Roseburg, OR 
Riverfront Park Share
Uploaded By: domromer  



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 A diamond in the rough?

2-4    9/3/2008   1/11/2009
Review By: rkopald
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find. Great for getting in a quick game on the way to other destinations. Very mellow locals as far as I could tell.
Cons: Too many drunks/homeless?? I'm not a local so I couldn't tell the difference. When I played it the first time, there were some holes that had been relocated, but the old tee pads and tone poles were left in place, thus causing some confusion about which holes were which. A bit monochromatic, in that most holes are tunnel/tree shots. confusing layout for non regulars. some discs might suffer a horrible death here. Watch out for the slope at the 18th hole!
Oh and beware the Poison Oak!
Other Thoughts: I've only played this course a couple times, but I enjoyed it. The locals were exceedingly accommodating, and even the bums/homeless people were nice, if talkative. This course had a confusing layout, holes are very close together, and it's very easy to throw on top of other people on a couple of the back holes. I saw a few disc remnants sitting in trees like skulls hanging from rope, so bring your resilient plastic. Overall, if I lived in Roseburg, I think I would adjust to this course very quickly. It's really fun, and will definitely force one to hone their line drives. I think it's very much worth a visit. If it was close to me I'd play it all the time. If this course received a little love it would be one of the better courses in Oregon.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Stewart Park

5+    1/7/2009   1/9/2009
Review By: EclipticOne
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes are short but difficult to ace cause of layouts with the trees.

They recently finished adding baskets to all the holes!

It is fairly easy to find off the interstate. It has good markings to show the position of the basket.

Good concrete pads for teeing off and not slipping.

Decent ppl when you play. Well taken care of and pretty clean.

Is nice to warm up for a day at Whistlers.... :-)
Cons: Is pretty short for the long throwers.. only one 400+ shot.

Poison oak is available to those who wander.

Sometimes overcrowded with school close by but is pretty cool...

Other Thoughts: This is a nice course to just come a play a few rounds and loosen up the arm. Has good basket layout for repeat play.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Another great course in Oregon

1    6/27/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: domromer
Played: 53  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good layout, very good signage, tone poles add and extra challenge. Short holes lots of aces.

This is a fun course just to play with a putter for some extra challenge.
Cons: Fair bit of litter and drunks seem to always be around.
Other Thoughts: I love this kind of course. it's been squeezed into a unused corner of a public park and has been put together really well. The shots are challenging and require good aim. The signs are metal and attached to the pad so they are pretty much indestructible. The park that it's in has a lot of people in it playing other sports and I'm sure this course had introduced many new players to disc golf. Well worth checking out if you are in the area.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Dirty

6/23/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: dg_hudlow
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is a lot of space to work with and the baskets are nice on the holes that have baskets.
The tees are also great.
Cons: There are poles instead of baskets on some of the holes which I don't care for. Also the course is dirty and its hard to understand.
Other Thoughts: I would really like to come back and play this course when its been completed there is a lot to work with just not there yet.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 18 Baskets

5+    1/6/2009   6/4/2008
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 DGA Mach 2 baskets now installed. Great concrete tee pads make for easy play on rainy days. More benches have been installed by the city of Roseburg, and more trashcans too.
Cons: Crowded. Bums.
Other Thoughts: We are working hard to improve Roseburgs local course... we are continually knocking back blackberrys and killing poison oak. Come give it a try!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.