Janesville, WI 
Lustig Park Share
Uploaded By: Tall__Paul Hole #2 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 401ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Lustig Park

2-4    10/3/2015   10/3/2015
Review By: thejetmechanic
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lustig is an 18 holer locacted in a really nice city park. Nothing fancy, yet definitley not boring. Disc golf is taking off in southern Wisconsin, and this course being busy is a direct result of that. The weekends here get busy, but I've never had to wait to play.

*Well kept grounds. Props to whoever maintains the course. Not a lot of brush to punish throws unless you really shank one.
*Massive tee pads
*Lots of parking near hole 1
*Very clean bathrooms and functional beverage machines also next to hole 1
*benches and garbage cans located on nearly every hole
*Lots of true par 3's keep it competitive
*A handful of baskets are right along the wood lines or slightly in the woods offering an interesting drive/approach shot
*some varrying elevation also adds somewhat of a challenge and a lot of fun on hole 12
*nice quiet neighborhood surrounds the course
Cons: *signs could use directional indicators of where the basket lies. The signs only list par and hole distance
*hole 16 sign completely missing
*can get a bit confusing distinguising which tee and basket is next on the front 9 because the holes are crammed together (I suggest snapping a pic of the course map on your smart phone before starting for reference while navigating)
*Crowded (not complaining, its great for the sport)
Other Thoughts: I love this place. For a typical course located in a city park this place uses the elevation and basket placement quite well. Facilities are well kept and in order. Difficult to lose a disc here. I would travel to this course if I didn't live in the area. Props to the guys running this place.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Shady Course

1    6/12/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: Dfixmer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Simple front 9 and varied back nine.
-Clearly marked and well maintained.
-Lots of shady trees.
Cons: -A few missing signs.
-No score cards or individual maps.
-Lots of bugs!
Other Thoughts: Tee boxes are in great shape. Lots of people playing- very popular.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/5/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Trrasico
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I love about this course is its mixture of open and nicely wooded areas. The trees are all huge old oak trees and spaced out. There is almost no risk of throwing your disc into the wilderness and losing it, or having to dig through dense forest to find it. I have been playing this course for the past 5 years I think and in my opinion, its the best course in the area. (Madison has it beat, but thats an hour away)
Cons: Gets somewhat busy but the majority of the time you can play without waiting for the people ahead of you.

Course can be kind of confusing to navigate first time playing, but my advice is to look for the metal plaque/inlay on the end of the cement tees. That little metal square is always at the BACK of the tee, so hopefully that will help you throw to the right basket if there is any confusion!
Other Thoughts: I believe that Alcohol is NOT allowed. Park has clean bathrooms and a water fountain next to the first tee. Well-maintained.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

1    5/28/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Harry Manback
Played: 32  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.4 Years
Pros: -Really nice use of the trees
-Challenging enough to keep you focused
-Multiple basket locations to keep that "new" feeling
Cons: -Not too much variety
-Seems like a sketchy area
Other Thoughts: Very nicely wooded course. Enough trees to force lines, yet still forgiving enough to not be an annoyance. Seemed to be some sketchy people when I played but nothing I was too worried about. Only one wide open hole with all the rest in varying levels of woodedness.

 Plenty of fun shots here

1    5/20/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: dehaas
Played: 67  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: GIANT concrete tee pads (some larger than the patio at my house).

Alternate basket placements.

Course was well kept; an appropriate amount of garbage cans and benches at tees.

Course uses slight elevation changes in park to its advantage. Many holes are under 300 feet but play longer due to elevation.

Good variety of shots (straight, righty, lefty).

All holes are reachable (many ace runs), great use natural lines shaped through large old trees.
Cons: Course has tee signs with distances, but no diagram of the hole itself. The front half of the course has many baskets and tees in view so knowing exactly where to throw might be a touch confusing for first timers.

Lots of bugs at the course, and I played around noon. I'm not from the area, so that may just be normal around these parts.

Many of the tees are near the basket from the previous hole. Lots of casual golfers (good thing), so watch out for errant shots that might come in at you from various angles.
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a great time at this course. The old trees shape lines throughout the course and pretty much every hole is reachable. The alternate pin placements looked like they aren't simply 10 feet away from the original placements. It's definitely a fun course to hit up if you're in the area.

Hole 12 will make you want to empty your entire bag, killer view of the park and a sweet golf hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/30/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: Hinduannex
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has great mix of open wooded long and short nice baskets
Grounds kept very clean
Bathrooms on site along with vending machines
Teepads nice and in great shape
Overall a solid fun course
Cons: My biggest concern is some of the crowd that plays here.
You'd think you were playing in the yard at the county jail at times
Other Thoughts: Worth a stop love changing it up and playing here

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Kinda Boring

1    8/10/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 189  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great concrete tees and decent signage. There a couple cool holes like 7, 12, and 16. 7 is a nice downhill 400 footer. 12 tees off very high and you must keep your drive from hyzering out ob to have a look a birdie. If you have a big arm you may want to throw a fairway driver on this hole. 16 is a tough birdie to get as you must first navigate through a tightish gap and then glide way right slightly uphill. There a couple tighter wooded holes here but not very many.
Cons: The lines here are not challenging at all. The sparse large trees just are not enough to force any lines. You can basically throw the same shot over and over on most of the holes. The course is also rather short and there is not many opportunities to throw drivers.

I was a bit confused on where to go next after the big downhill hole. Go to the hole on the right not the left after the downhill hole.
Other Thoughts: They did what they could with the land I suppose.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A good players course

1    5/1/2010   9/5/2012
Review By: Manimal
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice variety in shots, big oak tree canopy, and fairly well maintained. There's a really cool fence with a gate next to the courses wooded holes, with a creepy state mental ward nearby.

The shots vary but most hover around 300 feet in length, nothing too terribly technical but some shots are definitely challenging. Overall the balance of the course is player friendly and a great course for a casual round with friends. The longest hole is off the top of the hill on #12, which you can really open up on, otherwise most of the course can be played with fairway driver or a midrange
Cons: Can get congested in the beginning of the course, but seems to open up well once you're beyond the first few holes. Some holes are close to the park road and have the potential for you to hit cars, so be careful. There are some erosion problems where the ground is bare dirt, so plan on getting your discs a little dusty. Also, although course is balanced, it's not as technical as some may desire.

The large amount of oak leaves on the ground in fall can make your disc vanish when it lands, keep an eye out.
Other Thoughts: I've Aced-Hole 8-Eco Star Excalibur 175g

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/13/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: steinkecm
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: For the beginner, this would be a nice course.
Some of the tee-pads are REALLY nice.
The river is pretty.
Holes 10 and 11 are very nice.
Cons: Quite short for anyone above intermediate.
Some tee-pads are REALLY close to fairways on other holes.
Some tee-pads are noticeably shorter than the others.
Some of the baskets are really low. It's odd.
Other Thoughts: It's not that this is an awful course, it's just not a 3.5. I was actually a bit dissapointed when I drove down to play it, expecting something more from the ratings it had already received.

If you're down there already, play it. But don't travel very far to get there.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ringing Chains at Janes

1    8/8/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 323  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 14.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a very nice well kept park. Tee #1 is right next to the restroom and parking area. The park is scattered with large trees and slow rolling terrain. Some thicker rough lines the north side of the park.

Excellent concrete tee pads. They are plenty spacious and level!

The majority of the baskets have been updgraded to brand new Discraft Chainstars.

Tee signs on every hole. There were many with brand new print outs of the hole information.

This course was very easy to navigate. The only spot we missed was the transition from 12 to 13. We went to hole 15 on accident.

Hole #12 is super fun! Large hill with the basket out about 450 to 500ft. Road to the left out of bounds. Let rrrr Rip!

This is a great beginner course as there are very few places to lose a disc. It's a nice walk in the park.
Cons: The course is pretty basic in terms of see the basket and throw to it. Most had basic pick your route lines.

This course is fairly short considering it's 5,400 feet and pretty open. There are no real tunnel type holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an enjoyable course. It's a good option to play if you are traveling between Madison, Milwaukee, & Rockford.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.