Patton, PA 
Prince Gallitzin State Park Share
Uploaded By: timbur3 Hole #6 (Taken 5/2013)
4 / 729ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lakeside Course

2-4    5/2/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: timbur3
Played: 67  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Had some big long open holes to let it rip. The course also balances that with a majority of wooded holes that have tight areas to drive through. Baskets are top notch. There are a ton of little signs pointing you in the correct direction to the next hole. helps navigation a ton.
Cons: Tee pads were a little short in my opinion. Some holes seemed a bit overgrown and impossible to find a throwing lane. Really hard to find the course
Other Thoughts: Great view of the lake from some holes. Lots of other stuff to do at this park. bathrooms on site. some of the signs were falling out of the ground.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another Central PA Course by the Water

1    5/28/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: dm734593
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded course that also comes out of the woods for some long holes that can really test your distance game. One hole is 700'+! Some holes weave through trees so it makes it hard to keep it on the fairway to add some difficulty to the 9 hole course.
Cons: Kind of hard to find the first tee without knowing where the sign is. (Right side of parking lot when going in). Also, first few holes aren't very hard for the average disc golfer. Some holes are overgrown and not maintained too well.
Other Thoughts: A lot of amenities are around this disc golf course with it being in a state park. When I went, I took my fishing rod and did some fishing as well and made it a day out of it. Overall, 3.5 rating factoring in the course difficulty and the maintaining of the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Nine-Holer in Central PA!

2-4    5/25/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I live about 13 miles from here and it's definitely worth the drive every time! The glimmering shine of the lake and light peeking through the trees is a great atmosphere for disc golfing. Holes are marked very well from tee to tee with signs and wooden markers. The kiosk at the beginning has a lot of nice information on disc golf and a good score card. Bathrooms are also abundant in several places. I enjoy the variety of tight wooded passages and opportunities to launch my drivers as far as I can in open fields. The hole on number 7 is as beautiful as it is fun because you have to throw down a ravine with incredible accuracy. The course also wraps around pretty well. You won't have to worry about navigation here due to the good signage.

- Big arms will like some of the holes on this course (#4 and 6 come in to mind, with the latter being a 700+ foot drive) due to the fact that some holes are quite open.

- There's also a technical challenge. Holes #2,3,5,7,& 8 will require threading hardwoods on some narrow gaps. Hole #5 is the signature hole, with a double dogleg 565ft path to a well-guarded basket.
Cons: - I'm not a big fan of hole 8--just seems like a filler hole to me. Seems like the hole rewards more luck than skill, as there's no definitive line to hit.

- Not a very beginner-friendly course. Sure, you could bring a newbie here, but he/she will hit a ton of trees and get frustrated on the 500-700ft holes.

- Hole 9 plays close to heavy picnicking/beach activity. Watch for oblivious people before you throw.
Other Thoughts: Pennsylvania's state recreation and conservation agency, the DCNR, takes really nice care of the disc golf courses in its state parks; Prince Gallitzin is no exception. The best time to go is in the evening, when the warm glow of the sun shines in through the trees. The Blair-Bedford-Cambria Disc Golf Organization is looking to make this course 18 holes in the future. If that happens, this will join IUP College Lodge as the premiere disc golf destination in west-central PA.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Big courses need big arms...

2-4    4/5/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: Brida
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very large..in scale and fun. Every hole has a bench at it in case you need a rest or want to have a bite on your favorite hole. The course is very well marked even as far as to post 3 or 4 signs between holes to let you know you are going in the right direction. This course also has running water and TWO sets of bathrooms. Parking puts you right at the the first hole and is right in the middle of all the holes so you have easy access to your car if need be. The course really challenges all aspects of your game, especially your arm strength.
Cons: Maybe a little to much woods for the beginners ,but I liked the challenge. You really need an arm for some of the holes and you definetly need an accurate short game.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and my scores sucked so you know I really must have liked to have it kick my ass and still love it. Very much worth the drive from State College. An added bonus is the ability to take a dip in the lake if the heat gets to you!!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.