Layout Extinct

Lafayette, IN 
Murdock Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #4
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  Not much has changed

5+    4/27/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: Luckytiki
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to get too
-Relatively easy to figure out the "route" of the course
-Can be a challenge to all skill levels (short drives, but lots of trees)
-A variety of different types of holes
Cons: - Some tees are marked with distance, but none have the par
-Some baskets are hard to see from the tee
-Sandbox tees are uneven and need to be groomed. They're not great, but far from unplayable (just watch your footing)
- Thunking a throw off a tree can get old.
- The swamp that comes into play at #13 is pretty much unplayable for anyone except really experienced players
- Lots of people walking the path that snakes through the park add an extra hazard (mostly for them)
Other Thoughts: I like playing a quick 9 (or 18) here a few times a week, because it's close to me, but it's not a course I would seek out if I didn't live in the area. I find the lack of "par" information annoying and that's probably my main complaint with the course other than... the swamp.

Playing from #4 is not a big deal, because the disgusting thing is to the right, but playing from #13 is almost impossible because you have to play over it and there's no clear way to drive over due to trees/reeds. I would recommend just replaying from the #4 tee unless you want to go fishing for your disc in the trash and chemical infested bog.

The other concern is the path that winds through the park. There's usually a few people on it and you have to make sure you watch out for walkers. This really comes into play on #7/16 as you throw down a blind hill where a good drive hugs the walking path. My advice is to be patient and respect other players and walkers when throwing. On the flip side watch out for flying discs as people don't seem to think there might be others around.

Overall this is a decent course for a quick round. A few improvements would go a long way here:
-Add "par" info somewhere, even if it's at the beginning of the course
-Groom the sandbox tees
-Trim the vegetation on the tee side of the swap

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Murdock

5+    9/22/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: NicedGuy
Played: 127  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large mature trees define fairways.
Cons: Baskets and tee pads are in very poor condition. Course plays around a swamp. Hole #13 might be the worst DG hole I have ever played. Theres a running path that circles through almost every fairway and always seems to have someone using it.
Other Thoughts: Some sites have this listed as a 18 hole course, its really a 9 hole with dual tees. If you live in lafayette it can be a fun little course to feed your disc golf needs but not worth traveling for.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but dangerous

5+    6/10/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: Rockwell
Played: 78  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Requires a variety of shots.
Beautiful large oaks fill park and define flight paths.

Holes well designed for the amount of land available. Makes good use of what elevation is available. Only hole 13 is without an easily identifiable fairway.
Cons: Very unsafe layout for a pubic park. Requires throwing into blind walking paths and crisscrossing fairways. Very unsafe.

Tee boxes are washed out sand. No tee signs, though does have tee numbers.

Some of the baskets have seen better days.

Other Thoughts: I love that this mature city park has a disc golf course in it to be enjoyed by the community and nearby college.

This course will develop your midrange and putter control, with a few chances to pull out the driver.

Tailored more for beginners than advanced players, but still some definite fun to be had for all.

However, unsafe flight paths, sharing of fairways, and unkempt teeboxes detract from
this otherwise enjoyable layout.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 City of Lafayette, IN

5+    5/2/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: Niven42
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find and get to. Most of the holes are well-suited for both beginners and pros alike. Tall oak trees provide shade and inhibit the growth of tall grass.
Cons: Holes #4/#13 cross the infamous "Murdock Swamp" which is a small patch of run-off water overgrown with cattails and sapling trees. My group avoids #13 altogether, since its only purpose seems to be to eat discs. Becomes infested with poison ivy during late summer. The tee "pads" are sandboxes, which some players really hate.
Other Thoughts: A nice use of a city park for a disc golf course. There are some jogging/dog trails, but they are reasonably maintained. Vandalism is a minor concern. #3/#12 is fun to play - the fairway runs alongside Ferry Street through trees and ends under tall oaks with park benches.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.