Roseburg, OR 
Riverfront Park Share
Uploaded By: domromer Hole #2
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun short course

1    7/3/2014   10/15/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice wooded park without much brush. A few holes by the parking lot are pretty open, the rest are nice technical shots through the trees. There are multiple options on several of the holes, but you do have to pick a line and hit it to score well. The gaps aren't tiny, but you need decent accuracy.

There are a few shots that call for some interesting lines. Missing the fairway leaves plenty of chances to recover, but there are enough small trees that you might need some creativity to save par. The concrete tees are perfectly fine, and the course seemed nicely kept in general.
Cons: This isn't a very safe design. Lots of holes play right next to each other, so errant drives often end up in an adjacent fairway. Several of the tees are right near the previous basket adding even more chance of someone getting hit. The tee signs were a cool idea, but many were missing when I played making it hard to know if you're standing on the right tee with several in close proximity.

Navigation is a little odd at times, the most obvious tee often isn't the one you go to next. If you pay close attention to the most worn path you can figure it out, but there are lots of paths crossing the course so it isn't straightforward. More holes have right turning fairways than left, it's not really a balanced layout.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course if you ignore the safety issues. The holes are short and offer some challenge for new players without much risk of frustration. Experienced players can have a fun stress free putter round here, but shouldn't expect much of a challenge. This is a great place to bring new players or for a quick round with your buddies, luckily there are some other nearby courses to test more of your skill set.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Riverfront Park - Short but Sweet!

1    6/28/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Riverfront Park is a fun recreational/intermediate city course located in the beautiful city of Roseburg, OR. This 18 hole course is quick to play and easy to follow, although printing off a map wouldn't hurt if it's your first time. The course plays on a narrow stretch of land with tight fairways that require accuracy from off the tee. Oaks are scattered throughout the course making it the ideal place to play on a hot day. Par for the course is 54, with holes ranging anywhere from roughly 125 - 390 ft. However, most of the holes are on the shorter side making it easy to score well on most holes with a good chance of even an ace. Tee pads have metal tee signs embedded in them giving par, distance, and the line to take from off the tee toward the pin. This was a very clever idea with little chance of signs being ruined due to vandals like so many other public courses. This course has a large "fun factor", making it perfect for all skill levels. It allows players to work on placement from off the tee, as well as the occasional approach shot and putt. Plus, there is always a high probability that someone in your group will walk away with an ace!
Cons:
The designers of Riverfront Park did a fantastic job utilizing the space they had to work with. They created a lot of interesting lines with good pin placements. However, because there are 18 holes placed on a narrow piece of land, there are a lot of opportunities for someone to throw an errant shot toward another group of disc golfers and therefore get hurt. Most players there are respectful but it is just something to think about when playing so be on the lookout!

An issue more advanced players might have is the overall difficulty or lack thereof at Roseburg. Most of the holes average around 225 ft at best and can easily be reached with a putter or mid. I found the course to be a lot of fun but I took it for what it was…a place to quickly gather and play with friends and because of that I had a great time!
Other Thoughts:
I played this course while camping at Whistler's for three nights while playing in their famous doubles tournament with my buddy. A local at camping with us recommended it so one morning we got up early and used it as a warm-up before our afternoon round of 30 holes, totaling 48 for the day. We were both pleasantly surprised and grateful to have had the chance to play considering Riverfront is often overlooked by travelers due to its proximity to Whistler's Bend. The locals have the perfect combination of courses within the Roseburg/Eugene area and work hard to keep it that way. I appreciate their efforts and look forward to the next time I'm in that part of the state.



3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Update

1    8/17/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: adiscted
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Simple and fun
-Good for all skill levels
-no underbrush
-tees are easy to find and mostly marked well
Cons: -the walking path that runs through it seems heavily used
-fairways get kinda tangled up in holes 3 through 16; not too bad though
-might be scary walking down the fairways on a busy day
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the river off to the right of hole 2, if you get a bad drive in that direction, there isn't much to stop it. I love this course after playing it one time, but a busy day would probably leave a bad taste in my mouth. There are actual baskets, on all 18. I was unsure about that since the pics have tonepoles in them. Awesome course though with lots of hyzer/anhyzer shots. Most holes are quite short- under 300 feet

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great companion to the big WB

2-4    2/23/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little city park that boasts groves of oak trees that create an old school technical track. Most of the holes are reachable from the tee and force a whole gamut of shot-making. Lots of opportunities for aces and birdies (woohoo!).....also for bogies as there's enough trees around to make things interesting.

Though overall the length of the holes are shorter than most, it's a great time and decent challenge.
Cons: There must be something about the popularity of the park- I was all alone until late on a chilly winter day, then many people showed at once and just kinda cut through on me. I just shrugged it off and ended up playing a couple holes with one of the strays and met a new friend. So, I turned a con into a pro...

A majority of the holes are crammed very close together and it's easy to shank into the other fairways, but everybody seems to know what to watch out for.

A map would be helpful at a couple points. But until they post one - here are a couple tips to help you navigate. After you finish 6, turn to your 4:00 and head toward the paved path to find tee 7. After 8, a sign will guide you left - play from the first tee you come to. It doesn't have a metal plate with a number on it (most of the back 9 are missing numbered plates on the tees, but most of the remaining tees are pretty easy to find).
Other Thoughts: I think people traveling far (like myself) will tend to skip this in favor of Whistler's Bend, but it's well-worth checking out!

Seems to attract a homeless contingent. Don't get me wrong - my experience was with the kind that are drunk and up to no good, not just the type that don't have a home. I ran into one on the 18th hole - a guy, shirtless who was so drunk he was struggling to just stand. I helped him hobble to a place where he could sit out of the sun, but, man, that guy creeped me out. Another discer told me that guy was a frequent visitor to the course......

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 warm up for whistlers

2-4    1/15/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with tee signs in the teepad.
easy navigation, as I had no problem getting around
Pitch and Putt type of course
Cons: crowded
Holes to close together and you often have to watch out as some fairways are literally on top of the other
no bathrooms that I seen
Not that it's a bad thing but I saw three cops driving around there the one day I was there.
Other Thoughts: Riverfront is literally like a glorified pitch and putt course. Fairly easy with not that many challenges. It is located on the otherside of town as Whistlers Bend, but a great warm up forthe big dawg.
Not sure about pro or con, but most holes seem like ace runs and as I like I cahllenge I don't like that. But I love the thrill of stepping up to about every other hole knowing an ace is a possibility
Would hate for it to be my home course, but would still play it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bustling City Course with Character

1    9/6/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Riverfront park is a bustling city course with plenty of oldschool flavor. Aside from the first two and last two holes which are longer and relatively open, the course consists of short tightly wooded putter and midrange shots. Most of the holes are too straightforward to challenge upper level players, but everyone else from beginners to more advanced amateurs will find plenty of opportunities to earn well deserved birdies.

Although most holes are short, straightish putter shots, there is a lot of variety in angles and distances requiring both backhands, forehands and maybe even a utility shot every now and then off the tee. Players who have been around for a while will probably settle right in and enjoy the classic old school design of the course.

Utilization/Potential - The park area here is well-utilized as there really isn't enough space to develop championship style holes - a beginner friendly and social golfer park fits perfectly here, especially with Whistlers' Bend just a short drive away.

Special shoutout to the unique number plates - I thought the metal plates which were sunken into the corner of each concrete tee were a pretty cool idea. Each one of these plates has a drawn representation of the hole, hole number, and distance. These things are a touch slippery for the runup but still look pretty sweet. These added a unique touch to the course and I was sad to see that a few of the back nine hole plates were missing.
Cons: Busy and crowded - The combination of popularity and crowded fairways is a little bit concerning. Several points during our round we were ducking and dodging shots from other fairways and I would expect this is probably the norm out here.

Challenge - As stated above, highly skilled players aren't going to find much of a challenge out here. Rack up a bunch of birdies and hopefully avoid a random rollaway or really bad kick - the only foreseeable way to bogey.
Other Thoughts: While certainly not a destination course, it does have charm and might make for a good wind-down or warm up for the nearby Whistlers' Bend course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Well Designed Throw In Roseburg!

1    5/30/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays on a fairly narrow strip of land near the river. The teepads have these metal plates inbedded in them with the pertinent information. We really liked the flow of the course. It begins and ends in the same part of the park, always a plus. It's not long but just a fun little city park course. It's flat with scattered trees and not much underbrush. On the final few throws there is a chain link fence with wire on the top. If one were to make a really terrible throw (as I did) then that someone would be looking at scaling this fence Army Ranger style. But alas, there are numerous gates along the fence allowing one access to retrieve one's embarassingly poor tee offs. Navigation was easy for us as there were many players this day and it was easy to follow the group ahead of us. I love it when you see a course like this receiving heavy play from familes and husband/wife teams, teens, newbies, etc.
Cons: Nothing in particular. Some folks would probably be a little concerned with the safety aspect as a couple of holes do have you teeing off in the direction of the next pads. There was a guy or two hanging out. One looked a step above a homeless guy and was friendly and seemed interested in our game. There's not much room here to really air it out. Just a good course to practice your mid-range game and get in a fun round.
Other Thoughts: This course perfectly fits the niche it was created for. That would be beginners/novices/families and better players just looking for a fun little throw or maybe getting in some practice. I'm impressed with both the design and the upkeep of Riverfront. I'd be perfectly happy being to play here regularly with other more challenging courses so close.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

1    7/28/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: tannerdj
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: good short course
tight fairways
takes accuracy
good course to break in some midranges
very nice directions when finding holes
great tees and good basket placement
Cons: poison oak readily availible
one or two tees are missing directions to basket
Other Thoughts: liked this course alot. well maintained

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 gettin better.

5+    2/12/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: jacobhanson13
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: good baskets, good short holes. nothing too long but not to short at the same time. some trees make it difficult. but that's what makes it fun
Cons: always lots of people there.
Other Thoughts: i like playing it it's my home course and i enjoy it.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A diamond in the rough?

2-4    9/3/2008   1/11/2009
Review By: rkopald
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find. Great for getting in a quick game on the way to other destinations. Very mellow locals as far as I could tell.
Cons: Too many drunks/homeless?? I'm not a local so I couldn't tell the difference. When I played it the first time, there were some holes that had been relocated, but the old tee pads and tone poles were left in place, thus causing some confusion about which holes were which. A bit monochromatic, in that most holes are tunnel/tree shots. confusing layout for non regulars. some discs might suffer a horrible death here. Watch out for the slope at the 18th hole!
Oh and beware the Poison Oak!
Other Thoughts: I've only played this course a couple times, but I enjoyed it. The locals were exceedingly accommodating, and even the bums/homeless people were nice, if talkative. This course had a confusing layout, holes are very close together, and it's very easy to throw on top of other people on a couple of the back holes. I saw a few disc remnants sitting in trees like skulls hanging from rope, so bring your resilient plastic. Overall, if I lived in Roseburg, I think I would adjust to this course very quickly. It's really fun, and will definitely force one to hone their line drives. I think it's very much worth a visit. If it was close to me I'd play it all the time. If this course received a little love it would be one of the better courses in Oregon.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.