Cedar Park, TX 
Brushy Creek Sports Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: dgdoctor Hole #3 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Fairway



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Very First Course

1    2/6/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: RookDygin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a rank beginner (first course ever) the shot variety was fun and the very fact that it's 'hidden' up in the trees made this course very enjoyable for my wife and I as our first course.

While rough the cedar mulch fairways allowed for easy navigation from hole to hole. Time has improved the smoothness based on how long the course has been complete.

Cons: It may be the time of year but the fairways seemed even narrower than the pictures showed. This made for more of a challenge than expected.

The construction on the skate park has destroyed the path the the first tee box. My wife and I went in through the mud pit...(to the left of the skate park) and decided to wear hiking boots next time. (go in off of the far south lot and backtrack from hole 4 to avoid)
Other Thoughts: Do not be afraid to try this course. My wife and I had never even tried DG before this and we loved it. Despite the mud from recent rains just being out in the woods enjoying the day together doing something we both found we liked made for a very good day.

It is a hard course, but we went to enjoy the day and practice the very basics of the game... next time we will have a picnic lunch and of course our hiking boots. (lol) A great time, many lessons learned about power, throwing methods and using the right disk for the distance on the fairways.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Don't let this course get to you

5+    12/26/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: vince
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 6/11/2011
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It's close to my house. For a quick round when I don't want to drive i'll play here and usually end up asking myself why at about the 5th hole. The designer definitely was going for difficult and did a good job at that. You may invent new cuss words during your round here.
Cons: Limited options. The harder holes (6 of the 9) don't leave any room for creativity. There is one route and it's all or nothing. Which is fine on a few holes but it's the only game this course is playing.

It's tricky to navigate if you don't go with someone who's played it.
Other Thoughts: As the course ages it may get better. For now the layout is just about laughable. It's one circus stunt hole after another. You can have fun here, but it won't help your game at other courses.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Yet another review...

1    11/19/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think the reviewer, skurf, got it right for most part. I largely agree with his points, so there's no reasons for me to be redundant.

This is an interesting course, and quite difficult for the average player to master/enjoy.
Cons: The fairways: too tight for most people, particularly on these long holes.

Some of you might get slightly too frustrated here, so all you can do is go out and try to have fun. I didn't play that well, so take my review with a grain of salt!
Other Thoughts: I'd come here again, but I wouldn't take my friend who just started out playing to this course. This would be suited for the more experienced players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's a Doozy

1    8/2/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Talk about tight fairways, yikes! This course takes some serious mental discipline to get through without wanting to kill someone, but alas, I resisted the urge. And oh by the way, there's a huge freakin' gully to the left of pin 1...wish I would have known that before throwing down it.

I digress. The course is actually quite good if not a bit comical in its ridiculous difficulty level. I played this course after playing the other Brushy Creek course, which is actually a plus for this course because it's close to both the Williamson County DGC (great course) and the Brushy Creek M.U.D. DGC (good course) so you can get 2 or even 3 rounds in pretty quick at some really nice courses.

The mulch trails are good (and bad...see cons) for the fact they tell you where the fairway is, because otherwise it would be a wild guess since some of the fairways are so narrow you wouldn't be able to make them out otherwise, and some of the holes are so long (cough #5) you'd really start to wonder if you were still within the park's property. The hole is epic, and if you can score a 5 on it, congrats.

This is an extremely wooded course, and as such, offers tons of shade. In fact, after hole 1, I don't think I was ever in the sun, which is awesome for playing disc golf in the hot Texas summers.
Cons: Although the tight fairways offer challenge and make this course what it is, it seems like they could have widened the fairways on a couple holes to offer a bit of diversity and respite from this extremely demanding course.

The mulch is fairly large-chop mulch and has a lot of larger chunks of wood and sticks in it. On one drive I planted on stick, which rolled under foot. Luckily I didn't fall or twist my ankle, but my shot went way off course, and when you go off course here, it ain't pretty. The fairways are tight and the rough in unforgiving.

There's not teepads of any kind...just a pile of rocks to mark where you tee from, and some of them, the monstrous hole five in particular, don't even have any room for a run-up.

There's no sign pointing you in the direction of where the course is when you enter the park and we ended up going to the wrong end first, parking, wandering around asking people if they knew where it was..."a what?" "No, haven't seen any golf courses around here." BTW, when you enter the park, take a right, go all the way to the end and park, then follow the mulch trail to the freestanding map-sign of the course where the first "teebox" is.
Other Thoughts: If I lived closer to this course I could see myself playing it often. It seems like a great course to hone your skills on and even though it's only 9 holes, if you can score under par here, you are one badass disc golfer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole!

5+    5/10/2009   5/10/2009
Review By: 5c077l20x
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very tight and technical, but lots of fun shots. Tough pin placements makes for an interesting game. Nice variety of different shots. Can easily be played through twice for an 18 hole game.
Cons: Tees not marked very well, and no signs. No trashcans or bags either. Wood chips get annoying to walk on. Some baskets located on tough hills, hard to find discs if overthrown. Also tough to navigate between holes.
Other Thoughts: Very nice 9 hole course, very fun to play. Not for beginners, but a great course to practice long, accurate shots. Hopefully it will be expanded to a full 18 hole course with a few more open shots. Bring a map first time, kinds tough to navigate between holes.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole, but...

5+    4/25/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: Cody
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has 3 par 4's and 1 par 5 which makes for an enjoyable course for intermediate players and up, unlike most 9-holes.
All the tees are fairly easy to find, especially with a map of course.
Lotta shade.
Now they got signs, though they're a bit crappy-- thin plywood.
Bring your ultra-precision game!
Cons: I actually wish that the entire course wasn't SO tight, even though I do enjoy tight fairways
The 1st hole is the only one that allows a little "breathing" room, but the 1st tee is a complete joke-- it sites right behind some big oaks. You gotta basically tomahawk over the trees; it needs to be moved to the left.
The abundance of mulch can get a little annoying to walk on sometimes, but is great in rainy weather
Really needs to be trimmed up a bit to allow for better flow; trees are nice n' all, but some throws are more a matter of luck getting through rather than skill.
The pars are too low on a couple o' holes in my opinion--- hole 3 should be a par 4 and hole 9 should be a par 5 because of the technicality on these holes.
Must have concrete tees!
Other Thoughts: I also hope that they will extend it to an 18-hole course, 'cause there's plenty of land for it there. Perhaps you could put 3-4 holes in front of # 1 and a few after # 5 along Brushy Creek which could swing back around to # 6.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice new one

5+    3/28/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: RRDiscgolfer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice new course, wood chips down the middle of all the fairways. some baskets are place on "islands", anything that is overthrown is doomed. Very challenging, Very clean/well maintained course. Another great Round Rock Course. I LIKE IT!!!
Cons: I still hate thorn vines, i guess i should stay out of the rough. Hole 6 has bike riders and joggers cut through the fairway to get to parking lot. need to put something to block traffic.
Other Thoughts: Very shaded, lots of water that plays into shots which makes it cool, not a lot but its there. will make for a great summer time course.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

5+    4/1/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Dude
Played: 142  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: By the time you finish hole 1 you can tell this will be a fun course to play. The mulch...while not that great to tee off of (or to walk on for that matter) is a nice guide to where the pin locations are and really make for a nice overall course aesthetic. There are a good mix of shots required for this course but for the most part accuracy and restraint are key to a good round. Unlike some of the other courses around town this will utterly punish you if you hit a tree and your disc goes into the rough...especially on holes 5 or 9. I expect this to change as the course is played and cleaned up a bit.

The terrain really is gorgeous out here. The ravines and the clear creek water are a refreshing change from, say, Pease Park's water holes or the flat Wilco course.
Cons: Pretty much the same cons as suggested before. While the wood chips do provide a trail guide there are a couple holes where an arrow would be helpful.

Tee boxes...even dirt or gravel would be nice. But b/c this course is obviously still a work in progress I'm not going to harp on that.

The biggest thing to keep in mind is that this is NOT a course for beginners or the faint of heart. It's probably as 9 holes harder than most courses at 18 holes. Though I'm sure this will change as the course gets broken in.

If you are a tomahawk or pancake thrower, you probably won't like this course much either b/c there is a ceiling over 95% of the course.

If you try to force it instead of laying up you're probably going to hit a tree and shank off into the woods and it's going to cost you strokes so this is almost an accuracy only course.
Other Thoughts: To me this course plays like a tighter fairway version of Wilco but with the terrain of Manor. I'm sure as the course is finished (i.e. additional trees cut away and as the wear and tear clears out a lot of the brambles or small bushes) this will become a favorite of mine.

It's a great place to work on the accuracy portion of your game. Power is not really something that comes into play for the most part. Bring your midranges and fairway drivers and play conservatively.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 needs to be finished

5+    3/29/2009   3/26/2009
Review By: teebob
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2010
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a rediculous difficulty level. It is a nice scenic course with mulched fairways,(see cons), that lead to the next tee pad, (see cons),
Cons: Mulch fairway and tees have a tendency to cause you to slip on hard throws.
Flags to mark tee pads are missing.
No signs to lead you through the course, although the course is not hard to navigate. No marked distances.
No tee pads yet, even if they are just dirt they would be better than the mulch.
Hole 5's fairway is to narrow, until the last 300 ft or so, for its distance.
Hole 7 tee is on an akward incline.
Hole 9 is hard to tell where the tee pad should be so we just threw from the begining of the mulch path that lead to the basket.
Did i mention the mulch sucks.Maybe with time it will settle and wont be as bad.
Only 9 holes.
there are lines that are mostly under 100 ft on each hole, then the line ends at a tree. there are no real lines on most holes.
Luck is a larger scoring factor than skill
Other Thoughts: I think that if this course is finished and they put in signs and concrete teepads, the course will be better, Hole #3 #5 #9 are poorly designed IMO. Hole 3 could have been 2 holes that would have still been hard along with 5 and 9.It is all about basket placement. Then again i am not one for long holes that are just long for the sake of being long like 5 and 9. As much as I am complaining about this course I still really enjoyed playing it and hope it improves with time.


After playing this course more it has just become stupidly impossible to enjoy. There is no reason to play this course, unless you enjoy making a fool of yourself.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/10/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very scenic. The rugged central Texas terrain with huge live oak, juniper, prickly pear, etc. is just beautiful. It would be a great nature hike even if you didn't play disc golf.

One of the things that make this place unique is the system of stairways and bridges built with large boulders to help you cross the many creeks and washes that meander through the course.

Most of the holes are very technical with many straight and narrow, or blind curving fairways cut out of a dense forest. If you don't throw forehand this course will force you to learn. If you don't throw backhand this course will force you to learn. If you can't throw straight and land in the fairway, this course will force you to learn.

Once you find the course map sign at tee pad #1 (It's a short walk down the mulch trail from the southern most parking area), the course flow is easy to follow due to a mulch trail that follows the entire route of the course.
Cons: There is no sign at the parking area to let you know you're in the right spot. Just park in the southern most parking area and start heading down the mulch trail until you see a course map on a 4x4 post.

There are no tee signs and the course map does not have the distances on it but thanks to Bevo for measuring and thanks to DGCR for providing a place to post the distances.

There are no tee pads and only a few holes still have the little red flags that show you where to tee from. You basically tee off from just behind where the mulch fairway begins on each hole.

This course has a high frustration factor due to the combination of long hole lengths and narrow fairways and what some might argue are too many small trees left in some of the fairways.

When you finish #9 you are in the middle of the woods and you have to find your way out and back to the parking area through the woods and then across a large field.
Other Thoughts: Experienced players who love long, narrow, technical fairways will love this course. Newer players and those who like more room to let the disc fly will loathe this course. I normally don't compare courses but I have to compare this one to East Metro Park in Manor. It's basically a mini Manor minus the tee pads and signs.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.