Cedar Park, TX 
Brushy Creek Sports Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: dgdoctor Hole #5 (Taken 3/2009)
5 / 720ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Shorty

5+    3/15/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: Majarashi
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Traffic is mostly light on this course. Underbrush is thin enough most poorly thrown discs are easy to find. The length of this course make it easy to get in a quick 9 after work.
I agree with a previous review about playing when this course has water running though it. Small waterfall on hole 2 makes for a sweet approach shot.
Cons: Some park users don't seem to understand that the disc golf course is a course and not their personal playground/picnic/picture taking spot. I've not ever found this to be an issue at other courses.
Typical Houck Design. Tiny slits through groupings of trees. Is there a fairway anywhere? I kid, but only slightly.
Natural tee pads. They are getting pretty worn. It can be an issue after a fresh rain.

Other Thoughts: I hear they may add an additional 9 holes. I hope that's true.
Once you find hole 1 this course isn't that hard to follow. Hole 1 tees from behind the skatepark. Just walk down the trail going left from the basket at hole 5 to get to 6

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tough course, but well designed

5+    2/15/2014   2/21/2014
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well thought out course and a nice park setting. Definitely not a pitch and putt course as many public park courses tend to be. Absolutely no crowds. Every hole is interesting and challenging and this course will force you to use a lot of different kinds of shots.
Cons: Beginners beware, this is not an easy course! Navigation is a little challenging, and the teepads are all natural, so that's a bummer. I have also seen a couple of big rat snakes near the water, so watch your feet. Also watch out for prickly pear cactus, especially on hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good, beautifully scenic course. (by central Texas standards)

Intermediate and Advanced players will enjoy the challenge of the finesse game. It's the opposite of Old Settler's Park, which is a windy, big guns course. If you can conquer both OSP and Brushy Creek Sports Park, you're ready for big time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

good intermediate

1    9/16/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: naz54
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: beautiful little coarse. good intermediate coarse. lots of trees and wooded and following the creek beds a lot. it forces you to be more accurate.
Cons: can be muddy and slippery after it rains
Other Thoughts: hole one starts on the right of or the north side of the skate park. behind it about a 100 feet. the tees have standing wooden markers.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    4/5/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: string74
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Trees force you to play with accuracy. All holes marked well and worn paths were easy to follow.
Cons: A bit muddy when I played, but deep water is not an issue. Parking lot is crowded with cars for soccer practice.
Other Thoughts: Nice to finally play this one. Its the closest course to my house.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    3/13/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really challenging 9 holer. I thought it was a lot of fun but didn't get frustrating. I really liked the shot on hole 2; however, a huge tree has recently fall by the basket taking away a good line from the right hand side. Hole 9 was an awesome long hole that has the basket placed feet away from the water. The teesigns were nice but navigation can still be a bit tricky. I really liked the difficult of the course because water comes into play on quite a few holes including holes 2,6( may just be from a recent rain), 7,8,9. Even though, 8 and 9 play over a small creek it still comes into play and you have to cross it.
Cons: Hole 1 starts behind the skate park. Going from hole 2- 3 the rocks are a little challenging to cross with ease. Also, hole 6 was in a unique location down the path but there wasn't a tee sign that I saw. A local told me where it where. This course could become frustrating if you aren't having a good day. I didn't find it frustrating because I was playing pretty well.
Other Thoughts: This was the toughest 9 holer that I have ever played, but it was still a lot of fun. I imagine during the summer this would be a nice course to play because of the shade from all of the trees, but in contrast, The course hold water from the rain pretty good.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pro's Perspective

5+    12/3/2012   12/17/2012
Review By: jonnypATX
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic terrain for a course. A creek runs throughout and is a typical Houck design. You may find yourself taking a midrange off the tee, then driver on your approach. A good combination of peaceful property and a technical layout.
Cons: I always subtract a star for lack of concrete boxes. As I understand, there are future plans to put another 9 towards the entrance of the park but until then, a nine hole course with only one set of boxes (with the exception of #1) means another star is removed. Not a course for Ams - it will fustrate you beyond belief.
Other Thoughts: Tons of potential but if you're in the area, Wilco and Cat Hollow are better choices at this point in time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hello Cleveland! Don't play without a guide

1    8/31/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has potential to be one of the best in the area. There are several beautifully framed shots and the challenge is complete.

Strategy, accuracy, and shot shaping are very important. Playing this course on a regular basis will make you a better player.

The holes have a nice, secluded feeling and the course provides a nice walk through the woods.

Some highlights include:

Hole 1 is a nice start as a short par 4. A well-thrown drive sets up a touch putter shot to the basket perched on a peninsula with drop-off's on three sides. The hole feels like a "should get" 3, but 5 is still possible.

Hole 2 is a nice, short par 3 with three distinct, tight routes. Pick your poison.

Hole 3 is a tough par 3 / short par 4. The tee shot is very tight and the left side of the fairway is jail. A very well thrown drive can leave a 50 footer for deuce, but the basket has a drop-off behind it.

Hole 5 is a fantastic, short par 5. At 720, you would think that it's 3-able on paper, but it's really three short, controlled shots to play for a well-earned birdie 4. There's nothing excessively difficult about this hole as long as your strategy is sound, but blindly chucking fast drivers here can result in a VERY big number.

Hole 7 is a short, uphill par 3 that is gloriously framed.

Hole 9 is a diabolical par 4 finishing hole. It might not sound like much at 528 ft. on paper, but this hole will absolutely eat your lunch, if you let it. A three is certainly possible, but four is a VERY good score here. Even getting a five isn't that bad, just avoid getting a six or worse.

Cons: OK, there is A LOT that I like about this course. Why did I only give it a 2.0?

First, absolutely make sure that you print a map if you're playing the course for the first time. Preferably, get a guide for your first round here. Navigation is frustrating without a map.

The course only vaguely resembles the pictures on this site. All the mulch has been washed away. Only three tee signs remain (although some holes have the smashed up bits of the old ones laying around).

The tees are just spots on the dirt, marked by rocks, some of which are tough to find.

The longer holes are tough to play without a map on a tee sign and require walking up a long way to figure out.

Hole 4's tee is very tight on hole 3.

Holes 5 and 9 crowd each other.

Hole 9 ends pretty far from the parking area and hole 1's tee.

There are no trash cans or benches on the course.

The course will be very difficult to play (possibly unplayable) following heavy rains. There will be many points that are difficult/dangerous to traverse and lost discs will be common.

Other Thoughts: NOTE: Again, print the map before playing and note that the first hole starts behind the skatepark.

I would absolutely love to see this course upgraded as it has a very unique character and provides a solid challenge. I could see it getting all the way up to a 4.0, given sufficient TLC. (I do deduct .5 for 9 hole courses.)

Happy discin'! Please help to keep the course clean!

To learn about my review philosophy, check out the other info section on my profile.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Technical players dream 9

5+    6/1/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: pablo.diablo
Played: 54  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Along with Rivery Park in Georgetown, this is perhaps the best technical course in the Austin area. Or I should say it's the MOST technical one.

Lots and lots of really good players get quite frustrated out here and hate playing it.

This is actually my favorite place to play in Austin even though there are higher rated courses all over the place. If you play here when the creeks are full, then you are in for a special treat.

. . . . . . . . .

#1 is Par 4 that starts behind the skatepark with a new extended tee back behind a huge dirt pile. Drive into the open, throw a thumber or glidey approach shot up the gut to get close, and if you are lucky you will have a shot at the birdie. The basket is on a sort of raised "peninsula" with long steep dropoffs on all sides. Major risk-reward putt/approach.

#2 is a short-range hole with a ton of trees and a creek bottom between the tee and basket that offers a hyzer line on the RH side, a much tighter anny line on the left, and a super duper tight shot right up the middle. If you make it up the middle route, then you are almost automatically on an ace run.

#3 is a true Par 4 that basically plays in a semi-circle around some thick forest. The ideal strategy is to punch something overstable but not too fast (Spider/Gator) thru the first gap and have it hug the LH treeline, then skip left at the end. From this lie, the 2nd shot will usually have a myriad of possible lines and it seems like none of them are ever easy as the basket is surrounded by trees. If you get a 3 for Birdie then you played it perfectly (only once for me), but I would still be *very* happy with a 4 for Par. I've taken many, many 6's on this one! The drive is CRUCIAL, you must hit the window. This is usually where players begin to find their frustration.

#4 is a short lefty hole, but righties can throw a midrange turnover shot (Cobra, Buzzz) or try a slightly tougher flick. Again, it's got good risk-reward on the putt as the basket sits atop a small dropoff towards the creek. It's a tough birdie, but usually an easy par even if you miss your drive.

#5 is a true Par 5, which is quite rare especially for a 9-hole course. Do not try and crush a drive off the tee! The smartest or most experienced players out here will throw a deceptively short flick or turnover shot with a mid/putter right past the big tree in the middle of the fairway to setup for a long straight second drive (the *much* more important shot). If you end up too far left off the tee, you will be down in a recessed basin area with a very tough uphill second shot, so you do not want to be anywhere LEFT off the tee. Too far right though and you are in thick nasty rough. If you play it correctly and get your 2nd shot down the fairway past the small watery gorge, then you will get to choose your fate with a third drive along the RHS, or a flick/turnover along the LHS opening. With perfect execution, your 3rd shot should end up in the wide open area where the basket resides, where there happens to be a lot more wind than anywhere else on the course to mess with your putt. If you hit a 4 for birdie, you are the freakin' MAN! Getting a 5 for Par is most excellent as well, as most players definitely take a 6+ on this one.

#6 is a medium range hyzer skip shot (Firebird/PD/Whippet/Monster) with yet another tight window to hit off the tee. If you can skip it off the bike trail then you have a good chance to get it to the basket, which also has small creek around it. There is another tougher line to the left of the first major tree obstacle that I see people flick, but it's a pretty ballsy shot as you are throwing directly over the creek for a stretch and there is tall rough to get past after that. You should birdie this one as well if you are gonna break Even in your overall score.

#7 is a medium-range straight shot across a big recessed area. The tee and basket are roughly the same elevation but the little ravine section drops about 15-20 feet. Try a fairway driver (OLF, Teebird, River, Banshee) or you can put some mustard on a Buzzz. The low canopy hurts your chances on this one, in addition to a large tree at the end of the ravine area. Watch out for people practicing putts here, as it's right next to the parking lot.

#8 is yet another super tight tunnel shot along the RHS, or there is a secret window to the left, you have to be either damn good or lucky either route you choose. The basket sits on a steep incline so rolloffs are a big factor. It's a fairly easy Par and a tough birdie for anybody.

#9 is a very difficult and beautiful final hole, not sure if it's Par 4 or Par 5. I think you could call it either way. It is imperative that you get the drive past the first small window and into the opening on the LEFT if you want to have a decent lie for your 2nd shot. From there, it's tempting to throw from the cliff directly over the creek and try to get it all the way to the basket. This is probably the riskiest shot on the course (very low %), but also with the highest payoff. If you miss then your disc may go in the murky mosquito water. So most players will throw along the RHS of the creek where there is a more distinct and safer path to the basket. For your 3rd shot, you can try a safe thumber if available, or play the natural fairway with an approach disc. Finishing the hole in 4 feels like a true Birdie to me personally.
Cons: Teepads are natural and usually not very level due to erosion.

Signs are basically worthless other than telling you the Hole # and Par (no map). Navigation is tough for first-timers.

Due to it's supreme technical nature, this is probably the most frustrating course for the majority of players in this region, with a true Par 32/33 on nine holes (64/66 for 18), which for myself makes the fun factor 5-stars!

Do not go out here expecting to break even or you will be sorely disappointed. You gotta go into it with a mindset that you wanna make a great throw here and there, and be happy with great recovery shots out of trouble. Anticipate having some problem holes and you'll be fine.

If you start hitting trees off every tee you need to consider throwing midranges instead of drivers to get your form and release point working again. Every tee shot out here is about precisely executing your release point, that is all.
Other Thoughts: I throw about 350-380' max and prefer technical wooded courses that even the playing field for me against the big bombers. This course is perfect in that regard.

It is VERY difficult to break Par on 9 holes, and even tougher when playing 18 holes. Usually the first time thru I blow it up around (+5 to +7), then 2nd round I try to get revenge at around (Even to +2). I think I have only broken Par on 9 only a single time, and have never come close playing as 18.

With the tight tunnel shots and the creek in play, Brushy Nine has the highest risk/reward factor off the tee of just about any course you will ever play. If you don't hit your line you WILL be punished with strokes. A little luck never hurts out here.

If you are a beginner, you should really consider playing nearby at Brushy Creek MUD (Cat Hollow) instead. This is an advanced level course that can be highly frustrating to those who don't like uber-technical golf.

Which means this is a badass dubs course!

Feel free to shoot me a PM if you are visiting and need a course guide.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Field Leveler

5+    5/8/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: oldaustingolfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the most exciting 9 hole courses I've played. Especially challenging on the rare occasions where there's enough water for the hazards. Lots of very narrow throwing tunnels for fairways. Only need long throws on a couple of holes; mainly very very technical, which can level the playing field amidst long arm heroes. Lots of finesse shots. This is my favorite 9 hole course.
Cons: I really can't think of any cons. I wish it were a full 18, but it isn't. I also wish it rained more so the hazards were full of water, but it doesn't often.
Other Thoughts: Makes great use of a tiny strip of land. Is right behind a skate-park; I've never had any trouble. If you miss some shots on the first round, you get a 2nd chance if you circle around and play another 9. Course is pretty well protected on windy days. Watch your step for small cut tree stumps. Especially convenient since the WILCO course is closed for the summer, and Cat Hollow can be crowded.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Painfully Tight

5+    6/3/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: Laf'n'Larry
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like this course, but find it frustrating too. It has narrow fairways that zigzag through the woods and juniper breaks under overhanging oaks. Throw too far right or left or too high and your in trouble. There is seasonal creek and juniper scrub that runs through the entire course to penalize the errant throw. This course challenges you to become a better player.
Add to that, it is never crowded and there is other recreation, basket ball, skateboard park, hike and bike trail, soccer, football and baseball, kiddos gym set, creek for paddling (if you have a boat). It's as well designed as this small acreage allows.
Cons: The course lacks balance:
No open fairways, even on the longest holes - everything is about accuracy and control;
Three holes for predominantly right hand backhand players and six holes favor lefties;
The map and diagram are deceiving. Most of the holes have zigzag fairways that don't show on the map, so even a well controlled drive straight drive on a short hole may not land you in or even near the basket.
There is usually trash on the course. There are trash cans at the parking lot, but none on the course. Players often bag it and leave it at or near the tees, but it doesn't seem that the parks dept. collects it often enough.
Other Thoughts: The pictures were taken when the course was new and the wood chip path was fresh. Since then there has been a major flood which washed away most of the wood chips and the chips that remain have degraded. It is now pretty easy to lose your way.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center