Disc Golf Center
Cedar Park, TX 
Brushy Creek Sports Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: dgdoctor Hole #1 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 464ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tough course, but well designed

5+    2/15/2014   2/21/2014
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well thought out course and a nice park setting. Definitely not a pitch and putt course as many public park courses tend to be. Absolutely no crowds. Every hole is interesting and challenging and this course will force you to use a lot of different kinds of shots.
Cons: Beginners beware, this is not an easy course! Navigation is a little challenging, and the teepads are all natural, so that's a bummer. I have also seen a couple of big rat snakes near the water, so watch your feet. Also watch out for prickly pear cactus, especially on hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good, beautifully scenic course. (by central Texas standards)

Intermediate and Advanced players will enjoy the challenge of the finesse game. It's the opposite of Old Settler's Park, which is a windy, big guns course. If you can conquer both OSP and Brushy Creek Sports Park, you're ready for big time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 In The Brush

1    4/19/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Is there such a thing as a John Houck masterpiece? I believe there could possibly be. This is one of the best technical courses I have ever played. This course starts out tough and never lets up. I will have to say it is easy to forget that this is just a 9 hole course once you get into playing it. Hole 1 starts out with an open fairway then narrows down on a dogleg left to a basket out on a piece of hill that stands by it self. One wrong toss and you find yourself looking up at the basket. I ended up double bogey on that hole. Hole 2 is a short shot through the forest to a pin on the opposite bank of the creek. A very tough par 3. Hole 3 continues in the same vein running similar to hole 2 but just a little bit longer. Hole 4 is a 190 foot throw over the creek through trees to the basket. These last three holes might be par 3's but they are super tough. Well placed shots and a little luck is what is called for. Hole 5 runs 720 feet through the woods to a basket in the wide open. If a golfer can make that clearing in 4 shots, par can possibly be achieved. But there are trees in the fairway and missing them can be a tall order even for the best golfer. Reminds me of the 14th hole on the Gold course at Ingleside, Tx. Holes 6 through 8 are short par three holes. Hole 6 being the most open. Holes 7 and 8 throw over the creek and through trees and are very tough to par. Hole 9 is similar to hole 5 but is 200 feet shorter and ends in the woods. A tough par 4. Overall, this is the toughest nine holes I think I have ever played on this type of course. So, another John Houck masterpiece? You betcha!
Cons: Only dirt tees. Navigation is somewhat difficult in places, but nothing a map won't cure. Some signage missing but the majority of them still there. Needs more trash cans, saw lots of garbage on the course.
Other Thoughts: This was one of my most enjoyable courses to play. A lot of it reminded me of East Metro in Manor. This course alone would be worth the trip to North Austin to play. Plus the park itself offers a lot of other things too. I shot some baskets on the court after I finished throwing just to loosen up. Come on out to this one. I think you will enjoy it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and technical

5+    8/23/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: Chain_Smoker
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is by far one of my favorite courses. It's really not all that hard to find. You go into the park entrance from brushy creek, turn right and head towards the skate park and the first hole is right on the other of the big bowl. This course is great to go to on a hot day, surrounded by countless trees but still having a stable breeze. You have a variety of holes on this course from your straight drives to your technical dog legs. Most of the course is covered in trees and a few holes, like #3, require that you throw right at one. There are a number of holes that will test your patience. Feels a little long for a nine hole too, maybe it's just hole #5 or #6 because they're so long. The tees are marked very well with little red sprout looking things.
Cons: For you beginners, this is going to be a real frustrating course. You are going to hit trees and in most cases, it will cause you to throw from the thick brush. It's difficult to regain strokes and you can almost expect to bogey more than you birdie. For the experienced players, the only bad thing I can say is the plant life can get caught up underneath your feet and you will also be challenged as well on the course. It's tough but fun though.
Other Thoughts: Great course for shade, fun, and challenges. It's secluded and fun for anyone. Go to this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    2/13/2010   2/17/2010
Review By: TEX97
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 2/22/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging yet fun. Great layout though the trees, with a creek running thoughout entire course. Beautiful course thought the woods. Summertime shade, no problem! Lately the rain has keeped water in the creek making for great play on basically 8 of the 9 holes. Excellent scenary all around. Large stepping stones and stone stairs going over creeks. Lots of trees, rough isnt to bad and not extremely hard to throw out of, with time and wear will only get better. Not very crowded, yet. On a sunny weekend day youll find maybe six small groups playing the course at a time.

Only been playing disc golf since Nov '09 and this is one of my favorite small courses. Even as a new player i have found that if played with ease this course is a breeze. No room to really bomb a disc down the fairway. Tight tunnel shots definatly help accuacy. I have birdied holes 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, and 8, although not is the same game, but gives me hope that one day i will pull a great game together here. I usually throw around +4 OR +5 on amateur par here which isnt great but isnt too bad for a beginner.
Cons: No signs telling you where hole one is located. Some tees are hard to find if its your first time. Bring a course map is you can. Tees are dirt with little rock piles to designate. After rain tees are a little muddy. Very tight tree fairways on 90% of course, can be frustrating to impaitient players. Lack of trash cans causes clutter at some holes. I try to at least pick up some trash when i go out there. There is water but its not deep and very narrow so its easy to retrieve discs. Hole 1 basket is on an island surrounded by water, pretty fun but easy to throw over, left and right of basket into water. Hole 6, on nice days, has walkers cut through to get to the park.
Other Thoughts: Overall i think this is an excellent course, definatly one of my favorite courses next to wilco, brushy MUD, and pease. I think once the park is finished and more people visit the course it will break in very nice. Trash cans are a must, at least at the parking lot/basketball court area. Signs and better tees is all the course will need to be one of the best 9 holes out there. Everyone can play this course and i recommend it to all. Its just a great place to go play disc golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic 9 Basket Course

2-4    3/9/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: Flat Armadillo
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a lot of elevation changes on this course as it winds itself through a dry creek. The wood chip trails are real nice and I love the large boulder stepping stones as you cross the creek back and forth.

Hole 3 has a couple of trees in a V formation right in the path. It's a great obstacle.

Hole 7 is really fun as the tee is at the edge of a cliff and the basket is just outside the treeline across a large gap.

The rough areas are not completely full of brush, so it's not to difficult to shoot out from it.

Cons: I'm sure the cons will be fixed in the coming months as this course just opened.

The course map reads more like a cartographers map than a DGC map.

There are no signs at the tees.

No trashcans.
Other Thoughts: This course rewards accuracy over power.

I hope they find the space to make this an 18 basket course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/7/2009   3/8/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short Review that will be updated! NEW COURSE which is very nice. Only played 3 of the holes (6-8) but just from those three holes I can tell that this course is going to be great. A beautiful but dry (for now) creek runs through the course. I had no problem finding the course and the pins. Lots of big trees.
Cons: Not finished yet, but of course that will be fixed. Needs defined tee pads and maybe signs added, and some trees removed. Also some baskets may be in the wrong position. This is straight from John Houck himself.
Other Thoughts: Almost skip aced hole 7, hit the top of the basket. I can't wait to get back out there in 3 weeks and give the hole course a go. Course said to be complete by May ish

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.