Huntsville, AL 
Monte Sano DGC Share
Uploaded By: BmaEngnr92  
Vacate Time (Sign contributed by Billy Drake)



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pleasant Course

1    4/22/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 57  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is set on beautiful Burritt Mountain with some great wooded landscape for a course. Parking for the course and hole #1 are the very first right after the guard shack. At each tee pad there is a distance marker with a red circle indicating which pin position is being used (1-2 pin positions for each hole). Each tee pad is carpeted. The first few holes are some of the least difficult on the course, so as to warm you up for the back 9. Overall, this is a well-balanced, technically wooded course that rewards accuracy in nearly all shot types. The course has short and long holes with enough elevation changes to test nearly any arm. For the most part, there are arrows and signs leading you to the next hole from each basket. Each chain basket continues to be in good shape. So, the course is very enjoyable with a great hike through the woods. It is also has enough challenge to it so that you will want to play it again and hone your skills.
Cons: There are a few cons that is holding this course back a bit.
SIGNS: At each tee pad there is a distance marker but there isn't a visual layout of each hole, so you would often need to walk down the fairway a bit to know where the basket lies, especially when the pin was in the long position. Also, there could be some better and more updated indicators between holes as sometimes there wasn't one or it was labeled incorrectly. I would also have a sign directing car drivers to the first hole from the road.
TEE PADS: Biggest complaint. Unfortunately, these affected gameplay. Pretty much all were unlevel with undulations, making it very difficult to trust your footing (many times I would use the ground just next to the carpet). Then, nearly all of the carpets (due to wear over time) were covered with dirt/sand making it tough not to slide when planting your foot for each drive. This is particularly pivotal as many holes were long distances in terms of a tightly-knit wooded course.
FYI: in the spring/summer times watch out for snakes and poison ivy
Other Thoughts: In conclusion, I believe this course is a great part of the many enjoyable courses in Huntsville. I would liken it most to Mastin Lake, but is probably more technical. And if I had to choose between the two it would be Mastin Lake due to funness level and not having to pay there to get in.
If this course updated the tee pads and added hole layout visual signs then I would rate this course higher at around a 4/5.

NEWS UPDATE:

ANOTHER COURSE HAS BEEN ADDED TO HUNTSVILLE THAT IS CALLED DRAKE SPRINGS (9 hole course) AND LOCATED RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET FROM BRAHAM SPRINGS BY THE SMALL LAKE/POND. IT IS A QUICK AND FUN.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice wooded course

1    5/30/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You will surely enjoy the drive as you work your way up the mountain and finally reach Monte Sano State Park. Inside you'll find a very scenic and enjoyable course. Once you enter you'll get excited as you pass a few baskets on your way to generous parking all around the course. There is a park store for goodie's if needed near hole one.

If tight wooded courses are your thing you'll certainly be pleased. After all the course plays through a virtual wildlife preserve. If a tree could be spared it was and it makes for some fun and challenging holes. A creek meanders it way through and finds itself in play on a few holes too. Slight elevation changes, a blend of hole lengths and a variety of fairway shapes are here as well. In fact, strait shots to almost impossible doglegs are here. Look for lengths between upper 200's all the way to over 600'. As a bonus, summer shade is a welcomed addition.

There are nice tee signs, sufficient tee pads (see cons), and great baskets. Next tee indicators are nice too. Virtually new baskets were really nice. I enjoyed the Discatchers with the custom bands. It made it feel like you were throwing at some one of kind baskets.

The course itself is easy enough to follow. The fairways are beaten in and guide you around well enough. Look to cross the road between 6/7 and 16/17. Bridges are installed at all the areas were they're necessary and they were a nice touch.
Cons: There's a modest fee to enter the park but overall I think it's worth it.

The carpet tee pads are sufficient but some more thorough leveling before it was laid would have been nice.

I am a huge wooded course fan and can tolerate some pretty "unfair" holes. For the most part I feel like a few rounds would help you find a route on almost every hole. The remaining ones might leave you a little frustrated. If you don't like tight technical courses you might want to skip this one.

The biggest con which hopefully is going to be fixed soon is a big one. The story I'm told by the locals is that apparently the tank for the sewage from the campers has leaked. Not only is there a foul odor on 1/3 of the holes but you don't want to end up in the creek that plays along some of the holes. Thankfully a guy on my card had some antibacterial hand wash to share as I found myself getting a disc from the water. He told stories of illnesses related to folks contacting the water. I must stress, this is of May 2010 and hopefully this will correct itself with time.
Other Thoughts: When you add up the features of this course with all the other great courses in the area it makes it well worth a lengthy trip. This great park offers camping and makes it a very hospitable base for a big disc golf weekend. It is yet again another Huntsville course that I have to highly recommend. I really hope you get a chance to play it. Enjoy!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Alabama Round

1    7/15/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: FlyinRyan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Landscaping, Course is on a State Park so it was nice and shady on a warm Alabama Day. Course was marked vey well with Red and Yellow "NexTee" signs pointing the way and also with spray paint on the trees. Required a good variety of shots. Trees were everywhere in the fairway but I was used to that at my home course so it was not anything new to me. Took a friend with me to play and it was the first time he played. He loved it!
Cons: The only beef I had with the course is that the course signs often showed two pin positions "A" and "B". The problem is that there was only one pin positions. Some times it was "A" and sometimes it was "B". This was hard to make a good shot sometimes on hard doglegs where you could not see the basket. Also the custom baskets were nice and in good shape, the green color made them hard to spot sometimes against all the green trees(May not be that big of deal in the fall)
Other Thoughts: It cost $2 to get in but it was well worth it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course; Fairways Need Some Work

5+    3/3/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: BmaEngnr92
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Situated atop Monte Sano in Monte Sano State Park, which is a nice place to be on any sunny day. There are campgrounds literally just a minute or two walk from the first tee if you want to camp and play all weekend. There is a good variety of shots required from annies, hyzers, to straight tunnel shots. The course also has custom MSDGC DISCatcher Pro baskets, which are a pretty cool touch. One of my favorite things about the course is the old country store right next to the tee for hole 1. You can pick up sodas, ice cream, snacks, tobacco, beer, etc., there, which adds some comfort. Also, you will notice an awesome main board before hole 1 that was hand carved and made by three of the locals. Very nice touch.
Cons: A few holes lack legit routes to the pin, and undergrowth is starting to come back on some as well. There are a few teepads that could use additional leveling, but nothing major. There is a lot of elevation changes in the park, unfortunately the course doesn't use much of this at all. A lot of good holes, but no holes really stand out as "great" holes; the type of holes that make you want to play just one more round.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a solid addition to the other courses in the area. The course definitely has potential, but still needs much work to see that potential realized. Many holes have routes that are questionable, and the fine line between a good shot and poor shot sometimes seems to blur here. Nothing wrong with a tough course, as I prefer a challenging layout, however, I feel the score should be left up to the golfer and his abilities, not a stray limb that no one sees from the tee. I would definitely recommend this to anyone in the area, and I feel that with more work this course can become a jewel.

Favorite Holes: 2, 7, 10, 11(long), 15

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.