Cedar Park, TX 
Brushy Creek Sports Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: dgdoctor Hole #5 (Taken 3/2009)
5 / 720ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Shorty

5+    3/15/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: Majarashi
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Traffic is mostly light on this course. Underbrush is thin enough most poorly thrown discs are easy to find. The length of this course make it easy to get in a quick 9 after work.
I agree with a previous review about playing when this course has water running though it. Small waterfall on hole 2 makes for a sweet approach shot.
Cons: Some park users don't seem to understand that the disc golf course is a course and not their personal playground/picnic/picture taking spot. I've not ever found this to be an issue at other courses.
Typical Houck Design. Tiny slits through groupings of trees. Is there a fairway anywhere? I kid, but only slightly.
Natural tee pads. They are getting pretty worn. It can be an issue after a fresh rain.

Other Thoughts: I hear they may add an additional 9 holes. I hope that's true.
Once you find hole 1 this course isn't that hard to follow. Hole 1 tees from behind the skatepark. Just walk down the trail going left from the basket at hole 5 to get to 6

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good intermediate

1    9/16/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: naz54
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: beautiful little coarse. good intermediate coarse. lots of trees and wooded and following the creek beds a lot. it forces you to be more accurate.
Cons: can be muddy and slippery after it rains
Other Thoughts: hole one starts on the right of or the north side of the skate park. behind it about a 100 feet. the tees have standing wooden markers.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    4/5/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: string74
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Trees force you to play with accuracy. All holes marked well and worn paths were easy to follow.
Cons: A bit muddy when I played, but deep water is not an issue. Parking lot is crowded with cars for soccer practice.
Other Thoughts: Nice to finally play this one. Its the closest course to my house.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Technical players dream 9

5+    6/1/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: pablo.diablo
Played: 54  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Along with Rivery Park in Georgetown, this is perhaps the best technical course in the Austin area. Or I should say it's the MOST technical one.

Lots and lots of really good players get quite frustrated out here and hate playing it.

This is actually my favorite place to play in Austin even though there are higher rated courses all over the place. If you play here when the creeks are full, then you are in for a special treat.

. . . . . . . . .

#1 is Par 4 that starts behind the skatepark with a new extended tee back behind a huge dirt pile. Drive into the open, throw a thumber or glidey approach shot up the gut to get close, and if you are lucky you will have a shot at the birdie. The basket is on a sort of raised "peninsula" with long steep dropoffs on all sides. Major risk-reward putt/approach.

#2 is a short-range hole with a ton of trees and a creek bottom between the tee and basket that offers a hyzer line on the RH side, a much tighter anny line on the left, and a super duper tight shot right up the middle. If you make it up the middle route, then you are almost automatically on an ace run.

#3 is a true Par 4 that basically plays in a semi-circle around some thick forest. The ideal strategy is to punch something overstable but not too fast (Spider/Gator) thru the first gap and have it hug the LH treeline, then skip left at the end. From this lie, the 2nd shot will usually have a myriad of possible lines and it seems like none of them are ever easy as the basket is surrounded by trees. If you get a 3 for Birdie then you played it perfectly (only once for me), but I would still be *very* happy with a 4 for Par. I've taken many, many 6's on this one! The drive is CRUCIAL, you must hit the window. This is usually where players begin to find their frustration.

#4 is a short lefty hole, but righties can throw a midrange turnover shot (Cobra, Buzzz) or try a slightly tougher flick. Again, it's got good risk-reward on the putt as the basket sits atop a small dropoff towards the creek. It's a tough birdie, but usually an easy par even if you miss your drive.

#5 is a true Par 5, which is quite rare especially for a 9-hole course. Do not try and crush a drive off the tee! The smartest or most experienced players out here will throw a deceptively short flick or turnover shot with a mid/putter right past the big tree in the middle of the fairway to setup for a long straight second drive (the *much* more important shot). If you end up too far left off the tee, you will be down in a recessed basin area with a very tough uphill second shot, so you do not want to be anywhere LEFT off the tee. Too far right though and you are in thick nasty rough. If you play it correctly and get your 2nd shot down the fairway past the small watery gorge, then you will get to choose your fate with a third drive along the RHS, or a flick/turnover along the LHS opening. With perfect execution, your 3rd shot should end up in the wide open area where the basket resides, where there happens to be a lot more wind than anywhere else on the course to mess with your putt. If you hit a 4 for birdie, you are the freakin' MAN! Getting a 5 for Par is most excellent as well, as most players definitely take a 6+ on this one.

#6 is a medium range hyzer skip shot (Firebird/PD/Whippet/Monster) with yet another tight window to hit off the tee. If you can skip it off the bike trail then you have a good chance to get it to the basket, which also has small creek around it. There is another tougher line to the left of the first major tree obstacle that I see people flick, but it's a pretty ballsy shot as you are throwing directly over the creek for a stretch and there is tall rough to get past after that. You should birdie this one as well if you are gonna break Even in your overall score.

#7 is a medium-range straight shot across a big recessed area. The tee and basket are roughly the same elevation but the little ravine section drops about 15-20 feet. Try a fairway driver (OLF, Teebird, River, Banshee) or you can put some mustard on a Buzzz. The low canopy hurts your chances on this one, in addition to a large tree at the end of the ravine area. Watch out for people practicing putts here, as it's right next to the parking lot.

#8 is yet another super tight tunnel shot along the RHS, or there is a secret window to the left, you have to be either damn good or lucky either route you choose. The basket sits on a steep incline so rolloffs are a big factor. It's a fairly easy Par and a tough birdie for anybody.

#9 is a very difficult and beautiful final hole, not sure if it's Par 4 or Par 5. I think you could call it either way. It is imperative that you get the drive past the first small window and into the opening on the LEFT if you want to have a decent lie for your 2nd shot. From there, it's tempting to throw from the cliff directly over the creek and try to get it all the way to the basket. This is probably the riskiest shot on the course (very low %), but also with the highest payoff. If you miss then your disc may go in the murky mosquito water. So most players will throw along the RHS of the creek where there is a more distinct and safer path to the basket. For your 3rd shot, you can try a safe thumber if available, or play the natural fairway with an approach disc. Finishing the hole in 4 feels like a true Birdie to me personally.
Cons: Teepads are natural and usually not very level due to erosion.

Signs are basically worthless other than telling you the Hole # and Par (no map). Navigation is tough for first-timers.

Due to it's supreme technical nature, this is probably the most frustrating course for the majority of players in this region, with a true Par 32/33 on nine holes (64/66 for 18), which for myself makes the fun factor 5-stars!

Do not go out here expecting to break even or you will be sorely disappointed. You gotta go into it with a mindset that you wanna make a great throw here and there, and be happy with great recovery shots out of trouble. Anticipate having some problem holes and you'll be fine.

If you start hitting trees off every tee you need to consider throwing midranges instead of drivers to get your form and release point working again. Every tee shot out here is about precisely executing your release point, that is all.
Other Thoughts: I throw about 350-380' max and prefer technical wooded courses that even the playing field for me against the big bombers. This course is perfect in that regard.

It is VERY difficult to break Par on 9 holes, and even tougher when playing 18 holes. Usually the first time thru I blow it up around (+5 to +7), then 2nd round I try to get revenge at around (Even to +2). I think I have only broken Par on 9 only a single time, and have never come close playing as 18.

With the tight tunnel shots and the creek in play, Brushy Nine has the highest risk/reward factor off the tee of just about any course you will ever play. If you don't hit your line you WILL be punished with strokes. A little luck never hurts out here.

If you are a beginner, you should really consider playing nearby at Brushy Creek MUD (Cat Hollow) instead. This is an advanced level course that can be highly frustrating to those who don't like uber-technical golf.

Which means this is a badass dubs course!

Feel free to shoot me a PM if you are visiting and need a course guide.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 When it's Hot Out

5+    5/23/2010   4/4/2011
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brushy Creek Sports is lined by a fairway of bark that gives you a general direction as to where to go next. I miss this course very much, if anyone out there wants to donate airfare to me to any play within 300 miles of this course. I'll play it. This course is difficult; pulling off a good shot here makes you feel great. As nine hole courses go there are a few long holes here and it towers above the simple neighborhood park course. This course is unforgiving once a tree is bashed, and it gets deep into trees and stays mostly in the natural setting.

I played here a bunch when it got hot out and enjoyed the shade. I had the pleasure of enjoying this course after a period of heavy rain so water hazards abound for a few months. I have played maybe three dry rounds here and each way has benefits. The course plays even more beautiful when the water is moving over the limestone and the round is more difficult. Without water scores comes down a tad and there are some interesting looks that were not available before hand from the dry wash bed.

Compared to its north Austin area nine hole brothers, this course is king. The park has restrooms and there is plenty of parking. There are no crowds here and a round can be accomplished quickly. Number one has a typical Texas tight lined fairway, but goes to a point in the trees where the course plays in and under the canopy. It's like a step inside. From this point until some parts in the back, the course is shaded and you must throw darts to survive. This is my personal favorite style of course.
Cons: There's room for improvement. I admit to being turned around and needing a scouting mission or two my first time here. It seems easy enough to follow the trail of bark, but I am proof that you can get lost on your first go. Adding sinage or cement teepads would be a nice cherry on top. This is it most basic flaw. The design for big bombers would probably be frustrating. There is very little margin for error. The greatest shot, if off my one centimeter, becomes difficult in a hurry. It's tough; people focused on scores may need to prepare themselves for a five or six on a hole or two.
Other Thoughts: For a little less than a year I considered this my home course. This was where I played when Circle C and East Metro, which are no doubt better courses, felt like too much of a challenge and I just wanted to enjoy the sport for an afternoon. At first I felt the rating reflected a high amount of home boy bias. As I became the home boy myself, I really grew to love this course. I've seen deer, snakes, lizards, and fish when it's full of water here.

I've shot under par only a few times because its freakishly hard and requires a certain amount of luck and creativity that make for very interesting rounds. If you only care about carding great scores, then I could see being frustrated here. Trust me; there are birds to be had here. If you are like me and have much love for a course that plays into nature, this is one of your places. I would recommend the course to anyone, and let lesser experienced golfers decide, like I have, what they feel about this place from the bushes. For a traveler, when you come to Austin play the other courses and put this in your top 5-10, but when you are here, you'll understand why a guy that lived on the 620 really grew to like this course.

You can come here to get away from the crowds at the better and most established courses in the Austin area. By no means is this a rinky-dink park nine holer. I could see rating this course anywhere from a 2 to a 4. Ultimately for me the things I like about it outweigh what I don't like about it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center