people there are throwers. I prefer playing this course over Sunset because it's a nicer park and there are fewer people clogging the fairways doing other park related activities.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Vegas

2-4    1/7/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: ThrowTennesseeDCM
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots. Great tee signs, and well marked. Young trees that will become quite challenging in the years to come.
Cons: Last five holes are VERY short to keep people from throwing into a neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: Great course given the setting. Best and most maintained course in Vegas. Better Part of town than Sunset Park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/28/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 38.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained park.Fun course,Good T Pads,
Cons: Basicially open,Crowded on the weekends.Plays on or near walking paths.
Other Thoughts: They did all they could do with the space they had.It's a course.Actually the cleanest and best Vegas has to offer I M O.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty to the northwest

2-4    5/4/2008   8/24/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, new course. Open & relatively flat so it's an easy walk. Nice long holes mixed with short. Trees and lanscaping come into play.
Cons: It's a mult-use park so there are picnics & people running all around the course. It's pretty open so if (when) it's windy it's a little tough.
Other Thoughts: It's a long drive out here but it's a nice part of town. I highly recommend it!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/11/2008   8/11/2008
Review By: ebbs
Played: 96  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 24.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great teepads and signs once you find tee, mowed grass, trash p/up, course is in vegas, can play course with 5 discs
Cons: no course maps, many park people, not challenging
Other Thoughts: pitch and putt for the most part
Course provides true lines and is very short, but you do need 2 drivers in the bag for 4 to 5 holes. The other holes can be played with a magnet or a buzz off the tee. Sunset is still the course to play in Vegas and i was disapointed that I came to this course and "practiced my putting". A few trees come in to play around the course but for the most part it is a simple course with baskets. The park is very nice and is set up in a perfect square like the rest of the city blocks out west. It may be 2 blocks and you weave back and forth in the square. The tax payers get a good return with perfect grass and people picking up trash daily. Stay near the strip and play Sunset especially if time is limited. I have never been to Freedom Park in the area but the locals told me that people use the baskets for drying their clothes, trash receptacles, and possibly grilling out which didn't sound like too much fun.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice Course

7/1/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 37  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed course, nice tee pads, relaxing all around game. Fairly short holes, with little trees, but the trees are very young still. As this course matures, it will become much more challenging. Most of the course is very short, but there are still a few long pins. OB makes shots a bit more challenging and comes in to play on the back quite a bit.

Great for practice, and for recreational play, very comfortable park.
Cons: A bit repetitious, especially on the back 9. Some days the traffic makes a number of holes unplayable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.