Patton, PA 
Prince Gallitzin State Park Share
Uploaded By: timbur3 Hole #2 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Favorite Course near Altoona (So Far)

1    5/26/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: obi1keno
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.9 Years
Pros: This course is very very nice! The holes are long and challenging. Hole 6 is over 700 ft long and wide open!! I needed two monster drives just to get an approach to the hole. That was pretty awesome. I played in mid-spring so the trees were pretty full and the grass very green. The grassy fairways were well maintained for the most part. Some areas needed a mow, but it wasn't hindering play at all. There are plenty of opportunities for awesome (and lucky) throws thru the trees and out in the open fields. The fairways in the woods are usually straight and narrow so it can be difficult to throw far on those holes without getting off course. The walks between each hole can be long, but the course is excellently marked and I had no problem finding the basket and next tee for every hole. This is my favorite course so far in the Altoona area! Also, found no poison ivy off the fairways and that's always a plus!
Cons: As with most courses, the first tee can be tricky to find as it is near the corner of a HUGE parking lot. If you follow the Local Directions, you should find it without too much difficulty. The course isn't super challenging to start, but for me that didn't take away from the fun. Some of the tees need a little maintenance. The biggest con is this is only 9 holes. If it had a back 9 as great as the 9 that are there now, it would rank nearly 5 stars in my opinion. Even a second tee location would be great. Can't wait to go back and play again!
Other Thoughts: Prince Gallitzin State Park is very nice. The park itself is large and provides a ton of entertainment from swimming to fishing to camping to cooking out to sun bathing on the lake beach and much more. Come for the day and bring the family for more than just disc golf. Bathrooms are on site and there are plenty of other things to do. It's a PA state park so it's completely free to enter and do stuff.

Lakeside Course

2-4    5/2/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Had some big long open holes to let it rip. The course also balances that with a majority of wooded holes that have tight areas to drive through. Baskets are top notch. There are a ton of little signs pointing you in the correct direction to the next hole. helps navigation a ton.
Cons: Tee pads were a little short in my opinion. Some holes seemed a bit overgrown and impossible to find a throwing lane. Really hard to find the course
Other Thoughts: Great view of the lake from some holes. Lots of other stuff to do at this park. bathrooms on site. some of the signs were falling out of the ground.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another Central PA Course by the Water

1    5/28/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: dm734593
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded course that also comes out of the woods for some long holes that can really test your distance game. One hole is 700'+! Some holes weave through trees so it makes it hard to keep it on the fairway to add some difficulty to the 9 hole course.
Cons: Kind of hard to find the first tee without knowing where the sign is. (Right side of parking lot when going in). Also, first few holes aren't very hard for the average disc golfer. Some holes are overgrown and not maintained too well.
Other Thoughts: A lot of amenities are around this disc golf course with it being in a state park. When I went, I took my fishing rod and did some fishing as well and made it a day out of it. Overall, 3.5 rating factoring in the course difficulty and the maintaining of the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Follow Me

1    7/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Long-n-wide flat rubber teepads. Very well marked with obvious paths and plenty of "next tee" signs - an extremely simple course to navigate. Bathroom, concessions, water (as in to jump in on a hot summer's day) available.
Cons:
Single tee/single basket. Quite flat. Small chance to interfere with other park users.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a clockwise direction in the gently wooded and open space of yet another high-quality, free-to-enter Pennsylvania park. #4 and #6 provide you the chance to really crank loose across open fields, while the remaining holes make you throw straight, left-, or right-turning through tree-lined paths of various tightness (nothing extreme). #5 is probably the most challenging hole - a long, sharp-right-turner, with a little left-hook at the end to find the basket. Most holes in the 300' range, with 5 & 6 considerably longer.

The entrance to the park is also marked as "Buck Road". Depending upon where you park, may also start at tee #4 or tee #6. Course flows in a clockwise direction.

Fun play with non-DG options for other family members. Probably most appropriate for Intermediate/Advanced players.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Prince could one day be a King

1    5/17/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nine holes in the deep isolation of central PA mountains. Beautiful Forrest and Lakeside setting for a disc golf course. Mixes 2 open field holes with 4 in the woods and 3 mixed. The most perfectly marked course I have ever played. Navigation signs and Tee signs assured you never got lost and always knew what to expect and where you were going. Rubber tees in ample condition. Parking, Info, benches, seating and nice bathrooms onsite. The middle 5 holes are excellent disc golf holes and would be fun holes on any course. Hole #3 is a difficult wooded anhyzer slightly uphill that makes the 270 feet feel a bit further. Hole #4 gets into the wide open and allows a chance to rip across a beautifully mowed grass field to a protected basket tucked in the woodline across the field. A fun hole that rewards a precise long drive at 359 feet. Hole #5 is the most pro worthy hole a 565 foot drive up a tight but honest fairway to a wooded landing area and then down another fairway to a very wooded green. This is a very good hole and seems almost out of place on a 9 hole course! Hole #6 is an even bigger drive across an open field to a basket tucked even deeper into the woods on the other side of the field. There is an access road about 250-350 ft across the field that is OOB to make it interesting. This is another hole that allows a few big rips but rewards a controlled approach drive into the woods to score a par 4 on this 729 footer! Hole 7 is the best hole on the course. A clever par 3 shoots downhill a tight wooded fairway then a dogleg right and the basket rests on a slope slightly uphill. This is both a fun and challenging par 3 272 footer. I would say this hole would stand out on any course. It's fun and will garner birdies and double-triple bogeys. Just a real treat and pretty too. Those middle five holes make this course a pleasant surprise.
Cons: The bookend 4 holes are remarkably unremarkable compared to the middle 5. Hole #1 is a nice simple starter but is a bit too short of a dogleg left 301 ft. Hole #2 is a silly 303 foot straight drive through a shady picnic grove area. After playing the middle 5 I was prepared to forgive the starter 2 holes but then I ended the day by playing the weakest holes on the course. Hole #8 is a tighter 316 ft drive that seems to promote more luck than skill as you weave around numerous trees with no real obvious fairway to negotiate. Then your greeted with the dud of hole #9 which is a 295 drive over a picnic grove to the final basket to end your day on a letdown. I was prepared to sing the praises of this course until I played the final 2 holes. Damn! It should also be noted that this course is very very isolated and though appears on a map to be near IUP Lodge it is quite a distance away. No real population base to support the course I would imagine outside of those who would make the long trip from State College. Wonderful lake does not come into play and there is little elevation outside of holes 3 and 7.
Other Thoughts: If they do increase the course to 18 holes I would hope they scrap the final 2 holes and follow the theme of holes 3-7. Central PA needs a solid 18 holer I think this place could be a gem in the mountains if done right.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Best Nine-Holer in Central PA!

2-4    5/25/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I live about 13 miles from here and it's definitely worth the drive every time! The glimmering shine of the lake and light peeking through the trees is a great atmosphere for disc golfing. Holes are marked very well from tee to tee with signs and wooden markers. The kiosk at the beginning has a lot of nice information on disc golf and a good score card. Bathrooms are also abundant in several places. I enjoy the variety of tight wooded passages and opportunities to launch my drivers as far as I can in open fields. The hole on number 7 is as beautiful as it is fun because you have to throw down a ravine with incredible accuracy. The course also wraps around pretty well. You won't have to worry about navigation here due to the good signage.

- Big arms will like some of the holes on this course (#4 and 6 come in to mind, with the latter being a 700+ foot drive) due to the fact that some holes are quite open.

- There's also a technical challenge. Holes #2,3,5,7,& 8 will require threading hardwoods on some narrow gaps. Hole #5 is the signature hole, with a double dogleg 565ft path to a well-guarded basket.
Cons: - I'm not a big fan of hole 8--just seems like a filler hole to me. Seems like the hole rewards more luck than skill, as there's no definitive line to hit.

- Not a very beginner-friendly course. Sure, you could bring a newbie here, but he/she will hit a ton of trees and get frustrated on the 500-700ft holes.

- Hole 9 plays close to heavy picnicking/beach activity. Watch for oblivious people before you throw.
Other Thoughts: Pennsylvania's state recreation and conservation agency, the DCNR, takes really nice care of the disc golf courses in its state parks; Prince Gallitzin is no exception. The best time to go is in the evening, when the warm glow of the sun shines in through the trees. The Blair-Bedford-Cambria Disc Golf Organization is looking to make this course 18 holes in the future. If that happens, this will join IUP College Lodge as the premiere disc golf destination in west-central PA.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Big courses need big arms...

2-4    4/5/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: Brida
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very large..in scale and fun. Every hole has a bench at it in case you need a rest or want to have a bite on your favorite hole. The course is very well marked even as far as to post 3 or 4 signs between holes to let you know you are going in the right direction. This course also has running water and TWO sets of bathrooms. Parking puts you right at the the first hole and is right in the middle of all the holes so you have easy access to your car if need be. The course really challenges all aspects of your game, especially your arm strength.
Cons: Maybe a little to much woods for the beginners ,but I liked the challenge. You really need an arm for some of the holes and you definetly need an accurate short game.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and my scores sucked so you know I really must have liked to have it kick my ass and still love it. Very much worth the drive from State College. An added bonus is the ability to take a dip in the lake if the heat gets to you!!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    3/7/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: kwinkleman
Played: 65  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: new, large and in charge. This is one of pa's newest courses, hope they put in another 9 holes soon make it a full 18
Cons: it's a drive, but i don't mind driving, that's about only con i can think of oh and it's only 9 holes...
Other Thoughts: it's free to play no cost. can't wait till it get's leaves on trees and greens up a little.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.