Las Vegas, NV
Mountain Crest Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 293ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun Quick Easy

1    11/18/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: andylibrande
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course that is in a well-maintained park. Relatively short and straight-forward but uses the terrain much better then most city-type parks. Loved how all of the grass was in good condition and how well the park was maintained.

We had a rest day in Las Vegas and showed-up here with no research and it was easy to find and easy to play. Played on a Monday mid-morning and the only people in the park were other disc-golfers so it was nice and relaxed.
Cons: Hole #1 is not marked but is relatively obvious. Otherwise all other holes were well-marked except the walk to #18 (still easy to find).
Other Thoughts: Great spot for a quick and straight-forward round of disc golf.

Nothing too challenging but still interesting to play in a nice park setting.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent open park course

1    1/24/2013   2/1/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large multi-use park. The fairways are grassy and nicely groomed with lurking sidewalk and desert OB on many of the holes. If you play all these as OB, it adds quite a bit of risk to some of the shots especially when running the basket from the tee. There is a wide range of hole lengths, from ace runs to longer shots that let you rip a longer drive.

The trees are pretty scattered and most are fairly small, but the design uses them fairly well. Most of the drives feel pretty open but you do have to consider shot placement and there are a couple holes where you have to hit a specific line to get your birdie.
Cons: I like the chance to throw some longer drives in the open, but there's a little too much of that on this course. There isn't a whole lot more to work with but it still allows for pretty simple hyzers on just about every shot. A couple spots have some awkward flow, make sure to take a map and pay attention to the directional markers for the next tee on each tee sign. The sidewalk didn't seem too crowded, but with several blind shots crossing the walkways there is a potential for safety issues and conflicts with other park users.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course longer but forgiving, with no punishment for errant shots and no lost discs. More experienced players will find this an ok place to work on longer drives and shot placement in the wind, but not many technical line shaping skills are necessary here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    12/29/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: HEATER
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked course with the land and baskets in great shape.

Great use of the land.

Great signage and easy to navigate except the walk from 17-18.

Mostly short holes between 200 and 325 feet with one or two over 400.

Good use of the slight elevation changes through the park.

Great views of the mountains in the background.

Can be played quickly if not busy.

Met some friendly locals.
Cons: Played on a Saturday afternoon and the park was packed! Saw two mob groups of 8 players on the course that created a substantial backup for many holes.

A couple holes on the back 9 are downright dangerous. 13 comes to mind where the basket is a blind shot and directly over a walking path.

A couple holes play really close to the road.
Other Thoughts: A short but quite fun course not too far (20 mins) from the strip.

Worth bringing a couple discs if you need some reprieve from the chaos on the strip.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    11/8/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: Beautiful oasis in the desert! The grass was green, and the equipment was in decent shape. Plenty of parking and restrooms. Nice variety of shots - long/short; straight/arched; even/high/low. Something for everybody to love!
Cons: Multi-use park with lots of non-DGers, so we had to skip around to get all the holes in. Very windy, which seems to be common around town. I had to play real conservative to not lose shots into the street or over fences.
Other Thoughts: The tunnel shot on #1 sets up the course and really makes for a fun round! If you can, come during the week, when most kids are in school, and folks are working, so that you reduce your chance of encountering wandering targets. I will definitely come back and play again next time I'm in town! This would have been a 5-disc review if not for the multi-use aspect of the park, otherwise, this is the cream of the crop as far as I'm concerned!

Fun Public Park Course

2-4    10/26/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintained park with a great view of Las Vegas. It's a shame they are thinking of pulling the park as it's one of the best ones in Vegas.

The Tees are flat and well marked so it makes navigation without a map really easy. Some of the markers are upside down for some reason, but they are still well done with satellite views so it's not a guessing game as to where the baskets are, which is good since some of them are blind shots.

Hole 1 was awesome, a straight upshot through narrow trees made it a very difficult hole for anyone who can't throw very straight and low for a long distance.

The course makes great use of the terrain and the layout, for the most part, is meant to allow for disc golfers and park goers to all be happy.
Cons: There are a plethora of people in this park, so I can see why there is the threat of pulling the course if golfers aren't cautious. We had a group of girls playing soccer on hole 2 so we skipped it, but didn't have any other issues the rest of the round, and given how busy it was it seems that the park goers are pretty mindful of the course.

As mentioned, some of the markers are upside down and a couple are torn. Pretty petty con, I know, so that should give you an indication of why this is a well rated park, there isn't much to complain about at all.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a fun park to play. It didn't have the long open shots that you find at Sunset, but it also doesn't have the jagged disk eating rocks of Red Ridge.

The design was very well done in my opinion. The layout flows very well.

I agree with all of the other reviewers when I say to be very courteous on this course. With the blind shots and close pavilions it could be tempting to just throw without having a spotter or not lay it up when people are around, but with the heavy usage it's a bad gamble to take, (Vegas reference, hahaha).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Grassy Knoll in the Desert

1    9/24/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: jasonc
Played: 120  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice park-style course that offers plenty of variety.

The Park District does a very nice job keeping the grass alive. This was a pleasant surprise in the middle of the desert.

The baskets were nice, but the loop for the inner ring of chains was missing from most of the baskets. I am assuming that some kids with too much time on their hands caused this, so I am not listing baskets as a "con". Hopefully the local club or park district will handle this issue in the near future.

The teepads were nice and level.

The signs were good, but some were mounted upside-down. I found myself tilting my head on more than a few holes to try and figure out where to look for the next basket.

I believe #1 was the signature hole here. This will become a rather difficult hole as the trees mature over time.

On several holes, the basket was not visible from the teepad either because of trees or elevation changes.

The available elevation was utilized very well here.

The walking path/sidewalk can and should be used as OB. This will add some difficulty to a mostly open layout.
Cons: There are various other park activities and shelters that are located very close to some fairways. On a nice day, this course is an accident waiting to happen. As other reviewers have mentioned, please be careful and don't hit anyone.

#13--#16 are close to the road. This could cause problems on windy days. It was very windy for my round and thankfully I only had 1 disc land in the street.
Other Thoughts: Pro/advanced level players will find some difficult holes here on their first round, but will most likely still score very well.

Recreational level and new players will be challenged here at Mountain Crest.

This is a fun course with plenty of opportunities for alternate tees and/or safari holes.

I would be happy to play another round here on my next trip to Vegas.

Please be careful and don't gamble on this course. I know it's tempting while here in Vegas. ;) However, please use caution and spotters if other park users or disc golfers are in the vicinity of whichever hole you are playing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/2/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: bdodson
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like that you can go throw some plastic and get a round in in an hour.

The grass is nice and green in the middle of dead heat summer.

Layout is good use of the land available
Cons: Not disc golf dedicated and public use is public use. I am happy to have the course here so I hope disc golfers are courteous. EG there were about 1000 people there tonight so I got seven holes in (with my two my boys) and was happy that I got those 7 in (holiday weekend)

I am not a big fan of some of the pin locations, lots of sidewalks creating difficult islands left to chance rather than skill....maybe i am just not good enough for the skill!
Other Thoughts: There is risk of the course being pulled because of the bad apples, I do my part and say hi to the other users and let them have the right of way. This is defintely not a championship course but for those who like to play for fun this is a good spot

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lot of sun but more trees than you'd think

5+    11/21/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 102  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was afraid that this Vegas course would be completely open with barely any trees. Honestly, the pictures make it looks more open that it plays. The design forces you to consider the trees - which tend to be on the younger side - along with a variety of desert landscaping. Although there are some holes where you can just rip a drive over the top of everything, I did find the design forcing me to throw some tough turnover shots in the stiff wind (if you didn't know, it's always windy in Vegas).

Holes range from 200 to over 500 feet, but most are in the 275-375 feet range. Navigation here was generally good, and many tee pads are easily visible from the last basket. It did take me awhile to find the tees for holes 12 and 18, even with the map.

The yellow baskets are easily visible, aside from the holes where the view is blocked from the tee.

If you play the desert landscaping as OB (you should), there are some good risk/reward shots.
Parking was plentiful.
Cons: The tee signs are all aerial photographs with a line from the basket, but the perspective doesn't change on the maps. So the map might show you throwing from the upper right to the lower left, which makes it a little tough to orient yourself ("okay, we're throwing toward that gazebo…is the basket to the right or left of it?"). The tees are not overly long, which may impede your run up.

There is a lot of throwing over sidewalks. I think this "con" gets overplayed sometimes, though. Are these sidewalks actually used heavily? Is this a real danger or theoretical? I was there in the middle of the afternoon on a Thursday. The park was getting used, but not much with pedestrians.

The course is pretty flat.

There are no alternate tees or basket positions from what I could tell. There is probably no room for alternate tees, but different positions could be a possibility.
Other Thoughts: This is the busiest course in town, but I've never seen it overcrowded.

My first round was on a 105-degree day at about 2:00pm. The heat was not as oppressive as I feared. It doesn't feel that different than a 90-degree day in the Midwest. But the direct sunlight is intense, so cover up. And if you're from out of town, you'll need more water than you're used to.

After playing every course in town, this one is my favorite.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 mountain crest

1    12/19/2011   12/21/2011
Review By: str8
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice beginner friendly course. Decent variety of shots required. Couple of holes with good length.
Cons: Missing some signs. Water hazards (sprinklers) made for some hurried shots and kicked up the chill (45-50 degree morning). Summertime play would get no shade.
Other Thoughts: Very clean, multi-use park. Multiple restrooms close by. Locals were friendly and helpful.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Windy and tight

1    8/31/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Auto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park was awesome and well kept. This is a course to bring the whole family out to. There is something for everyone. The course had concrete pads and a well maintianed area. There where challenging throws that border the street.
Cons: Some signs where missing and a few baskets where Close together which made it difficult to tell apart for your next shot.
Other Thoughts: It is a simple short course that is placed in a beautiful park sitting. This is a great beginners course. Really enjoyed.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.