Disc Golf Store
Moscow Mills, MO 
El Shaddai Ranch Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 191ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Long Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The Ranch

1    4/19/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pleasant, private course set on a scenic piece of property makes for a wonderfully quiet and secluded round… just what the doctor ordered if you're looking to forget about the world for a while.

• Disc Play: Decent variety with a bit of this and that. Front nine starts with a few pretty short, well-wooded, technical holes, progressing to some holes that are open off the tee playing to tucked/guarded pins, followed by a few slightly longer shots through a meadow with some reasonably well placed trees, ending with a nice, twisty, technical hole with a creek in play. Things get more interesting on holes 10 - 19, where elevation, distance and guarded pins become a more significant. Mix of distances is fair at best. Balance of fairway shapes and elevation changes is pretty good. Elevation, woods and water are used pretty well to create challenge and ambience. Holes 16 and 17 bring a pond and a pasture (both OB) into play, along with pins on rollaway slopes… throw in some wind (as these holes are pretty exposed) and you've got several risky elements in play at the same time, which can really make for a wide range of scores on these holes.
• Equipment: Concrete tees for shorts were fine (didn't really pay attention to the long/natural tees). Red Gateway Titans may be one of the best baskets I've ever played on, in terms of both disc catching and visibility. Simple wooden tee signs show distance and get the job done.
• Routing/Nav: The addition of concrete tees and signs seems to have helped significantly from previous reviewers' experiences - and I can imagine how I'd have felt looking for unmarked natural tees here. That said, while flow wasn't actually too bad overall, it wasn't always intuitive getting to the next tee, and I definitely needed the map to find about 1/3 of the holes. Loops back to parking after 9, with a long walk to 10.
• Aesthetics: Very secluded, very serene. The walkway of large rocks crossing the creek to 1st tee adds a rustic charm and sets the tone. You'll want to catch your breath after the long walk from 9 to 10 (the latter part of it uphill), but the view from 10's tee is worth stopping for; look downhill along the fairway to the backdrop of evergreens dotting the hillside rising up in the distance behind the basket. Nice stonework enhances 16's tee to add appeal while retaining the soil as you look out over water to find your landing area.
• Memorable holes: Island green on # 1, gorgeous view on #10, 16 over the water followed by 17 parallel to the pond, then 18 over a gulley to a pin placement on the far, uphill side of the gulley create a strong finish.
Cons: Not a lot wrong here, but that doesn't mean it was close to perfect. While there are certainly some fun holes, I simply don't think there was ever enough here to seriously vie for 5.0. Regardless what else is done here, I just don't see holding that conversation with anyone.
• I'd have preferred more length and even creativity on the open holes like 6-8, which seemed like real yawners. Even 10 could have been longer with the downhill it has.
• Even though I like tight and technical, there was something about 1-5 that felt a bit like they were simply going through the motions. No way I'd rate 18 holes worth of 1-9 as a 3.5, and found holes 10 -19 to be the more interesting holes on the course.
Other Thoughts: Decent balance on the over all, and great place to get away from it all - definitely off the beaten path.

I usually like tight and technical, but there was something about holes 1-5 that were less than great for me. They seem like easy 3's if you wanted them to be, but pretty tough to get 2's, and likely to be 4's if you tried for 2. Even as I write this, I'm not so sure that's really a con. Maybe it's because it was my 3rd course of the day, and I was getting tired and sloppy, but I thought a few of them were a bit too tight to go for two and ended up taking very unsatisfying 3's on most of them. That said, I can't completely knock'em because I can see reasonable scoring separation for them.

Solid addition to the area, even if it won't get a ton of traffic.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Unique Course

2-4    11/20/2013   12/5/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Ranch.. Where to start....???

This is a private piece of property located in Moscow Mills, Mo that the owners have obviously put a great deal of love and care into. Despite having multiple cabins, small amphitheater and EXTREME rope swing over the lake..this place is generally a very secluded and peaceful place to disc golf in my experiences to date. The course design/ usage of land surrounding the above mentioned features does seem to do a wonderful ballet that keeps your round free of distractions.

In order to reach the first tee pad, you must cross a stone path across a reasonably sized creek. Once you tee off the first 3 holes will be awfully tight and technical shorter shots that force you to have some touch. Once you reach hole 4 and get out of the woods you may find a bit of relief from this densely wooded property. The 4th opens up a bit but offers a tight green on a small hill with a gang of cedars. Following that.. the front nine is generally pretty open with some opportunity to score or be penalized.

The Back 9 pretty well follows suite to the front 9, in that it is comprised mostly of some open turnover & hyzer shots and sprinkled with a few extremely tight taxing holes.
Pros-
Concrete Pads
Trash Cans
Signs
Gateway Titans - (red powder coat)
Multiple Pin Locations
Wide variety of shots (a few over water)
Secluded/ quiet
Cons: Really no cons that I can come up with. I really dig this course.

..Maybe the walk from 9-10......
Other Thoughts: Awesome course.. Thank you to the owners of the property for all of the work you guys do there and thank you to Dave Mac and Gateway Disc Sports for helping them in making this disc golf course happen!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    4/8/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the grounds of a large private ranch, with plenty of room to spare. There are a lot of other activities that could be going on, but it's private, so any interference shouldn't be a surprise.
- First three holes are in dense, tight woods that demand very good accuracy. #1 and #2 have a RHFH flex line open, and #3 is a tight little RHBH anny through a gap and down a tunnel. #9 is a similar shot that works with a RHBH hyzer, that has a slight downhill slope. #11 is another hyzer, but has a slight uphill to it. #13 is a tight tunnel with a large tree blocking the exit and the pin. All of these have lots of tree jail off of the fairway, a bad kick can make things very tricky.
- A number of other holes are next to the woods, or finish within them. #10 is pretty open, but has a big downhill slope, so shots that fade or turn out of control will find some nasty rough. #12 finishes to the right in the forest, #14's pin is in front of the woods, and #15 is tucked behind multiple trees/bushes. #17 has some trees around the basket as well. #16 only has one tree to worry about, but a big lake as well!
- Good elevation changes here, #4 and #5 are decent downhill shots, #10 is a very good downhill shot, #15 is blind due to a hump in the fairway, and the wooded holes listed above aren't too shabby. Definitely feels like more downhill shots than uphill. Some sloped greens, especially on #16 (towards the water of course).
- Some water is present on a few holes, in addition to the lake. An island green on #1 is surrounded by a small creekbed, there is a big creek way right of #6, and behind #18's pin. It is definitely in play on #1, #16, and #18, and looming on #6.
- Nice baskets, teepads aren't too bad. Signage, depends. There was fresh spray paint when I was there, and some flags, otherwise you're on your own. Map is a MUST, luckily there were some in the front when I was there.
Cons: - Biggest con at this course is the large number of open shots. #4, #11, and #14 have baskets near the woods, but that's about it. #5, #6, #7, and #8 have at most one tree to worry about, these are very straightforward and pretty bland. Most holes that end in the woods have no other obstacles, either.
- Some very short hole lengths, with 10 holes under 250'. There are pro tees, but only when marked.
- No pads, and no signs, can make for a rough day of looking around. Even with a map in hand, and the freshest spray paint, it was a little tricky. Just a heads up if it's your first time going there. 1st tee is across the creek, even with the payboxes.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a well balanced course that has some technical, though short, wooded holes, some big shots out in the open, and a few in between. Good hazards are present in the woods, including water, and some open shots do have challenges as well.
- Better suited for beginners or intermediate players, as long as you can avoid the water. More experienced players will probably cruise through most of the holes. Pro tees help, but again, can be hard to locate without help.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun, small rec course

2-4    7/24/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 388  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -private course in the middle of the country, over the weekend I was there, I saw two other groups playing the entire time.
-awesome facilities for a private party, although expensive to rent them out. A stage, pavilion, cabins, full kitchen, a nice pond for swimming and fishing.
-A decent variety of holes featuring short, tight wooded holes ranging from 150' to 250', hole 3 is probably my favorite example of these, it is a 250' tunnel shot with a low ceiling. The course also has open holes and semi open holes many with slight to large elevation changes. Hole 10 is probably my favorite example of this it's a 390' hole with an 80' wide fairway cut by the power company for lines. Large diwnhill elevation change allowing you to throw a slower disc and watch it glide. A couple water hazards out there, as well. Hole 16 throws over a pond into a peninsula green with pond on the left and ob on the right.
-Forgiving baskets: I think they are titans, but I play on titans regularly and these are more forgiving of bad putts. This definitely adds to the rec nature of the course.
-Water spicots by the pavilion on the way to 10 and 17.
Cons: -If you haven't played this course before, don't try and play it without a guide. You will not find any of the tees. They are marked with bricks on the ground and all of them are overgrown. There are only a couple signs here also that have footage.
-Too short for my tastes. Every hole was reachable, and there were no holes 400' or more.
-The wooded holes were pretty much holes in the woods. A good shot would get knocked down and a bad shot would get lucky. So there was just too much luck involved on the front nine especially.
-A few 'meh' holes that were just thrown in the design to get you to the next hole. 7 is a good example, 210' shot with a big guard tree.
-A few holes that were overgrown. 8 is a good example. Off the teepad a bush had grown out and made you throw a big hyzer out to the right of it. I doubt it was intended to be played like that.
-No trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun short course, but I probably won't return. It was a trip for me and there are much better courses in the STL area.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Add to Your Wishlist!

2-4    6/30/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Chucktown
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: El Shaddai is a private course so there are rarely more than a few people playing! We ran across one group of two on our 3 hour round. The course starts with some really tough wooded holes, then opens up to some open but shaped shots. The variety of holes is something that you will not find in any of the courses around St. Louis. The wooded holes are tight, but have several ways of getting through. The open holes incorporate elevation changes and natural obstacles. This is one of my favorites because it has a variety of lengths on the open holes, shaped open holes, and tough wooded holes.

The Gateway Titan Pro Baskets are painted red and easy to see through the trees.
Cons: Hard to find if you don't have navigation. The course is overwhelmingly difficult to navigate, you definitely have to bring someone that has played before. no tee-pads, however, the course is private so the natural pads are in good shape.
Other Thoughts: When you find deer run lane, go through the gate, and past the house down to the creek. Park on the right, and cross the creek and hole one is to your right in the woods. Here is a pretty accurate map of the course. If you look in the bottom left you can see the road you come in on and where hole 1 is.

http://stlouisdiscgolfclub.co...=24&t=172

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quiet as a mouse

1    7/6/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: green_hornet915
Played: 100  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I just played this course today. It is a course with alot of potential to be a very nice course. The things I liked about this course it has some very tight holes and others that are wide open some over water the frount nine are close together so not a long walk inbetween holes like the back half and there was a very friendly
dog that was leading the way.
Cons: The cons if you do not have someone that has playied the course with you you will be lost because the signs are small or not there at all some of the blocks are grown over and hard to find. No maps or next tee signs at all. No trash cans no potty rooms
Other Thoughts: It is A good course for the not so long player but needs some serious help in the markings and trash cans to keep it as pretty as it is quiet.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Jewel in the Nile

5+    1/17/2008   1/4/2010
Review By: Jorge
Played: 65  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well kept private course west of St. Louis where there is a shortage of Disc Golf Courses

Great mixture of long and short holes, wooded and open.

Even the wide open holes have some sort of obsticle, ranging from a huge creek, trees near the baskets, and a lake.

Big baskets are always a plus until you miss a 10' putt.
Cons: Private course with no facilities. Have to be on your best behavior.

Long walks between a lot of the holes such as 9-10, 16-17, and 17-18. There used to be 2 tee pads but I haven't seen the whites in a long time.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a very well kept course that no one knows about, this is it. It will test your arm as well as your accuracy. Unlike a lot of courses, the only sounds you hear here are the sounds of nature.

Call the owners to make sure there is not an event going on.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 AWESOME!, and PRIVATE!!!!

1    2/15/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to start.....

Private! So golfer traffic is virtually nil.

Cool red paint on the (as yet unidentified type of) baskets.

Fantastic shot variety (save for open bomber holes). Hyzers, anhyzers, uphill, downhill, into and out of trees, a couple cool tunnel shots, and a few over water. Backhands, forehands, and rollers are all here.

Wicked holes (and pin placements) that stick out are:
1, Tight woods with an island green.
3, A short shot but the fairway tapers down to a narrow tunnel to get through.
7, Open, but the pin is behind an enormous tree. I can't imagine anyone aceing this hole.
10, An EPIC view. The tee is at the top of a hill, you shoot down the valley, and your position at the tee gives you a view across the bottom of the valley and up to the next hill, all with vertigo-inducing powerlines above screwing up your visual field. Fantastic!
13, Short shot where a tight tunnel opens up at the end, but the pin is obscured behind a big pine tree and barely visible from the tee. Can't imagine anyone aceing this hole either.
16, Shooting over the lake to the left with OB fence to the right. You have to be brave but careful.

Course's location is out in the middle of nowhere. A very quiet and peaceful game of disc golf.

Fairly well maintained facilities, so losing discs (unless you chuck them into the forest) is a remote possibility.

Plenty of parking (but see notes below).

Cons: Private course with no help from the local gov., so the course has no: tee pads, maps, benches, or trash cans. No info kiosk and no score cards.

A couple tees didn't have signs (probably removed by vandals), and the ones that are there at other holes are rather primitive (but remember, no funding).

No trash cans, and inconsiderate golfers, means a minor litter problem.
Other Thoughts: PRIVATE COURSE!

(sorry for being redundant, but this must be stressed)

The course is on the property of the El Shaddai Ranch. Calling ahead to be sure the property isn't being used is HIGHLY recommended. Granted, it's not that big of a problem in the winter time, but as it warms up, the Christian groups WILL be out there using the land,and trespassers are NOT welcome.

DO NOT DRIVE ACROSS THE CREEK! The gravel road that takes you into the property eventually ends in an open field on the right side of the creek, opposite the first tee.
Park there, then walk across the creek. First tee to your right.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.