Layout Extinct

Lafayette, IN 
Murdock Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #4
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 

1    8/21/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Based on pure speculation, I would say that this course has come a very long way since it's inception in 1984. I believe this course used to be 9 baskets with multiple tees, but now the course has expanded to include some very cool shots in the woods so that it's 18 holes all with their own basket. I think a reevaluation is necessary from past reviewers, since it definitely merits at least a 3.0.

This course has a big mix of shots, whether it's the six new holes that are super tight in the woods, or the some what more open holes in the first half. It's very balanced for right hand vs. left hand and is great beginner course.

It has a very vintage feel to it, which could definitely also be viewed as a con...
Cons: Not the best condition equipment. The tees are like...gravel/dirt, the baskets are rusted and brown, and the tee signs only contain minimal information. This course could be awesome if it gets cleaned up a little bit.

Navigation was mega confusing for me, especially the transition when you had to cross the road. I would highly recommend printing and bringing a map along.
Other Thoughts: I don't think I've ever said this, but if you're in town and only can play one course, ditch this 18 holer and play the 9 holer at Purdue twice. It has a much bigger variety of shots, better quality course equipment, and is overall just a lot more fun to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/10/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: smithwb
Played: 62  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The newly added 6 holes in the woods provide a new challenge for the course. The new woods holes add a lot of difficulty to a previously more beginner friendly course. 3 of the new holes have very tight challenging lines. Of the previous holes, #1 requires a well shaped shot for birdie from the back tee. #3 becomes a harder birdie due to the low canopy. #10 plays close to the swamp which creates a good risk/reward of following the swamp to the basket.
Cons: Although the tee pads aren't dirt anymore, the paver tiles are still smaller pads that don't have great grip.
The swamp is an absolute nightmare to retrieve a disc from. Further than 10 feet in you sink to your shins in mud that smells awful.
It is hard to notice the new 6 holes exist at all when going between old #11 and 12. If you do manage to notice them, the navigating through them is difficult.
Other Thoughts: I would have agreed with a 2.75 rating for this course the 20+ times I played there before the additional holes, but now that the course if much more difficult and not as repetitive it is more worthy of 3.75.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Local Course

5+    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: ski3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Maintained. Good use of long shots with short shots. Front 9 easy to follow.
Cons: Some holes don't have pads. Hole 4 has a basket on two poles so its above your head. It's irritating to get a solid score on that hole. Back 9 is not finished and honestly looks like what they have so far is going to be difficult to follow/find.
Other Thoughts: The course is fine for a quick throw around, but it really doesn't provide any challenges except the irritation of low hanging tree fairways. For where it is built they have done a great job utilizing the space.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Murdock

1    4/14/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: Discalier
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Pads aren't grass.
Will be 18 soon.
A good course for a bunch of different shots.
Cons: Pads collect water
Can get swampy
5 of the holes don't have cages yet
Pads are pavers
Other Thoughts: Could be good, they just need to finish it.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Under Construction!

5+    7/26/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: jcjohns
Played: 74  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual tee's (mostly paved)
In town
Plays fair to both RH/LH players
"Next Tee" arrows
Cons: Incomplete (a few tee pads are being worked on but nearing completion)
Multi-use park and noticable; course does a good job at staying away from other activities, but walking path does come into play
Street crossings (speed limit is 10mph so people should be going slow, but you do cross the street 4 times total)
Tight wooded holes need trimmed up (freshly installed so understandable)
Other Thoughts: I would say for being an in-town course in such a small park, the land has been used wisely. Looking forward to getting a round in when the construction is complete. I would say if you are coming through town, this is the course to stop at in Lafayette (unless you have time to go to Camp Cullom DGC). I'm looking forward to writing a review for this course when it is all said and done. I think it could easily move up to a 4.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/17/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: astomps
Played: 54  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - course makes good use of a very small amount of land
-Holes are fun to play for beginner players but I would imagine not too boring for even veterans
-Multiple tees for most holes
-Marked clearly enough
Cons: -some hazard shots for sure (picnickers, oncoming traffic, marshy type weeds, other players on other holes)
-only 11 holes
Other Thoughts: Originally drove to Ross hills, but found that is a free-for-all scavenger hunt so we were recommended Murdock. Murdock is definitely a city course in the sense of size and tight boundaries. Most seasoned players who can throw 300 ft on a given line could 2 every hole on this course, but that isn't me, so I found it fun. One crucial thing I would note also that this course definitely caters to RHFH players.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Come see the changes

5+    5/28/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: Steamrohler
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2012
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: see previous reviews they were pretty accurate
Cons: throw all the old reviews for the cons out, just come and play the course and see the diff
Other Thoughts: I am gonna keep this simple and to the point. I am putting this "review" in so ppl know that the course is changing drastically. If you have ever played before, you are gonna be pleasantly surprised with the new layout and equipment that is being put in place. This course will soon be a complete 18 hole course with AM and PRO tees.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect Location

2-4    8/14/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right across the street from a School. Mach 2 targets are old but still catch well,they do have an inner set of chains. Bulletin Board between Parking Lot & #1 tee. Great design for a beginner course. A lot of Mature trees that force more finesse shots.That compliments Ross Hills mostly open,longer course. Trash cans and Benches run along the gravel path,but can be used by disc golfers.
Cons: Tees need a lot of help. They are marked with lumber and filled with gravel,that's not level. Tees signs are 5' tall posts with the "Front 9" painted red. The "Back 9" are painted yellow. All have the tee number and distance on them. The gravel path can slow your game if you play it the wrong day/time. The baskets on the Mach 3 are shallow.
Other Thoughts: Nice little,somewhat tough beginner/Neighborhood course. Pros could have fun by playing a Safari round. Only 9 targets with two sets of tees. Most of the Alt. Tees do make a different hole, not just behind the front ones making it a longer hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My original home course

5+    8/28/2006   5/29/2010
Review By: LevinTBlack
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Trees make for precision. It's heavily wooded but not the most wooded course I have seen. However the trees are mature oaks and it is easy to hit it dead on and completely stop your disc.

The second tees (so you have 18 holes sort of) for the most part offer a completely different angle so it seems like a new hole.
Cons: Short course that is easy to out drive for experienced players.

The swamp eats discs. I've played this course at least 100 times and any time someone gets in the swamp (most rounds had it happen) you have to spend 30 minutes looking as a team and have to removes your shoes since it is a swamp. It will leave your feet completely covered in thick, sticky mud that cause your feet to stink. You will also lose discs somewhat regularly in the swamp although you also find as many as you lose.

It can be very frustrating due to so many mature oak trees and also there is a lot of pedestrian traffic that will make you wait to throw (popular walking path and baseball diamond).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Meh...

1    9/23/2009   5/18/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a city park that is mostly grassy with some large oak trees. Most holes play through these mature oaks, with several possible flight paths, and not very much brush to punish an errant shot. A couple holes play around a swampy area for a little bit of risk/reward if you go for it over the swamp. There is some elevation here, and it's used pretty well to add some interest to the course.

There are dual tee pads on all holes, and many go at the hole from totally different angles making for a pretty different round from the "front 9" to the "back 9". There are numbered signs at almost all the tees making it fairly easy to navigate. There is a course map on the kiosk at the beginning of the course that also helps with navigation.
Cons: There are some pretty big safety issues with this course. A walking trail runs through the park, and is in play on nearly all the holes. It seemed to be pretty well used, and you throw over it blindly a couple times. Even if you are paying attention and letting walkers clear the fairway before throwing, you'll end up waiting a lot during a round on a nice day.

The tees are terrible, they're basically sand boxes. They had some holes and ruts, and didn't make for a good tee surface at all. The signage was pretty basic, with nothing but hole number and distance at the tees, and that was missing on a couple when I played. The baskets are showing their age, and don't catch all that well any more. Some holes play very near one another, so watch for other players throwing your way.
Other Thoughts: There are some good shots through the oaks here, and if not for the walking path this course would be a fun little track. As it stands, on a nice day when the path is busy, it's not fun or safe to play, so I wouldn't go out of your way at all for this one. Beginners will find all but one hole (the hole that plays directly over the swamp) approachable, and the course has pretty reasonable distances. More experienced players will find a couple challenges here, but not enough variety to really test much of their game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.